Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2017
    Hannah Marder

    Excellent trip

    This is a fantastic trip which packs a lot into a week and visits two lesser known but fascinating countries. The itinerary works well, and you are kept busy without being too rushed. The group I travelled with were a pleasure to be with and we had a great time. Our tour leader was excellent. The hotels and transport were a very high standard. I couldn't have asked for a better holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Kiev was the highlight, a stunning city full of beautiful monuments. The hotel is located overlooking Independence Square. If you visit in August you might see preparations for the independence day on 24th August, which we were lucky enough to. I particularly loved St Michael's Church of the Golden Domes, which is beautiful inside and out, and Landscape Alley which is a Gaudi-esque children's playground. Pechersk Lavra monastery is also well worth a visit. I also really enjoyed the winery tour in Moldova even though I don't like wine much!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader, Agata, was exceptional and one of the best I've ever travelled with. She always went the extra mile, and was really caring and looked after us very well without being overpowering. She was good fun, and good at spending time with everyone in the group and looking after us all equally.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Transnistria has its own currency, but you don't need to change very much as prices are low and its completely closed so you can't change it back. Your leader will advise you. But bear this in mind when budgeting for your days in Moldova - you only need cash for the first evening and one full day. Moldova has high quality and unbelievably cheap wine so if you enjoy wine, make sure you have space in your suitcase to bring back a bottle or two. That said, I strongly advise travelling light - I travelled hand luggage only and was very grateful. There's a lot of getting on and off trains and moving around stations that don't have lifts, so a medium backpack is the best thing to bring. You don't really need lots of stuff as it's a short trip with no special equipment. Bring good shoes as there's a lot of walking in cities and on cobblestones. The group flights depart very early from Heathrow, if that's likely to be a problem for you, book on the phone so you can discuss flight options and decide if you want to book your own. It's possible to fly direct, although it may cost more. Remember to bring a scarf for the churches (women). Don't be put off by the train journeys, it's a busy trip and the time to just sit is welcome, they're also nice trains. If you visit Chernobyl, you will only get an evening and few hours in the morning in Kiev (if you're on the group flights) and Kiev is amazing, so do consider carefully which you'd prefer to do or think about staying longer.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a new trip (I travelled on the second departure) and I hope it becomes a regular Exodus offering so others can enjoy it too. I hope that when travellers catch on to what nice things there are to see and do in these countries - as good or better than many other well known European destinations, but without the crowds - they will want to come too.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Marianne Stanton

    Bike & Boat in Italy...Andiamo!

    What a wonderful way to do a point to point cycling trip without the hassle of having to pack and unpack each day. The trip ran seamlessly and was completely stress free. Beautiful, scenic cycling in the morning, followed by relaxing cruises down the river in the afternoon with a spritz...perfect! The crew on the boat were outstanding and really made the trip what it is! Their enthusiasm and the delicious food they prepared each day (some of the best I have ever had) really took the experience to the next level. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed exploring each place we visited. Mantova, Ferrara and of course Venice were particular highlights, and you get a good amount of time in each place to explore and soak up the Italian culture!
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Val Evans

    Amalfi 12 August

    This was my first big trip alone and Severio and all the group made me feel very welcome. It was hot but Severio gave us plenty of stops and the views were amazing. The hotel staff were friendly and the hotel comfortable. The food was varied and excellent. There was a good balance between walking, relaxing and other activities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking around the rim of Vesuvius -only Exodus clients were doing that The 'walk of the gods' and the views from all the walks. The food and the cooking demos

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio is very knowledgeable, has lots of useful local connections, is thoughtful to everyone and works hard.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't hesitate -go!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just don't know which trip to do next.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Christina Brown

    Adrenaline filled week of fun!

    Me (22) and my brother (20) have recently returned from this trip and despite our bodies being ready for a rest we definitely did not want to leave this beautiful country. We hadn't considered Slovenia as a holiday destination but when we came across this trip it sounded perfect for us and it definitely went beyond all our expectations! Slovenia is such a beautiful country, from the minute we stepped of the plane we couldn't stop admiring the views of the beautiful houses, mountains and turquoise rivers that surrounded us everywhere we went and every activity we done. Our leader Tilen was so welcoming and organised so the trip was hassle free which was good for us as we don't have much experience travelling abroad. Tilen and all the other leaders on the trips were very friendly, supportive and fun so all the activities ran smoothly and were incredibly fun - even if some are quite tiring. I was pretty useless at kayaking at first but the leaders were very patient and within an hour I was paddling in a straight line and keeping up with the group, even though I did capsize but that was all part of the fun! The activities on this holiday are awesome and even though our group was mixed ages and abilities we all partook and enjoyed every activity. I didn't think I would manage the mountain biking but the route was manageable and even though it was hard work at times I still enjoyed it and was happy that I managed to do every activity offered. Canyoning and paragliding were mine and my brothers favourite activities and my brother even braved the advanced canyoning and despite wobbly legs at the top of some jumps managed to do them all and had the best time whilst doing it! The group we were with were all great fun and made the trip such a laugh, especially in the evenings after our long tiring days everyone kept spirits high. The hotel is great also: lovely variety of food; comfortable, clean rooms; and very friendly staff who speak good English. Overall, this holiday was definitely 10/10 and we both had the most amazing time and would recommend it to anyone looking for a holiday with adventurous activities included.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When doing all the activities on the Soca river and taking in the amazing views all around us, while trying to stay afloat on our raft, kayak and tubes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tilen was super helpful, fun and organised which made the trip run very smoothly. He also kept spirits high when people started to tire and had great knowledge of the area - especially where to find the best places to eat.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Most places whilst out there do not take card so we found that we had to withdraw more cash than expected. However this was not a big issue as there is a cash machine in the town which is about a 20 minute walk away. Take a couple of swimming costumes and towels if they fit in your case as you will be on the water quite a lot and sometimes our towel wasn't dry by the next day. Also I over packed outfits as most of the week you will be in wet-suits and wet shoes (which are all provided) but it was nice to have a change of clothes for the evening meals.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Gobnait Kearney

    Cycling South East Asia

    Cycling South East Asia . We cycled from Bangkok to Saigon - crossed borders , through jungles , stayed in accommodation varying from hotels to homestay - all seamlessly organised by our group leader Chiaya .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's difficult to explain the insight we got into the history , religion ,countryside and cuisine in such a short time but it was very powerful and will stay with me.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chiaya , our group leader was the most professional group leader I have ever encountered . He anticipated every problem and diffused any tension with great intelligence , charm and kindness . His knowledge of the history and religions of the countries is comprehensive , but it is his unfailing good humour and positivity that will remain with me and my husband and I'm sure all the group .
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Linda Penn

    Perfect introduction to a cycling trip.

    Absolutely the best thing we have ever done. Loved every second of this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting the group we travelled with, the group leader Chai and all the support team. The scenery was fantastic, as was the cycling. The organisation of the whole trip was faultless and smooth, from check in to the hotels to the bikes up and ready to go each day. The snacks along the way were wonderful (especially in Thailand).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely fantastic, knowledgeable, helpful with a great sense of humour. Chai made the trip what it was....amazing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it...you will love it. Pack light and spend more money on some decent cycling shorts.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was our first cycle holiday and it won't be our last....we have the bug now and will certainly be looking for our next one.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Richard Vass

    Carpathian Walking and Bears

    A most excellent holiday led by Thomas, who was an knowledgeable guide, and who adjusted the walks according to the group ability and the temperature which was in the mid 30s Centigrade. Walking in such temperatures and at such altitudes can be challenging. Thank goodness for fresh water springs on the hillsides! The guesthouse was well appointed and the food was excellent. An honesty bar came in for much use when we returned from our travels! The major criticism arose when we came to settle our bills at the end of the week as the guesthouse did not take credit cards. This MUST be added to the travellers advice as there is no access to cash machines without a long drive. We only just managed to cobble together enough money by adding £ sterling, Lei and a few dollars which we had fortunately carried.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing bears in the wild

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knowledgeable and efficient

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of cash - no cash machines anywhere near the guesthouse.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Judy H

    A wonderful Russian Experience

    We enjoyed a wonderful, busy eight days in Russia. The history, and the culture is all so interesting, and the way they have emerged from the Communist era. Everywhere was extremely clean, and we found the people to be friendly. The churches and cathedrals, and the palaces are beyond spectacular. We had an extra day in St Petersburg which enabled us to go to Peterhof gardens and fountains, though not the palace, and to see Swan Lake at the Mariinsky theatre which was another highlight. Doing the trip as a private adventure we were able to eat proper Russian food in some first rate restaurants, never paying over the odds for our meals.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Kremlin and Armoury museum in Moscow and the Catherine Palace in Pushkin.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Doing this as a private adventure we didn't have a group leader, but we found the local guides we had in Moscow, Novgorod and St Petersburg all very friendly, knowledgable and easy to understand. Maria in Moscow particularly went the extra mile, showing us more than she would normally be able to include, and sorting out our onward transport from Moscow to Novgorod.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    GO! And take insect repellant for Novgorod!
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Muriel Grantham

    AOV170729

    Firstly, I wish to thank EXODUS for allowing an 87 year old to take this trip. It was such a rewarding experience and I was very touched when on the last evening the group praised me and said I was an inspiration to them. I did opt out of only two activities but I was not the only one. Although I was with my daughter, our guide, KHOA DUONG , was wonderfully encouraging too. In fact he was outstanding the way he showed sensitivity to the group as a whole and altered timings and activities according to our energy levels or more to the point, how we were all coping with the heat and humidity! I was impressed with his knowledge of the history of Vietnam as it affected different areas of the population and he always gave both sides of the story. His impartiality was without irony too. At the end of the trip were all felt like an extended family, with myself as the great- grandmother.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The war museum in saigon

    What did you think of your group leader?

    KHOU DUONG was the absolute best. I have already commented o n this

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have extra batteries and a memory card for your camera
  • Reviewed August 2017
    N H

    Bulgaria: The Realm of the Brown Bear

    A wonderful week in the magnificent Rodopi Mountains. Excellent walks, lots of flora and fauna with very good photographic opportunities. Led by such a great guide who gave us insights into the local culture and taught us so much about the bears that roam this fascinating wild corner of Europe.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a bear from hide (as well as the wild boar and their piglets). The wonderful array of wild flowers and butterflies in the alpine meadows were just stunning. Some awesome lizards! The traditional local dishes made with naturally grown ingredients are very tasty too :-)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    You would be hard pressed to find another guide as passionate and informative as Julian. He has such an in depth understanding of the bears and wildlife as well as the language, culture and customs of Bulgaria. A very likeable and friendly guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the opportunity on the non-bear hide evenings to walk around the village. We saw hedgehogs snuffling about about early evening and stunning sunset views can be seen from the little white church on the hill.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are interested in wildlife and walking in a beautiful natural alpine region then this is the trip for you!
Call us on 0208 772 3936