Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Louise Desaulniers

    Zimbabwe Walking & Wildlife

    Mark and Sarah couldn't have said it any better. They summed it up perfectly. I just wish I could be back at Hermit's Peak Lodge this very minute, it was so heavenly, as well as on the summit of Mt. Nyangani! I could not have imagined doing this unforgettable trip with a more delightful group of people and our two excellent guides, Marco and Ende.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many but I would have to say the rhino tracking in the Matopos National Park and visiting Cecil Rhodes resting place, hiking to the summit of Mt. Nyangani, and the dinner cruise on the Zambezi River.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Marco and Ende were priceless guides. Countless thanks to them both!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Should you have the opportunity to do this trip, go for it. Zimbabwe will forever have a special place in my heart.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Mark and Sarah Bucknill

    Zimbabwe Walking and Wildlife

    This was a very varied trip including great walks through beautiful mountain scenery, excellent wildlife safari experiences (including elephant, rhino and hippo) culture (both historical and current) and the fantastic Victoria Falls. The accommodation was of a high standard and some of it was particularly charming (Musangano Lodge and Hermit's Peak Lodge in particular). The food was good and much of it was cooked by our guides. They tackled the cooking with skill and imagination. There was always plenty of it. We were in a group of seven travellers who couldn't have been nicer. Their approach to the trip was enthusiastic, positive and flexible which made for a great atmosphere. We suspect that this trip attracts people of that sort. The trip was very well organised and we did not have to worry about anything.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many inspirational moments including the majesty of the Victoria Falls, the amazing Great Zimbabwe ruins, the stunning hilltop site of Rhodes' grave and watching the new moon reflected in the Zambezi River on an excellent evening dinner cruise above the Victoria Falls. However, the absolute highlight has to be the rhino tracking in the Matopos National Park. In April the bush is still quite thick which made stalking the rhino particularly exciting. We saw 4 rhinos in total but the icing on the cake was getting to within a few yards of a female white rhino only to discover (to the game ranger's surprise!) that she had a calf only a few hours old. It was so new that it was still unsteady on its feet.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was Marco and he was very ably supported by Ende. They made a very good team. They were friendly, knowledgeable and enthusiastic. They worked very hard to make the trip enjoyable and to add additional experiences such as a visit to the control room at Dete station, sampling roast goat and getting to know a chameleon which was marching across the road! Both Marco and Ende were excellent guides and they coped admirably with the challenges of Zimbabwe, including petrol queues and a baffling currency system. Marco and Ende ensured that the trip was a great success for all those who were on it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't be afraid to come to Zimbabwe. The country has its political issues but these do not affect travellers. We felt completely safe and secure throughout the trip. This is a good time to visit Zimbabwe. Tourist numbers are low and we had Mt Nyangani and the Great Zimbabwe ruins almost to ourselves. The local people are welcoming and were very pleased to see visitors supporting the tourist industry and some much needed employment in that industry. At the moment Zimbabwe is a bit of a challenge to visit on a self-guided trip so the Exodus trip was an excellent way to see the country.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Paul Berry

    walking and wildlife in Zimbabwe

    a wonderful opportunity to visit the picturesque Eastern highlands, climbing Mt Nyangani and the Chimanimani mountain range on the mozambique border. Wildlife, waterfalls and rock bush painting also encountered. Matopos and Hwange national parks gave us encounters with white rhino, elephant, giraffe, wildbeeste, buffalo and different antelope species. The picturesque magnificence of the Victoria waterfalls and their rainbows.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    walking with rhinos, wildlife encounters in the chimanimani mountains having the park to ourselves it seemed! The beauty of victoria falls seen "face on" more clearly from the zimbabwe side in contrast to the side views on the zambian side.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not only excellent leaders and driver, but also their cooking and entertainment capabilities, everything was done so well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a unique opportunity to visit the Eastern highlands, off the regular tourist track of zimbabwe.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Elizabeth Miller

    Zimbabwe Adventure

    What an amazing trip. So much friendship, so many different experiences,so many memories.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to choose but the highlights for me were- conquering the mountains in the Chimanimani ( at the age of 77,and with much help from our wonderful guide,), the walking safari following the rhinos, The Farmhouse evening feeding of the wildlife with Gary and Michelle, sitting around the fire pit in the evening talking and listening to the stories told by Collie,our guide, which his grandfather had told to him when he was a child. Last but not least was canoeing on The Zambezi river after visiting Victoria Falls.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Couldn’t have been better. Always patient,kind,knowledgable,entertaining,coping with unforeseen problems such as half empty shelves in the supermarket when we went food shopping,getting everyone settled satisfactorily in new accommodation. He was a star,as was our driver Hank, coping with fuel supply problems and supporting Colley the guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take ample US dollars as even the banks ran out of cash! It was not always possible to pay using a prepaid card,due to power outages, no card machines etc. Also prices are rising,so I think we all spent more than we expected. Look on it as a great adventure,which can have unexpected challenges,but truly amazing experiences.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    jane bellinger

    zimbabwe

    Not the greatest trip. I did not like having to pay for meals where there was no choice (mushnga lodge & great zimbabwe) why weren't these meals included in the tour price? I did not appreciate having stop offs where we had to pay an entrance fee, again this should have included. On the all day safari, the meals were appalling, getting up for a cold breakfast @ 5.30am, having to make our own sandwich, yes just a sandwich for lunch and not returning until 5'ish is not my idea of a holiday. The lodges, particuarly The Farmhouse and the tented camp at Whange were fabulous.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Tracking the rhinos, AMAZING

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Colly was excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of 1$ bills and be prepared for how VERY expensive it all was.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    no

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Jane for her feedback.  We are pleased that she enjoyed the lodges stayed at on this trip, but we are sorry she was disappointed with some of the meal options, and that she felt some optional entrance fees should be included.  At Musungano Lodge there is a set menu which varies each day, and at the Great Zimbabwe Hotel guests are able to choose from an a la carte menu.  We hope that this affords our customers the opportunity to try a variety of local dishes.  In Hwange National Park an early start is recommended to give us the best opportunity to see wildlife, and a for lunch a range of fresh ingredients are provided including bread, cold meats, salad selection, cheeses and fruit.  All entrance fees as listed in the trip notes are included, and some are kept as optional to offer customers more flexibility while they are on their trip, although we regret if Jane felt these should have been included.  We feel it is worth mentioning that our of 11 reviews on our website, clients have given this tour an average of 4.7 out of 5 (at the date of publishing), and we often receive positive feedback regarding the food on the tour.  While we feel this is reassuring, we are genuinely sorry that Jane's experience was not as positive.

    John Penge – Product Manager

  • Reviewed August 2018
    David Vaughan

    Zimbabwe Walking and Wildlife

    Great walking in fabulous scenery during first week plus the impressive ruins of Great Zimbabwe - unique in southern Africa with enjoyable safari in week two culminating in one of natures great sites at Victoria Falls.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Victoria Falls was spectacular. I did the helicopter flight which was expensive but worth it. Everyone got a window seat but you needed to be first or second in the queue to get the best seats. The scenery in the Eastern Highlands and at Matobo also magnificent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A three person team who were doing the trip for the first time coped pretty well with some of the challenges they were presented with. Their cooking was excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is only really walking in week one in spite of it being in the trekking guide. Nevertheless some of the walks are quite steep and challenging and I would recommend proper walking boots and if you use them poles for some of the steeper descents. Also take binoculars - I forgot and was always borrowing.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Although the safari is interesting, especially for birdlife, and there is the possibility of seeing both black and white rhino, this wouldn't be the first choice if that was your primary interest for which I would suggest Botswana or Zambia. As part of a varied package of activities it is very good however.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Laura Jones

    Spectacular Zimbabwe!

    This trip was varied, exciting and spectacular! There was a mixture of trekking, historic sights and wildlife. The standard of accommodation and food was significantly better than I had expected from a trip where some of the places visited were very remote and the country has had economic difficulties. The guides were truly exceptional. All in all this trip has something for everyone.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many highlights on this trip that it is difficult to pick out the most inspirational moment. However, I was thrilled to have been able to complete the trek in the Chimanimani mountains (as it was tricky in places), loved walking with white rhino in Matopos and was overwhelmed by the spectacle of Great Zimbabwe.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mira, Marco and Colly were a great team. There were three of us on the trip who were nervous about being able to keep up on the treks as none of us would have called ourselves "proper trekkers" (although we had trekked/walked before). Mira made sure that we were able to comfortably keep up, encouraged us when we needed it and made sure that we all completed the treks. When we came down from the Chimanimani mountain trek she was as proud as we were! All three of the guides were very knowledgeable about history, politics and wildlife not to mention being really good at keeping us safe and well. The guides really made the trip what it was - I cannot praise them highly enough. They were exceptional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In the early mornings and after the sun went down it was actually quite chilly. Taking a light feather jacket or a thick fleece is a good idea. The economic situation in Zimbabwe means that the local people are struggling. They are in need of clothing, shoes, blankets, childrens clothing and shoes, paper and pencils (for the children at school), toiletries, basic medicines (paracetemol, plasters etc) and were very grateful for anything that we were able to leave behind as we went. In the rural areas there are very few visitors and anything that people could spare would be well used and very much appreciated.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you can, please think about packing clothes and shoes that you would be prepared to leave behind as you go. Also please consider leaving behind the "medical kit" that most of us travel with as a matter of course. It makes so much difference to the lives of people who are cheerfully and pragmatically carrying on!
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Deb Simmons

    Zimbabwe

    The amazingly varied itinerary of this trip is what made it so special. I had gone for the landscapes and the wildlife but learned so much about the people and the country as well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The weird rock scenery on the top of the Chimanimani mountains. Standing in the dark listening to the slurps and shuffles of 8 elephants at the watering hole at the lodge. White water rafting down the Zambezi river from the base of the Victoria Falls. Watching the rainbows at the Victoria Falls. The sunsets.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amazing. Justin was able to blend a contagious enthusiasm with slick organisational skills and a vast knowledge of fauna, politics, history and economics of Zimbabwe and surrounding countries.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go in August. We had glorious sunshine and blue skies almost every day. The heat was dry and mostly comfortably less than 25 degrees and I didn't get bitten once (and I normally do a lot). If you do go in August it's cold in the morning and in the evening. Take more warm stuff than I did. Expect a lot of steep climbs on the walks but the views are worth it - walking poles really helped me. We were able to get laundry done after 7 days. Take walking poles, binoculars and a camera that can zoom.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Zimbabwe is a struggling country but it always felt safe, the people are friendly and they want tourists to go there. If you love wildlife, challenging hikes, campfires, glorious views and waterfalls then go, go, go on this trip!
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Sally Wormall

    What an amazing trip!

    This trip is great mixture of activities which together give you a real taste of this beautiful country. The people are warm and welcoming, the food was great, the scenery is stunning. It was a real adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's hard to choose! The Victoria Falls are breathtaking, and the Matapos Hills have a unique splendour. Going on walking safari was amazing - getting within a few metres of rhino in the wild is an awesome (if slightly scary) experience!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leaders, Justin and David, were fantastic. They really looked after us and knew everything there was to know about Southern Africa and its history, flora and fauna. Their cooking was the best we had on the whole trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes - just go! You won't regret a moment.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You will see evidence of the problems facing this country, but it is far and away the friendliest and safest place I have visited. The local people need increased tourism to help them make a living. Try and get there.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Trudi Lockett

    Zimbabwe Walking and Wildlife

    A beautiful country where everyone was very friendly and helpful. The trip was varied with exceptional hikes, game walks and drives led by very knowledgeable guides and a chance to visit locals in their own homes. Great Zimbabwe is fascinating and Victoria Falls a spectacular end to the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Chimanimani Mountains were stunning. Walking close to the animals (particularly the rhino) was wonderful and Victoria Falls was breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin (our group leader) was excellent. He seemed to know the answer to any questions we asked. He was there whenever he was needed and was always cheerful and helpful. The food he (and David his trainee leader) cooked was varied and tasty. Couldn't have asked for a better guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Chimanimani Mountains are a steep climb (but well worth it). Game drives, in open vehicles, are cold in the early mornings so bring warm clothes and you will get wet at Victoria Falls.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I had never been to Africa before and was travelling on my own, so I was pretty nervous about the trip. It was so wonderful though- the group I was with were lovely and every day was an adventure. I loved every minute of it. If you have the chance to go, take it. I am sure you won't regret it.
Call us on +356 21423994