Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2019
    Miranda Wheatley

    Fantastic winter breaker.......

    A very welcome winter break with fantastic, positively challenging walking in the gorgeous Aitana range. Great views from the summit, walking in the sunshine, combined with great food, company and an outstanding leader, I would recommend this trip to any keen, confident walkers who fancy an escape from the winter.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching various summits with breathtaking views across the Aitana range. The journey's to the summits were challenging but do-able and made fun whilst walking with a terrific group of like minded walkers and an outstanding leader.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jaime is an experienced, knowledgeable, confident, passionate, kind, caring, people focused individual with Michelin star qualities for making superb sandwiches and surprised us daily with extra treats to keep us going. He's got a very kind and gentle way, supporting those who need it and is always keen to pick up sayings in different languages; he's know fluent in Dutch too! :-)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be sure and confident of your capabilities, abilities and fitness; it requires confidence in walking along steep ridges, across scree, a bit of scrambling and steep ascents and descents but all the hard work is absolutely worth it when you get to the top.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel is conveniently located for walking straight from and back to the hotel, which saves on spending time on transport. Although the nearest village is about 30 minute walk away, it's a very steep descent and ascent coming back so not a 'stroll', which is sometimes too much after a day's walking. However, the hotel provided us with everything we needed. The rooms are basic, quite small and sometimes the shower water was tepid. If we had needed to hang out wet clothing and walking gear, the room would have been uncomfortably small and pretty impossible in my view. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room but the designated area in the communal area downstairs is free and available 24/7 whilst holidaying there to make drinks.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Nick Street

    Great winter sun and mountains in view of the sea

    Great weather. It was sunny every day apart from one (in December). Aitana and Puig Campana summits were spectacular. Aitana had a fall of snow the night before so we had sun and snow covered landscape with views of the mountains and sea. Great group with a competent and amusing leader (Jose).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Aitana and Puig Campana summits had extended excellent views and were great walks.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jose was competent, hard working, friendly and funny.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Great destination for winter sun in the mountains within easy traveling distance of the UK.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Alison Cairns

    Sierra de Aitana Travels

    We have just returned from our first Exodus adventure. Had a brilliant week with great company and camaraderie in our group. The walks were safe, fun and informative in the hands of our guide Jose, who conveyed his love and knowledge of the area to make our walks interesting and very enjoyable. Jose was a very competent guide and we felt safe at all times with him. The terrain is fairly challenging in places due to the gradient of some sections and conditions underfoot, however achievable for anyone who is walk fit and who walks regularly off road and we felt sufficiently tested and a good sense of achievement after each walk. Our accommodation was comfortable and clean, with plenty lovely, home cooked food. We enjoyed delicious triple decker sandwiches for packed lunch made personally by our guide each day, very much appreciated after a long and tough ascent!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the highest point of our walk each day in such glorious weather and conditions, also the remarkable scenery of limestone rock formations.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We thought Jose was a ‘top guide’. Professional, fun, knowledgable and ensured all group members were looked after and safe.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take walking poles, walking boots and enjoy!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would like to recommend the area, walks, Jose and the accommodation.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Richard Thornton

    Sierra de Aitana Trek

    A very enjoyable week's walking. Spectacular scenery, excellent guides, lovely hotel and top class sandwiches!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    No one particular inspirational moment although the Serrella Peak and Puig Campana walks stand out.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jose and Jaime are both excellent guides with an understanding of and passion for the area. I also much appreciated the lift into Benidorm to buy a new pair of walking boots after mine fell apart!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A great trip, book it!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Fayyaz CHAUDHRI

    Stunning scenery

    A great week graded level 4 But I felt more like 4 to 5. The guide Jose was excellent and very professionally handled the helicopter rescue for an injured member of our party who tripped and injured his knee . Excellent dining at our small family run pension- coeliacs well catered for . Jose made superb varied sandwiches for lunch.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of the mountains and general camaraderie

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb very professional and experienced guide

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Need to be fairly fit, able to walk at a reasonable pace to 4000 feet. Previous experience of walking on fells essential This is not for novice walkers .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would do this trip again
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Judith Argent

    Stunning Sierra de Aitana

    This was an outstanding walking trip. Our guide Jose was very enthusiastic about the area and the activities. He was good fun and the holiday was made extremely enjoyable by both him and the other people in the group. The walks were fast paced and of a good length. It was nice not to get back to the hotel too early, although we still had plenty of time for drinks and a swim before dinner. Food is authentic and remained excellent throughout the week. Lunch time sandwiches are something else! The hotel is perfectly positioned in a very quiet area with fabulous views. The walks are all very local but varied. Perfect!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many stunning views and great rock formations. The Spain we rarely see.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jose was excellent. I wouldn't hesitate to go on any other trips he was guiding.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go there!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would probably be nice to see the almond blossom in spring - however we got to eat the harvest!
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Steve Fulton

    Just Fantastic!

    Recently returned from this wonderful trip. Everything was perfect - The Mountains are beautiful and have a remote feel (we saw very few other walkers); The Hotel (El Trestellador) was basic but comfortable with stunning views of the mountains and sea and the food was just superb. Our two guides were excellent - knowledgeable, informative, amusing and very professional. The walks were great and well designed, especially the more challenging walks later in the week. I can't think of anything negative to say - this was a fantastic trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just being in these delightful and beautiful mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two leaders during the week, Jose Miguel and Jaime. They were very different, but both were superb - helpful, very knowledgeable and informative, very amusing and totally professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a great trip - go for it!
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Melanie Sims

    Great walking with Jose and awesome sandwiches

    A great week's walking as graded, brilliant family run hotel, superb guide and awesome sandwiches.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Views from the tops

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Best leader, passionate about the local history and geography. Great sandwich maker.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book this trip.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    patricia caddy

    A week in the mountains

    It was a very well organised holiday and our leader was very attentive, friendly, experienced and knowledgeable. The walks were varied and through dramatic and lovely scenery. At the welcome meeting the evening before the 1st walk, Jose emphasised that we were on holiday and should walk at our own pace. Unfortunately, there were some very fast walkers, who took off at some speed every day, which then set the pace, leaving me, very much, at the back. I felt I had to try and keep up and fell over a couple of times (not seriously). I think that this resulted in the leader thinking that I wasn't up to some of the walks. I have done several walking holidays of this grade and managed well at my own pace. I realise, that with such a small group, there is less likelihood of there being a variety of walking speeds.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There wasn't one particular moment. The photos that have been kindly shared, showed just how beautiful this area is. It was so peaceful and wild, helped by not coming across other walkers, apart from a couple of times.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jose is totally committed to making the holiday a good experience and chose good routes. He arranged some fun things to do in the evenings, which helped to make the group gel. His sandwich making is legendary!
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Paul Baranowski

    Fantastic Adventure

    Many thanks to Jose Miguel for such a fantastic adventure in the Sierra de Aitana. The hiking was really wonderful and all the hikes were well thought out and carfefully considered. Staying at the El Treestelledor was a delight, particularly with the wonderful cooking and warmth from Charro, the chef and owner. The location of the hotel was also perfect in relation to the hikes to minimize transit time and allow starting hikes hotel, as well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I experienced many beautiful moments on this trip, particularly while hiking and feeling that we are part of such an amaizing world with stunning nature. I felt that this particular hike and area are hidden treasures and should be highlighted even more. I was delighted by each breakfast and dinner - prepared with joy and a warm heart by the chef.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jose Miguel is warm, kind, thoughtful and dedicated. He looked after each one of us and shared his knowledge and passion of the locale with us to ensure we experienced the most we could on our holiday. Please consider taping his inspiration for the Cabo del Gaga Trek, as I surely would sign up. Jose Miguel ensured that we all were well looked after and that each of our dietary requirements were satisfied. I know he put forth extra effort for me and I wish to extend my genuine gratitude.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a wonderful adventure and to experience beautiful old world hospitality at the hostal. What a wonderful adventure.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Please consider shifting the BBQ dinner to an evening on a day of hiking, rather than the day off.
Call us on +356 21423994