Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

112 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2019
    Steve Calder

    Mount Toubkal

    One of best holidays of my life and maybe even one of best weeks of my life. Everything was superb about it which has been stated in other reviews.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing other people out of their comfort zones thriving in a new environment

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Capable and held it together so well. Absolute gentleman too

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure you are fit and train for it.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Joy Frendo

    Exhilarating

    Our climb of Toubkal was challenging, it was quite hot and the terrain was difficult at points but our guide was superb, he was extremely experienced and kind. The food was incredible, with excellent variety, taste and presentation, we never felt hungry. The hotel stays were also very good and the guided tour of the city at the end of the week was very informative and interesting. All in all, it was extremely organized and well planned out. We will definitely travel again with Exodus in the future

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing group members all helping eachother reach the summit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lhoucine Oumahjoub, our guide was incredible. We couldn't have asked for a more experienced, competent guide. He was also very kind and helpful with excellent English so communication was never an issue.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the heat if travelling in late September.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We had an amazing trip. Thank you Exodus!
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Ian Kilpatrick

    A great experience

    This trip was with my son before he left for university and we both had a fantastic time. A wonderful group and supported by a really dedicated staff of guides, chef, muleteers (many thanks to Moha & Zuhir). The walking was very good and felt challenging but appropriate- amazing views. Camping was fun, good equipment and quickly transitioned mindset to “trip mode”. I totally underestimated the quality of food and we ate like kings all week - it was amazing to see such meals being prepared in a tent at 3000m !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The climb up Toubkal was an experience and it was great to have that highlight on day 5.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Moha was group leader and really did an amazing job. From the moment we landed until we got on the airport shuttle he we on everything. He have some insights to Morrocan life that we’re valuable and definitely added to the experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    An extra bed mat for “50s frame” was nice. Sterilised water was provided and there was no need to stress about purification etc. We went in 1st half September and the nighttime temp was -2 approx so warm sleep-stuff and clothing is a must

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My first experience of such an expedition and one I hope to repeat soon.
  • Reviewed August 2019
    John Orton

    ?

    Great challenging trip but one that's well achievable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing the optional extra peaks

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Kevin Stewart

    Our first Exodus trip; it'll be hard to beat!

    This was our first trip with Exodus and, whilst I had heard good reviews from friends, there is always an element of the unknown; the challenge level, the food, accommodation, the other group members etc.. This trip was excellent in all respects and has set a very high bar for future Exodus trips I will be taking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our guides were the most inspirational part of the trip for me - two very different characters who complemented each others skills and personalities and really made the trip the great success it was. You wouldn't have known it was their first trip together. Of course going to the summit of Mt Toubkal was a challenge achieved, and doing the trip with my son was great. One lovely memorable moment was an exchange a couple of us had with some children who were selling buttermilk/kefir on the path into Imlil on our last day of walking. Rashid chatted with them in such a genuine, open way that we were all quickly smiling and laughing and left with a delicious drink!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outsanding

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If, like me, you're too old to like sleeping on hard ground, get a portable camp cot. Folds down well into your kit bag. Mine is FE Active branded, (other makes are available, no recommendation implied or paid for!) and is light and sturdy enough for a 90kg man. It made sleeping a pleasure. We took a couple of extra days in Marrakesh after our trip, which I would recommend, but probably not in July or August! The daytime heat forced us to spend our days by the hotel pool, so we only went out in the early morning and evenings.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Phil Page

    Toubkal climb.

    Unreal trip. Didn't know i'd get such holiday blues from a trip like this one. I wasn't sure what to expect when I signed up but it surpassed all my expectations. Unbelievably organised, we were well looked after, well fed and well informed of everything that was going on and what to expect.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Although getting to the top is a moment i'll never forget, the optional climbs were amazing, even the walks just to get to our next destination were awesome and it was great to take in the surroundings.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lachen and Rashid were our guides and they went above and beyond their duties. Keeping everyone safe, making sure those who were struggling made it to the top and generally making sure everyone was happy and as comfortable as we could be.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is a challenge, but doable with a good amount of fitness. I would make sure you have a bit of experience with hiking before taking this one up.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Katherine White

    Mountains, Mules and Moroccan Memories

    A perfect holiday of exploration for anyone who is fit, adventurous, has a sense of camaraderie and can revert to the true nature of what it's like to really live , be at one and experience the wilderness of the surroundings and not be concerned with unnecessary luxuries we take for granted at home.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The cloud inversion and breathtaking views from Mt Toukbal and the optional summitting of Ouanakrim on our summer solstice with its isolation and equally jaw dropping panorama while watching the incredible dawn track us on our ascent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lahcen our leader was incredible. He was there for absolutely everyone on the trip, the novice to the experienced mountaineer. To watch him enable the least confident to flourish and for all to reach way beyond their own personal goals was humbling. His pacing was spot on, slowing the potential 'bolters' from burning out and thereby encouraging us all to acclimatise slowly so that no one felt excluded from the chance of getting to the top. People made their own decisions on summitting Ouanakrim, two 4000m peaks in 24 hours with 03:30 am starts or similar is not for all but Lahcen ensured the decision was our own. His local knowledge was incredible and we felt safe at all times with his skills and acute perception of any struggling. A true leader and mountaineer.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some basic camping and toilet facilities. The heat and destination meant some of us needed the odd emergency stop by a boulder (shrubs are very scarce at altitude) so forget the shyness. Take some hand sanitiser. The fitter you are the easier it will be. You will be 'carrying' yourself upwards in heat and at altitude and despite any pacing 'extra baggage' is 'extra baggage' ! Embrace the wilderness ,the cameraderie of working as a group and remember everyone of the group wants to have the chance to get to the top . We found our filter water bottles extremely useful, we were guided on which streams to use, plastic disposal is a big problem for any country.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The camp meals were pretty amazing ! Always plenty of it and lots of vegetables. Vegetarian and Coeliac requirements were catered for. Bring your own snacks if you like . Phone signal is very limited, a great way to escape . The mules are part of the team and great entertainment! Marakesh is a full on sensory experience after the wilderness. Not showering was not a problem. For me.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    steve roberts

    Great introduction to trekking and altitude

    I was using this as a bit of a practise for my trip to Everest Base Camp, it provided the practise I was looking for and so much more. The walking was a good steady pace that suited the group, with meals almost magically appearing from nowhere. Considering all the food had be transported on the mules, the food was good, even a few welcome surprise snacks. The scenery was stunning , with some part surprisingly green. The time spent in Marrakesh was a complete contrast to the solitude of the mountains, but still great fun. The sights and sound on markets will stay with me for ever

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of Toubkal was more emotional than I expected, but so worth the effort

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of wet wipes, you will go a few days with out proper washing facilities. Take plenty of layers , temperature in Marrakesh was in the mid 30, and we camped on zero degrees. Don t forget sun hat and a warm hat and gloves. You can leave some clean clothes in the start hotel so you have some clean clothes when you get back to Marrakesh Keep a pen handy to fill out forms at the airport.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only negative was the camping at the refuge , there was a lot of rubbish lying around, the staff there need to make an effort to clean the area up. Appreciate this not in direct control of Exodus but as a repeat customer they may be able to put pressure on them to take more responsibility for the environment at the site.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Elaine Collins

    Toubkal Long Trek

    Epic experience, very well organised and a great group of people

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The view from 4000m was amazing, didnt expect it to affect me the way it did, I i will never forget it! Our guide was fantastic, he took time to work out our abilities and tailored the walking so that we were all able to keep together. The summit day was excellent thanks to his pacing and care.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As above

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We were lucky with the weather but if it would have been wetter then the sleeping mattresses could have gotten damp so take a binbag or something to form a barrier with. Food was great but a little light on protein for my metabolism, though it would be so I took some sachets of protein powder to add to my porridge. Carry and drink lots of water, 3 l per day
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Mary Tebb

    Great trip.

    We were a large group of 16 but all got on well. I would say this is a great trekking trip with a serious mountain to climb. Morocco is an interesting country with a very different culture to ours.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Experiencing a different culture.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lhasan was really patient with us and made us feel very looked after and safe. He clearly wanted us all to experience the summit and enjoy his country. Despite being on Ramadan, we had no concerns about his ability as our guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Please do prepare physically for this trip as it is frustrating to be held back by slower group members who didn’t appreciate the leg work needed. We had a 12 hour walking day on the mountain so you should be prepared for that on mountainous terrain. Temperature ranges were huge on the trip from the high 30s in Marrakesh up to just above freezing overnight at Toubkal refuge.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It’s Morocco. Accommodation is basic and toilets are usually the squatting type. Strengthen those thighs before you go!