Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Janet Bates

    Describes the holiday perfectly

    If you want a really relaxing entirely relaxing atmosphere with few tourists, then Evia is the place to go. The itinerary was varied and exactly as described. The family at the Galaxy hotel couldn't do enough for us. Their breakfasts are fantastic and grandad's home-made goat cheese legendary! It was a pleasure to stay there.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk to Castello Rosso and the Roman columns and the lovely relaxed and friendly atmosphere on an island that doesn't appear to have changed for centuries.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Having Thanos with you, is like having a walking Google with you. His knowledge is incredible and his "elevenses" are delicious, not that we really needed them as the food throughout the trip was amazing. Thanos couldn't do enough for us and his enthusiasm was infectious. Having been to Paphos in Cyprus many years earlier, I had tasted "tourist menus" and didn't particularly like Greek food. This was an entirely different experience. Everything tasted wonderful. Don't think you will lose weight or even come back at the weight you started the holiday, unless you have got a will of iron. You will definitely have to diet when you come home. I can guarantee you will come back around half a stone heavier! The days really aren't long enough to fit in the great breakfast, Thanos's "elevenses" treat, the foot long lunch roll, the evening's five plus assorted starters, the main course and then the sweet !

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are going in April, my advice would be to take waterproof trousers as one day in particular, during our walk, it rained throughout. I would also recommend taking gaiters if you have delicate skin below the knees, as some of the gorse really scratches even though you may be walking in long trousers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Having walked in the Lake District, I found the gorge walk scenery very similar. The only time you could take in the view was if you kept stopping, as most of the time you are having to concentrate hard looking where you are putting your feet and doing this for five hours downhill got a bit boring although the lunch stop was very pretty.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Patrick Hetherington

    Most enjoyable trip in a fascinating and untouristy area.

    Varied but generally not too challenging walking in an area with a fascinating history and archaeological interest. Also an opportunity to visit Athens.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Discovering how widely the Evians travelled and founded settlements in various parts of the Mediterranean.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thanos was an exceptional group leader. His knowledge of the area and its history was extensive and he inspired me with his enthusiasm. He was very attentive to our needs, ensuring all went smoothly, and going out of his way to give us the best possible experience. He took a flexible approach to the schedule, taking account of weather forecasts. Strong winds later in the week affecting the ferries necessitated delaying the Athens visit until the final day, but even so we were able to have a visit to the Acropolis and a walking tour of the city guided by Thanos.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for changeable weather! We were probably lucky not having any rain.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Basic but pleasant tourist hotel with excellent breakfast. Wide choice of evening dishes in a variety of restaurants. Comfortable minibus. Excellent service from the drivers. A few of us not on the group flights were looked after with transfers provided.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Phil Risdale

    There's more to Evia than you might think

    A relatively restful week of walking, eating, drinking and learning a lot from a knowledgeable leader (Thanos) in a wonderful location. No walk is too long or taxing, but just enough to engage, but with plenty of rests for snacks and interesting history lectures! This trip is leisurely because there is no rush and plenty of free time. Also, no early starts!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the abandoned Roman quarry with the marble columns lying around.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thanos cannot be criticised at all - everything ran smoothly, he is very knowledgeable and a good communicator, supplied an interesting variety of snacks on the walks, took us to a good variety of restaurants every evening, basically looked after everything. He also adapted the itinerary when the weather forecast looked a bit dodgy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't be fooled, it will be cool at altitude and in the evenings, so take clothing layers. If you really want to see Athens then add a day before or after the trip - the day trip included will be too rushed for many people's tastes due to time constraints & ferry times. And if you like beer then ask for 'Septem' in the local bars - a locally brewed craft ale.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel used isn't great but isn't that bad either - we found it clean & tidy with a decent bar & an OK breakfast - what really lets it down is the bathrooms & the showers especially.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Salman Syed

    Mountains & Villages of Evia

    The tour guide, Thanos, was superb. The food was great. Treks were beautiful. However, the quality of the hotel was OK.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching to the summit

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb, Considerate , Helpful
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Charlie Robinson-Hodge

    Walking and eating

    This was my first holiday on my own, couldn’t have asked for a better one. Exodus sorted everything and were very helpful and lovely. The hotel was lovely, right next to the beach. The staff were great and couldn’t do enough for us. Met some great people, walking is just enough to get your heart pumping with some fantastic views along the way. Going in November was great weather not too hot, perfect for walking. Even though we walked everyday I must have eaten my body weight. Our guide had pumpkin pie and doughnuts for our brunch stops. Food was delicious and lots of it.... we’ll definitely recommend this holiday and I will be booking with Exodus again........ just need to loose some weight first!!! lol....

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being able to touch and see the unfinished columns see where they were made, carved by the hand of 7000 slaves 100’s of years ago. Also the trip over the Athens.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was fantastic, had a good laugh with him and was very informative. He looked after us and hes always feeding you lol

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walking poles are handy. It can get chilly 1000m up the mountain

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great holiday, loved every minute
  • Reviewed November 2018
    peter colclough

    mountains and villages of evia

    good walks with patient guide and pleasant social evenings with fellow walkers

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    gorge walk from mt ohi to coast

    What did you think of your group leader?

    excellent guide and very sociable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    ensure you wear good boots and take adequate clothing .(water proofs)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    hotel ok but showers need updating.owners and staff friendly and accomodating
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Chris Sanday

    Unspoilt area

    Varied walks, which tended towards the moderate rather than leisurely. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at Potami Bay at the end of the walk from Platanistos. The taverna with its long table laid out just for us and sole use of the beautiful beach too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cecile was an excellent guide. Engaging and knowledgeable. She rearranged our walks around the weather conditions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Poles were very useful when descending some of the rocky slopes.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Lesley Hinchliffe

    Our first Exodus trip, but it won't be the last..........

    A great first trip, Cecile the group leader was excellent. Competent, calm, interested. A different type of walking each day. From hot up & down treks to ancient roman quarries to beautiful ridge walks with quiet, unspoilt gorge walks in between. Not sure I would describe it as "leisurely" - think moderate is more accurate.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The second day's Ridge walk, great views, lovely breeze to counteract the heat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Interesting, warm, not overbearing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wear lighter walking boots- ankle support useful, but leather boots too hot!
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Michael Swales

    Mountains of Evia

    Two days walking mountains. Two days walking gorges. One coastal walk. One day in Athens.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I can’t pick out a best day there were a variety of days, all different, all good. I particularly enjoyed Athens as I had never been there before and it was so different to the other days.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good. He was there for Breakfast, led us through our walks and took meal orders and served drinks in the Restaurants we visited in the evening. He was always still there when I went to bed. When did he sleep??

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If the programme remains the same the first two days are the toughest with two mountain walks. Everybody agreed that these walks would have been better on the last two days when we had acclimatised. Walking boots definitely required and plenty of water, all the islands springs provide drinkable water.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Gerry Toner

    Evia Mar2018

    Great guide, very engaging, helpful and knowledgeable. 3 of the 5 walks were not level 2 as suggested. That could have gone wrong for some people. A walk that is merely a 5 or 6 hour descent is tedious. Hotel poor Group good fun Eating out was good enough

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Guides stories about various parts of island combined with his references to history.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very engaging and knowledgeable. Attentive; if a little too much at times. Very friendly and made a big difference to overall experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure you check the walks are for you. ensure you check you are ok with tired hotel.
Call us on +356 21423994