Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

 

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2019

    Walking the fjords

    A stunningly beautiful adventure exploring Norway. Such a great variety of treks and landscapes led by an excellent, v natural guide who is v passionate about his country. If you love trekking and the outdoors, then Norway should be on your bucket list!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day was different offering a wide variety of treks on different terrains, seeing an amazing variety of landscapes - you really get a real taste of what Norway has to offer trekkers. We scrambled over rocks to get quite close to the mouth of a glacier, peaked Mt Molden above the clouds, walked through the dreamy green valley (still a few ups - not all flat!) and even trekked through a bit of snow in the mountains. We also had a few ferry rides too so we got to experience the fjords close up (a couple of us even took a dip in the 'refreshing' fjord back at the guest house). A well paced tour - not too quick, not too slow and great bunch of travellers to share this experience with.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Einar was a brilliant and v natural leader. He knew the area extremely well and took great care of the group, his passion for his country always shining through. Led an excellent pace that suited everybody and encouraged a v supportive environment where everyone helped each other.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure your fitness level is suitable for this grade of holiday (Exodus training guides are a great starting point). You are trekking every day with many upward slopes (you get the great views tho!). There are options given for some days e.g. you don't have to scramble over all the rocks at the glacier if you don't want to etc. The pace of the days are good and it's a supportive walking environment (not all of it is up slopes). Take waterproof boots - we walked over boggy ground and through streams - and ankle support is advised as you will walk on quite a lot of uneven ground. But above all - enjoy every moment! It's a spectacular place to trek in and you cram a lot in the five days of trekking. Walking poles are useful too for those not blessed with a natural sense of balance!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The varied weather added to the amazing experience from the moodiness of the cloudy days to the glorious colours seen on the bright sunny ones. We were lucky and didn't have much rain.Take layers as you get warm when trekking so we were in t-shirts and you will need something warm up the top of mountains when you stop for lunch.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Philip Risdale

    'Hiking in Norway', not 'Walking the Fjords'

    A great week of hiking in a beautiful location with good accommodation and lovely food - and with great guides. This is a full program with little 'down time'.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The iconic views from the Molden peak with its stunning views of Sognefjord.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Asbjorn is an an exceptional guide and also a very nice man with so much knowledge and experience. Sadly he is looking to retire which will be a shame to miss all of those stories, but he is currently training his replacement Lucas, who I think will make also make a great host/guide. We found them both very helpful & approachable as well as being very knowledgeable of their environment and locality. An real asset to this trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not under-estimate this trip. This is a hiking trip, not walking. Many of the hikes are quite a bit longer than the notes imply and you will be expected to scramble a little as well as doing a lot of walking on very uneven ground. This is all fine if you're used to this & expecting it, but be warned.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Stay an extra night in Bergen, there is so much to see & do there and the itinerary does not give anywhere near enough time there.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Nancy Liu

    Norway hiking

    The accommodation and the guides could not have been better.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing everyone hiking up and down despite their ages.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Awesome

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Laurie Dainer

    A Trip for the Active

    Nes Gard Farm is a fantastic place. The meals were fresh, healthy, and delicious. Each day we traveled to a new location for hiking. The people in my tour group were great - 8 women and 3 couples. Everyone was game for adventure and being active. Our tour guides were knowledgeable and very personable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The incredible landscape on every hike. It's too difficult to pick out one outstanding moment because each day presented a new aspect of Norway.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leaders were professional and attentive to individual needs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to hike on uneven terrain and smooth rock surfaces. Trails are steep and often slick. I was cardio fit but I did my conditioning on groomed trails. The glacier walk is very challenging. Gaitors are highly recommended to pants clean.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do not go on the glacier walk if it's been raining.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Karin Haferkorn

    Lovely time!

    I had a lovely time in Norway. During the day we were kept busy with hikes in the mountains surrounding the Norwegian fjords - good exercise and beautiful views. Our guest house was charming - was surprised by how nice it was - and the staff was super friendly. We even saw quite a few UNESCO world heritage sites. Overall I was positively surprised with Norway and glad i chose this trip. Great company too!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beautiful views took me away from my everyday worries and who would have thought going onto the glacier would be so much more fun than just looking at it from up close!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I loved Einar - he is young and super humble but he really tried hard to take care of us. Lovely guy

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Fitness levels - moderate for one person is challenging for another especially when there are time limits for certain hikes.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Linda Farrant

    Norway at its best

    An action packed week of walking in an area of stunning scenery. Walks full of interest and every day was different terrain so all walks very different all superbly guided. Even the journey from Bergen to our accommodation was beautiful both ways including ferry crossings of stunning fjords Nes Gard was a wonderful place to stay. So friendly, lovely accommodation & superb food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A beautiful long walk starting in one valley and walking over to another valley with views of multiple glaciers & peaks with an almost 360 degree view.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Einer was an excellent guide, full of information about the area & his country. He took a lot of care to make sure the group able to walk at their own pace while still accommodating the slower walkers. And he carried coffee for all of usto the top of each route every day !! What luxury!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit enough to walk all day, with usually more than half the walk of course being up hill.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommend this holiday as a good way to visit a beautiful area of Norway. You could not walk in a more stunning area. Food & drink is expensive in Norway but as all our food was included even the meals we thought we were going to have to provide so that meant plenty left to spend on beer!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    MELANIE SMITH

    A fabulous week with fabulous weather

    We were picked up from the airport with no problem and taken to a very nice hotel (Thon Orion) in Bergen. The hotel puts on a free evening buffet type dinner which was perfectly adequate for us. The rooms were good, clean and comfy. Asbjorn owns the farm in Nes where we stayed, and he drove us there, quite a long journey but with plenty of stops. He was happy to tell us all about his country and Nes Gard. The accommodation was lovely, just across the road from the Fjord. My bed was amazingly comfortable, everywhere was spotless. Food was delicious. The walks were varied, not difficult if you're used to hiking. Some might find some of the walks a little challenging, as the terrain was often rocky, and steep in places. Some of the walks were there and back the same way which probably couldn't be helped, but it made me feel a little cheated.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I would say that it had to be our walk on the Glacier as it was something I'd never done before, I didn't know what to expect. We were given crampons and ice picks and roped together in groups of about 12, an experienced guide at the front, and off we went up the Glacier after being told how to walk in crampons of course. The blue of the Glacier was stunning, and looking down into crevices was beautiful. This is an optional extra of the holiday but well worth doing. Quite pricey at nearly £60.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Asbjorn took us on our 1st walk up to Molden Peak. He was great, very informative and knowledgeable . The rest of the week our guide was Inar who was also fantastic. He kept us safe, he knew what we were capable of and he had lots of stories to tell us which kept us amused. He's only a young lad but certainly knew what he was doing, he was a delight.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Most people know that Norway is expensive, but it still comes as quite a shock. If you like a beer to cool you down after a day out walking, take plenty of money. Half litre of lager is about £7.50 and a bottle of wine about £30. Also it might be a good idea to take mosquito spray, we did encounter a few during the week.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'm a Vegan, and my evening meals were fabulous.
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Lillian Schutt

    Walking in Norway 28th to 4th Sept

    The only problem I have with waking in Norway was the tracks . They are in a state of great repair . Ground in places need to be leveled out . Some rocks need to be removed . New soil needs to be placed down in most places. As below

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Scenery

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very good no issues

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As above the walking tracks only

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food, accommodation and guide were 100%
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Jillian Broadbent

    great holiday all round

    our host at Nes Farm was excellent ,changing the order of our walks to suit the weather pattern ,giving us great information about Norway's history and sharing his passion for the outdoors and his country. Food and hospitality made this trip special. Jillian

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Asborg ,our group leader, was outstanding he made many moments inspirational
  • Reviewed September 2015
    Teresa Neal

    Walking the Fjords - Norway

    An excellent holiday! The walking was wonderful, the scenery stunning, food fantastic, and the guide generous, (I like alliteration!). We stayed at Ned Guard where our room was very comfortable and the staff brilliant. Our guide, Asbjorn Manum, was a wonderful host who shared his love of hiking with the group. A gentleman of, let's say, more mature years, but still walked up the steepest slopes like a youngster.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We took the optional trip to walk on a glacier. Once geared up with crampons, ice axe, harness and rope, we were taken on a stunning two hour walk on the glacier including descending through an ice cave. Our guide for the trip was a young Nepalese man who told me he had climbed Everest 9 times - can't accuse him of lacking mountaineering experience!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Asbjorn was an excellent host and guide. Having climbed up the mountain, he would produce tea and coffee that he had carried up with him, and small mats for everyone to sit on. He also loved to tell us stories about the area and its history. A wonderful man. I hope I'm as fit as he is when I reach his current age!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The weather can be variable, so make sure you pack both tee shirts and shorts, and something much warmer. Gloves and hats are essential for some of the walks. On our last day we walked at around 1,400m elevation and the temperature was only just about freezing with a brisk wind blowing.Z

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is our third Exodus holiday and yet again we found we were travelling with a wonderful and diverse group of people.
Call us on +356 21423994