Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2018
    Sarah Wong

    Iceland Walking Explorer

    An active walking trip through a diverse kaleidoscope of landscapes, from volcanic craters, green verdant hills to snow fields. An excellent way to experience nature and Iceland without the crowds.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hiking in Kerlingafjoll in snowy conditions. A combination of hot steamy geothermal activity, stark hills covered in snow. Bleak, and beautiful. Wading through snowfields, and clambering up slippery snow covered hills. It was a real adventure.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gunnar was great. Stoic, quietly passionate, a good chef who fed us well, and kept us safe. He showed us the beauty of Iceland sprinkled with traditional folklore. His depth of knowledge of the flora and fauna was impressive.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for all seasons from sun, snow, rain, wind. Waterproofs compulsory and walking poles are useful. The walking is technically not difficult but you do have to be reasonably fit. We walked on average 6-8 hours per walking day. Adverse weather conditions may make it more difficult walking through muddy, slippery conditions.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Definitely go sooner than later. Camping is becoming increasingly popular. We went at the beginning of the season and missed the crowds.
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Louise Parr-Morley

    TSF 150801 - Iceland Fantastic !

    This was a super trip that didn't disappoint in any area. It did exactly what it said in the itinerary. The scenery was fantastic we had a mixed bunch of nationalities and ages, 3 in their 60's and everyone managed the walks. Weather! it was summer in Iceland for UKs this means Autumn / winter temperatures so 3 season sleeping bag and thermals on two nights, merino layers great during the day warmest 150 / 190 coldest 150+190+320 (others wore their tech tops and fleeces) one walk the weather came in and warm jackets came out, covered in light ice shower. Photos - fantastic picture postcards of glaciers, mountains, waterfalls. This is camping to be willing to wash up, need to put tents up and down in the rain - tents generally remained wet throughout but luckily rain was in the night or days when we were travelling. Food - plenty of food its surprising what can be cooked in two large pots on the camp burners. prepare to queue for showers - but iceland facilities were clean and plenty of HOT water. Scenery varied - lava fields, pretty towns, farmland, snow and puffins, bubbling sulphur landscape…..take advantage of the nature baths. Don't forget a warm jacket to sit around in the evenings…I did :-(….. despite the summer you will be walking across snow and streams make sure your boots are waterproofed…….sliding down the snow may be quicker than walking….! Our guide was a star.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery particularly the water falls. Standing on top of the glaciers

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Orri was super, we trusted him completely he knew the walks well and guided through some difficult weather conditions. Excellent cook and guitar player….he managed all the background arrangements without us noticing and was very informative about Iceland the places we passed and the treks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    3 season sleeping bag a must, Icelands summer is similar to UKs autumn / winter temperatures pack clothing for layers lightweight tech tops to fleece.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    we recharged phones in the bus, you have to pay at the campsites to recharge - usually overnight, remember technology can't be plugged into a tent !….cameras, phones, iPads……bring batteries or leave at home !
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Caroline Simmonds

    The Best Bits of Iceland

    The Walking Explorer tour is a perfect mix of activity and sightseeing - two nights in each of five campsites let you get a good feel for the area (and recover a little on the transfer days from the walking, which can be quite strenuous!)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A spectacular sunset over Lake Myvatn that seemed to last for hours...breaking through the low cloud on the day of the last walk in the central highlands to emerge into bright sunshine, and managing to reach the peak to enjoy spectacular views...the Arctic Char dinner that Gunnar cooked for us one evening - lots of inspirational moments!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gunnar was a great leader. A man of few, but well chosen words, with a good sense of humour and the ability to bring together 16 very different group members over the course of the holiday. Lots of entertaining stories about his homeland (watch out for those trolls in the mountains). He also struck the right balance between looking after the group and letting people do their own thing if they wanted to. Our driver, Michael, was also exceptional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Even if you are not the greatest camping fan in the world (like me!) don't let the fact that this is a camping trip put you off. The tents are easy to put up and down once you get the hang of it, the campsites are generally pretty civilised, even if you do have to queue for a shower on occasion, and they are in spectacular locations. Plus, if you go in July, like we did, it never gets dark, which means that the usual scramble before dinner to get the tent sorted out, locate your head-torch etc is unnecessary. That makes a surprisingly big difference. It also makes the walking/ travelling more relaxed. You don't need to change much money into Icelandic Kronor, as you can pay for almost everything, almost everywhere, with a debit or credit card. The only thing we absolutely needed cash for was the showers at a couple of the campsites. Take good waterproofs!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I really recommend this holiday.
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Adrian Crocker

    Adrian

    An wonderful experience to be able to walk in this volcanic landscape the scenery is incredible with amazing contrasts of which I have never seen any where before. A photograph's paradice.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking around the volcanic lava fields, and the mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Leader Gunnar Bjorgvinsson was excellent, a mine of information regarding the history and geology of Iceland with an unflappable nature and a great cook too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go, to experience this awesome walking trip

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Keep this trip available.
  • Reviewed September 2014
    Torstein Skardhamar

    Walking in Iceland

    This was my first organised group holiday so I was a bit anxious about it as I like organising holidays myself. However, I loved every second of it and will be going on an Exodus trip again. The trip was perfectly organised and the guide was incredible....nice, Icelandic, talkative, funny, excellent cook, and lots of stories about the history, folklore and geology of Iceland. I learnt so much on this trip. The trip also allowed space to be on your own if you so desired and there was no compulsion to be with the group at all time. Maybe I was lucky with the group, but they were all nice, down-to-earth people, mostly experienced walkers who were all there to enjoy the scenery and escape their usually busy lifestyles for a few weeks. I also liked this trip as all the walks were very varied. You have 5 big walking days and it varied from volcanic to glaciers to Alpine meadows to spooky, sulphuric mist walk. All excellent. It was one of my best holidays and will definitely go back to Iceland.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The tops of the mountains we climbed. Stunning views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Incredible. Very knowledgeable about Iceland's history, geology and wildlife. He worked very hard, cooked excellent food and was never grumpy

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't do this trip if you want to continue camping by yourself where you have to do all the hard work like making coffee and food. This trip makes you very lazy, but I loved it. When you get up the coffee & porridge is already made and when you come back tired from a trip all you have to do is relax while somebody else prepares some lovely food. It will be hard camping on my own again.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It took a long time to be able to pronounce Eyjafjallajökull
  • Reviewed August 2014
    Valda Kampf

    Outstanding trip!

    This was a wonderful holiday which way surpassed my expectations. We were probably lucky in that the weather was warm, dry & clear most of the time & we also had a harmonious group of interesting, sociable and considerate people. Exodus did an excellent job.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many special moments & highlights. To name a few - the scenery which was different but always stunning every day, walking around the top of Eyafjallajokull and having a picnic lunch in one of it's craters, icebergs stranded on the beach at Jokulsarlon, the turquoise icy lake in the Dyrfjoll Mountains, fresh arctic char & BBQ camping dinners.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kristjan was exceptional in many ways - not only a cultured, interesting, amusing, experienced leader but also a captivating storyteller and excellent cook who was flexible to our wishes and provided many extras along the way. Our driver Thor was also a huge asset to our tour due to his sense of humour & willingness to help out in many ways.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Add a night or two at the beginning or end as there is a lot to do in Reykjavik & the surrounding area. Don't be fixated on dinner time! Days can be longer than expected so dinners were sometimes pretty late, but Kristjan always had biscuits to keep us going. The tents are quite small for 2 people & bags. If you are travelling on your own & sharing, might be a good idea to upgrade to a single for just the camping part if you can. Bring sun tan lotion. Even though temperatures are not high the sun can be very strong.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There were 14 of us on our trip & I am sure that everyone was very impressed. We had people of different abilities, some of us who although generally quite fit, do not trek very often but it all worked out. I didn't think anywhere was dangerous although you do have to concentrate & watch your footing in some places. I can't see how anyone could not fail to be in love with Iceland after this trip.
  • Reviewed August 2014
    Kevin Nuttall

    Iceland Walking Explorer

    Iceland Walking Explorer is a trip full of adventure and interest. The walking, whilst quite tough, is at a pace to suit everyone, takes you into some stunning scenery in remote locations. There is also plenty of sightseeing in a country which offers some of the most spectacular scenery in the world. Camping is in good mountain tents and on beautiful sites with the necessary facilities. The food and cooking are excellent and if you go to bed on an empty stomach, it's your own fault. Icelandic weather is unpredictable, so expect beautiful days mixed in with some rain which rarely lasts the day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment of my trip was reaching the top of a volcano in the pouring rain to find a lovely hole in the ground blowing out warm sulphur smelling air. It was the perfect answer to preventing hypothermia, and I even got my gloves dry. Every mountain summit should have one.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Christian, the group leader is a thorough professional with good communication skills. His leadership in the mountains is excellent. In camp he works tirelessly to cook satisfying meals in difficult conditions, and the food is first rate. His knowledge of the Icelandic environment and culture is second to none. Acknowledgement must be made to our 'coach' driver Thor. He is a great guy who goes well beyond his call of duty to assist with the camping, to get you to remote locations safely, and to ensure that everyone on the trek has the best possible holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect full, varied, long days whether walking or travelling. Icelandic walking is no picnic. It is often remote and the weather can change quickly. Good quality personal walking equipment and footwear is essential. The weather can swing from warm and dry to cold and wet several times on a one day trek, so 'layer' your clothing. The sharp lava rock will sort out any equipment that is 'on its last legs', and it will eat the seat of your trousers if you don't have a sit mat.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you're thinking of planning a similar trip on your own forget it. This Exodus trip is excellent and you'd be very hard pushed either to replicate it or bring it in at the same cost -so go for it!
  • Reviewed July 2014
    Valerie Boissel

    Iceland walking explorer trek

    This trek was just incredible. I have never seen so much beauty concentrated in such a small country... from the lava fields, to the icebergs on black sand, to the impressive waterfalls, craters, moon-like landscapes etc.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many, it is difficult to just name a few. Being at the top of Kritinartindar and taking in the amazing view on the glaciers; watching reflections of icebergs in in still glacier lagoon waters; in Bakkagerdi, admiring the full moon on a purple sky and at the same time a reddish sun set then rise on the sea (was worth staying up until 2 am!); witnessing how earth power is harvested efficiently into renewable energies; running down the Hverfjall crater.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pétur is a great guide and a very nice person. He made sure everyone could get out of the trip what they'd come for despite differences in personalities, fitness levels etc. (e.g. lengthened walks, shortened walks with bus ride, etc.). He is very passionate and it is great to be able to talk in depth about his country. Him and David (our driver) organised several wicked activities such as a few hours at the swimming-pool in Egilsstadir, evenings at the pub, bathing in remote hot springs, music sessions (singing and playing), tasting some incredible fish and stews, visit of the Lindarbakki turf house etc. They both have a great sense of humor!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We were really lucky during our 2 weeks, as we only had sunny weather (and did get a tan!) with very little rain overall. however this was rather unusual for the season (and the country!) and therefore I would recommend you pack for heavy rain, wind and cold. Also, on this type of trek, expect the unexpected to happen so please just be open-minded, go with the flow and enjoy the adventure (for example at our last campsite, the terrain was not ready for tents so instead the owner let us use one of the cabins with bunk beds. It was like being at a holiday camp, very fun!). Otherwise, you should consider joining less adventurous and challenging holidays.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just enjoy and take it all in!
  • Reviewed July 2014

    Beautiful, awe inspiring scenery

    Truly unforgettable experience of the beauty, ruggedness and awe inspiring scenery that Iceland has to offer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many great points, we ran out of superlatives to describe the amazing views. Skaftafell hike was great, getting to the peak and seeing the three glaciers. Standing on a hill at 1:30am with a full moon over mountains behind us and sunrise over the sea n front.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Petur was fantastic and happily shared his love of Iceland, explaining the history and information about each area. He sometimes had to keep the group moving on hiking days to ensure we got the best out of the holiday. We got to the top of Skaftafell hike with an amazing incredible view of the glaciers. Had time to take photos etc. and as we walked back down, we looked back and the whole hillside was covered in cloud. Its that experience of his country that made you feel safe and trust his instincts to get the most enjoyment out of the holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just to be fully prepared for a range of weather and that you will be walking on a full range of ground types from well maintained trails to knee deep snow and everything in between. The guide is experienced and knows what is safe. There is 24hour daylight but you soon get used to sleeping without any darkness :-) sometimes its great as can get some beautiful sunset/sunrise shots between 11pm and 2am. Be prepared for long days of driving which is not too bad thanks to the wonderful views.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Iceland is a beautiful country and with a huge variety of things to see and experience. Often people say it is expensive but found most of the prices to be not too dissimilar to the alps.
  • Reviewed September 2013
    Anonymous

    ICELAND WALKING EXPLORER

    A great fun trip with a great balance of really interesting walks and exploring and sightseeing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I can't pick out a single moment - each walk was so interesting but also so different from each other.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great fun and a wry sense of humour. Made sure we did everything on the itinerary but tweaked, and added things to cater for our group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You need to be happy and prepared for cold weather and to do the walks in rain and cloud - good waterproof jacket and trousers are a must have!I am 30 years old and have never used walking poles but could have done with a pole for this trip to help walk down the steep slippery and loose slopes, and when crossing sections of ice and snow.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Iceland is an expensive country to visit and my husband and i had been wanting to go for ages but putting it off due to the cost, but it was well worth it and i would really recommend that anyone in the same situation just goes for it - i promise you you won’t regret it!
Call us on +356 21423994