Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2018

    The Alps Are Wonderful

    We have always wanted to hike the Mont Blanc Circuit, but didn't want to hike it alone. We wanted to go with an international group as we love meeting new people, especially from outside the US. Our group members were funny and interesting, and we couldn't have asked for a nicer group of people. And the mountains! This trip does a great job of giving you the highlights of the circuit. I'd highly recommend it and do it again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hiking from Switzerland into Italy over the Grand Col Ferret was one of the most breathtaking views I've ever seen.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter M. was kind, knowledgeable, and a delight as a human being. He dealt with some difficult situations with humor and grace. His knowledge of the Alps and trekking was vast. He managed the snowy portion of the route with excellent guidance and advice. I feel my hiking is much improved over that type of terrain, which previously scared me.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We are very physically active and hike a lot in our home state of Colorado and still found the hikes challenging. The elevation gain and loss each day are significant. Also, these are long days on your feet, so bring dependable hiking boots. When Exodus recommends that you bring specific gear, I'd heed their advice as you'll need it. I'd also try to pack as light as possible.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Rachel Harrison

    A superb trip with breathtaking views.....

    This is a superb trip. Fitness tested but did improve as the week went on. A "fast and light" way to achieve the Tour du Mont Blanc with only a weeks leave. I enjoyed it from start to finish. Many thanks Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking down into Orzieres and finding our quirky little hotel with a friendly manager and lovely food. A beer in the local cafe rounded off the day. Waking up in Italy to bright blue skies and phenomenal views that we hadn't seen the day before. The coffee in the refuges was a highlight and a welcome pit stop. This is a challenging trek and completing each day left you tired but happy (and nursing the odd blister!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nick was an excellent leader with extensive alpine knowledge. He looked after the group well, altered plans as required and kept us entertained!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel light! The hardest bit is carrying 10 kgs on your back. You really do not need much. I managed to wash a tee shirt and trousers and they dried (just) overnight. If your feet are at all vulnerable, protect heels and toes with tape (zinc oxide/kinesio tape - learnt from my fellow travellers) as walking with open blisters can be very challenging!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Excellent trip. Made all the more fun by a really great group of people who got on well and supported each other.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Claire Swarbrick

    Tour Du Mont Blanc Week

    Great people and beautiful scenery on a challenging but very enjoyable trip. Shame about the poor Exodus admin prior to the trip and the failure of any Exodus representative to meet us upon arrival at the airport (as promised).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just being in the mountains with such magnificent views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    There were 11 in the group and only 1 leader. At times the leader seemed oblivious to the fact that some members of the group had fallen so far behind that they could no longer be seen.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a wonderful trip but I was quite disappointed in the service provided by Exodus as I had heard many good things about the company and this was my first time on an Exodus adventure. One of the ladies on the trip arrived at the airport to find that she hadn't been booked on to her flight and had to make last minute arrangements herself. This has put me off travelling with Exodus again
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Mark Thompson

    Great exercise, top food and an excellent guide

    The Tour surpassed my expectations. The days can be long and the climbs can go on, but it's worth it for the incredible views, excellent food and the stories and jokes along the way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dropping from Switzerland into France and having an espresso next to a glacier. Stunning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nick was excellent. He knew the name of just about everything we pointed at - and we did a lot of 'what's that' pointing! He was also excellent at describing the regions' nuances and accommodating requests. With a relatively large group, you're going to have people of different abilities and fitness levels. Nick did a great job of making sure everyone remained part of the group while letting some people have moments to run off on their own or have a breather.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light. You don't need that extra t-shirt. Just take a bottle of travel detergent and use the sinks and showers to refresh your clothes. After 30 minutes walking you're going to be sweaty anyway!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Mark Hooper

    Fantastic week!

    Fantastic week! The whole week was brilliant from start to finish, the hotels were cosy and welcoming. The food was lovely especially the surprising stops that were sometimes at the top of a col. The scenary was beautiful, we especially loved seeing the snow capped peaks! We were very lucky to have a small group and we got on very well. We also had amazing weather, sunny everyday!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everyday was so different, we loved seeing the differences when walking through Switzerland, Italy and France. The final day views of Mont Blanc were spectacular!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rupert was a great leader, he was so knowledgable and passionate about the trip. He always made sure everyone was happy and okay. We especially enjoyed his games and local knowledge of where to get the best cheese from! He really did go above and beyond!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack lightly as you do need to carry everything and you can wash things in the evening. Most hotels have shampoo and shower gel so you don't need to carry much. You have two nights in the same hotel at the end so you can take extra clothes for those nights.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Absolutely loved this trip, was one of the best holidays that we have had!
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Barbara Rausch

    Tour du Mt.Blanc

    As a newcomer to Exodus travels I was pleasantly surprised how well structured and organised this trip was. The team John B. (our intrepid hike leader) and Emily S.( camp organizer and chef par excellence )was exceptional with their cheerful ,easy going approach yet professional on every level.I so appreciated the smiles and jokes- even in adverse weather conditions . Their engagement made this tour through this magnificent landscape even more memorable.Thanks again to both !!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To experience the peace in magnificent surroundings and the friendship of like minded people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was at all times aware and attentive. He is very knowledgeable and was helpful in all questions that came up. John made the hike enjoyable in knowing when to motivate and lead by example with a cheerful calmness.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Have clothing for all seasons and try to swim in some of the pristine lakes !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I will use Exodus in the future ,
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Chris Huet

    Tour du Mont Blanc Week (TWP)

    Jenny was a patient competent leader. The terrain was amazing and fellow hikers a lot of fun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved the steep steady uphill climbs and enjoyed when we were given free rain to climb straight for 2 hours. Also loved the experience on the top of Mont Blanc on the optional day. would love to go back to hike the glacier and possibly learn to summit the top.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jenny was great and worked well with the variety of needs within the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have a good cardio base before going as well as bring hiking poles. the downhills can be steep and long so will be hard on weak knees.
  • Reviewed July 2016

    One Week Tour du Mont Blanc

    Exhilarating views, good food, great guide, fabulous flowers, good company, hard exercise!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every time we reached the "Col" from one valley or country to the next, and had the fantastic views in both directions...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jenny was great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    These hills are high and the ascents are steep. You will climb 900-1200m per day and it can be hot. So pack really light. Our packs weighed about 6 kg [not including water]. Suggestions: take 2 walking T shirts and one evening shirt. Take 2 pairs of "zip-offs", 2 or 3 pairs of socks, one/two warm fleece, and waterproofs/windbreak. Each night wash your "smalls"/shorts etc in your room and they're usually dry by morning. Take headwear (something that will keep your head warm at altitude and something to keep your head shaded from the (very strong) sun. Carry two medium sized waterbottles. Take sunglasses, suncream and some travel wash. No need for insect repellent. Accommodation has hair dryers. Some places have wifi, some places dont, and one place has no mobile signal at all. Have shoes with really good grip - you can be on mud, on rocks, and on snow. Take flip-flops or similar for evenings in hotel. Most places give you a little soap or shampoo too. Most people brought walking poles, we didn't. Personal preference. Fine without but helpful on slippy areas. You can leave stuff at the first night's hotel and it will be ready for you on the Thursday on arriving in Chamonix. so then you can refresh clothing etc.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The views will blow you away. The abundant wild flowers are beautiful. Don't make any mistake though - this is hard walking, both going up and coming down. You do have do be confident you can manage the likes of Scafell Pike without too much trouble. Most days you can either get a packed lunch made up by the hotel but much cheaper and tastier is to buy some local produce from a local shop at the start of the day: some cheese , bread, fruit, chocolate etc. So carry a small knife to cut the bread. Final comment - Switzerland is expensive, so is Chamonix.
  • Reviewed September 2015
    James Emery

    Tour Du Mont Blanc Week

    Tough but doable. Like being with a group, but this particular trip would work just as well self-guided, and would have seemed more like a holiday (as opposed to a "forced march").

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Top of Col de Tricot, the end of the toughest climb on the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Quite capable, although sometimes more interested in adhering to overly rigid timetables than to accommodating the group's comfort.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect steep up and steep down, all day. Given the same guide and local organizer, expect brief, regimented breaks, and poor communications between the guide and local organizer.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Accommodation on night four was in a mountain hut, below the standard advertised for the trip. Understandable, if circumstances beyond the tour organizer's control dictated same, however in this case even our guide was unaware of the change in accommodation. The manner in which this downgrade took place, not the facility itself, soured my opinion of this tour.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We are aware of the issues that James regrettably experienced during his trip; his concerns have been investigated and any necessary changes to the tour have been made. We have replied to James on an individual basis

  • Reviewed July 2015
    Michael Collins

    TMB July 2015

    Very enjoyable trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Great mix of ages and nationalities in what soon became a tight group.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Experienced and knowledgable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be ruthless when choosing the kit you will carry. 8-9 hours of challenging walking every day. Long and often steep climbs and decent. Worth every step for the places and views you will encounter.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    First experience of Exodus. Good website to find a suitable package at a reasonable cost. Good experiences before and during the trip. Will certainly consider using again.
Call us on +356 21423994