Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18266 Reviews

  • Reviewed June 2022

    Portugal at a glance

    A very busy trip with not very much free time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved Porto even though it was very busy with tourists. The included lunch at the port winery overlooking the Douro and Teda rivers was excellent with plenty of vegetarian options and nice wines. The tour beforehand was entertaining.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had Carlos Santos and Flavio as our leaders/drivers. They were both efficient, friendly, helpful and safe drivers. Carlos took me to a late night chemist when I needed some medication for a bad cough. He did this when we were actually settling into the restaurant for dinner - we still got back in time to eat! Flavio would always find out answers if he didn't know the answer immediately. We had a very enjoyable group dinner on Thursday with both of them as this was the last evening they would have been with us. The food was good - lots of veggie choices - Carlos played guitar and we all sang along. One small criticism is that some of the evening briefings were rather long.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I have raised this issue with Exodus already. The group flight home is very late. We were collected from our hotel in Lisbon at 5 p.m. on Saturday afternoon and I walked into my house at 1 a.m. on Sunday morning. Exhausting. I would have liked a bit more time to look round Obidos. We were there for two nights but went to Sintra to visit the Pena Palace and the Moorish Castle. Pena Palace was extremely busy, it took about an hour to get in and then you just had to shuffle round due to the amount of people inside.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Although the hotel Douro Scala (Mesao Frio) is in a lovely position overlooking the vineyards, the bedrooms were rather 'tired' and there is not really a proper bar area so that you bought your drinks in the restaurant and took them out onto the terrace overlooking the pool. Finding vegetarian meal options was sometimes challenging. Carlos always made sure that the restaurants he recommended (or where we had group dinners) served veggie options but sometimes this was limited to one dish and not always very good. It was more of a challenge when we were on our own. Some restaurants had no veggies options at all.
  • Reviewed June 2022

    Portugal at a glance

    A very busy tour of the highlights of Portugal.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved Porto even though it was very busy with tourists. The visit to the port winery at the confluence of the Douro and Tedo rivers was a highlight. We were on a terrace looking down on the rivers and were served with a delicious lunch with lots of vegetarian options and good wines.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had Carlos Santos and Flavio as our leaders/guides/drivers. They were both friendly, organised, knowledgable, eager to help, handled the cases well and good/safe drivers. I had a bad cough and mentioned to Carlos that I needed a pharmacy the next day. Instead he knew that the pharmacy in the local shopping mall would be open late (we were just settling into the restaurant for dinner). He took me to the pharmacy which was about a 10 minute drive away and helped with the purchase of medication. I asked Flavio a question in Porto that he didn't immediately know the answer to, he came back to me when he had found out the answer.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a busy trip so be prepared. There is not very much free time. There was often only one choice of a vegetarian meal and some restaurants didn't serve veggie food at all. When we were with the group this was OK as Carlos/Flavio checked there was a veggie option but when we were on our own, this was sometimes a problem. There were actually 5 vegetarians on this tour.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I have mentioned this to Exodus already, but the group flight home from Lisbon is too late. There is always a lot of 'hanging around' on the last day. We had been for a walk, had lunch and then were not picked up until 5 p.m. from the hotel. We were a bit earlier than planned but that was all to the good as the airport was very busy. I walked into my house at 1 a.m. the following morning. That's exhausting.
  • Croatia Cycling the Dalmatian coast

    My son (23) and I (57) have just returned from this trip and I’m now looking to book another Exodus cycling trip! We have not done a trip like this before and we’re little nervous! There was no need! The group leader Mario was excellent and made sure everyone was comfortable with the pace and really was an exceptional lead and a great ambassador for both Croatia and Exodus. Our group of 11 was mixed age and ability but everyone got on well and had a fantastic time! Amazing scenery, beautiful crystal clear waters and quiet roads. Organisation was brilliant, water, snacks, when and where to break…bus and trailer availability etc. Nothing was too much trouble and Mario really put in loads of effort to ensure everyone had a great holiday. Hotels were good and better than I expected. If you have doubts about whether you should book… just do it! It was fantastic!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Day trip to Mljet, swimming to lakes and spotting a 2 tailed Pasha ( butterfly!) for the first time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader Mario was excellent and made sure everyone was comfortable with the pace and really was an exceptional lead and a great ambassador for both Croatia and Exodus. Our group of 11 was mixed age and ability but everyone got on well and had a fantastic time! Amazing scenery, beautiful crystal clear waters and quiet roads. Organisation was brilliant, water, snacks, when and where to break…bus and trailer availability etc. Nothing was too much trouble and Mario really put in loads of effort to ensure everyone had a great holiday. He was tolerant, easy going and friendly … even when he had to repeat himself several times because people hadn’t listened to the instructions ! Mario really contributed to making this holiday one of my best ever holidays!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t be put off by the ‘Undulating’ nature of the routes… the descents are amazing and the support vehicle is always there if you need it! ….. I am not a cyclist… just reasonably fit.. and I managed the trip no problem. Bring beach shoes… there are sea urchins!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Can’t wait to book my next trip!
  • Reviewed June 2022

    Lovely scenery, disappointing walks

    I booked on a Level 5 Challenging departure in April 2022. Mallorca is a beautiful island with absolutely lovely scenery but I was extremely disappointed with the walks chosen. Short, coastal walks at a very slow pace and far too many stops. There was only one day where we were really reached a summit. It was very frustrating and has deterred me from booking a guided tour with Exodus again. I specifically booked a Level 5 departure for the challenging hikes but Exodus did not deliver. I travelled with Exodus on many occasions in the past and always had a fantastic experience. I would not book with them again based on this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of Puig Tomir

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two group leaders which led to the trip being disjointed. Jacob for the first three walking days and Eduard for the last two days. Very knowledgable about the area and keen to share that with the group, which was really interesting. However, ultimately they did not deliver on the Level 5 Challenging nature of the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I really enjoyed staying in LLuc monastery
  • Reviewed June 2022

    A unique way to explore Greece, Gods and Myths

    Our very first Exodus trip (recommended by friends) commenced apprehensively (and very early) in the Terminal 5 Lounge at Heathrow. After a couple of 'Pineapple Juices' for breakfast and 40 winks on the plane we were soon at our hotel to meet the Group Leaders Dimitris and Dimitris soon being referred to as D1 and D2. Very soon the eclectic mix of people were entrusting the next 7 days of cycling, eating, drinking, swimming and dancing with D1 & D2. We couldn't have made a better choice. We had fantastic cycling, the snacks, lunches and juices that D2 provided in support were excellent and D1 and D2 excelled at their dinner choices every evening giving us a superb taste of local foods (at very reasonable prices). D2 (the wine connoisseur) helped us choose the best wines to go with the meals, although he was not put out when the odd carafe of house red, or the local beers were ordered as well! D1 and especially D2 excelled in imparting their local knowledge, Greek history and Greek Mythology at many of our stops to visit ancient sights and places of historical interest. Even better were the lunches that they prepared and the snacks they offered during the days. In summary, D1 and D2 were fabulous The rest of the group got involved to make it so enjoyable. We had a fabulous time and met some great people. What a fantastic lot! We loved it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hearing two American young lads Hum Ave Maria in the Mycenae Tomb of Clytemnestra. The sound / resonance was amazing. This was closely followed by a Pink Floyd rendition from "Dark Side of the Moon" in the same tomb! Our first ever trip to the Acropolis wasn't bad either.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Dimitris S was great, but it was made so much better with Dimitris G as support. I am sure that they work well individually, but they make a great pair. Their knowledge and support were excellent. I had to leave the group on the last morning for personal reasons, and they both helped me out in getting to where I was going.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Please come along to enjoy the cycling, but make sure that you get involved with the group and join in with all the other activities - you won't regret it. The cycling and scenery are great - you can even swim (or just paddle) most days if you want. We did have a couple of issues with electric bikes, but it didn't detract from the holiday. It just meant that some had to peddle harder than others! (These were sorted out).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If all Exodus trips are as good as this then you will be in for a treat which ever trip you do.
  • Reviewed June 2022

    Scenery, sites, salads and stories

    I originally booked this trip for summer 2020, it was rolled over twice due to the pandemic, but my word, it was a trip worth waiting for! Challenging cycling, spectacular scenery, fabulous food, and heaps of history - it has something for everyone, and then some. One of the best trips I have ever done (and this is my 12th with Exodus), "Team Dimitris" made it a wonderful re-introduction to cycling holidays abroad after the last few years of uncertainty.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As a student of ancient history, visiting Epidarus and Mycenae could not be beaten. As a cyclist, the scenery was simply stunning, especially the Nafplio coastline. As a foodie, absolutely all of it!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dimitris on the bike and Dimitris in the van have to be the best double act on an Exodus trip I have ever had the privilege to be a part of. Their meticulous attention to detail with elevation profiles and distances, maps, carefully selected snack and rest spots, and particularly their choices of local cuisine, meant that everything ran smoothly and all we had to do was pedal along, eat, and enjoy ourselves. The real magic though was in their storytelling - if you love Greek myths (or even if you don't), you will be spellbound.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be open to sharing evening meals (and a kitty for arranging lunches, snacks, and drinks). Team Dimitris chose a wonderful selection of local dishes on each day which, when shared between all, meant our group could try a huge variety of delicious food at a really reasonable price. Handing over the decision-making never tasted so good!! The itinerary is quite a busy one but regardless of how hot or tired you might feel, keep going! You won't want to miss out on a single thing.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go for it, you won't regret it!
  • Reviewed June 2022

    Pura Vida

    Costa Rica is well known for its biodiversity, and this itinerary is well designed to show it off given the wide range of habitat visited over the 2 weeks. Starting on the Caribbean coast, we spent our first 2 days exploring the waterways of the Tortuguero National Park. From there, we visited various rain forests and then cloud forests as we increased altitude, climbing the central mountain range that divides the country and then descending to the Pacific coast. Be prepared for contrasting weather as go, from hot and (very) humid to much cooler at the greater elevations, and be sure to pack accordingly. It's interesting to see the flora and fauna vary with these different ecosystems as you progress through the trip. As previous reviewers have already commented on, the range of wildlife we saw (and heard) was huge, and included birds, mammals, reptiles, and invertebrates. Highlights for me include the toucans, humming birds, quetzal, sloth, and some impressively sized crocodile. The accommodation was very comfortable and very well presented and the various eco-lodges certainly fitted the focus of the trip, helping you to feel immersed in the forest. Most had wildlife walking trails that you are able to explore without a need for a guide. I'd highly recommend the optional (guided) night walks as an opportunity to see the tree frogs and other amphibians and snakes. I visited at the end of May, and decent waterproofs were essential - If, like me, you're taking cameras, make sure you have a waterproof bag for these too. Having said that, the weather was kind to us and although it rained frequently, it was pretty predictable and tended to be limited to the evenings so didn't impact on the excursions - but be prepared and aware that the itinerary is flexible to account for the weather if required.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The conservation ethos is Costa Rica is impressive. Their dedication to the protection of their natural habitats is paying obvious dividends. The sounds of the forests is something that will stay with me for a long time, particularly first thing in the morning!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide, Johnny, deserves a special mention. His knowledge and friendly manner were exceeded only by his enthusiasm and contagious passion for his country and it's wildlife. It was really nice to see his obvious excitement at some of our wildlife sightings (notably a huge boa constrictor crossing a road during one of our bus transfers!).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack a comfortable pair of closed toe walking shoes. These are required for some areas due to the potential for snakes, particularly if you want to make the most of the self-guided trails or night walks at the lodges. ..and waterproofs. If you're planning on taking advantage of the laundry services as to go, be aware that these tended to get more expensive as we went, so I'd recommend doing what you can earlier in the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is just a personal preference, but I felt that the last accommodation in which we stayed before our return to San Jose was a little out of keeping with the rest of the trip. While some will undoubtedly appreciate the more luxurious 4 star hotel and spa, I felt more removed from the surrounding environments here - although I can't fault the standards.
  • Reviewed June 2022

    Another wonderful trip with Exodus

    The trip was excellent from start to finish. The hotel has been described as basic but it has everything you need. It is scrupulously clean & the owner(s) / staff cannot do enough for you. There is a beach 5 minutes walk away at most & the hotel has a bar opposite where you can relax with a book & enjoy the light breeze after a walk.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking down at the town & clear blue water of the bay, realising just how far we had climbed to experience that view.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nanou is one of the best tour leaders I have had with Exodus. Her enthusiasm & energy is contagious. She is very kind & patient - towards the end of one walk my brain was telling me I could finish however, my legs were telling me otherwise. Nanou arranged for a vehicle to collect me &, when I said I was ashamed that I had "failed", she insisted that there was no reason because I had made the walk. She also took us to a restaurant with an amazing ambiance that we would never have found for ourselves.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    After 2 & a half years in lockdown when the extent of my walking was from my sofa to the fridge & back I would say that you really do need to prepare for the trip. Also take into account the heat.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Remember your swimsuit.
  • Reviewed June 2022

    Great trip

    We were a group of seven people on this trip. Our tour leader's name was Bledin (probably the wrong spelling). He was an excellent leader, very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. For some of the time we were really just sightseeing, but when we were trekking it was quite hard work. This trip is classified as moderate, but I do feel that it should be classified as moderate/ challenging, as when we were trekking in the alps, we were on shale, which is rather challenging, especially as I'd never walked on that surface before. However, with Bledin's help I was able to successfully negotiate the three days of trekking. Our forth walk was on rocky steps which I am more familiar with. The Albanian people are very friendly, and helpful. The wife of one of the hoteliers even leant me a pair of boots, when mine fell apart! All in all, a very enjoyable trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Managing to walk across the snow on the pass between Theth and Valbone'

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure that you can walk up mountains on shale.
  • An excellent tour of an amazing country

    This trip really does do a great job of showcasing what an amazing country Jordan is - taking you to some of its more well-known sites (e.g., Petra, the Dead Sea) and some of its lesser-known ones (I had never heard of the Wadi Mujib Siq Trail before but it was my favourite part of the trip). The trip strikes a great balance between fun activities and time to relax. The first hotel (Rum Art) is a little basic, but the standard improves as the week goes on which means you appreciate the later ones even more. I have never had longstanding ambitions to go to Jordan but, after this trip, I can't recommend it highly enough.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Wadi Mujib Siq Trail (wading/scrambling through the gorge) was my own personal highlight - but hiking in Petra, jeep and camel rides in Wadi Rum, and floating in the Dead Sea were all very close runners-up!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Ab, was amazing; he was funny, he looked after us, he shared his enthusiasm and passion for his country and its history, he took us to great food spots, and even adapted the tour where he could to give us the best possible experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would advise other travellers to arrive a day early so you can explore Amman (potentially with others from your group who are doing the same). In terms of clothing, I bought a couple of pairs of cotton/linen trousers based on what I'd read online and, whilst it's nice to respect the Jordanian culture, it really didn't seem to cause any offence any time that I opted to wear shorts.