Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Andrea Stewart

    First trip with Exodus

    First day of walking was straight up. Not a very interesting route. I suggest you rethink this option. Sight-seeing day was fun, informative and well paced. Tiscali was a fabulous day. An alternative hotel would be a significant improvement. The accommodation was simple, but with 4 hours post walk before dinner, the ‘lounge’ was minimal. Meals were simple and far from expectations- dining in Italy should be a great experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Great day going to Tiscali

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous! Energetic and personable. Alexi worked hard to ensure participants were happy and doing well

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A different location for the base of this trip should be considered. Why not reside in the seaside town 20 minutes away? How sad to have 4 hours after walking but to be no where near a beach? There are beautiful areas of Sardinia, but I don’t feel this trip includes them. I feel this itinerary needs a serious over haul.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Lesley Waud

    Great trip

    One of the best trip leaders I’ve seen in almost 20 holidays with Exodus; lovely family run hotel; amazing gelato and great walking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The lunch on the beach - great barbecue food and awesome views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis was knowledgable, caring, considerate and good fun to be with. He was one of the best trip leaders I have come across.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Margaret Edwards

    Walking in Sardinia

    We had a super time on this holiday. Sardinia is a beautiful island, the walking was very enjoyable and the hotel used was perfect for this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving in Dorgali to find a 2 day festival taking place. It was a joy to behold. Also, walking to Tiscali high in the mountains and discovering this ancient place.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis is an excellent leader. He guided us with great care, fun, expertise and consideration for all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take walking poles as they can be very useful on the stony paths. Be prepared for all weathers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd highly recommend this holiday to those who enjoy walking, good food and drink and the opportunity to explore local village life.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Jennie Pickstone

    Island of wonders

    This was an excellent trip! The walking was quite hard occasionally because of some rocky terrains but I am in my 60's and not the fittest for my age ....so no problem! The weather was very changeable- I believe more than usual- so waterproofs are a must in September. The sights we visited were stunning! Tiscali and the Stalactites were amazing. Our guide Alexis was superb. He clearly takes his job very seriously and has a good knowledge of the region. He is also very sociable and humourous. Like all holidays a lot depends on the group...this group were exceptionally nice. I can really recommend this holiday if you want a good mix of interesting archeological sights and walking. The food and wine was rather good too!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to choose but either Tiscali or the cave with the stalactites etc. It was like walking into Gormenghast!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Already said....Outstanding!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Have good footwear suitable for a rocky terrain. Take walking poles.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Rob Rogers

    Sardinia ticked all of the boxes

    From the initial booking of the holiday to arrival in Sardinia, from the first greeting of our Exodus Rep to the final goodbye, Exodus delivered. We were well fed (Italian like to feed you, and you'd certainly not go hungry at Hotel S'adde), we were organised, informed and cared for. Our Exodus Rep was knowledgeable of the area, he had scoped out restaurants, bars and gelato establishments and was available to assist and make our trip relaxing and enjoyable. Sardinia delivered on many fronts too, exciting landscapes, mountain tracks, beaches and caves, boat trips, wine tasting and local cuisine - it has something for all. For us the holiday was made memorable because of the location and because of the group of people also on the trip, always someone interesting to talk to. So well done Exodus, another excellent holiday delivered - in the immortal words of Arnold Schwarzenegger "I'll be back"

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The landscape The local people -warm and friendly The local wine - great tasting and plenty of it
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Ian Lochhead

    Walking in Sardinia

    Another superb Exodus trip. A great way to explore a beautiful country. Sardinia is an idyllic place with amazing beaches & stunning mountain scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were numerous points during the week which proved inspirational. One that stands out however was the walk into the Gorropu Gorge, the deepest natural canyon in Italy - quite breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis was a superb leader. A proud Frenchman(as I discovered whilst watching his beloved France at the World Cup on TV with him at the hotel one evening!) and a true gentleman. He was full of fascinating facts/stories about the areas we visited and nothing was too much trouble for him. He had a great sense of humour and contributed greatly to my enjoyment of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for high temperatures during the walks, especially in mid-June when we were there. Take plenty of water on all walks. There is also a small amount of rock scrambling involved during some of the walks to be aware of. However, my best advice would be that if you are considering this holiday then go for it - you will not be disappointed!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my 11th consecutive trip with Exodus this year and I cannot recommend this company highly enough. Everything is taken care of for you leaving you to relax and enjoy the trip. Hotel Sadde where we stayed for the week is a very comfortable hotel and the staff are very friendly welcoming people.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Jacky Wilson

    Beautiful coastline

    Always wanted to go to Sardinia! The coastline is really beautiful - unbelievably clear sea, deserted beaches and completely unspoiled. The holiday is based in a family-run hotel in a smallish town. It’s fine - friendly, but breakfast and picnics were disappointing even if dinner was generally good. There is a fabulous pizzeria a few minutes walk from the hotel as well as a good gelatería. The walks involved more scrambling over rocks than indicated on the trip notes and the terrain was quite hard on the joints generally as it was stony. The walks were also all quite similar and I would have preferred more variety. Sardinia (or this area anyway) doesn’t seem to have much architectural interest and we didn’t see any pretty towns or villages such as you would always see in mainland Italy or France.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Amazed at all the beautiful beaches - truly, who needs the Caribbean? This is perfection.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis was brilliant - helpful, good humoured, friendly, interesting. A really top guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was the heat that was difficult to cope with rather than the walks. There are generally not places to top up bottles at midday so you need to carry a lot of water to keep hydrated all day. I did not enjoy all the rocky terrain and scrambling. I should perhaps have asked more questions though the trip notes only indicate “some” scrambling so I didn’t expect it would feature as much as it did. It’s a challenge to pack two pairs of walking shoes in your case but if possible a pair of breathable ones for day 1 and ones with more robust soles for the remaining days would be ideal. I think a pole was very helpful. Sunhat essential too, even if you don’t normally like wearing one!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If it were possible to find greater variety in the walks I think it would be better. I wish we could have had longer in Cala Luna on the last day, not just 45 mins - there was a lovely shady bar but no time to swim, have a drink and then get ready to walk.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Lucy Sheehy

    Great trip, fantastic guide, hotel could be better

    The walks have a nice mix of challenging and easy with lovely views and points of interest. The additional sight seeing and wine tasting really added to the trip. The only thing that let it down a bit was the location of the hotel. The hotel itself is ok but there is nowhere nice to sit when we got back from the walks, the little terrace with uncomfortable chairs doesn't count, and there is nothing really to do in Dorgali. This meant we all just retired to our rooms until dinner which was a bit boring. Also the breakfasts and lunches were very dull. A hotel in Calla Gonone for example would be much better. Then guests could go to the beach and have a swim in the sea after their walks and on the free day

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Canyon was the most dramatic walk. I also loved the day with lots of sight seeing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis was brilliant. Always friendly and attentive to the group. He even took time on the free day to take us for a walk.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Sally Williams

    A varied programme on this interesting island

    A late May departure found the sun shinning and temperatures up to mid 20s plus which is the top end of my comfort zone for hill walking. We were very lucky to follow a wet spell of weather that brought the spring flowers out in profusion. Walks are not long but can be challenging due to the rocky terrain, so not one for the novice. Highlights were: The archaeology of the Nuragha people The clear deep blue sea for swimming Hotel S'Adde that was so welcoming, clean spacious rooms, plentiful good food and wine, and endless hot water! A trip to Orgosolo to see the street art/murals on the free day

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views from lunch time spot on day 1 at the fire watchers lookout post. and the visit to Serra Orrios to see the Nuraghic village - but do visit the Dorgali Museum to see the artifacts from the site

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Engaging, patient and determined that we should all have a great holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Probably not suitable for novice walkers unless you have experience of being in the hills e.g. rock climbing.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Michele Moore

    Great experience

    A special mention must go to the Hotel S'Adde for their warmth and hospitality in general but for their food in particular. I have dietary requirements and I usually expect to eat a limited range of food (and/or have to remind staff at every meal), especially when in a small town off the beaten track. But Michaela and her team had my diet nailed from day 1 and went above and beyond to produce fantastic, appetising alternatives every time. Frankly, you should have this as a USP in your marketing of this trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching Tiscali!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic - patient, thoughtful, experienced...
Call us on +356 21423994