Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18129 Reviews

  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    High on life in the Grand Canyon

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I couldn't possibly pick a single inspirational moment of this trip. From the first full day walking in Zion, to the climax hiking down into the Grand Canyon at the end, I just remember the whole experience being utterly fantastic. I can pick out a few top highlights though...Their are some great walks in this trip. Particular favourites of mine were Angels Landing in Zion and Delicate Arch in Arches NP. Angels Landing takes you up steep switchbacks for an hour before requiring you to scramble up a sharp ridge with sheer drops either side, and only your sense of balance and some handily placed chains to keep you on the mountain. Once I got to the top, the view was matched only by my sense of achievement. Bryce Canyon was breathtaking. Every corner we turned gave a new and even better vista. Kodak made a lot of money out of our visit, I have no doubt. We did a couple of walks here, including one taking us down into the canyon amongst the hoodoos. I think we all agreed that visually, Bryce was the trip winner.But the best part of all was the Grand Canyon. After 8 fantastic days, I think we were all a little afraid that GC might be a tiny bit of a disappointment. How wrong we were. The moment that the helicopter entered the canyon, and the earth disappeared from underneath us - I will never forget. And as for walking down into the Canyon to Plateau Point and back up, I have never before felt so high on life. I hope I remember the feeling I had as I made it back to the top for the rest of my days.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our two group leaders - Jeff and Wayne - were great. They really helped make the trip what it was. Their enthusiasm for the trip was obvious, and their knowledge and experience was invaluable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book this trip!!And then go and buy some warm clothes and a warm sleeping bag unless you are going in the summer. October nights in Utah are very, very cold! 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I booked my place on this trip on a whim about a month before the departure date. It was the best impulse purchase I have ever made. 3 weeks after coming home, I still have a big grin on my face, and goose-bumps on my arms, everytime I think about it. Everything about it was great. I have been trying to think of flaws or critism in order to stop this being such a rave review. But I genuinely can't. Except that the trip had to end and I had to come home and back to reality. Still, I have good photos and amazing memories, and for now that will have to do.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    the best adventure i have ever had

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the mountain scenery,climbing to 4800 metre's,the fun with the other members of the party and the fantastic guides.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    very knowledgable,helpful and friendly,he was always smiling.Ten out ten top man, helped to make the trek so good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    make sure you are fit for the trek, do some walking & cycling in the weeks/months leading up to it & you will enjoy it all the more.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    dont hesitate do it.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    I thought Pompeii and Ephesus couldn't be beaten but ..............

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The classical sites: Sabratha and Cyrene were excellent but Leptis Magna was breathtaking.  You got a real idea of the height and depth of the roman buildings and the details of the stalls and measures as well as the kiosks itn the market place really made it come alive.The mosaics at Qasr Libya and in the Tripoli museum were also some of the finest I have seen; vibrant colours and fine textures and a real feel of the changes in fashion and quality throught the centuries.The night in the troglodyte lodge was fun,  with some of the best food on the trip; basic conditions but considerably cleaner than one of the hotelsEating out at an excellent restaurant under the moon by the Arch of Marcus Aurelius in Tripoli was a great experience.  The only thing missing was the chilled white wine.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very pleasant but very inexperienced.  He only gave us the barest of practical details for each trip and very little background information - this is in comparison with most Exodus leaders I have known who have been a mine of information on any subject from education to fashion via music, religion and politics.  I know the political situation in Libya requires staff to be cautious over what they may say but several of the local guides were much more open and informative about everyday life as well as their specialist sites.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go now before it becomes too touristy.  The people are warm, friendly and welcoming, the food is good if rather repetitive and the sites are magnificent. Hotels are variable, public facilities can be very basic and take your own loo paper.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It's a good detox - no alcohol for a week!
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Wonderfully remote trek

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The remoteness of the trek was wonderful, I really enjoyed the isolation, the knowledge that there was nobody else remotely near us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The trek leader has an impossible task trying to form a group of strangers into a team who will help each other through the difficult times and celebrate the good times together. With the best leaders the leadership is invisible, they appear to be just one of the group, the regular sight of Dibs apparently relaxing on a rock as we walked past shows he achieved this.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't worry about the length of the days or height of the climbs, you will succeed, just take it one slow step at a time and enjoy the experience.When you reach the top don't forget to take lots of pictures even if you are tired as you will probably never be here again. Remove your cagoule hood, balaclava and ear muffs before smiling for the camera, it's really not that cold for a few seconds and you will be looking at the pictures for a lifetime.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Every trek has to have a spare day at the end just in case, but the choice of Mcleod Ganj as a place to visit is just not right for this trip. After 10 days of walking in perfect solitude the last thing we wanted is a day in a crowded tourist centre, I don't thin any of the group really enjoyed the day. Apart from shops selling souveniers the only reason to visit Mcleod Ganj would be to see a little budist culture. However the budist culture here lacks the purity of Nepal or Tibet and since this trek is for experienced trekkers it is more than likely that they already had better experiences of this culture.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    A great time in Tuscany

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Braccicorti is a great place to stay, very welcoming. Great food. Superb scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent leader. Very knowledgable and friendly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I've now been on 7 Exodus holidays and enjoyed every one. My wife and I are now planning our next trip and would always wholeheartedly recommend Exodus.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Andel's Landing - Eek!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Day 1 we were taken up Angel's Landing and when I saw what we were about to climb I thought they had to be joking. Jeff, our leader, talked me through the scary bits and such exhilaration to reach the top! Each day or two was a different national park ,all amazingly different and all with stunning scenery. Two highlights had to be The Grand Canyon (we did it all, rim walk, helicopter flight and 12 mile hike down to Plateau Point and back up again )., and Bryce Canyon. Bryce had to be the unexpected treat of the holiday. Absolutely breath-taking to view from all angles on the rim walk but still more amazing to descend into and walk through. The size and grandeur of the "red pillars" is indescribable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jeff and Wayne were our two leaders and they were certainly "the odd couple". Both were very different but entirely complemented each other and they made the whole trip such fun. Jeff's knowledge of the area was extensive and he was always very reassuring and helpful. Wayne was the joker to Jeff's straight man and between them we had a really action packed holiday. If we were ahead of schedule at any time they found another little treasure for us to visit. It was not a holiday for those who wanted a rest.The two lads did a fair bit of the cooking and we will remember Jeff's Japanese curry and Wayne's thousand ways to cook beans with fondness. When we returned to Vegas for our last night Jeff took us on a whistle stop tour of the city and then we all ate out together. Felt like they enjoyed the trip as much as us and that it wasn't just another job for them. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not underestimate how cold the mountains and deserts can get at night. We had to buy extra warm clothes and we felt that perhaps Exodus could have warned us of the cold temperatures a bit more forcefully! Jeff luckily had extra sleeping bags so at least we were warm at night.We thought that this would be a bit of a softer trek than the High Andes and Inca Trail we did 2 years ago. It was, to a degree, but by no means a walkover and a certain level of fitness is essential. Camping is not for wusses! 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This review written by Heather Kane on behalf of Barry and myself. Can I thank Exodus once more for a really interesting and action- packed holiday and one to add to the  truly memorable list!
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    A Gem of a Holiday

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The desert part of the trip was most memorable, sleeping under the stars, the peace and quiet, everything about it was unforgetableRock art was superb, as was the Romat towns of Sabratha and Leptis MagnaThe hotel in Tripoli was clean and the staff friendly and helpful.I cannot praise the holiday highly enough ... the experience of a lifetime

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Group leader was wonderful in every way he bent over backwards to ensure the trip was a success, in fact the whole crew (the drivers and cooks) were wonderful

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, forget all your worries about this country and just let yourself go ... you will have a wonderful time in LibyaRemember to bring a torch, plenty of wet wipes and a warm jumper for the early mornings

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One sour note, the rough camp in the second week was dreadful, a stop on the road south, very bad accomodation, all of the party wanted to sleep in the desert rather than this pigsty
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    The whole trip excelled my expectations!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting the locals in their own communities and homes. Also, the day treck on the last part of the Inca Trail, through the Sun Gate to the lost city of the Incas at Machu Picchu ...... awesome!! The Lake Titicaca visit and home stay was great too- getting a full insight as to how the floating reed islands are made and how the communties survive on them.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabrizzio was fantastic. A credit to his country. He was informative, patient, interested ... everything a group leader should be.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The altitude WILL have it's affect on you. Headaches, sweats, dizziness, breathlessness, nausea, or some combination of these..... no matter how fit or unfit you may be. It's only temporary, though. Also, the sun burns VERY quickly at altitude. Bring plenty suncream and water. The jungle, as expected, is very hot and very humid!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am so glad I chose this trip. It covers a huge part of Peru. All the great bits that everyone wants to see .... Lake Titicaca, Machu Picchu, and the Amazon Jungle. The trip also includes unexpected treats such as visits to families in their own homes and tastes of local cuisines.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    I'll never forget waking up to the sunrise on the Nile...............

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the less touristy pyramids and being the only group inside it!! Spending the time on the Felucca....so relaxing and great fun....real chance to get to know everyone.Having such a knowledgeable guide who was also good company............on tap to answer any questions however trivial!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As above -great leader and very patient.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Remember to take sleeping bags and plenty of mossie repellant etc altho' we weren't  bitten others were. Remember to have loo paper with you and small change for the loos........Any shopping get it in Aswan great souk and lower prices.. Beware the traffic in Cairo-terrible, nearly missed our sleeper train!!  (Which was a great journey).Games are great for feluca for kids

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommended........
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Like nowhere else I've been

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking up to see the snow capped peaks of Annapurna South and Machhapuchure in the early morning sun from the balcony of our tea house

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Helpful and pleasant, always positive, willing and cheerful; a good team player

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Allocate time to learn something of Nepal before going there - geography, culture, politics; be aware of the poverty and the need for sensitive tourism Clothing - take lots of layers - it can get very cold at night at altitude Take a head torch (ideally) for reading etc at night - the lighting is often dim in the tea houses and power cuts are common

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Like to go back in the spring to see the added colour of the rhododendrons and other spring flowers. We went in late October and saw a wide variety of sub-tropical fruit and flowers which was wonderful. Had expected better visibility  - mountains obscured by cloud by mid morning - so deprived of spectacular panoramas - better luck next time!