Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Robert Everall

    Demanding

    A great trip and good group

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All getting on together

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A great guy and very good leader

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check it out !!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    SIMON Birch

    Magnificent scenery, challenging hut to hut traverse, not to be missed

    This trip was just what I wanted - a hut to hut traverse in high mountains with great scenery, some challenging walking and the highlight of climbing Triglav. We were fortunate with fine weather and a knowledgeable and entertaining guide and a congenial group. What's not to like?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking up at Triglav and wondering how we would climb it

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was just right, very good on history, local information as well as health & safety and concern for slower members of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, you need to be fit! And carry as little as possible. Do practice walks with full rucsac then cut lots of weight.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommended holiday.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Howard Harris

    An enjoyable tour with beautiful scenery

    This is a pleasant bike ride and itinerary beginning in the mountains of Slovenia and ending on the Adriatic. It basically follows a paved bike route derived from an old railway line, hence there are no severe grades to climb. However, there are areas where the path is not complete, and there are days when a significant amount of biking is done on non-paved paths. (More than we expected). There are some areas where improvements can be made. The odometers and locks are only supplied on one bike per couple (the male bike). The odometers are very primitive and they have to be restarted each time one stops, so they are relatively useless. GPS guidance would be most helpful. I found the notes and maps difficult to follow, but fortunately for the most part one follows the Alpe Andria Trail, which is very well signed. The bikes are adequate but quite heavy. The panniers supplied with the bikes are excellent. I would recommend visiting Laghi di fusine and taking the 5 km walk around the lakes. A good time to consider doing this, would be on the day that you are in Tarvisio, if you haven't done that on the way down to Tarvisio. I rated this tour as four stars out of five. It certainly has the potential to be a superb five star trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Grado was a surprise. It is quite a charming town, but all the towns we visited were charming.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Miroslav of M tours was very helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    see above If you come from Canada, make sure you get luggage tags – which we did not

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You don't have to publish this, but the system of getting upgrades is confusing. Almost all the hotels we stayed at had different category rooms, but Exodus do not offer some upgrades on the website and in fact we had a big problem in getting an upgrade in the Hanover Hotel when we booked the trip, where the upgrade to a Junior suite was mentioned as available to headwater clients. When we tried to book it, we were told that it was unavailable despite the fact that I was able to get the booking of a Junior suite on the exact day that we would be there from booking.com. After I booked it on booking.com, after a period of negotiation, we were able to pay the upgrade to Exodus and get the room. As we get older (I am 70 years old), we would like to travel in a bit more luxurious way, and I think that upgrades should be available in every hotel where different rooms are available. In the Agriturismo Casali Scjs, my wife and I were offered a very simple basic room which we did not think was adequate. We noticed that they had three and four bed rooms available and asked if we could use the four bed room which gave us a bit more room as well as a bath instead of shower (which we preferred) and cost us €20 more. I would appreciate your comments. I specifically am looking at doing the nine night trip from Porto, Portugal next time but notice that on many of the hotels, despite the hotel website showing multiple types of rooms available including suites, headwater does not offer them on their website as an option. I also found that the Exodus company in Canada did not seem to know much about the headwater trips and it would be much easier if we were able to deal with headwater directly. I know that Exodus owns headwater, but am confused as to the difference between dealing with Exodus and dealing with headwater. Some of the people in our tour all of whom were from Great Britain, dealt directly with headwater, while others had dealt with Exodus.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Bruce Royston-Smith

    Julian Alps

    Excellent trip, lived up to my expectations with the added benefit of virtually continuous sunshine, which made the Triglav ascent day the real highlight of the trip. Fitness levels are important on this trip, and should not be underestimated. Would recommend greater emphasis in the trip notes on the importance of bringing sufficient energy bars,gels,etc, as the quality and nutritional value of the breakfasts in some of the huts is minimal .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Summiting Triglav

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Katya was great....well-informed and attentive to the needs of the group

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The fitter you are the more you will enjoy the trip ! Bring plenty of food supplements/ trek food to supplement the hut meals. Walking boots need to be in good nick, as they will take a hammering on the trek !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Trip notes were incorrect as there were three nights in hotels and four in huts, and not two and five as per the brochure
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Oxana L

    One of the most beautiful places I have seen

    Challenging but very rewarding trip. Triglav National Park is a truly a hidden gem in Europe with incredibly beautiful landscapes which justify all the effort required to see them. The itinerary is well thought and level of effort builds up gradually, there are a few steady climbs, several exposed sections, some scramble and some more challenging descents, but don't be put off, if you are reasonably fit, you will absolute make it and the guides make sure that everyone is safe and enjoying themselves. The Triglav ascent itself is optional and more technical rather than physically challenging and requires good head for heights. Mountain huts are simple but that makes the experience even more fun and unforgettable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1. The day preceding Triglav ascent - you start in the forest, pass some incredibly beautiful lakes and end up in a moonscape with an amazing sunset to finish your day and get ready for Triglav 2. The Triglav day itself - beautiful views along the way + the ascent itself is quite technical and leaves incredible sense of achievement

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Katja and David were simply excellent - very attentive to the needs of everyone in the group and very fun as well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip effectively consists of two parts - one day hike on Sunday returning back to the original hotel and the following 5 days in the mountains - so dont be afraid to take extra stuff, you can leave it all behind before the main part starts Food will be lots of carbs - toasts for breakfast, pasta / polenta + protein for dinner and several sandwiches for lunch Poles marked as optional but they will be quite helpful - there a few more challenging descents, eg scree Take wet wipes - there will be no showers from Tue to Fri afternoon and one of the huts has very little water, just to brush your teeth really

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go, you will not regret it
  • Reviewed September 2017
    David Livesley

    Challenging but satisfying trip

    Beautiful, varied and spectacular scenery, good company and excellent leaders - what more could you want?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We had a perfect day to summit Triglav, which was definitely the highlight of the trip, even for those of us who were not used to the exposure.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Katja was excellent - warm, funny and empathetic, she provided great support when necessary.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you really didn't feel you could cope with it, you could miss out Triglav, but anyone nervous of heights may want to know that there are a number of other short exposed stretches on the route which are not difficult but are not avoidable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I knew what to expect of mountain huts, but the description of them in the trip notes as 'standard hotel' is rather misleading for anyone who has not been to one before. One of the huts used is fairly basic even for a mountain hut.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Lucy Runciman

    Great week in amazing country

    This was a really great trip. Our guides were fantastic - very supportive and professional during the more technical aspects of the walks but also funny and sociable. The walking is quite challenging fitness wise, and also technical and vertigo-inducing at times! The ascent of Triglav is optional though and it would be a great trip even without it. Slovenia is beautiful and the scenery was very varied, from alpine meadows and forest to limestone moonscapes higher up. The mountain huts were basic but clean and most had a good atmosphere. The trip description had not been updated for our trip - we spent 3 nights in a hotel and 4 in the huts, not 2 and 5 as stated in the notes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking back over the mountains on the last day and being able to see what we had achieved during the trek.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Liz Ling

    Julie Alps Traverse

    Just finished this challenging trek with spectacular scenery in Aug 2017. We had a group of 16 and two guides. We had perfect weather to summit Triglav, which is the highlight of the trek! Tips- the hut breakfasts consist of thick, white heavy bread, butter, jam and honey. You also get mountain tea and scrambled eggs. Coffee or any other beverage is extra and costs 2-3 euros. Breakfast was exactly the same in every hut except the last hut, where there were additional little packets of cheese and a meat (spam like) spread, and apple juice. Bottom line - bring protein bars, nuts, etc to supplement the minimal nutritional quality of the breakfasts because the hiking is strenuous and the days are long. Bring lots of wet wipes for cleaning and ear plugs for sleeping. Two of the huts have only one sink for washing with only a small trickle of cold water. On the second last day, most of the group had gastro-issues all starting within a few hours of each other. The hotel we stayed in at the beginning of the trip and the end was not the hotel mentioned in our trip itinerary. There was a booking error so another hotel was substituted. Unfortunately, it was not up to he standard of a 4 star hotel and did not have any of the amenities mentioned in our trip notes (air conditioning, safety deposit box, pool, lounge, or even a bar).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Triglav area is an amazing place to see. The mountains are spectacular and the trekking is challenging even for seasoned hikers. Reaching the summit will give you a sense of accomplishment and reward you with unbelievable views of the alps.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Katja is such a lovely person with expert trekking experience. She provided detailed information at the end of each day for the next day. She was personable, friendly and professional. Alesh is a crazy, fun guide who loves 'his' mountains.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You do need to have a good fitness level for this trek. Excellent worn in hiking boots are a must. One person in our group had really bad blisters and suffered for it. The trail is very technical, with loose rocks, scree, and steep drop offs. Hiking poles will save your knees! Bring your own nutritious snacks to supplement the hut breakfasts of bread, jam and scrambled eggs. Pack only what you really need - pack light!
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Heather Prestwich

    Fantastic challenge

    Wonderful views, challenging walking, but oh so worth while.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views, climbing, it's a beautiful country

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both our group leaders were great and worked well as a team. We had an extra leader on the climb up Triglav which made a big difference for those who needed support with the via Ferrara. They were very encouraging and caring when you needed it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Slovenian Alps only go up and down, and steeply, and the paths are rough. It is a punishing walk because not much of it is level or smooth. The hours of walking with your pack are accurate. There are plenty of rests and the pace is good.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You need to be fit
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Mark Gilbert

    Mount Triglav Julian Alps

    Fantastic trip,beautiful scenery and friendly people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the summit of mount Triglav above the clouds and enjoying the views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very friendly and informative and had a great rapor with the Trekkers .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have plenty of wet wipes as no showers in huts.
Call us on +356 21423994