Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

37 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2019
    Yvonne Carson

    Fantastic walking in beautiful surroundings

    I really enjoyed this walking holiday. My holiday was a grade 5 and I managed it fine in terms of the walking difficulty and length. I did struggle with the heat at times though, as it was very hot in the direct sun. The scenery is fabulous and I enjoyed every walk we completed. The scrambling was a little tricky but perfectly doable and worth the effort to see those views! Vultures and eagles were seen over head and butterflies closer to the ground. It was well organised, the food was plentiful and good quality. Hotel accommodation in Sóller was great, the Monastery looks impressive from the outside but the rooms are quite dark and a bit basic. Overall, I cannot fault this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the Monastery de Luc. Very impressive and beautiful building.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Couldn’t fault the group leader. Eduardo was so knowledgable about Mallorca’s culture, food, wildlife, people and geography. I felt educated each time we went out. He is very keen to please and looked after us so well. He had patience and humour and it was a rap pleasure to have him as a guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware of mosquitoes! Be sure you can cope with long days in the sun. Take a waterproof jacket. The ice cream in Sóller is lovely!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A good value trip that is a great combination of walking, eating and culture.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Sharon Saliken

    hiking in mallorca

    excellent trip I can't wait to take another

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    our last day hiking was amazing but hiking with an 80 year old for a week was very inspirational

    What did you think of your group leader?

    excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    take collapsible poles

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    dinners at the monastery are very expensive I think they should be built into the cost
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Chris Newsome

    Fantastic experience!

    Absolutely stunning walks every day, fabulous food and so much fun!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being surrounded by amazing scenery and people every day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduard Casajuana is a brilliant guide and so passionate about sharing his knowledge and love for all things Mallorcan, the mountains and wildlife. He made the holiday about so much more than just walking - fantastic!
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Mary-Ann Preston

    Walking Mallorca

    This was an amazing experience. Our leader Eduard was delightful and friendly. Each day when a picnic lunch was included he went out shopping for typical Mallorcan food, with different cheeses, sausages ey each day. He spread everything out on a tablecloth on a flat area and we helped ourselves...no pre-packed soggy tasteless sarnies for us! There were only 7 of us in the group and we all got on really well, and despite some rainy days when Eduard had to change the plan, we had a wonderful week. And the accommodation was fantastic too! Fabulous week.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everything was superb...Eduard, accommodation, food, walks, landscapes, fellow hikers...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was great, delightful, always cheerful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Whatever the weather, whatever the makeup of your group....just enjoy everything, go with the flow...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Think I've said it all, other than to say the week was good value for money.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Miranda and Guy Berbee-Wheatley

    Walking in Mallorca

    The walks were scenic, challenging, varied, interesting and enjoyable; lovely mix of sea / coast, forests, mountains and a variety of terrain. Fantastic views. Briefing about the walks were detailed and there was lots of information along the way. Hotel was conveniently located and close to amenities, good restaurants and bars. The monastery was an interesting experience in a peaceful and quiet location.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably the 360 degrees views from Puig d'en Galileu; a long climb that included some scrambling and challenging walking but were rewarded with fantastic views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Passionate, huge amount of knowledge about the local area, flora and fauna, caring, compassionate and we felt very safe in his leadership; would follow him to the end of the world! He put together lovely lunches to keep us all going and we enjoyed his explanation of how to put together the Mallorcan 'open sandwich'. He gave, for those who wanted, some lovely suggestions for local food / restaurants and made sure that everyone was ok during the day/walk with options to cut the walking shorter if the person/people wished to do that.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be sure to book on the right grade of walk; the Challenging walking was definitely challenging.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Try the local gin!! and liquor 'Herbes Dolces' - delish! :-)
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Trevor Taylor

    Walking in Mallorca

    Lovely relaxing week on an island I hadn't visited before. Two centres with the contrast between the lively Puerto Soller with plenty of choice of restaurants and the quieter(and enjoyable) more remote environment of Lluc Monastery. A variety of walks exploring different aspects of the Sierra Tramuntana from dramatic coastal paths and views of turquoise seas and steep cliffs to more sustained mountain paths leading to 360 degree views of the mountain range. Not strenuous walking but pretty much all walks on good rocky paths, some uneven, which are perfect for regular walkers(I do use poles but didn't need them on this occasion) ; for early April we were lucky apparently as we had no rain - if it had been wet, the walks could have been much trickier. All of this superbly orchestrated and managed by our experienced local guide Eduard who was a star in every respect from planning the logistics of the walks, leading professionally, making sure everyone was safe, preparing lunches, driving, and particularly gelling with the group and communicating his passion for everything Mallorquin having grown up on the island.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Views of the coastal walking particularly dramatic but all days had views to savour.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduard is a top professional but at the same time passionate, and very good, at communicating his enthusiasm and knowledge about all aspects of Mallorquin life, culture and history. Memorable moments included his account of charcoal burning and how important it was to Mallorca and how tough a life it made for the people involved. Also, dry stone walling, ice houses, Mallorquin cuisine especially Pa Amb Oli which usually formed the centrepiece of our picnic lunches and which construction(!) Eduard took great pleasure in describing. Very knowledgeable about flora and fauna as well, particularly birds, of which we saw many including vultures and open to answer any questions about aspects of island life and history. Good sense of humour as well although one or two groan-inducing jokes(!).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Put aside any preconceptions you may have about Mallorca and go and find the real Mallorca for yourself.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I did a land-only trip as booked quite late. It is easy to get to Palma from the airport via bus and then there are options - bus or train/tram from the central integrated InterCambio(left luggage and bike hire here) - for getting to Puerto Soller from Palma. All for less than 10 Euros. Had I had more time, I would have spent a day or two in Palma before or after as there is plenty to explore there. We visited some interesting towns/villages during the course of our walks e.g. Valldemossa, Deia, Soller etc. so it would be good to have more time to explore. It is easy to get around generally - there is a good bus service if you don't want to hire a car.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Trevor Taylor

    Walking in Mallorca

    Lovely relaxing week on an island I hadn't visited before. Two centres with the contrast between the lively Puerto Soller with plenty of choice of restaurants and the quieter(and enjoyable) more remote environment of Lluc Monastery. A variety of walks exploring different aspects of the Sierra Tramuntana from dramatic coastal paths and views of turquoise seas and steep cliffs to more sustained mountain paths leading to 360 degree views of the mountain range. Not strenuous walking but pretty much all walks on good rocky paths, some uneven, which are perfect for regular walkers(I do use poles but didn't need them on this occasion) ; for early April we were lucky apparently as we had no rain - if it had been wet, the walks could have been much trickier. All of this superbly orchestrated and managed by our experienced local guide Eduard who was a star in every respect from planning the logistics of the walks, leading professionally, making sure everyone was safe, preparing lunches, driving, and particularly gelling with the group and communicating his passion for everything Mallorquin having grown up on the island.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Views of the coastal walking particularly dramatic but all days had views to savour.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduard is a top professional but at the same time passionate, and very good, at communicating his enthusiasm and knowledge about all aspects of Mallorquin life, culture and history. Memorable moments included his account of charcoal burning and how important it was to Mallorca and how tough a life it made for the people involved. Also, dry stone walling, ice houses, Mallorquin cuisine especially Pa Amb Oli which usually formed the centrepiece of our picnic lunches and which construction(!) Eduard took great pleasure in describing. Very knowledgeable about flora and fauna as well, particularly birds, of which we saw many including vultures and open to answer any questions about aspects of island life and history. Good sense of humour as well although one or two groan-inducing jokes(!).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Put aside any preconceptions you may have about Mallorca and go and find the real Mallorca for yourself.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I did a land-only trip as booked quite late. It is easy to get to Palma from the airport via bus and then there are options - bus or train/tram from the central integrated InterCambio(left luggage and bike hire here) - for getting to Puerto Soller from Palma. All for less than 10 Euros. Had I had more time, I would have spent a day or two in Palma before or after as there is plenty to explore there. We visited some interesting towns/villages during the course of our walks e.g. Valldemossa, Deia, Soller etc. so it would be good to have more time to explore. It is easy to get around generally - there is a good bus service if you don't want to hire a car.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Diana Edwards

    Walking in Mallorca 30 April - 6 May

    Just what I was expecting from previous reviews and one previous visit to Mallorca: wonderful scenery, well planned and interesting walks, good locations. Port de Soller is a pleasant and sedate place with lots of good restaurants. Our hotel was the Eden (instead of the usual Eden North) to accommodate all of us, and it was excellent: large rooms, recently refurbished, and an amazing selection for breakfast. The monastery at Lluc is more like a youth hostel without the self catering, with - at this time of year - mostly walkers and cyclists. There are wo restaurants here, a food shop and pharmacy in addition to the refectory, so there is still plenty of choice.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Any of our walking days: seeing the extraordinary colours of the sea from the cliff tops; watching the black vultures perched on the rocky edge above us as we approached the 16th century farm house where we had freshly squeezed orange juice; the panoramic views of the sea and the central plain from the mountain tops we climbed up to.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very knowledgeable about Mallorcan life, and happy to share his knowledge with us. His Mallorcan picnics gave us an insight into the food traditions of Mallorca, and his friendship networks enabled us to go through otherwise closed hunting areas and so have a better day's walking. At Lluc he organised very successful evenings of exceptionally good food at one of the local restaurants, and his flexibility and dedication to giving Exodus clients a good experience meant that those who wished to had a morning and early afternoon in Palma before meeting up at the airport to get out flight home.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No surprises here: the trip notes cover all the ground.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Previous Exodus reviews were accurate and helpful - they said how good this holiday was. I and two friends had been intending to do a walking holiday in Mallorca, and they were thinking of self-catering and self-guiding. I persuaded them otherwise, on the basis of the reviews. While I enjoyed my previous self-organised walking trip in Mallorca, this was much, much better. And they are more sociable, too: everyone on the trip was good company and pleasant to be with.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Terence Gilbert

    Walking in Mallorca

    March proved to be a lovely time to walk in the mountains of Mallorca. Having been on many guided walks this was up there with the best; the group dynamic was supportive and fun, the group leader managed the pacing of the walks to suit the range of walkers, and the variety of the Mallorcan landscape was magical.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many such moments. Such as the walk from Valdemossa to an amazing viewpoint where we took in the stunning panoramic views of the coast and the mountains. Almost everyday provided tremendous scope for memorable photographs of the colours, textures and shapes of the varied terrain.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduard was terrific. He was knowledgeable, attentive, personable, and well organized. His leadership was a major contributor to our overall rating of excellent. Eduard's regular accounts of the island's history and culture were informative and entertaining; so much so, that the idea of becoming a charcoal burner has its attractions!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The stay at Lluc Monastery provided a distinct contrast with the excellent time spent in Puerto Soller and the coastal walks.The collection of historic buildings at Lluc amidst tranquil mountains was a good base for the second part of the week. Travellers should be aware that at the monastery Wifi is available, at a price but is extremely unreliable. In addition, be aware that the use of a hairdryer and TV controller each require a 20 Euro deposit.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The choice of restaurants in both locations was superb. Eduard's recommendations for eating out were spot on.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Mary Collins

    Walking in Majorca

    Walking in the western and northern mountains of Majorca was beautiful. My first visit to the island and I was not disappointed. A good group of sixteen like-minded people, two very different bases, secluded coves, rugged mountains and excellent tapas - what was not to like.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Eduardo! A superb guide. Eager to share his knowledge and obvious love of his home country and the pa amb oli lunches were wonderful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip is rated moderate in the brochure but at times sections were fairly challenging. Proper footwear and a stick a must!