Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2019
    Alex Jacobs

    Amazing Holiday!

    This is a wonderful, wild trek in the anti-atlas mountains. Stunning scenery in brilliant remote landscapes - we didn't see another tourist all week. The walking is not too challenging, but has enough uphill sections to make you feel you've earned your delicious lunch and dinner. The campsites were in incredible locations. Our guides Lahcen and Hassan were brilliant - so attentive, kind, and supportive - as were the fellow travellers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on the top of Jebel Aklim with panoramic views and a picnic lunch.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Cameron Edwards

    Excellent trip with excellent guides

    Had an extremely good time on this trip, and would definitely use Exodus again

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of the mountain range we were climbing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good, made sure to show us all the important parts, and had the answer to all our questions
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Kate Newbold

    Undiscovered Atlas

    What an excellent trip. The scenery was stunning, night skies breathe taking, the sunsets and sunrises beautiful. Lassan, our guide had great local knowledge, was patient, paced well and always had a plan B when required. We received great support from the whole team and special mention to the chef Hussain who produced very tasty food. The walking was great, hard at times but pitched at the right level. The icing on the cake was a great bunch of fellow traveller. A most excellent adventure indeed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Feeling like you are wandering in the wilderness, just our group and no other tourists.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is our third Exodus trip and certainly will not be our last.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    jim braiden

    Undiscovered Atlas

    Great trek- hard slog but worth it- stunning scenery- first class support from Lassan our guide and his team - particularly our cook Hussein- who was superb. Weather was great- tents etc very comfortable. Highlights- lunch under tree shade in Berber village, dip in mountain pool on second last day and the superb Riad we stayed at on last night. As usual with Exodus a first class experience- made even better by the people in the group - great bunch

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ascending Jebel Aklim

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lassan -fantastic, patient, competent, always has a fall back plan- he even remembered me from a previous trip - he was a junior guide when I did Toubkal

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes Last night in Riad - lovely place but no toiletries - so bring soap and shampoo !
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Jane Sinclair

    Epic trip !

    This trip surpassed all my expectations. There were 15 of us in total ranging from age 26 to 65 and all strangers. Within a couple of days we were like a team of old friends laughing and teasing each other and being supportive and kind to each other. The scenery was spectacular and we enjoyed sunrises , sunsets, swimming in a rock pool, picnicking at the highest peak, strenuous walking , we saw nomads and a few villagers but not a single other tourist the whole trip. The children came out to meet us and to chat and play if we walked through villages and it often felt like we were witnessing life from a bygone age. The tents were sound and kept the wind out on the first 2 nights . Once we camped in the valleys the wind dropped.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment was walking down a mountain glimpsing the camp and the rock pools beckoning to us in the distance. As we walked a herd of over 300 sheep rams and newborn lambs moved towards us led by a nomad in vividly coloured clothing which contrasted starkly with the grey rocks and stones. The sound of the the animals hooves on the rocks sounded like the pitter patter of raindrops echoing through the mountain air. In the distance a young Berber who looked about 12 years old was skipping effortlessly across the rocks dressed in bright magenta and red tunic. It was truly an ethereal sight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader Lasan was professional organised calm extremely kind and great fun. Nothing was ever to much trouble for him. He encouraged me up the mountains, made sure we had enough to eat and constantly filled up our water bottles. The team of cooks and porters looked after us so well that really all we needed to do was walk , have fun , eat and sleep. They put up the tents , prepared all the delicious food and served lunches fit for a king on top of mountains. I always felt safe and was able to fully appreciate the isolation of the mountains as a result.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take woolly hat and gloves as it was cold on a couple of evenings. The group leader provided bottled water in huge containers so we didn't need our water filter bottles or chlorine tablets so save your money and don't bother buying them. I would advise anyone considering doing this trip to go for it. The hotel on the first night was clean and comfortable ( unfortunately i cant remember the name) but ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the saturday night disco/club was at the front of the hotel and our room overlooked it and was very noisy until 3pm in the morning.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would definitely travel with Exodus again. All the arrangements were excellent and the all the people who supported us from Lasan to the drivers , cooks and porters were professional and real experts at their jobs.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Rachel Smith

    Excellent Atlas

    The mountains were beautiful, the group was fun, and the guide was awesome! The food was not suited at all for vegetarians and vegans.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When all the group members helped me out when I was sick

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knowledgeable, friendly, safe
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Sarah Falcous

    Great week of trekking

    Undiscovered Atlas is a great week of trekking, which, for me, was pitched at the right level. There were some challenging parts to the trek, but not so difficult that it was not enjoyable. It was great to visit a remote part of the country, where there were few tourists, but the locals were very friendly and welcoming. I felt like I had a proper break away from normal life, which felt great! The food was simple, but fabulous and I enjoyed it all. I would definitely recommend this trip to others.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the peak of Jebel Aklim was great, it was a challenging hike up but felt great a the top!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Youssef was a great group leader. He was very experienced and knowledgeable and had a good relationship with the group. He lead us across some remote areas and I felt completely confident and ease at all times. Thank you Youssef! The rest of the team should also be thanked ie the drivers, cooks and extra guide. They were all very professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty wet wipes, spare socks and underwear. There is no showering, but it felt nice to put clean things on after the day's trek. Also take blister treatment eg compeed and tape to prevent blisters. Also, no electricity so taking a power monkey / charging device is useful if you are relying on taking photos on your phone, for example.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only negative part I can think of was the final meal. While the meal was lovely, it was quite expensive ie over £30. I felt this was too expensive and the food at the hotel in Taroudant would have been more than acceptable. I would have liked to have been warned that the meal was going to be this price so I could have organised my money more effectively. It was also quite a drive to the restaurant from the hotel. I personally would have liked to have gone straight to the hotel after the final trek, relaxed and eaten at the hotel, then the following morning go into Taroudant shopping and then on to the airport. This is my only negative observation, however, I enjoyed all of the trip thoroughly and would definitely recommend it to others.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    john latham

    tma

    Excellent trip,quite tough walking in spectacular mountain scenery.The camping was harder than I anticipated.It was very cold and windy at night making it difficult to sleep.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I guess reaching the highest point,Jebel Aklim.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Youssef was very good and seemed to have everything well organised He certainly organised some substantial evening meals and tasty lunches. His english probably wasn't the best but it generally wasn't a problem

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take warm clothing for the nights, and ear plugs in case its windy and the tent is noisy.I was glad to be allocated a tent to myself,I slept so badly it would have been miserable if I had been sharing.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Anonymous user

    Undiscovered Atlas review

    A brilliant trip - the guide ensured we had a great time, even when the route had to be changed for safety reasons - we lost a days walking as the plan had to be changed entirely with our starting point changed because we weren't allowed through by the border patrol. The guide worked so hard and immediately came up with a new plan which meant he had to manage everything to ensure we had food, camping sites and a safe alternative route. He was professional, fun and so kind throughout. The food was great and the organisation by the Moroccan team out there was brilliant. I had such a great time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting having a cup of tea looking at an incredible view of the mountains after 2 full days walking and about to start the 3rd. Beautiful views. Great company. Safe and well looked after. Fantastic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammed was superb. He adapted and managed things so well - when the route had to change and when I was finding the trek uphill hard on the first day - he paced things so well and was extremely encouraging. He was fun, enthusiastic and worked so hard for the whole trip. He always tried to make things as good as possible. Exodus was lucky he was managing things as he really did ensure we still had a great time regardless!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1. Take layers - the climate covers all the extremes.. 2. Take your good camera - I didn't - I regret it! 3. I borrowed a walking stick - it was very useful!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The exodus bag situation seems pretty inconsistent- regardless of when they book - some people get them and some don't. I didn't particularly want one - but it was odd to say the least! Pretty gutted to have a full day less walking - meant we only had 3.5 days and no swim at the end....but....the guide did a brilliant job of recovering things in very tricky circumstances and it really was out of his control. The guide should get some kind of bonus - he saved the whole trip!! Rashid and Hassan were brilliant too! Generally very well organised from booking to finish - I will do another trip with exodus.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Lesley Berry

    Undiscovered Atlas

    I have been on many similar trekking trips but this was the first time that I travelled with Exodus. I did not quite know what to expect compared to other companies but from start to finish the holiday was well organised and thoroughly enjoyable partially due to Exodus but mainly due to the leader, Mohammed and his support team. We were plagued with truly abysmal weather for the first half of the week: sub zero temperatures for much of the day and gales ( which are,apparently, very rare!! ). My tent broke in the middle of the first night requiring an emergency decamp to the mess tent and then collapsed together with about 50% of the other tents, the mess tent and the toilet tent ( which blew away down into the valley ), on the second. Strangly, though, these experiences added to the bonding within what was a truly great group rather than detracting from it. I will admit that this may be a peculiarly British tendency!! The cimb to the top of Jebel Aklim in bright but arctic conditions was truly inspirational and the night that followed in the teacher's house in Tagara ( Mohammed opted for this as an alternative to a third night of camping to allow us more than three hours sleep!! ) a humbling revelation. For the second half of the holiday the weather reverted to more normal conditions for the time of year, we actually were able to strip down to less than three layers for the first time and continued in this vein to the end. The scenery throughout was tremendous. The walking well paced and interesting although as previous reviewers have stated VERY VERY ROUGH and the group amazing: Totally FABULOUS!!! (will stop here as I have run out of superlatives!! )

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Jebel Aklim in arctic conditions ( sub -20C ) and the realisation that this is about as cold as I have ever experienced and this is Morocco!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Throughout all of the drama Mohammed remained at all times calm and in control and he organised alternative accomodation at the teacher's house in Tagara when he sensed that we had had enough. His knowledge of Berber culture and history and the passion with which he conveyed it to us was inspirational and throughout the trekking the pace he set was just right based upon the individual abilities within the group and the timescale of the walk. A truly excellent leader

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not rely on your expectations of the weather in Morocco as it can get VER, VERY COLD ( and windy but that's another matter altogether ) The terrain is often ( seemingly ) pathless, rocky and very rough so boots are ABSOLUTELY essential and if your idea of a toilet is not a hole in the ground containing someone elses human excrement then this is probably not the holiday for you!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great experience. Put your first world lifestyle on hold for a week and give it a go!!
Call us on +356 21423994