Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    Chris Kelly

    First cycling holiday

    This was my first cycling holiday and what a way to start. Firstly let me start by talking about the guide & driver/mechanic These guys made the holiday always went above & beyond nothing was too much trouble holiday was amazing disagree with the rating of 3 was hard but you need to push yourself. Thanks again guys great job 👍🏻

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of those bloody hills!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alessandro was amazing he was like one of the group

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Train before you book at least 6 weeks
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Bernadette Sellars

    Walking in Puglia and Matera

    Our first holiday with Exodus went really well. We were met at the airport by our tour guide Luigina and driven to our first port of call, the Sassi District of Matera. Matera is built on a rocky outcrop, so there were lots and lots of steps. Not a good place for less able bodied people, and we thought some of the cobbled streets were a little slippy, so take a pair of sensible shoes. Our hotel room was a cave built into the rock. Very unusual, but the bathroom was a bit tired and needed a refurbish. Great local restaurants and cafes and very reasonably priced. Our guide Luigina did a great job and had excellent local knowledge. She organised 2 picnic lunches during the week and organised an extra trip on our free day to Lecce. During walks, she pointed out many places of historical interest, but also talked about the local flora. We got to try wild almonds straight off the tree, also wild rocket and strawberry fruit. We were fortunate to be in Italy during the olive harvesting and she asked a local farmer to demonstrate the harvesting method. The final evening’s meal, was at a Massiera (farmhouse). We did have to pay extra for this trip, but it was worth every penny (euro). The food was all locally sourced and Home cooked. It just kept on coming and coming, and I lost count of the number of courses. Wine was free flowing all evening too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The meal on the final evening at the Massiera

    What did you think of your group leader?

    English not always perfect, but she made herself understood which is all that matters. Good local knowledge and knew many good restaurants and cafes.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take suncream, as even in October the sun was hot.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Bernadette McCann

    A fast paced incredible trip to North India

    A fast paced journey through Northern India. Your feet barely touch the ground and you are whisked off to the beautiful pink city of Jaipur - transported to Ranthanbore National park - Game drives, early mornings - Worth it, we saw the tiger on our early morning game drive! Drive to Agra - early morning start to witness sunrise over the Taj Mahal - stunning! Red Fort, Fatehpur Sikri - overnight train to Varanasi. Lucky enough to be in Varanasi for Diwali - intense, amazing Varanasi! Evening and very early morning boat rides, magical & spiritual, walks by the temples. Overnight train to Delhi - As i did the land only Exodus tour - we had visited Delhi independently before the Exodus tour began - many wonderful sights to see in Delhi. Overall, a fabulous experience with a wonderful diverse group of people, lots of laughs, early mornings, late nights - long drives - two overnight trains - an amazing tour leader - some great hotels, some not so - an explosion of noise and color, sensory overload in many good and bad ways - all part of the experience. Incredible India.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to say - there were many! Goosebumps when the tiger walked so close to us in the jungle - the stunning beauty of the Taj Mahal - the spiritual feeling of city of Varanasi and witnessing the early morning bathing in the Ganges and the evening prayer ceremonies..

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Manoj is one of the most inspirational, kind, patient and enthusiastic person i have ever met. He managed our group, mixed ages, nationalities and abilities with kindness and went above and beyond to help in any way he could with every single group member. Manoj made our trip incredible - gave me and understanding of the complexities of Indian history and life - his knowledge is deep and he is a credit to Exodus as a group leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is a fast paced trip. Read the trip notes carefully to decide if its the trip for you. Understand in order to keep to this schedule, you need to be flexible, reasonably fit as there is walking around monuments while sightseeing - some uphill and some under the midday sun. It was hot, long days - early mornings - long drives - which is the only way to keep up with the itinerary. You will not be laying around pools, enjoying spas, you will be packing, unpacking, preparing for the next days travel. Its fast- paced and exciting and you will see and do a lot in a short time. However, every bit of the moving around is worth the incredible sights you see during this short trip - its a dynamic, exciting, tiring trip.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Carlo b

    Porto to Lisbon Atlantic Ride - MEO (Sep/17)

    This was my 7th cycling trip and biking was a great way to see this region of Portugal. The route is mostly flat with the occasional steep but short hill.. The views while cycling along the coast were beautiful. Our cycling group was a lot of fun and the pace was perfect such that we enjoyed a relaxing time at coffee stops (always near a beach) and got into the next town/city in time to explore a bit. The weather was perfect for cycling and we had no rain on the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many memorable moments on the trip but some of them were: 1) the many beautiful views of the beaches and Atlantic Ocean, 2) Porto, 3) Portuguese pastries, 4) the food in Porto, 5) Port wine with tonic on ice - refreshing!, 6) the seafood, 7) tapas-style dinner at the "Wine Bar" in Figuera da Foz, 8) Obidos, 9) the coffee breaks: excellent espresso and pastries, 10) Portuguese pastries (delicious), 11) coffee break in Nazare.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pedro was a gracious and knowledgeable guide and very attentive to the needs of the group. He always provided excellent recommendations for dinner. He was very organized and kept the group together despite different cycling abilities. And, Jaun, our support-van driver, was also knowledgeable and provided delicious picnic lunches.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Arrive in Porto a couple of days early to explore this picturesque city - it is easily walkable and has excellent food. But make restaurant reservations ahead of time though. Make sure you are comfortable with riding a bike because you will have to share the road with cars on parts of the journey.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a thoroughly enjoyable bike trip and the views were often stunning.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Joanna Marsh

    Walking the Picos de Europa

    Just returned from a fabulous week in the mountains in Northern Spain. We had 5 exciting walks up to 2000m with optional scrambling to the peak on our last walk. Suited us (mum and 16 year old son) brilliantly for Half term. Wonderful guide, fellow walkers, hotel etc. It was a really relaxing way to holiday as there was zero stress (nothing to organise) but physical challenge each day. The canoeing on the free day was a rest from walking, however 15km of upper body workout.....and lots of fun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Amazing scenery, getting to know fellow travellers, physical challenge and sharing all of this with my youngest son on his 16th birthday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was great. Nacho is an experienced guide and was able to judge our group and lead us for the week, seeming to know what each person would require from him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do plenty of walking to prepare for the holiday. Being fit enough means you will enjoy the walks more. We went in October which was end of season. I suspect the walks might be very hot in the height of summer so consider whether you can cope with exertion in heat.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Bill Kerr

    Walking The French Riviera 2017

    Perfect break away - good capable leader - perfect hotel and wonderful location in Menton. We had a good week and walked to some super places. We enjoyed great meals out in the evening and altogether with the super October weather experienced a truely wonderful holiday

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Repeated moments as walked up to 14km. in a day and was able to repeat this day after day willingly and relatively effortlessly - this was inspirational for future holidays of a similar nature

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was very capable - socialised and communicated well and we felt with her

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Use Exodus - take a fair quality camera - a sunhat and a good pair of stout shoes and UVA & B lotion factor 30-50 even in October

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A lovely location on The Riviera and a great time to go - it seemed like endless summer..
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Eric Brierley

    The best that Jordan can offer

    From day 1 I loved the feel Of Jordan, Jordan is a place of friendly people. The desert hike and Petra will not disappoint you. I added 3 extra days, 1 before the hike to see Amman, and 2 after to visit Jerash and the dead sea, and there are plenty of other places to see.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    being in a group of like minded people, and we all got on working as a team to help each other. The wild camping under the mass of stars, just never see so many stars. And Petra no words to describe just see for your self.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The Group leader was great, made sure we were supplied with plenty of water and good places to stop in the desert for a rest from the baking sun. And a good laugh too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have plenty of sun screen high factor is best, a good sun hat. And yes don't pack too much like I did( what do you need in the desert ? Not a lot )

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Knowing how to put up a tent is a handy thing to know. I didn't but I do now :)
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Roger Pattenden

    Fascinating glimpse of rural Romania

    Very good trip. The rides were through a variety of terrain and landscapes. On the first few days there were views of groups of local people working in the fields with only the occasional item of usually soviet era farm machinery to help. There were visits to interesting sights including many fortified churches the like of which we had not seen before. In the context of local overnight stays with which we are very familiar on Exodus trips, those on this trip were all good. The only slight downside for some was the local high fat diet (sausages, salami, fatty pork and pickled cabbage featured prominently ) and hardly any fresh vegetables for nearly all meals. But that was the local diet and was therefore the authentic experience we expected. It was interesting to see the contrast between rural Romania with its horses and carts and modern Bucharest which we explored at the end of the trip. The trip lived up to our expectations of seeing a rural way of life which might have been similar to the UK several hundred years ago.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the bakery where the wife made very good bread, in conditions which would give a public health inspector a turn, and where the husband used a cart pulled by a blind horse.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Radu was an excellent leader and Liviu was also excellent as helper / driver and picnic provider. Both spoke very good English, had a very good knowledge of Romanian history and were very pleasant company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for rather different food from a healthy UK diet.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    June Egglestone

    A great week in Uzbekistan

    I really enjoyed this holiday, and felt like a week was enough for a taste of Uzbekistan. Beautiful architecture, friendly locals, and lots of history. Islamic, with a twist of Russian. The country is really safe, and clean.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    More than one thing! Registan - at night, and early in the morning. Viewing the architecture of Tashkents metro stations. Bukhara. Swimming in the lake near the yurt camp.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Takhir was an excellet tour leader, and you will be lucky if he is your guide. Trust his advice for how to organise meals, it will make mealtimes run smoothly, and you will get to try a lovely range of the local food.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For ladies, I would recommend the hammam in Bukhara (I'm sure the mens is just as good). Bring your own entertainment for the flight. Dont bother bringing nibbles, you wont go hungry!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would definitely recommend this trip.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Anthony Rugg

    Walking in Sardinia

    An excellent place for serious walking on mountain terrain, with sea and beaches within easy reach.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking a deep gorge .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Leadership was inspired.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    October proved to be a good month. Not too hot but still summer temperatures for UK residents.