Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2018
    Pam Peers

    Excellent walking tour of the beautiful Garden Route

    We packed a lot of walking in varied terrain into this two week itinerary. As well as the 7 days walking included in the tripnotes, we did substantial walks on several of the 'rest' days. These were optional, but we were all glad to have the chance to see more of this fascinating country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sleeping under the stars at Woody Cape Hut, after the first day of the Alexandria Trail. We had unseasonably high temperatures and it was a real privilege to be able to sleep outside, with the sounds of the ocean lulling you off to a very deep sleep ...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Simon was brilliant! A great guide, with an excellent sense of humour, and an always relevant playlist ... Cathy, our driver and occasional cook, was a joy to travel with. She makes the best breakfast ever

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take full, 3 season boots. My summer walking boots were just about o.k. but I regretted not having stronger leather boots. Some of the walking was more challenging than I'd imagined, though none of it was difficult. Don't take too many clothes... we had laundry done, cheaply and efficiently, in two locations en route
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Andy Bosson

    The best holiday ever!

    My wife and I and 2 friends made up part of a group which started the South Africa Garden Route tour on the 21st of October this year with our guide Justin. I have given the tour 5 stars, only because I can’t give it 6 or more! Justin turned out to be not only a fantastic guide, but a marvellous ambassador for his country, taking us to places we never would have found on our own, telling us about the wildlife, geography, history and politics of this beautiful, complex country. We stayed in 5 different locations on the tour, The Avoca River cabins, Tsitikamma National Park lodges, the Housemartins Guest Lodge in De Rust, the Windsor Hotel, Hermanus and finally the Sweet Green Olive Guesthouse, Cape Town. All the accommodations, while not 5 star, were perfectly clean, comfortable and had all the required facilities. The Housemartins Guest lodge in particular, was the best place we stayed. Our hosts, Jan and Teresa, welcomed us into their home like long lost family members and looked after us so well, that most people did not want to leave! Highlights of the tour; Schotia Tooth and Claw safari – 5 stars Tsitikamma Nation Park, including kayaking and zip wiring – 5 stars Housemartins Guest lodge – 10 stars Whale watching in Hermanus – 5 stars Cape town - 5 stars Anyone considering a trip to South Africa should give this tour serious consideration, we were four very happy chappies!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Schotia Tooth and Claw safari - we were 15 feet away from a an adult male lion in an open sided truck!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The Best!!! Very knowledgable, friendly, helpful and wonderfully organised! Justin is a great guy and helped make this trip throughly memorable!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a range of clothing, from tee-shirts to fleeces, long and short trousers, shower proof coats, because the weather, particularly in Cape Town can change in an instant. Mosquito sprays etc. are essential if you are troubled by bites.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Prices for food and drinks are very reasonable in South Africa (approx 40 Rand for a large beer (£2.00)). Take some currency with you as only breafasts are included in the price, but there are plenty of ATMs on the tour route.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Rebecca Horsley

    Trails of the garden route with Simon and Cathy

    South Africa was amazing. The people, wildlife, scenery, food and wines all excellent. Simon and Cathy o ur guide and driver really looked after us, slightly adapting things dependant on the weather, however, we managed more than the set itinerary due to their kindness and generosity. We stayed in great locations and lovely accommodation, I particularly enjoyed the night in the hut when we all played cards by cand!elight. The group all got on well too. Thank you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved watching the widlife, particularly the whales and dolphins in the sea whilst we are out sandwiches on the large sand dunes. Also memorable was hiking through skeleton gorge to Table mountain.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Safe and responsible. Good company with a great sense of humour. Very kind and generous. Nothing was too much. Knowledgeable and enthusiastic to share about his country. His wife Cathy and himself make a great team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It can be cool on a night in spring. Some excellent walking. Interesting and moving country. If poss get on the car to Robben island, it is smoother and quicker than the boat.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Eirlys Greenough

    What a trip!

    An incredible trip of walking, whales, wildlife and wine. From the much needed leg stretch when arriving at Kudu Ridge after the long flight to get to SA, to the trek up Table Mountain, each day brought different experiences, amazing scenery and some challenging walks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing whales on 4 different occasions and making it to the top of Table Mountain.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Simon Warren (and his wife Cathy, our driver) made the trip extra special. Both of them went above and beyond what was expected to ensure we got the most out of our South African adventure. A few additional walks were added, changes to the itinerary when the weather required it (including a trip to a winery when it rained) and we visited some fantastic restaurants. Both were extremely knowledgeable, very friendly and sociable and always on hand.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go! You'll love it.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Andrea Freeman

    South African adventure

    An amazing and challenging adventure. The countryside was beautiful and we saw so many interesting animals. Accommodation was always comfortable ranging from a permanent tent in the bush to a luxury hotel by a waterfront. The food was wonderful and plentiful. The South African people were charming, friendly and helpful. Walks were always challenging but so worth the effort with a real sense of accomplishment after we had clambered over sand dunes and boulders or climbed Table Mountain.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think the hike in Addo National Park was the most challenging in terms of the hike and accommodation but wonderful views and I felt we were at the heart of what it means to trek in South Africa.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Simon our group leader was wonderful. He went out of his way to make us feel comfortable, and his knowledge of the animals, terrain, geography and political situation of South Africa made our trip a really memorable experience. He went out of his way to make sure every member of the group was enjoying themselves and comfortable in all situations. He was always encouraging when the terrain was difficult. We were very fortunate to have his wife Cathy as our driver and they made an awesome team. They cooked the most wonderful meals and made sure that everything ran smoothly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it. The trek is challenging but so worth while. Pack light!
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Francis Curley

    Trails of the Garden Route

    Had a great trip.Many thanks to Simon,our guide,and our driver.Good varied walks.Good accommodations.Mostly great itinerary tho one day we drove 4 hours first thing and,as a result, could not tackle the full mountain height.Should have travelled to Swellendam the previous evening on a free day.Otherwise I thoroughly enjoyed the holiday.Great company, food etc.Would recommend this holiday.My first of its kind but ,hopefully, not the last

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to say

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I felt he did very well.Tried to ensure everyone got as much out of holiday as possible.Always willing and able to help out.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a sun buff for your head and neck.Boots recommended rfir ankle support.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just to say had a great first experience of this type of holiday
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Jo and Simon Lord

    Superb holiday

    This was a full and energetic holiday as we travelled across the Cape. We saw a wide variety of wildlife, wonderful scenery and, thanks to our guide and driver, learned so much about S.A. society and the places we travelled through. The walking was at the level of the grade, over the two weeks we climbed nearly 5000m, over terrain that varied from sand dunes to high mountains. We stayed at a variety of accommodation, some of it quite unique and lovely, such as the de Hoop nature reserve.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many, but seeing a great white shark from a cliff top was awesome, as was seeing a group of Southern Right whales and a tiny baby elephant. The Alexandria trail had amazing views and landscapes and the night spent in the (very civilised) hut was fun. We had a wonderful braai (bbq) at de Hoop under southern constellations, met a tortoise at a picnic lunch, ate at a trendy Cape Town steak house, and walked along a rough coastal path (the otter trail) to see a large group of dolphins catching lunch. The day up and down Table Mountain was also great.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Simon, ably supported by driver Warren, were both excellent. Simon planned and managed our itinery very well, so that we got the maximum out the walking and sightseeing opportunities. He and Warren were always willing to discuss any aspect of S.A society, which greatly added to what we got from the holiday, as well as enthusiastic about spotting and identifying wildlife.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for long days of activity- a lot packed into every day. Long trousers/gaitors good for the sand dunes on the Alexandria trail to avoid sand in your boots.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Simon Wiese

    South Africa Trails of the Garden Route

    The tour was excellent. The walks were all different and the planning was fantastic. Our guide Eugene was great and had a huge amount of knowledge to share with us. Toulei our driver was also excellent. Apart from being a great driver he brought a positive spirit to the group every day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking into the Cape Point carpark after 6 hours of hiking with the final destination always in sight, but so far away, was incredibly satisfying.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. A great guy, with so much knowledge to share and so much patience for us all. Thank you Eugene

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Carry extra water on the Alexandria Trail, especially if it is hot. You will need it.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Gavin Daffarn

    South Africa: Trails of the Garden Route

    An energetic hugely enjoyable trip along the southern coast of South Africa. Lots of walking, some quite strenuous, game drive and viewing, with some wine and beer tasting as well. A real insight into this delightful country with its beautiful landscapes and friendly diverse peoples.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many, but reaching the top of Table Mountain and walking out onto the very tip of Africa at the Cape of Good Hope probably came top of the list!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eugene was an amazing resource for us. Every question we asked, be it about the flora, fauna, countryside, food, traditions politics etc. he always had an informed and informative answer which he was delighted to share. He has a genuine love for his country and wanted us to understand why.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit, there are some long hard walks (interspersed with gentler days on the coach, or tasting wine!) There is one night when the group hikes to a refuge to spend the night, this involves carrying a sleeping bag, just for that day. When we went it was very warm and a liner with maybe a warm top and leggings would have be perfectly adequate and saved lugging a sleeping bag around for the whole holiday. (All be it in the back of the trailer after the night out)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A super holiday, with better than usual accommodation which was a pleasing surprise. Going to the southern hemisphere in our winter is always a good idea and this trip ticked all the boxes for us: active, interesting, comfortable, safe but with a certain degree of challenge thrown in
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Leslie Aird

    Trails of the Garden Route, South Africa

    First trip south of the equator and such a varied and intense experience of South Africa. What a wonderful country with friendly people, beautiful landscapes and magnificent animals.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Each stage was inspirational but to summarise - the beach trek of the Alexandria trail, seeing the elephants in Addo Park, climbing Twelve O'clock Peak, climbing Table Mountain, seeing whales, reaching the Cape of Good Hope (and probably lots of others).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Very outgoing, friendly, helpful, informative and knowledgeable. Joe did so much to make our trip a wonderful experience seeking out wonderful treks, pointing out animals and plants of interest, making sure we were well fed and generally looked after.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Wonder if the cost could have been reduced slightly and we were amazed at the quality of most of the accommodation - or maybe that's just South Africa standards! Being the first of this particular trip, perhaps a few adjustments to itinerary/timings - as discussed with Joe our guide - but overall everything went very well and we have no complaints at all.
Call us on +356 21423994