Request Your Free Brochure For Adventure Inspiration. Order Now

All activities
No results found
Select all activities Culture Cycling Family Mixed-Activity Multi-Country Holidays Polar Walking & Trekking Wildlife Holidays Winter Holidays
All months
May 2024 June 2024 July 2024 August 2024 September 2024 October 2024 November 2024 December 2024 January 2025 February 2025 March 2025 April 2025 May 2025 June 2025 July 2025 August 2025 September 2025 October 2025 November 2025 December 2025
Ask a Question
Review Centre
Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words – We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It’s the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you’re interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven’t posted your review yet? Here’s how to do it…

Once you return from your Exodus adventure holiday, you will be emailed a link to add your review. Any feedback collected is posted onto our website, totally unedited.

Alternatively you can navigate to the relevant trip page and add your review via the Reviews tab.

Reviews

Porto to Lisbon

Well organized, well lead, and great way to maximize exercise, viewing and discussion of the northern coast of Portugal with a small group of likeminded travelers

Most Inspirational Moment

Final day of biking with several moderate hill climbs and ocean views

Thoughts on Group Leader

Armando was always always organized, prepared, joyful and funny, and knowledgeable about restaurants and local culture. His support guides were equally happy and helpful throughout.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Enjoy.

A trip around Sicily

This trip has been running for several years and the itinerary works well. We felt there was a good balance between organized activities and free time to relax/explore on our own. We enjoyed wandering around Ortigia, Erice and Cefalu, but found Taormina underwhelming as, apart from the Amphitheatre, it is basically one long, crowded street of tourist shops and expensive boutiques. The accommodation was generally fine – our favourite was Il Barocco in Ragusa. The agroturismo stay was disappointing; we had expected a meal featuring homegrown produce, which was not in evidence!

Most Inspirational Moment

Walking into the cathedral at Monreale and seeing the stunning mosaics was a standout moment. The Roman villa near Piazza Armerina is pretty special too. Selinunte: standing alone among wild flowers and grasses looking up at the honey-coloured stones of a Greek temple glowing against an intensely blue sky.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Tiziano was brilliant! He is an experienced tour leader, yet his enthusiasm for Sicily, its food and culture is undimmed. He was great company and made sure everything worked well. He coped well with a couple of birthdays and one member of our group who became ill. He also included some additional stops at places of interest, which broke up longer journeys and added to the itinerary.

Advice for Potential Travellers

This is an excellent trip. Take comfortable, light walking shoes. May is a good time to visit; not too hot and the flowers are in bloom, although be prepared for some variable weather. Sicily’s towns are often built on hills and there are many steps to negotiate – if you have a problem with these this may not be the tour for you, although they are a good opportunity to work off some of the calories gained from the lovely Sicilian food! We had plenty of opportunity to try a wide range of dishes. Be aware that portions are large and two courses are usually sufficient (antipasti and primi, or primi and secondi). The archaeological museum in Siracusa is a long walk away, confusingly laid out and quite boring. Worth missing. Some of the smaller museums (e.g., on Mozia) were better.

Suggestions

As there aren’t many places to eat in Piazza Armerina it would be a good idea to organise a group meal for the second night – on our trip everyone booked the same restaurant (La Locanda) separately which caused a certain amount of chaos as the table had to be expanded several times, although they coped admirably and the food was excellent! More time on Mozia would be good, allowing people time to explore the whole island and have time for lunch.

Incredible Trip!

Had an amazing time in Italy!

Thoughts on Group Leader

Michele

Suggestions

Michele was amazing! He worked very hard to give us the best experience, rearranging the itinerary according to the weather and train schedules. Provided us with many options to suit our individual needs. Really cared about us having a great vacation! Couldn’t have asked for better.

Walking in Puglia and Matera Private Departure

We had very good service from the Exodus sales team in planning the trip for our Nordic walking group. The itinerary was very well planned and gave us the chance to experience walking and cultural visits in this fascinating area of Italy. Overall the holiday exceeded my expectations.

Most Inspirational Moment

Our first view of the Sassi in Matera

Thoughts on Group Leader

Marion was an excellent leader who ensured all members of our group had the best time.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Unless you have an early departure you will not have time to do the activities described on Day 1. Check what type of adapter is needed for Italy.

Suggestions

A reminder just before the final balance was due would have been useful - either to all party members or just the party leader. Information as to the type of adapter required - 3 round pins.

Fabulous Scenery

A great insight into war between the Balkan countries. Starting in Kotor, we headed into the mountains. The countryside is spectacular: the scenic walks around lakes, looking down into deep gorges with impossibly blue/green water plus the fields of buttercups and blue wild violas were amazing. Many wild flowers including orchids along the way. In Sarajevo and Mostar the damage left by the war is so noticeable. Destroyed buildings protected by Unesco, but the owners not having the money to repair them, mortar shell and sniper holes in buildings. Learning about the siege of the town and the tunnel built under the airport were fascinating.

Most Inspirational Moment

The fabulous wild flowers, swimming in the Kravica Waterfalls, getting in amongst the alleys of all the old towns; but the trip to Lukomir up in the hills was amazing. Many miles on very bumpy dirt track ending at the village with spectacular views of the gorge and a great lunch was breath-taking.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Lorenc. Sorry, I don't know his surname. his is the most polite, caring leader you could wish for. We were also accompanied by Dina who is a guide already, but not for this trip - she was learning about it. Her knowledge of the history was great.

Advice for Potential Travellers

If you are very interested in the history of this conflict I suggest you read up on it first. A couple of the guides were OK, but did not give as much information as they could have. A good overview was achieved.

Suggestions

Some of the guides of the cities could have given more detail and taken us to more places.

An all round fantastic experience.

An excellent located hotel for all trips within the itinerary, offering very good vegetarian options, and a complimentary glass of wine with all evening meals. The walks were challenging however they were graded correctly. The views were fantastic, and our leader was attentive to all individual needs of the group.

Most Inspirational Moment

Too many inspiring moments to mention. However the walk to Tiscali was amazing. And the fresh seasonal fruit (lemon, cherries and loquots) grown by the hotel, which was offered for breakfast was brilliant. The hotel owners were open, honest and great listeners.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Group leader (Tony Sardo) was attentive to all individuals needs, and changed the itinerary positively to suit weather conditions.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Good quality walking boots/shoes essential.

Suggestions

A positive Wow!

Tuscany Kevin

An excellent tour with sensible walks, great food and marvellous sightseeing.

Most Inspirational Moment

Revisiting Siena

Thoughts on Group Leader

Outstanding

Advice for Potential Travellers

Enjoy!

Suggestions

The hotel was rather isolated so there were no options for eating elsewhere as taxis are scarce.

Survey feedback

Overall trip was a great experience

Most Inspirational Moment

Santiago cathedral was breathtaking

Thoughts on Group Leader

Alvard Simenes was excellent. I lost my luggage, Al supported me and came with me to purchase some walking gear.

Stunning scenery and bears

I had no idea how beautiful Romania is the location of Magura was so green in May, the rolling hills and snow capped mountains was perfect. Lovely hotel, friendly staff and plenty of home cooked food all locally sourced.

Most Inspirational Moment

Bears!! And seeing their footprints when out walking, along with all the other wildlife you see and hear (cuckoos).

Thoughts on Group Leader

Thomas was fab!! So friendly, a wealth of knowledge, inclusive of the whole group, a brilliant guide.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Take walking poles, as in parts it’s steep and undulating. A lunchbox is a good idea to take, just so it’s not squashed in your rucksack or in the paper bag that’s provided when you make them at breakfast. Take ear plugs as you will hear the dogs barking at night!

Suggestions

I would highly recommend visiting, really enjoyed it.

Borneo Wildlife Discoverer

What can I say – what an amazing trip. From start to finish we were incredibly lucky with what we saw and the encounters we had. Starting in Bako NP, we saw wild proboscis monkey and were treated to a rare sighting of a Colugo (flying lemur) taking flight over our heads during the day. On the way back on the boat, we were even treated to a viewing of pink dolphins.

In Mulu, the caves were beautiful and great fun to walk through. Although we were supposedly there during the ‘dry’ season, climate change has made the weather much more unpredictable. We had lovely weather both mornings, but torrential rain in the afternoons and overnight, so much so that the bats stayed inside the cave on the first night. Patience and a willingness to walk in the rain with crossed fingers paid off on the second night, and we were treated to a spectacular bat exodus during sunset. The weather is very changeable in Mulu (and Borneo in general) so even if it looks as though it may be too wet for the bats, I would recommend heading to the viewing area anyway as you never know! Even in the rain, the air temperature is warm and you dry off quickly.

Moving to Sabah, the highlights have to be the Kinabatangan River and Danum Valley. Both were so rich in wildlife and we had such amazing viewings in both locations. The Orangutan and Proboscis monkey sanctuaries are great and do fabulous work, but nothing compares to seeing these animals truly out in the wild. We were incredibly lucky with our sightings and saw not only the Borneo Big 5 (orangutan, proboscis monkey, crocodile, rhinoceros hornbill and pygmy elephant) but a huge array of other primates and birds (long and short tail macaques, gibbons, silver and red leaf monkeys, flying squirrels, owls, civets, slow loris, eagles, deer and many more) . Particularly in Danum Valley, take the opportunity to do as much as possible. There are a couple of places on the track and boardwalk that you can go independently providing the sun is up. A few of us in the group met up at 6am on both mornings in Danum and we were rewarded with a group of gibbons eating and playing in the trees on both mornings – a sight not repeated during the day. Seize every opportunity and just explore and enjoy.

Most Inspirational Moment

Seeing the wild mother orangutan with her 1 year old baby up close in Danum Valley. We were the only group on that particular trail at the time and we were able to observe the two eating fruit up in the tree, before coming down and crossing over to a different tree right in front of us. The gentle and relaxed attitude of the mother was such a pleasure to experience and we were able to observe and photograph the two together in their natural habitat for an amazing time. I also personally loved seeing the red leaf monkeys (or maroon langurs). These guys were an incredible flame red and moved through the trees so quickly - such a joy to see. Our guide in Danum (thanks Hairie) did such an amazing time in spotting the wildlife for us, and even managed to find two groups of red leafs on the different days. At Kinabatangan River on our last river safari, we got to see a full herd of pygmy elephants crossing the river right in front of our boat which was just incredible.

Thoughts on Group Leader

We had two leaders for the trip - Nazim in Sarawak and J in Sabah. Both were excellent guides and went out of their way to accommodate any requests and ensure that the entire group got the most out of the trip possible. In Sarawak, Nazim was such a lovely, bubbly guide - always looking for things to show us and little extras to do, be it wild swimming in Mulu or going to see the sea stacks (and accidentally finding pink dolphins) in Bako. In Sabah, J took over and quickly learned the group's preferences and desires for the trip. He was excellent at adjusting our schedule or activities to best fit with the group and was able to maximise our wildlife viewings and time spent in nature. I understand that this is the first trip Exodus have operated with the new model of split guide duties. We were lucky that both our guides were amazing, and our group of 7 all gelled really well. It seems to me that it could be difficult for the second guide (and the group) when you switch, having spent the first 5 days bonding and getting into a rhythm with the first guide, only for this to then change on arrival in Sabah. It must be hard for the guide too, to come into an already formed group, but J did a fantastic job.

Advice for Potential Travellers

As mentioned in a previous review, you really do not need much in way of long trousers and tops. It is very hot and humid, so quick-dry shorts and t-shirts are the way to go. It is easy to wash these out in the hotels each evening and they dry quickly in the air conditioning. Almost all the places we stayed (the longhouse excluded) had good air-con and so you could wash and dry clothes quickly and easily. Whilst Borneo is a Muslim country, it is not nearly as conservative as some and shorts and t-shirts are generally fine throughout. Even in Danum, most of us had short-sleeves on; although you definitely do need long trousers and socks there for the leeches. Be prepared that it can and will rain with little to no warning, so if you are carrying expensive camera gear or anything you do not want to get wet, ensure you always have a dry bag or something waterproof to wrap your equipment up in if necessary. I found it far too hot and humid to even consider putting on a poncho or raincoat on during the rain, so just accepted I would get wet. Even after a good soaking in Mulu, I was dry within 15 minutes of the rain stopping. Pack light - you are moving around a lot and do not want to be struggling with a large bag.

Suggestions

We had a small issue with the optional snorkelling trip in KK where the local booking agent told us there was a minimum booking number of 4 persons and as we were only 3 on the booking, we would have to pay an additional 37% on the ticket price to be able to participate. When we got to the activity, we found out this was absolutely not correct and there were other people who had booked solo or in pairs with no such condition. Essentially, the local booking agent had charged us 37% more and pocketed the extra. Exodus were quick to sort this out themselves, however it was somewhat frustrating. As such, if you want to go snorkelling in KK, I would recommend booking directly yourself. We went with Down Below Adventures and they were professional and safe, with a great set-up where you have a base on an island with toilets, showers etc, and then head out on the boats to three distinct snorkelling locations. We saw eagle rays, turtles, black-tip reef sharks and an array of fish and corals. The trip was definitely worth it, despite the slight issue with the booking.