Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18266 Reviews

  • Reviewed April 2008
    Anonymous

    THE HARDANGERVIDDA CROSSING

    Good trip due to the experience and expertise of the tour leader. What is able to be achieved does depend  on the participants having the approriate background, fitness and experience. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing a mountain behind Rauhellon Hytte and getting great views as well as generally being in the winter expanse of the Hardangervidda Plateau

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It was obvious that the tour leader had a huge amount of background, experience and expertise. It was because of the tour leader that this trip was successful with the changes he made from what was advertised by exodus due to the party members background and abilities as well as his sound group management

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a trip that people can easily underestimate. Participants need to have a high level of fitness (backcountry ski fitness), plenty of backcountry skiing background with some recent trips as well as some general mountaineering / hillwalking experience and skills.
  • Reviewed April 2008
    Anonymous

    PYRENEES SNOWSHOE EXPEDITION

    We couldn't have had a better bunch of fellow "snowshoers" - great fun and supportive. The snowshoeing was hard work but well worth it. Nathan, our leader, did an excellent job and Mel's cooking was brilliant.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being on top of a mountain in a winter wonderland and seeing no-one else - just our own tracks snaking into the distance..

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit.
  • Reviewed April 2008
    Anonymous

    SNOWSHOEING AT RONDABLIKK

    Just as it was described in the brochure, so no disappointments and Norway is beautiful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to remote and dramatic places under your own steam (no ugly ski lifts in this part of the world) and the dog sledding day (optional but I thoroughly recommend it).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Very experienced in mountain activities, good fun and interesting.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Upgrade those gloves, boots and hats to the highest you can. Minus 20 is VERY cold.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great opportunity to try cross country skiing without having to book a whole week at it.
  • Reviewed April 2008
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF EGYPT

    Had a Great time Magdy (the guide) and my fellow travellers were fun. Egypt is a fascinating country rich in mystery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Prob abu simbel but is a close call.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Magdy had an extensive sometimes overwhelming (in a good way) knowledge of egyptology he was also fun away from the serious stuff.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go to Abu Simbel its worth the flight.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Loved the camel ride. Enjoyed the cafe mint tea was good lol.
  • Reviewed April 2008
    Anonymous

    MOUNTAIN TOURING SKILLS COURSE

    Not as energetic a holiday as I had expected, but a great introduction to winter touring skills. Excellent equipment and lovely food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Downhill skiing in masses of powder snowTouring out on to the Hardangervidda for the night - early morning surrounded by pure white snow to the horizons

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - very enthusiastic about touring and very experienced. Good teacher and delighted in passing on skills. Good group management without 'organising' us too much.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The kit list issued by Exodus was very poor, as was the telephone advice given to those who called to query the kit list. Take gaiters, take a sleeping bag.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was disappointing that the group leader was only drafted in with two weeks to go and had to largely design the course from scratch. We struck lucky and couldn't have done any better, but it could have been a disaster. This and the kit list was not up to the usual standard of an Exodus holiday.
  • Reviewed April 2008
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC WINTER ACTIVITY WEEK

    Fantastic mix of activities! Truly enjoyable. Oliver and Elaine are great hosts and the cakes are to die for!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making my snowman!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Oliver is a great group leader, really looked after the group and made the week fantastic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some serious fun!
  • Reviewed April 2008
    Anonymous

    ANNAPURNA, CHITWAN & EVEREST

    Superb trip, wonderful guide and assistants, great views, brilliantly organised and exceeded all of my expectations. I would recommend your company to anyone who asks and no doubt will be booking again on some other trip in the future. Well done!  Lottie Parkin

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Poon Hill at sunrise, Monks chanting at 4,000 feet, washing elephants in the river at chitwan national park and observing the sherpa way on life on the everest trail. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A truly inspirational man, wonderful energy and great support staff too. Looked after the whole group with humour, wisdom and vision. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just book it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Nepal is a wonderful country with great mountains and kind people. Don't be afraid of trying this trip because Exodus look after you very well and there is nothing to fear.
  • Reviewed April 2008
    Anonymous

    JOURNEY TO PERSIA

    A really fantastic trip and very uplifiting - came back with a very different view on Iran and its people.  Its an extraordinary country with amazing architecture fab food warm people and spectatular mountain landscapes and not like how the media portray it.   I'm so glad I went

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Chatting and having tea with Iranian families and being invited to do so everywhere you went.   People are warm welcoming and intersted in our lives.   While there it was the Iranian new year and thousands of families desend on all the major cities we visited. Everyone wanted to talk to us and take our picture and they are happy to have their picture taken too.  Iranians are good people which is very apparanet when you visit Iran and are also very family orientated.   Also visiting Persepolis the great capital of Darius 1 was a big highlight. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Hossein was from Tehran and a brilliant leader. Very organised, fair, attentive, knowledgeable on Iran and happy to answer all our questions.  He brought us to wonderful persian restaurants  and we sampled the best of Iranian food. Nothing was too much trouble for him.  We gave him a massive tip and he really deserved it as took great care of us

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Girls: Bring your swimsuit as the hotels now have times for women and men. Also despite what other reviews might say you really don't need to wear all black while there and a bit of colour is fine and its ok to show your feet in sandals.  Quite a few of our group had pastal and warm colours - lighweight is best as its warmer than you think even in March.  Also for a woman it is possible to walk around on your own without much hassle.  Iran is not dangerous as long as you comply with their strict dress code and laws and in general police and milatary are calm and relaxed .   I felt the only danger while there was crossing the road so take care and cross with the locals but don't hesitate

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Make sure you try the dish with Walnut and Pommegranate sauce dish with chicken or lamb! to die for.  Esfahan is best for shopping and make sure you bargain for the carpets. I knocked $200 off mine!  HOtels were of very good standard and staff welcoming and friendly.   Go for a walk along the bridges in Esfahan and mingle with the locals. Dont' be afraid to chat and have tea.  Everyone wants to talk to you and also to reassure us that Iranians are good people which they are!!.   Credit cards are now accepted for Carpets and some major stores.   Roads are good our coach fully air con and constant supply of water which was great! Iran Air internal flights are also fine - smooth landing, flight and take off.  Some of the planes are old but seem to work perfect.   I recommend you visit this country. It won't disappoint. 
  • Reviewed April 2008
    Anonymous

    HOVDA MIXED ACTIVITY WEEK

    a good introduction to cross country skiing and snow shoe walking in stunning scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Managing to ski downhill.Christmas card views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Helen Turton is amazing-inpirational, knowledgeable, informative, an excellent teacher (much more than an instructor), able to relate to everyone, challenging, caring and great fun! Her obvious love of the country, its people and the sports made it a joy to be with her. We could not have had a better group leader and consider ourselves to be very fortunate.  Thank you Helen.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit enough for this - it's not a walk in the park, but you will return feeling fitter and leaner.Do not take too much money, there is little to spend it on other than chocolate.Be aware that alcohol is really expensive before you run up a bar bill!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    All very well organised by Exodus.  Thank you.
  • Reviewed April 2008
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: SJUSJOEN

    The skiing was fantastic.  The accommodation was not up to the usual Exodus standard.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Achieving a snow plough!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter was the best, so patient.  He knows the area and going off loipe into the woods was fun

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are prepared for very basic hostel accommodation the area around Sjusjoen is great for skiing both for the beginner and for those who have a bit more experience.Get to the showers early, the hot water doesn't last long.