Trek the Polish High Tatras

9 days
from
£899
View Trips
Loading...
Traveller ratings
4.1 / 5 from 18 reviews >
Trip code: 
TVT
Way to Travel:
Guided Group
Activity:
Walking & Trekking Holidays
Min age:
18
Group size:
4–16

Summit Poland's highest mountain, Mt Rysy

The High Tatra mountains are among the most rugged and spectacular in Europe, part of the granite Carpathian Range, rising to almost 2500m. The dramatic scenery, combined with a sophisticated network of footpaths, makes it a popular walking destination.

We trek through valleys, past lakes and over ridges before the final test, a tough ascent of Rysy (2499m), the highest mountain in Poland. From the top of this scramble we gain a dramatic 360 degree view of more than 100 peaks. The walking is hard but rewarding, the terrain tough but beautiful, and the mountain huts basic but friendly, clean and hospitable. At the end of the trip we enjoy the delights of Krakow, Poland’s most fascinating city.

Highlights

  • Summit Mt Rysy (2,499m), Poland's highest mountain
  • Spend a night in the Picturesque folk town of Zakopane
  • Discover the splendour of Krakow
  • Challenging walking in the Tatra Mountains
  • Optional visit to the UNESCO Salt Mine and/or Auschwitz Museum

Key information

  • 3 nights en suite pensions and 5 nights standard mountain huts (dormitory accommodation)
  • 6 days point-to-point trekking, 1 free day
  • Group normally 4 to 16 plus leader. Min age 18 yrs
  • Altitude maximum 2499m, average 1700m
  • Travel by private minibus
  • Not recomended for severe vertigo sufferers

What's included

  • All breakfasts, 5 lunches and 5 dinners
  • All accommodation
  • Transfer for group flights

What's not included

  • Travel insurance
  • Visa's and Vaccinations
  • Single supplement

6

Pace:

Approximately 6-8 hours walking per day

Terrain:

Low altitude; moderate/challenging terrain with steep and rocky sections.

Day by day breakdown
Day 215.0km/9.3miles
Day 315.0km/9.3miles
Day 415.0km/9.3miles
Day 514.0km/8.6miles
Day 622.0km/13.7miles

Responsible Travel

At Exodus we believe in the power of Responsible Travel.

Every time we travel, we are part of a global movement that creates jobs, builds more sustainable societies, encourages cultural understanding and safeguards common natural and cultural heritage. To learn more about what Responsible Travel means to Exodus click here… 

Itinerary

  • Day 1

    Fly to Krakow. Transfer to Zakopane.

    Fly to Krakow Airport, where we will be met on arrival by our leader. We then transfer (about 2hrs) by road to our hotel in the folk town of Zakopane, beneath the peaks of Giewont, Kasprowy Wierch and Swinica. The evening is free to explore.
    Standard Hotel

  • Day 2

    Short bus ride to Tatra National Park entrance; walk past limestone gorges and caves to Ornak, time permitting head to Ornak summit and Raczkowa Pass.

    A short bus ride takes us to Kiry (15min from Zakopane) the entrance to the Tatra National Park, from where we start walking. A gentle 90min hike along the Koscieliska valley, with many limestone gorges and caves, brings us to the Ornak hostel, our base for the night. Depending on our time of arrival, there should be time to explore further and climb Ornak peak (1854m).

    Approx 5-6hrs walking 15km
    Basic Hotel

    Meals included: Breakfast Lunch Dinner
  • Day 3

    Tough trek to the summit of Ciemniak with fantastic views; descend the Dolina Kondratowa to the Kalatowki Hut.

    A harder day as we leave the hut, and start our ascent east, along the banks of the Tomanowy River, towards Tomanowa Przetecz and then Ciemniak, our first 2000m peak. From Ciemniak we follow the main ridge of the Tatras towards Krzesanica, Malolaczniak and Kopa Kondracka with a spectacular view of Giewont (1985m) and the whole region. To the north we can see Zakopane, to the east Mt Rysy, and the south Slovakia. We descend down the Dolina Kondratowa to the Kalatowki Hotel where we overnight.

    Approx 7-8 hrs walking 15km
    Basic Hotel

    Meals included: Breakfast Lunch Dinner
  • Day 4

    Long climb to summit of Mt Kasprowy; descend to the Murowaniec Hut.

    Our second long day as we head back up to the main ridge above our hostel. We follow the main trail alongside a chairlift, zig zagging in places to the summit of Mt. Kasprowy (1955m). Traversing along the ridge towards Swinica (2050m) we again have dramatic views of the whole area. From the Swinica ridge we descend from the rocky ridge, past small mountain tarns to Gasiencowa hostel (1500m) where we overnight.

    Approx 6-7 hrs walking 15km
    Basic Hotel

    Meals included: Breakfast Lunch Dinner
  • Day 5

    Beautiful day of trekking in the heart of the High Tatras; through the 'Valley of the Five Polish Lakes' to Roztoki.

    This morning we prepare for the most challenging two days of the trip. You will be able to leave excess kit in Gasiencowa hostel to lighten your load for the days ahead. We recommend that you try and pack as lightly as possible for these days as you will be using fixed mountain chains to assist you on the walk. We begin with a steady climb past Czarny Staw and away from vegetation to the rocky heights of the High Tatras. We cross the Zawrat Pass (2159m), summiting at 'Eagles Perch' around lunchtime before descending back into the 'Valley of the five Polish lakes' with a variety of mountain flowers and grasses, to Roztoki. Approx 7-8 hours walking 14km
    Basic Hotel

    Meals included: Breakfast Lunch Dinner
  • Day 6

    Ascend Mt Rysy (2499m), Poland's highest peak. The splendid views from the top will make the effort more than worthwhile.

    Our final ascent and the hardest of the trip! On leaving Roztoki trek via Morskie Oko, we head for the peak of Mt. Rysy (2499m) on the Polish/Slovakian border. This is a very long day with a steep climb (ascending over 1000m), walking and scrambling over difficult terrain, on the Polish side of the mountain, but the effort is definitely worth it. On a clear day the views from the summit of Rysy are simply stunning. We should be able to see over 100 peaks and several lakes including Morskie Oko once of the largest in the Tatras. Return descent to Morskie Oko (your guides can decide to descent the Slovakian side, which is not so steep and considered a safer descent than the Polish side - there are chains to help).

    Approx 7-9 hrs walking 22km
    Basic Hotel

    Meals included: Breakfast Lunch Dinner
  • Day 7

    Short descent down the Dolina Rybiego Potoku. Transfer to historic city of Krakow.

    Our last day walking as we descend down the Dolina Rybiego Potoku (valley) to the road ahead and our waiting bus. We'll then transfer to the historic city of Krakow, arriving mid afternoon. The rest of the day is free to explore the delights of this beautiful city. The Old Town was added to UNESCO's list of World Cultural Heritage in 1978. Possible places of interest are Krakow's Jewish district, where the film 'Schindler's List' was shot. There are also numerous churches, the castle, the largest market square in Europe and the oldest university in Poland. There are also plenty of cafés and restaurants as well as jazz venues.
    Basic Hotel

    Meals included: Breakfast
  • Day 8

    Free day in Krakow.

    A full free day to explore Krakow. Your leader will be able to advise on optional excursions, perhaps to the UNESCO Salt Mine at Wieliczka and/or Auschwitz Museum.
    Standard Hotel

    Meals included: Breakfast
  • Day 9

    Fly to London.

    Transfer to Krakow Airport, return to UK

    Meals included: Breakfast

Essential Info

Visas

Poland

No visa required for British passport holders.

Slovakia

No visa required for British passport holders.

Vaccinations

Poland

There are no specific health risks.

Slovakia

There are no specific health risks on this trip.

Eating and Drinking

All breakfasts, 5 lunches and 5 dinners

All food is included, except for main meals (lunch and dinner) in Zakopane and Krakow (days 1, 7 and 8). 

Breakfasts in Zakopane and Krakow will be a hot and cold buffet. In the mountain hostels a choice of hot or cold is usually available.

Lunches will be picnic type including rolls, fruit and a drink.

Evening meals in the mountain hostels are plentiful and are usually very filling! The main course will include a selection of meat and vegetables.

Vegetarian and special diets can be catered for, but options are limited in the huts - please inform the office of any specific dietary requirements when booking.

Weather

Both Poland and Slovakia have a continental climate, with harsh winters and hot summers. Our trips run from July to September, when temperatures are usually mild to hot. The summer months of July and August may be as hot as 30 - 35 ºC, perhaps a little cooler in the hills. Rain can fall at anytime of the year, although in mid-summer it is more likely to come as thunderstorms, and June, July and August have the highest rainfall. Weather in the mountains is unpredictable and changeable. It is therefore possible to encounter unseasonal weather at any time.

Is this trip for you?

This 5 day trek involves walking through moderate to difficult terrain. In addition on 4 of these days you will be required to carry all your trekking gear and lunches, which will make the walking seem harder. We usually walk between 7 to 8 hours a day, with a picnic lunch on the way. The trails are almost always well marked but are often rough and stony underfoot. The walks involve long ascents and descents (maximum 1470 metres Roztoki - Mt Rysy). We therefore recommend that you try to pack as lightly as possible. There are steep, long drops on some sections of this trip, as well as paths that traverse along ridgelines. It is not recommended for clients who suffer from vertigo.

Days 5 and 6 are the most challenging with sections of the walk using fixed chains to assist our climb. Whilst there is no additional equipment needed it is imperative that you are confident of your fitness as these sections will be tough. Where the group exceeds 10 people an additional leader will assist the group on these days. The difficulty climbing Mount Rysy is largely due to the length of the walk. Should you decide that you can not complete the ascent it is possible to do an easier walk from the hut.

The refuges have dormitory rooms and it is often not possible to provide clients with smaller rooms, however, they are equipped with bedding and you can purchase snacks.

Walking Grade: 6 - challenging / tough. Walking hours stated in the itinerary are given as approximates only. Timings stated include lunch and photo stops and will vary depending on the pace of your group.

Accommodation

Pension, Hotel & Mountain Huts

You will spend 1 night in a comfortable pension, 2 nights in a hotel, all rooms are en suite. 5 nights will be spent in good standard mountain huts with dormitories. These rooms typically accommodate 8 to 10 people.

Expert Blog Entries

Bobsledding

Celebrate the 2018 Winter Olympics by taking part in a challenge of your own.

  • Reviewed September 2016
    Björn Matthíasson

    Trekking in the Polish High Tatras

    A mountain climb in Poland's Tatras mountains is an experience never forgotten. The mountains are stupendous to view, the trails are safe and well traveled, but the weather can at times be inclement. Our leader, Teresa, did everything to guide us safely and well and bent over backwards to make our trip enjoyable. I can highly recommend this tour for any climber with stamina and experience. Björn M.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We reached the summit of Mt. Rysy at an elevation of 2499.6 metres. Reaching such a peak is the climax of our entire tour.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Teresa Stochel, our leader, was caring and determined, good-humored and pleasant in every respect. My fellow travelers and I will think of her as a friend for all time to come.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dress for any weather eventuality, from sub-freezing temperatures if you are travelling late in the season, to shirt-sleeve weather in the summer. For late September or early spring, bringing crampons or micro-spikes is advisable. A poncho or raincoat is necessary.
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Julian Hart

    High Tatras

    I really enjoyed this trek. The group that completed the trek, including our super guide, Teresa, gelled really well and were all well up to the fitness level required. Two did not do the trek itinerary, as mentioned by Brendan McShane in a previous review. It indicates how essential reading the trip notes before you book your trip is!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of Mt Rysy. Its quite a slog to get there, then lots of scrambling up and down but the achievement is worth it, and to sit at the top for those few moments is very special, the views are beautiful. But every day was special in its own way, not just Rysy, the comradeship between our trekking group, the walks, climbs and views experienced at every moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Teresa is a gem, very knowledgeable and informative, nothing was too much trouble, she constantly checked on details to make sure everything went to plan and was always a pleasure to be with. I could not have asked for more.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes before you book. Go to Auschwitz, what you see will stay with you forever, and the Salt Mine if you have time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I went on this trek based on recommendation from previous trekkers last year when I did the Julian Alps, Slovenia trek [equally enjoyable!]. Where do I go from here?
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Brendan Mcshane

    Trekking the High Tatras

    This was my first Exodus trip and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. I went with two friends and we met up with the other eight members of the group plus the Guide in Poland. The five days of walking was sandwiched between a night in Zakopane and two nights in Krakow with a visit to the Salt Mines and Auschwitz on the last day. Both the Mountain huts and the food exceeded my expectations. Apart from two members of our group who dropped out after the first day, the rest of us were of a similar level of fitness to enjoy the walking (and each others company) as well as the surrounding scenery which was very pretty.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This has to be Mount Rysy! Fortunately the itinerary of the trip lends itself to prepare you for the ascent and descent of Mount Rysy and in my case to the introduction of chains which I'd never used before. Undoubtedly this was the highlight of the trip. It is a very long day and quite tiring, but all good fun! Whilst I had no problems with the ascent, I was a little concerned about going down the same way! However this was not really a problem and not as bad as people think as long as you concentrate and listen to your guide. It's worth going up Mount Rysy just for the views, it's just a shame that so many other people had the same idea as the summit was very crowded.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was Teresa! She was very good and looked after us very well on the mountains!! She is clearly knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the high Tatras and I enjoyed her company. She also dealt with what could have been an awkward situation well - Some would say she did more than she should have done with dealing with two members of our group who dropped out on the first day as they couldn't keep up.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes! Please read the trip notes thoroughly! To do this trip you have to be fit - Otherwise you won't enjoy it. There are five days of hard walking most of which is not level. Although there are regular stops, it's important that given the nature of the terrain and distances covered each day that a consistent pace is maintained.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you like walking and are fit, then I would definitely recommend this trip. The scenery is very pretty, The mountain huts are of a good standard and there's loads of food!
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Tessa Jakszewicz

    Trek the High Tatras

    This was a fabulous trip to see some great scenery, climb some mountains and get a sense of Poland. The huts are first class with great facilities and you won't go hungry with the food. You will need to be reasonably fit and not scared of heights.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's hard to pick a single moment as everyday had something to enjoy. I guess I was concerned whether I could achieve this trip, made it and had a great sense of achievement in climbing up Mt Rysy, especially the part where you need to use chains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It was a real bonus to have a Polish guide who knew the area intimately - we got a sense of the Polish culture as well as the benefit of local knowledge. There were some challenges for the guide on the trip and she handled them admirably.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have virtigo of any kind don't do the trip. You'll need to end up going back at Rysy and it will impact on the whole group. Come with an open mind and a spirit of adventure - don't expect things to be like home and remember Poland is adjusting from years of communism. Remember you will be part of a team and if you are a real individualist you shouldn't join. If you come to be a member of a team, want to experience a bit of Poland and do something active, you'll have a ball. Get a bit fitter before you come and don't carry to much (keep to 7kg if you can).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Loved Poland, great guide, great country and fabulous huts - had a trip that I will remember forever.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Mark Gilbert

    Poland tatra

    Tough but very enjoyable trek .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching my seventh summit in four days.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knowledgeable but not enough concern for injured party member.Let himself down and exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy
  • Reviewed October 2014
    Rohan Sinha

    The Polish High Tatras

    A well organised trip and with a very good group leader. A very friendly bunch of people and everyone got along well. The Polish and Slovakian mountains are just beautiful and should be visited more by tourists (although it is heavily visited by locals during holidays). We were very lucky to have all days of sunshine and clear views during the trek, and even had the opportunity(!) to hear a wild bear on the second day of walking. Exploring Krakow at the end of the trip was a relaxing treat.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Using the chains and getting to the top of Mt. Rysy with cloud clearing and getting some fantastic views of the surrounding mountains and landscape. It was a great experience ascending Rysy from the Polish side and descending from the Slovakian side - a long, but well deserved day!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Teresa was a very good leader - extremely knowledgeable, helpful, very much 'in charge', and one felt safe with her (especially on the chains). She did take time out and show us briefly around Krakow and even organised the salt mine trip for us. However, there were a couple of things that she should have kept an eye on: When she stopped to tell the group about a particular mountain or what we could see in the view, she wouldn't realise that everyone hadn't caught up yet so the people at the back never got a chance to hear what she had to say, and there were times when we asked her to repeat, she told us off that we weren't listening! Although the overall pace was fine, there were times she did go a bit fast and a couple of people had to tell her to slow down on some occasions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The chains are not all that difficult as the trip notes make it sound. They are there for your help so do use them. Pack light as you do have to carry all your gear for 4 days.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip notes and photographs for the event do not do enough justice of how good the trip is. It would be worth updating them!
  • Reviewed September 2014
    Stuart Mckie

    Trek the Polish High Tatras

    A well structured trip. Some sections of chain came as a surprise to some members of the group. The trip description mentions these sections however given the torrential rain that our group climbed in, for some this was a very serious undertaking. For those with experience of scrambling and exposure it was not too much of a problem but I did feel sorry for the ones with little of said experience. Grading may , in my opinion, be a shade low. Huts were excellent as was the food. The Tatras are very popular and on one day in particular it was estimated that 10,000 people had visited a central area. It is an exceptional area with adventures available for all levels. The period in Krakow was excellent. A beautiful city full of charming restaurants. It was great value for money.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The ascent of Mt Rysy was brilliant. The appearance of early morning snow and ice added to the excitement of the day. Stunning views all around and the chance to climb an additional 20 metres to sit atop a mountain in another country.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Having been on several trips I have to say that Wojtzec was one of the most considerate, professional and knowledgable guides I have had the pleasure to be in the company of. His English was excellent and his passion and knowledge of his country was just brilliant. Our every needs were catered for and although we left earlier than the rest of the group it was very much appreciated to see Wojtzec early in the morning to say goodbye. A lovely touch from a lovely man ! A real asset to your company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some interesting scrambling. Certainly classed in my opinion at grade three. The crowds are a bit of a surprise but this should not detract from an area of great beauty and brilliant walking. Most things are very cheap by our standards but the food (and beer) are of a very good standard and widely available at all huts. Poland was a real surprise. A beautiful city in Krakow and a very interesting cultural experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Only to reiterate what a great guide we had in Wojtzec !!!
  • Reviewed August 2014
    Michelle Grist

    Enjoyable weeks walking despite the rain

    The week started well with brilliant sunshine and great views but on the second day of walking the thunder clouds gathered and the rain started and the views largely disappeared. It continued on and off for the remainder of the walking. Despite this we all had an enjoyable time and the group gelled well. The walking did not seem quite as hard as stressed in the trip notes. Maybe it was because of the weather but the routes did not seem anywhere near as crowded as mentioned in some of the reviews I read before I went. It was nice to warm up and dry out in the sunshine in Krakow.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Topping out on Mt Rysy - in the fog.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leader, Teresa, was knowledgeable and we all felt very safe in her charge.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The huts are actually bunkhouses and you are provided with pillow and duvet covers so no need for a sheet sleeping bag. If you do the trip to the Salt Mines make sure you go to the museum too - its actually more interesting than the first part of the tour and most people miss it out.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Consider taking a couple of extra days if you want to go to Auschwitz and the Salt Mines as its too much to really appreciate in one day and you don't get time to relax in Krakow.
  • Reviewed August 2014
    Andrew Scott

    THE POLISH HIGH TATRAS

    A really good mixture of hard mountain walking ending with a couple of days of rest and culture in Krakow.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I guess the chains going up Mt Rysy, but no views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent leader in Teresa. I would have liked a bit more time to stop and enjoy the scenery; at times it seemed a race to reach our day's objective, but then we did have quite a lot of bad weather in the mountains.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The huts are really good quality. Good food and free hot showers. In many they provided all bed linen. A bit noisy. I needed about 260 zloty (roughly £60) for meals, excluding drinks. You need about the same if you take the trips to the salt mine and Auschwitz, plus visiting the castle, cathedral and churches in Krakow. The scenery reminded me of North Wales, so did the weather as we only had glimpses through the clouds from the peaks. There was a bit of scrambling on chains on two days; the first day we did it with full packs. The second day on Mt Rysy was possibly easier as we didn't carry full packs; there was quite a lot of snow on the way down and that was a longish day. In Krakow you can collect your bag with clean clothes, so you don't need to carry that on the trek. The hotel in Krakow was good with excellent breakfasts.
  • Reviewed September 2012
    Anonymous

    THE POLISH HIGH TATRAS

    This was a great holiday, walking through and scrambling up some of Europe's lesser-known, but wonderful mountains on the borders of Poland and Slovakia. Beautiful scenery and the good company of a mixed and friendly group made it a holiday to remember.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of an exciting rock scramble with the help of chains - and seeing the High Tatras spread out in front of us.Arriving at the Roskowa mountain hut, drenched to the skin after an exciting electric storm, and finding this was the best of some very good mountain huts, and had an excellent and much-needed drying roomExploring the city of Krakow, with its wonderful  churches, architecture and restaurants - and especially the Chocolate Cafe, which we visited often, drawn by the fantastic and unbelievably cheap range of chocoholic delights

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good and encouraging - and an excellent guide when we were in Krakow, taking us on a tour of the city and to a wonderful restaurant for our last meal together. She also went to the trouble of e-mailing me the photos of another group-member after we had returned - very welcome as my own were rubbish!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You need to be quite fit for this challenging but very rewarding trekking trip - and to travel as light as you possibly can!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No. This was altogether a wonderful holiday

Dates & Prices

An overview of flight options

Exodus is committed to making joining our tours as easy as possible, wherever you live. We generally only block book seats from London, but this certainly does not mean that you need to fly from there. Depending on the route and airlines available, there will usually be various options available for those who want to fly from their local airport.

This page aims to provide a useful overview of the options available to our clients. However, the best flight arrangements should be tailored to your personal requirements, so please contact our Sales team for expert advice.

 

What kind of options do I have ?

1. We can book for you: Flights from anywhere in the world - not via London  

Depending on the route, this may be direct or via an overseas hub like Amsterdam, the Middle East or elsewhere. On short haul routes there may be direct flights with low cost airlines, charter flights or scheduled airlines. Exodus can book most, but not all, of these for you. The most appropriate airline may be different to that which we use for the group flight from London, but many people now travel on different airlines and meet up with their fellow passengers at the destination.

Pros Cons
  • May be the most direct route
  • Often the extra fare compared to the London flight is minimal.
  • As you will be in the hands a single airline for your entire journey, the airline will be responsible for your bags and your connections.
  • You may not be able to join the group transfers. However, we can usually arrange private transfers, or book your flights to try and coincide with the group transfers. See notes on transfer arrangements below.

 

2. We can book for you: Connecting flights from your local airport to London

Exodus can book connecting flights to London so you can join the group flight there. Connecting times will be followed according to airline advice, or as requested by clients. There are two types of fares we can use for this option: a 'through-fare' or a 'published fare'.
 
a) A 'through-fare' is where you will be in the main airline's care throughout. You change planes, but your bags are checked all the way through to your final destination. 

b) A 'published fare' ticket is completely seperate from your onward ticket from London. It is usually cheaper than a through-fare but will need to be paid for and issued as soon as it is booked. This can be a problem if your tour has not yet reached minimum numbers. On 'published fares' neither airline is aware that you have connecting flights, so Exodus is responsible for timing your connection, not the airlines involved. The tickets are also usually non changeable and non refundable.

Pros Cons
  • Depending on the fare type, Exodus or the airline is responsible for flight connections.
  • Through fare tickets can be expensive.
  • On a published fare, tickets must be issued immediately; tickets on published fares can be very difficult to change if onward flight times change; bags are not checked though to your final destination.
  • Published fares are non-refundable.

 

3. Booking some or all of the flights yourself

You can also book connecting air travel yourself, either to London, or all the way to the start point. There may be certain airlines or routes we don't have access to, so this is always an option. However, if you make your own travel arrangements you become liable for any delays, cancellations or missed connections, and Exodus is not required to offer refunds if you have trouble reaching the start of your trip.

Pros Cons
  • You might find cheaper fares, or routes not available to Exodus.
  • You are responsible for any delays or missed connections, and the cost of the tour is not protected should you miss your flight be cancelled.

 

 Notes on transfer arrangements

Sometimes it is possible to travel on a different airline to the group flight from London. Where this is the case, we need to think about ensuring you meet up with the group with minimum extra cost and hassle.

  • On certain trips, it is easy to arrive on a different flight and still meet the group at the hotel with time in hand. We can usually arrange private transfers (at extra cost) or offer advice on taking a taxi to the start hotel.
  • On other trips (especially in Europe), the transfer meets the group flight and then travels some distance to the first night's accommodation. Where this is the case, our Sales team will try to arrange flights that arrive before (and depart after) the group. However, we do have to make it clear in your final documentation that if your flights are delayed, the transfer cannot wait for you. While Exodus or our local operators will do what we can to help you reach the start point of the tour, any additional costs must be paid by the client. 

 

Next steps? 

Call our Sales team on: 0203 733 0698

Email your query: [email protected]

Trips you might also like

Mt Toubkal Climb

Exhilarating one-week trek to the summit of North Africa's highest mountain

Guided Group

Walking & Trekking
8 days inc. flights
From £649
Activity Rating - Challenging
Challenging
4.4 / 5
 from 
Add to wishlist

Corsica: The GR20

Corsica's legendary long-distance trek

Guided Group, Tailormade Adventures

Walking & Trekking
15 days inc. flights
From £2,319
Activity Rating - Challenging/Tough
Challenging / Tough
4.5 / 5
 from 
Add to wishlist
Call us on 0208 772 3936