Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18266 Reviews

  • Reviewed June 2022

    Fantastic Family Egyptian Adventure

    We really enjoyed this trip which took in the highlights, culture, sights, history and more. The Excellent, tour guide made the brilliant trip itinerary come alive. He really knew his stuff and went the extra mile to make sure the adults and kids were totally taken care of, entertained and all administration was seamless. He helped the group of 15 to bond allowing the parents some relaxation as the kids got to know each other. Great memories and looking forward to our next Exodus trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the tombs of the Pharoahs at the Valley of the Kings. Amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Exceptional tour leader as described in the summary above. Knowledgeable, kind, hard working, organised and great with the kids. He made the trip come alive.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book it…you won’t regret it!
  • Reviewed June 2022

    Fantastic trip!

    This is our 6th guided cycling trip with Exodus. I realized how much 2 great guides, both named Dimitris, can add to a trip. Not only was the cycling interesting and varied, both Dimitris planned lunches, ordered food for us for dinner, had us stop at museums, and took us on extra little trips, such as visiting tombs after dinner. This trip was beyond my expectations. There is so much to see in the Peloponnese area: so many beautiful ruins of temples, baths, theaters, stadiums....And "The Dimitris" were passionate about their country and Greece's mythology. I thought nothing could top Romania, Morocco and South Africa, but this trip just might have done that.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The seas were so blue and the flowers were so intensely colored. I was inspired to buy Greek Olive oil instead of Italian! Oh, and I learned that I love ouzo.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leaders were incredibly well-planned and had even drawn up an elevation-gain map. So organized.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be ready to enjoy fantastic food and views. Read some mythology before you go. Perhaps read the Iliad and the Odessey (even if you read the approachable graphic novels--it's still good).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I highly recommend this trip.
  • Reviewed June 2022

    Baltic extravaganza

    3countries I never thought I would get to visit, but so glad I did. With our great guide Andrius and some witty, funny, knowledgable local guides , not only did I visit these countries but understood the history of the Baltic countries , their independence yet ease of interaction. The trip was full of surprises- a phone box turned into a church in Tallin, walking around the lovely university town of Tartu, paddling in the icy cold Baltic Sea in Jurmala, visiting an opulent Baroque palace, walking the sand Dunes at Nida, visiting an old soviet missile site was interesting and frightening at the same time particularly in May 22.Riga with the zeppelin hangar market places,baroque buildings -The hill of crosses, the wood carving at Nida-so many interesting things to see. Andrius with his great sense of humour looked after us all, chose fantastic eating places and kept us amused on the bus with interesting stories and jokes. A throughly enjoyable holiday and well managed-Go for it yourself

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The hill of crosses

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great, well organised, caring for those who were not as able, knowledgable, approachable, arranged great places for meals/so varied

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, go for it So much to see and enjoy
  • Reviewed June 2022

    Jordan is more than you expect

    The trip only lasted a week, but Jordan is not a big country, and the itinerary is well planned - busy, but with some down time - so you can fit so much in without feeling rushed. There is so much more than “just” Petra. Wadi Rum - the site for Lawrence of Arabia’s gathering of the tribes, and location for the film (and for “The Martian”, the live action “Aladdin”, and “Dune”) - is spectacular. Floating in the Dead Sea is a unique experience, and the biblical, Roman, and Crusader sites are all fascinating.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first sight of the Treasury in Petra is always going to be a moment to remember; the biblical sites of Mt Nebo, where Moses had his view of the Promised Land, and Bethany where John baptised Jesus, are very moving, even if you are not religious; and Wadi Rum, with its historical significance and wonderful stars viewed from round the campfire, is unforgettable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ayyad was the perfect host for Jordan. He was kind, patient, funny, knowledgeable, and efficient, and did everything possible to ensure that all went as planned. He kept us well updated on the itinerary for each day and the next, so we knew what to expect. As well as suggesting good restaurants for dinner, he arranged a couple of excellent lunches - a picnic and a bakery visit - and generally smoothed the way, to allow us to enjoy the country to the maximum. Special thanks also due, as Ayyad was also very good at looking out for my son who has a sesame allergy, as sesame is used a lot in Jordanian food.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Late May is very hot, so make sure you drink enough water; starts are early (but then you can go to bed early too); ATMs are not as hard to find as expected; make sure you have good walking shoes - you will need them; Petra is a very large site - the Treasury is just the start - and has lots of steps to the Monastery and High Place of Sacrifice, so make sure you pace yourself.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Jordan exceeded our expectations: more friendly, more fun, the sights more inspiring - there is just something “more” every day. Go for it, and enjoy.
  • Reviewed June 2022

    Enjoyable cycling in the Baltics - thoroughly recommended

    This trip fully met my expectations. I had never visited any of the Baltic countries and I was pleased to be able to see something of the countryside and coastal areas as well as brief stays in each of the 3 capitals. I also wanted to return to cycling with a fairly gentle trip and the itinerary allowed for a reasonably leisurely pace with mostly quiet roads. I found the balance of cycling, sightseeing and relaxation (sampling local cuisine and drinks!) to be good. What made our trip special was a great bunch of fellow cyclists and a superb guide in Andrius.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Baltics are a fascinating area with a rich history and some lovely cities. Highlights for me were the day on the Curonian Spit in Lithuania, the seaside town of Jurmala in Latvia with its wonderful beach and cycling through the 'Estonian Switzerland'.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andrius kept the group well informed about the areas we were travelling through and kept us amused with his keen sense of humour. He was able to make small adaptations according to the group's interests and the weather so we largely avoided the rain! The group bonded well and I think that was in part due to his skill in reconciling everyone's wishes. Due to the pandemic he had not done this route for nearly 3 years and I think credit is also due that he was able to arrange so many great lunch experiences for us along the way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is not a trip for those who want to cycle all day every day at speed. It's about taking time to appreciate the areas you are cycling through and the most magical moments are seeing the mist lift to reveal part of the coastline you hadn't been aware of or eating freshly smoked fish in a fisherman's garden.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Accommodation is fair to good. A couple of the hotels, particularly the ones in Klaipeda and Vilnius were nice. Mostly you have 2 nights in each hotel allowing a little time for repacking and washing out the odd item. Exodus should probably look at a couple of hotels which were below par (eg the one in Riga) to see if better alternatives are available.
  • Reviewed June 2022

    Baltic cycling review

    Trip was worthwhile. Interesting cities. Good food. Excellent guide - Andreus - who made the trip special. He had a good rapport with the whole group and his knowledge of the Baltics was first class.
  • Reviewed June 2022

    This was my first ever Exodus holiday, and it exceeded all expectations!

    This was a very well organised trip, I went in late May so the weather was warm but no too hot. I really enjoyed the cycling and I met a bunch of great people. Our group was 15 big and it being my first Exodus trip I was a little nervous, but as soon as I met the leader and other travelers I felt at ease. I am already looking at booking another holiday with Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trip to Mjet was amazing, it was a completely unspoiled island, and it really felt like you were cycling through a paradise, there were butterflies everywhere and the sea was crystal clear blue, the hike to the top of the island was also amazing, and the view from the top was epic, we even had a swim, and in late May the sea was a good temperature. I would recommend you bring some water shoes as it's quite stony.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alan was a very good leader, he was incredibly knowledgeable and friendly. He really made an effort with everyone, especially on the more challenging parts of trip giving people motivation, and having general chats. In the mini-bus about 15 minutes before arriving at our cycle drop-off's he would give a detailed itinerary of the rides so we would know what to expect. He he also helped me with fitting my own pedals that a bought along which was really helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would have to say take the optional trip to Mjet, and take some water shoes if you decide to go swimming as it's a bit stony.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The demographic of people on this trip was great, a really good mixture of age and groups vs solo travelers, and as a solo traveler in my late 30s it really suited me and we all got along really well and I made some friends! Also the food, wine and beer was amazing out there!
  • Superb Holiday

    It’s great when all the elements for a superb holiday come together:- hotel, food, walks, scenery, weather, the other walkers, and the guides - a wonderful holiday in a lovely location.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking up through pine and beech forest on the GR20 to the Bocca Palmente pass. And then, after the walk, sitting in a small bar by the Vizzavona train station, with a cold drink whilst listening to some calming music and chatting to the other walkers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jenny had done a great amount of research of the walks and the area before we arrived, and led us at a kind pace through lovey walks. She had a lovely personality and ensured everyone enjoyed the whole trip (thanks!). Alex also accompanied us and was a great enthusiastic companion too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It can be very hot on Corsica so choose the time of year that you feel is best for you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    On our “day off” we all had dinner in the local restaurant - about 20 euros each and a lovely evening.
  • Reviewed June 2022

    Cycle the Baltics - an eye opening ride.

    A great introduction to Exodus for me. Although I had originally booked Northern Italy, that was cancelled due to Covid- this was a last minute booking - and glad I made it. Good local beer, pleasant well-matched company , lot of good locally produced food and an excellent tour leader Andrius Mazrimas with a very dry sense of humour ( which,on occasion, he needed). The cycling was not overblown (longest day 55kms) through mostly rural surroundings. Bikes were brand new and well suited to the terrain, though sturdy tourers rather than the racing style some may prefer. Hotels were all very good, with one exception, which is the only reason I haven't rated this holiday 'Excellent'. I will definitely be looking at some of the other options in the Exodus catalogue. Well done Andrius and thank you for showing us the heritage of some beautiful countries.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably the Hill of Crosses - and our day on the Curonian Spit with a view over the Russian enclave of Kaliningrad (formerly Koenigsberg)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andrius Mazrimas is an experienced leader, with a great sense of humour. A knowledgable local with colloquial English and proud of his heritage, Andrius and our driver Mandaugus made us feel ' all of one company '.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I was charged a Flight Supplement in order to make use of the Exodus Flight package to and from Gatwick. I would try hard to make my own flight arrangements on a future trip as I live quite close to an easier airport.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great holiday, glad I went
  • Cinque Terre

    Trip was great, sites and scenery was amazing. One of the best places in Italy to visit. Our guide Michela was brilliant, well organised efficient and loads of fun as well. Nothing was to much trouble for her.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Couldn’t pick one moment they were all really great

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michela was very very good. The best group leader of any trip so far and I’ve done quite a few.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Learn some Italian (with Dave)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Had a great time. Highly recommended.