Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2017
    Diarmuid Mulherin

    Sardina close-up

    Over six days of cycling from two centres, you see quite a bit of the varied landscape of Western Sardinia. Hill-top forests, seaside towns, beaches, dramatic coastal formations and crashing breakers, quaint villages and lots of sheep. It is, in many waves, very similar to the West of Ireland, though a bit drier. The two-centre arrangement means less packing suitcases as you only move once. The cycles vary in length: some include quite challenging slopes / climbs but all are do-able. Traffic is mostly very light and the Sardinian drivers are a lot nicer than on the mainland and usually give you space / wait to pass safely, etc. Road surfaces are generally good with some rough / unpaved sections, but nothing overly technical. An excellent way to spend a week!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the old Phoenician city at Tharros was certainly special, and not expensive and, as it happened, there were lots of starlings (we think) doing great murmurations. Seeing flamingos in the wild was special too, but that was mostly good luck. The breakers at S'Archittu were pretty spectacular when we were there.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not applicable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You won't need a lot of euros for this trip as there are really not a lot of opportunities to spend them. All meals are provided and the villages are generally very small with limited coffee shops / bars / shops.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The staff in the first base hotel (Villa Asfodeli) are very helpful and go the extra mile to try and ensure that you enjoy your holiday. Lots of useful advice and tips, and lovely food.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Mary Brookes

    What a brilliant adventure!

    This trip was to celebrate my 50th Birthday and it provided everything for a memorable time! This was our first trip with Exodus but certainly will not be our last. Local guide, organized, attention to detail, great bikes, lovely accommodation and incredibly adaptable when required. The group we were lucky enough to travel with for this two weeks were just brilliant and a big part in making this trip really enjoyable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling up and over the Hai Van Pass. Quite a spiritual experience for sure!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chi was totally amazing!!! We all loved him and were sad to say goodbye

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get booking...you won't regret it! Spend time in the saddle before you go...bring good biking shorts...and enjoy!
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Natalie Penge

    Malaysia Adventure!

    I wasn't sure where I wanted to go away this year, but the itinerary of this trip just jumped out at me and certainly didn't disappoint! You get to experience two distinct parts of Malaysia - the Malayan Peninsula and Borneo - and this allows you to see its diversity firsthand. KL is a city that never sleeps and is a treasure trove of culinary delights; the Cameron Highlands, with its rolling hills and tea plantations is a real highlight, particularly the trek with Jason. Our next stop in the Taman Negara National Park, where we were surrounded by ancient rainforest, allowed us to live with monkeys all around us and to experience some real jungle trekking and river rapids too! Borneo, is simply teeming with wildlife. You will not get tired of watching the orang-utans eating, playing, squabbling and doing ridiculous acrobatics. This goes for the sunbears and striking proboscis monkeys too. The Mount Kinabalu trek to follow is tough but totally worth it, especially when you get up to the clouds...and setting off for the summit to catch the sunrise is a surreal and exciting experience. The hotel right by the South China Sea is the perfect R&R finish to a perfect holiday!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many....the Cameron Highlands trek really let us experience nature by day, the night jungle walk showed us how the place was teeming and humming with life after dark, the orang-utans, the proboscis monkeys, the clouds at Laban Rata, summiting Mount Kinabalu, relaxing by the South China Sea with new friends...so virtually everything then!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two group leaders....Jeremy on the Peninsula and Rony in Borneo. Both were fantastic. Jeremy recommended so much great food and was so enthusiastic, especially about creepy crawlies! Rony's love for his mountain and nature was inspiring!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't worry about the leeches...I didn't 'get leeched' but I'm told it didn't hurt, plus they are weirdly fascinating. Definitely bring toilet paper. Mount Kinabalu is challenging, but go at your own pace and you will be fine, and you can get a massage afterwards!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'm still thinking about the trip and wishing I was there...if you're deliberating about booking this adventure, just do it :)
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Billy Martin

    Mini Annapurna Circuit - October 2017

    A wonderful trip with beautiful mountain views of the Annapurna region. The trip starts at a low altitude (approx 600m) and you get a variety of scenery, rice paddies and villages at the lower levels to high mountains at altitude. The tea houses and food were excellent and were of a higher standard than I had expected. Hot showers were available at all stops.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After a 4.30 am start, getting to the Thorong La Pass with wonderful mountain views all around. The group were absolutely fantastic and I thoroughly enjoyed the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chandra was a fantastic group leader, was very knowledgeable on the Annapurnas. He did everything with a great sense of humour and his evening briefings were very entertaining. He had a wonderful support team in Ming Ma/Pema/Pemba. Ming Ma regularly set the pace at the front of the group which we could all keep up with, this was very important when we started trekking at high altitude.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Drink plenty of water, follow the pace of the guides, this will help to acclimatise at altitude. Using a steri-pen or purification tablets helps reduce the plastic bottle waste in Nepal and is also cheaper than buying bottled water every day. Having previously done the EBC trip, I can say the tea houses on the Mini Annapurna Circuit were of a higher standard compared to those on the EBC trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only negative is the amount of time spent walking on the dusty road, would be great if a trekkers path could be developed away from the road. Not an issue at the higher altitude as you're on mountain paths. Would have no hesitation in recommending this trip and Exodus to others.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Paul Rasdale

    Hugely Enjoyable

    First Exodus trip and a great experience. Terrific way to see a good chunk of the Cape with some wonderful cycling.We had plenty of time for wine tasting and sight seeing which suited me because I don't want to cycle all day.Accomodation and food was of a high standard.Very friendly group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Crossing the Tradouws Pass. Cycling Chapmans peak (even with heavy rain)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tallis and our driver Sifiso were absolutely terrific combining efficiency,knowledge and a good sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cycling was quite hard at times so come prepared for some big hills.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wish I had booked an extra day in Cape Town at beginning and end of trip.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Lesley Dixon

    Fantasitc trip

    Three countries with fabulous experiences in each. A great group and a fantastic group leader made this a truly great trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many. Angkor Wat is a sight to behold; the Mekong Delta is fabulous and the lovely feeling you get when children in rural villages literally jump up and down with joy as you pass by will stay with you for a long time. However the most inspirational part of the trip - as well as the most difficult - was our visit to the Killing Fields and TS21. Our guide helped us to understand this terrible part of Cambodia's history, but also how the country and its people have moved forward.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chai made the trip. He is genuinely one of the nicest people I've ever met. He went out of his way to make this a trip to remember and always had a smile on his face.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You can buy cycling tops in both Cambodia and Vietnam - both tops are very colourful and a great memento of the trip. There are some great restaurants in Seam Reap, Phnom Penh and Saigon that work with street children - giving them opportunities in the hospitality industry; Lonely Planet book has details.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great trip - if you book it you won't regret it!
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Tracy Dean White

    A great 2 week adventure in Malaysia

    I truly enjoyed the 2 weeks that I spent in Malaysia, on Borneo at the beginning and on the Malay peninsula at the end. Accommodation was of a high quality with the possible exception being the long house for 1 night in Borneo. There were separate guides in the 2 halves of Malaysia, and both were simply excellent: Aldrin in Borneo and Ant on the peninsula. The trip was mostly at a leisurely pace which is what I like, and there was an ample amount of free time on some days, and that includes 1 total free day at the end on the island of Langkawi. This trip is a new one, and I think it's excellent. I highly recommend it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was great to be with the orangutans at Sepilok.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Aldrin and Ant were excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring lots of sun screen! I found mosquito bug bites to be a relatively minor almost non existent issue, but other people might have different experiences.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was excellent everywhere we went.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    anne hillman

    Sudan Desert explorer

    This is an extraordinary adventure into the depths of the Sudanese desert with its ever changing vistas and friendly welcoming people. The knowledge and expertise of the team was brilliant, from navigation and driving skills to fabulous food cooked under an an awesome African sky. The school visit we did was the best I have ever done. The staff and students we so inquisitive and happy to see us. The pyramids were astounding.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There cannot be just one ..the desert, beauty and solitude as well as the Sudanese people we met on our travels are just two. The wonderful smiles from everyone we met lit up our day, so welcoming and absolutely delighted we were visiting their country. Station 6. Worth the long drive. You will know what I mean when you get there. Abdul and the drivers and their willingness to share their massive knowledge of their country was great. Something new to discover every break. The pyramids, the Nile and no other tourists...just do it!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdul was simply great. Knowledgeable, skilled, funny, a great communicator and teacher. We can all draw the Nile and all its highlights in the sand now. He was observant and made sure everything ran smoothly. All the drivers were so experienced no matter what the conditions were. The food. well all I can say is simply delicious and varied. Do not expect to looses weight!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a small towel plus wet wipes and a good head torch or torch. We charged up phones etc in the 4x4s so the double car charger we took was really useful. As normal I had far more stuff than I needed. Its a warm fast drying wind even at night so easy to rinse things through. A headscarf to keep off the sun and cool you down.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We had to hunt hard to find a single scorpion so dont worry about those...nor snakes. Most of the days are long (with frequent breaks) but never dull. Go with the flow and enjoy. The traditional Sudanese coffee is great..with ginger..I was converted. Only change a very very small amount of money.£10 maybe. There is nothing to spend it on apart from the occasional drink when the guys were restocking in town. At the tented camp you can pay in euros (but expect Euro prices too). We felt very privileged to explore such an wonderful country which felt like we had to ourselves. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Julia Dolan

    Indonesia Volcano Trek - a varied trip with a mix of sightseeing, trekking and traveling

    I booked this trip for the trekking and the volcanoes, and although the ascents of Merbabu (2 days) and Rinjani (3 days) are quite challenging, for me there was too much time spent traveling and sightseeing. The first week is quite gentle (with the exception of the ascent of Merbabu) and focuses more on sightseeing than trekking - if you are used to challenging point to point treks then this probably isn't the trip for you. Some of the part day walks (2-4 hours walking) are more like fillers and not really what I would call proper trekking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Bromo was just amazing, the sound, the smoke, the sea of sand, definitely a highlight for me. Also loved the ascent of Merbabu, even though it did rain all day on day one and we got absolutely soaked through! We summited on day two in time for sunrise and the views were spectacular - luckily the weather had improved!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoyed the luxury of the beach resort at the end of the trip after Rinjani, but it's a shame we only had 1 day there. We didn't arrive till 6pm so although it was a 2 night stay we only had 1 full day. I think it would be worthwhile extending it to 3 nights so you get 2 full days - not everyone can take the extra time off work to do the Gili extension.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Trevor Hamilton

    Disappointed in Experience

    Did not live up to my expectations unfortunately compared to a previous trip I went on.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Extra trip to Vinales

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was reasonably informative but we felt he did not do as much for the group as we expected.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you take your own snacks as the quality and quantity provided by the tour leader was much poorer than those provided my my leader in India.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It is with a lot of disappointment that I compose this email to you but as a returning customer of your company I am left feeling rather deflated after my trip with you to Cuba. I travelled last year to Kerala with you and had a fantastic time so I decided to book Cuba this year and persuaded some of my family to attend as a birthday treat for my brother who celebrated his 60th birthday whilst there. Firstly his birthday coincided with the second day of our trip ending at a beach resort. Only problem was you could hardly access the beach due to the debris on it and a collapsed beach hut. We made the best of it anyway but then the following night we were due to spend 2 nights in paladares. Allocation of these was a total shambles. Our guide knew we were travelling as a group but insisted that there were no paladares with 2 doubles and a single in one so we reluctantly split up. However, the one which my sister was allocated was totally unsuitable and she was relocated into one which had 2 doubles and a single! Slightly annoyed to say the least plus with the paladares in general, there is a huge variation in the offers in each location but we are all paying the same money so should expect the same I would have thought! The next day we all planned to go on the catamaran trip. When we arrived at the dock, the catamaran was broken and we were offered a boat which had no seats and standing room only for us all. This was supposed to be our transport for 3 hours-a total joke so we refused and got our money back but then meant we had to spend a day at the beach when we had all hoped to see the reef, snorkel etc. A wasted day! We then had a good cycle on the next day but ended up a hotel from the 1970's in the middle of nowhere. This meant that the following day we spent most of it transferring to Havana and having no time in Havana. If we had altered our cycle ride slightly to closer to the motorway we could have had an extra half day in Havana. To cap it all, on our last night we were relocated to our original hotel and told by you that we would be transferred to and from central Havana at night. When we asked about this the local rep was totally unaware of this and agreed reluctantly to do this despite him saying that his local company had not agreed this. During our cycling days, snacks were supposed to be provided but these were few and far between in contrast to my time in India when they were frequent and of good quality. Next fiasco. I had booked an extension with yourselves to Vinales and Cayo Leviso. I arrived in Vinales as planned and I had paid for an evening meal out of town starting restaurant with transfers. Turns out, the local company knew nothing of the transfers and wanted me to pay for a taxi to and from the restaurant-more than the cost of the meal. When I complained, they then suggested their own restaurant in town so I opted for this as second best and not what I had paid for! The next morning, I was due to be taken in a 13 km hike through the local area with a pack lunch. A hike was indeed provided but this was only for 5 km and finished at 11.30 am with pack lunch being a cheese and ham sandwich and a few bits if fruit. Not exactly my full day excursion I was laid to expect and certainly not a guide for the day as you stated. My transfer to Cayo Leviso went as planned but was informed on arrival that I would have to pay for lunch that day as I was not due to check in until 3 but lunch on Monday was included when I was not there to get it! The location is lovely but the cabins are basic and poorly maintained and food is canteen like with the same choice for lunch and dinner! Not exactly the picture of luxury you portrayed in your pre amble and I certainly don't think the extension cost of £699 for a half delivered promise is good value for money. All-in all, a total shambles from our point of view! I was looking at booking with you for your Vietnam trip and maybe Morocco but on the evidence of this one, I will be looking at other companies which offer similar trips to see if they deliver as promised.
Call us on 0208 772 3936