Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18266 Reviews

  • Reviewed June 2022

    Great Trip

    A really enjoyable and leisurely trip. The distances covered aren’t long which makes for a more leisurely pace. Almost all the accommodation exceeded expectations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Really enjoyed staying at two wineries Views over lake Ohrid.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    All the hotels were great except for one which I wouldn’t use again if I were Exodus.
  • Reviewed June 2022

    Cycling in the sunshine

    This cycling trip winds its way through the hillside towns and coast of Puglia. The trip means a different night in each town with some beautiful hotels, traditional Trulli and an old olive masseria complete with olive oil tasting. Along the way there are stops for swims, coffee and ice cream. There is time to site see in each town along the way but if possible spend an extra night in Lecce the little Rome of the south to finish the trip in style.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Staying in a traditional Trulli and the lunches our guides sorted out for each day. Also the traditional olive oil masseria was beautiful and away from the crowds. Not forgetting the ice cream stops and Excellent Italian coffee. Did I mention the beautiful coastline? Pack a swimming costume for some excellent swim stops!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Antonio our group leader stepped in to cover a guide who was sick. He came straight from another trip but worked really hard to make sure we had an excellent week. He guided us and recommended some excellent restaurants. He also took us on a tour of Lecce on the last day explaining all the historical sites. Together with Piero in the support van we felt very safe and well supported no matter what the pace. Piero organised lunches and was available in the van if the cycling was too much. Having spent an afternoon in the van due to the heat I can confirm the two guides were in constant communication checking where all the group were, making sure those at the back were ok and sorting lunch stops. These guys worked super hard!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Spend some extra time in Lecce and Matera if you get the chance. It can get very hot so factor 50 and electrolyte tablets will keep you hydrated and protected from the sun.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Very impressed with the guides
  • Puglia May 2022

    Pleased to visit an area previously unknown to me. We experienced unseasonably hot weather (some days 35 degrees in May) which made walking the streets of some cities difficult. The free day at Monopoli we agreed to be shortened in order that some time could be spent viewing our base Alberobello. I was surprised not to have dedicated transport which led to some timing issues and having to walk to the meeting point. Overall a tour of varieties of cities/sea side/olive groves with some good recommendations of where to eat.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As a keen photographer parts of the architecture and street photography highly rewarding. Matera at night as initial sight highly worthwhile. The main square at Lecce a wow moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nino has guided on this tour for a number of years and become knowledgeable about the area. He dealt with a group of 16 women quite well. He was perhaps ambitious in his timings for us to walk to destinations as there were a couple of us with walking issues.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for scrambling up and down highly uneven sometimes steep steps/streets.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The transport issue I reiterate cos I have not experienced before a trip where we do not have dedicated transport - you state "private" transport but I had not taken on board this meant we would have vastly different transport throughout the week.
  • Northern Cyprus

    Everything about it - the good contrast about walks/history/flora and fauna I think I have done a review already?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I dont have one The variety of Famagousta Town, with all the typoes of castle, some sea, the food. The hotle was great.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First class

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you understand about walking. If you are not part of the group due to knees or anything, then you have to find your own excursions.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I love the wasy exodus takes care of the gluten free Coeliac :-)
  • Reviewed June 2022

    Cycling Puglia and Matera

    An interesting trip in very hot weather. The places visited were interesting and the hotels were good. Bikes as usual,even though brand new, were basic and heavy. More suited to town riding than touring. This added to the amount of time on the road, so leaving less time to explore the towns we stayed in.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very pleasant and helpful. Informative and with a good command of English. A good bike mechanic for a change.
  • Reviewed June 2022

    Excellent Trip

    Amazing trip and beautiful countries, Uzbekistan was just stunning and I felt so small between the big statues and buildings. We were lucky to be in Bukhara during the Silk and Jewelry festival and seeing everyone dancing and all the beautiful costumes they were wearing was a highlight, I definitely fell in love with the place, the architecture and for sure the friendly people. The Eagle Hunting demonstration was another highlight of the trip and not to be missed in Kyrgyzstan. Although it rained most part of Kyrgyzstan we did get to see some of the mountains and although could not do the walk in the gorge at the yurt camp it was still amazing to be surrounded by such beautiful landscapes, scenery and nature.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Registan Square in Samarkand blew my mind away, it was just so big and beautiful and made me feel so small. The eagle hunting demonstration was for me very emotional as they truly look after the eagles and set them free back into the wild after a few years, which is amazing. Also the friendly people in Uzbekistan was incredible, don't think I have ever seen such friendly people anywhere else and I travel a lot.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two leaders: Dilshod in Uzbekistan - The man had so many stories to tell and had so much knowledge about his county. He helped wherever he could and made us all feel so welcome. Emrek was our guide for Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan and he got us out of a broken bus situation very quickly and he was great. Also had a smile.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a few long drives but they are all worth it as the views are beautiful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Book the trip and enjoy it as much as I did. These countries are still very much undiscovered and that is what made it so special. Not many tourist and surrounded by locals at all times.
  • Reviewed June 2022

    Atlas Panorama

    A very enjoyable trip split between cosmopolitan Marrakech and experiencing rural village life

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Nothing jumps out which was more inspirational than others

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdulla wa wonderful, very knowledgeable, engaging and committed

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes accept that the 4 nights in the Atlas mountains you are totally remote from the rest of the world unless you have organised a local SIM card.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Make sure your footwear is sturdy and supports your ankles as the walks are over screed & rocks so there is quite a lot of movement in the foot area so to ensure you don't get injured a good pair of shoes are needed.
  • Reviewed June 2022

    All round excellent trip. Stunning towns. Good quality hotels. Great Tour Leader.

    A great trip with some beautiful scenery and stunning towns. Cycling on some of the days was quite tough given the weight of the bikes combined with the undulating terrain and Puglian heat (end May 2022). Great tour guide Antonio and driver Piero could not have been better. Very good standard of accommodation.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Beautiful scenery along the Ionian and Adriatic coastlines. Otranto Cathedral mosaic floor is a must see.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Antonio was excellent. Very attentive and ensured any requests were attended to. He made great efforts to ensure people paid the correct amounts at dinner time (for what they ate and drank). He ensured that the group was safe on the roads giving very good guidance a all times.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure you have done some training before the trip so that you can enjoy the cycling as much as possible. Be aware that Puglia can get very hot!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The bicycles were very high quality, but a little on the heavy side for the undulating terrain and distances each day. Are lighter bikes an option? If possible, suggest leaving a little earlier each day, e.g. 8:15/30 vs 9/9:15 so that the group arrives into the towns a little earlier and can enjoy exploring them a little better.
  • Reviewed June 2022

    Grand Canyon Rafting

    Excellent. Much better than I expected.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sleeping under the stars

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Gave a feeling of competence and safely

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Watch videos on watch to take. Leave your modesty at home.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The rest of the group (27) were offered 2 nights free accommodation at the Marriott hotel by Grand Canyon Expeditions. Why wasn't I offered this by Exodus.
  • Reviewed June 2022

    Stunning scenery.

    Wonderful scenery in a quiet, unspoilt area of the UK. Great group of fellow walkers and a friendly and enthusiastic leader.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cari was very dedicated and caring. She did her best to cater for all abilities during our walks and was good company in the evenings.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take good waterproofs !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I felt that the first day's walking was a little stretch too far. We got back to the hotel around 6.45 pm, having left at 9.30 am. We were all wet through and pretty tired and had just 45 mins to shower, change etc. before Sunday dinner at 7.30pm