Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2017
    Steve Taylor

    Sicilian volcanoes

    A brilliant trip, full of interest and topped off with a marvellous night view of the fireworks of Stromboli.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Obviously the night climb of Stromboli with spectacular eruptions. However all the walks on Volcano, Lipari and Etna on the Sicilian main island were great too. A great week.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Federica was a great leader. Well organised, sociable, great sense of humour and well aware of how every member of the group was doing. She took us to some great restaurants too. A candidate for leader of the year. Thanks for the Italian lessons Federica.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Nothing too difficult on the walks, but protection from the sun advisable. Good opportunities for keen photographers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No. A great week with a great leader and a good bunch of fellow travellers.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Rich Clubley

    Everest Base Camp/Kala Patthar

    An awesome and successfull trek to Everest Base Camp

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The early morning ascent of Kala Patthar for amazing views over Everest and surrounding peaks Also the trip to the Edmund Hilary school was a real insight local life and the history of the area

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Leader Tsherten was excellent, nothing was to much trouble and he looked after us superbly, truly passionate about his work in the mountains and helpfull in everything over the 12 day trek along with awesome local Guide “RB” who looked after us on the mountain. We couldn’t have done it without these guys!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes and research what you are about to do, this definalty set our expectations before we departed (which were exceeded) and made for a successfull trip
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Kathleen Ramsey

    Challenging off-season walking on the Costa Blanca

    A wonderful week of challenging walking in stunning limestone scenery. The November weather was perfect for walking, and we were not troubled by high winds on the summits and so were able to enjoy leisurely late lunches and take in the magnificent views. We stayed in the comfortable family-run El Trestallador Pension which had splendid views from the terrace down to the coast. The evening meals were more than adequate for a group of hungry and tired walkers and consisted of a variety of regional specialities. There were very few other walkers out on the hills during the week and it all felt very remote, despite the proximity to Benidorm.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We had breathtaking views on every walk and I particularly enjoyed the short sections of rock scrambling. One of the highlights was looking down on the skyscrapers of Benidorm from the summit of Puig Campana and realising just how much unspoilt and deserted countryside there is within such a short distance of the tourist areas of the Costa Blanca. On our final day we walked the length of the Sierra de Aitana ridge, and could see everywhere we had walked during the week.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jose was an entertaining and knowledgeable guide who worked very hard to make sure that all his group had a good experience. His briefings made clear what we were to expect from each day's walk, and we learned a lot about local flora, farming, and geology (and eateries). His sandwiches were pretty impressive too!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes carefully as they accurately reflect the degree of difficulty (terrain, exposure, length of walks). A good head for heights is essential and you need to be confident about walking on rocky and exposed paths. This is a good winter trip for experienced walkers who don't want to travel long distances to get some off-season sunshine.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We walked locally on our day off, and visited the village and castle at Guadalest after breakfast and before the tourist buses arrived from the coast, while others enjoyed a day down on the coast in Altea. We went on the group flight from Gatwick so as not to miss the group transfer from Alicante, but in retrospect it would probably have been fairly simple to make arrangements to meet up with Jose and the rest of the group providing the flight from a regional airport wasn't too delayed.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Allison firks matthews

    Trekking to Everest Base camp

    If you want an adventure this is the trip for you. Beautiful mountains, rivers, forests, bridges and great guides that look after you and show you the wonderful mountains and tradition of the Sherpa traditions. Everything is catered for and your day is planned you are encouraged with every step you make our guide was exceptional and help me to achieve Base camp .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching base camp

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was exceptional he was your Freind mother father doctor and mentor all at the same time especially when the high altitude begins to keep in without him I don't think I would have made my goal of Base camp it was his encouragement and advice that got me there a true credit to him

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just listen to your guide and enjoy the whole experience

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would do it all over again with our group leader and exhodus
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Meena Jefferys

    Annapurna circuit

    I have just returned from a very exciting three week trip to Annapurna circuit. Every day was different and full of adventure. With excellent guide in Gum, we all managed theTharong La pass without any altitude problem. The people of Nepal and all the staff including porters are really happy to help and always smiling. Just make sure you take enough clothes for the cold weather. If you forget there is plenty of opportunity to buy anything you need.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Throng La pass, lovely lunch stops on the way.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gum was the best leader I have ever had. He was always relaxed, smiling and was able to deal with all our needs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure you have plenty of clothes for the cold and include a tshirt for the warmer days.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Michael John

    Mike

    To be honest its a bit of a task to sum up everything that we experienced on this one. We did and saw so much. And there really were no dull moments. We were told that we were the first group to try out the all new “Trekking Borneo & Beyond” trip and I reckon that none of it really needs any tweaking for future trips. It was all good. In fact better than good at moments.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The street food tour of KL gave a little flavour of the clash between the old and the new, of one of the fastest growing economies and cities in the world. Love that or hate it, KL is a wonderfully fascinating place. The jungle treks. In between moments of deep concentration, whilst scrambling over roots and humps, you could not help but realise that… “Yes.! I really am in the jungle.” Buzzing - literally - with life. Plants, trees and vegetation like you have never seen. I didn’t think that I would, but I actually began to really like the humidity. It kinda just went so well with the environment somehow. Then there was the amazing sight and experience of walking across the other worldly plateau that sits just below the summit on Kinabalu. It really was like… well, walking on another world actually.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two separate group leaders for this trip. They were both really good, but it has to be said that Jeremy really did go the extra mile whilst we were over on the Malaysian Peninsula.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Im still digesting it all really. Long lasting, fond memories that still resonate after the event. Thats what its all about. I reckon If you are thinking about Malaysia/Borneo and fancy a real adventure then this is the one
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Ross Bishop

    Hike, Eat, Sleep, Repeat

    A varied and challenging week of mountain waking that was a perfect escape from cold and wet weather in the winter months in a beautiful corner of Spain that couldn't be more different than nearby Benidorm. The accommodation up in the hills was very comfortable and the food was outstanding and plentiful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The 5 included day walks were all good in their own right. I particularly enjoyed the lofty views on the Serrella and Aitana ridges. The real highlight though was the near perfect weather for walking - temperatures in the mid teens and hardly a cloud in the sky every day, a real treat in the month of November.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    José is an experienced mountain leader who knows the area like the back of his hand. He has a great sense of humour and speaks immaculate English.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    On the free day, some of the group chose to go to Altea on the coast. This was easily arranged for €15 return and well worth the visit. Personally, I did a self guided walk from Altea to the cliffs of Sierra Heleda - the route was very easy to follow and the coastal views were excellent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great region of Europe to visit in the winter months when other destinations tend to shut down for the season. If you're looking for a challenge and some great weather, this is the trip for you. There's plenty more walking opportunities along the Spanish coast, for example the Cabo de Gata and I'm hoping that Exodus will add similar trips to their portfolio in the future to offer a greater choice of hiking trips in the winter months.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Michael Bicknell

    My fourth Exodus safari !!!

    I have now travelled twice to both Tanzania, and also to Kenya. On this particular trip we were so fortunate to watch a large pride of, (about 20) , adult lions in the Ngorongoro crater. It was disappointing though, that despite seven full days here, driving hundreds of miles criss-crossing the country, we did not see one solitary rhinoceros at all. We were told that the Tanzanian Rangers had put some of their rhinos into private reserves to protect them from poachers. However, we had several lengthy sightings of leopards during the week.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Perhaps because the Short Rains started early this year, in October, the Great Migration also began sooner. We were all really surprised to see thousands, maybe tens of thousands, of wildebeest and zebra nearly every day of this trip. We also photographed plenty of giraffe, cheetahs, elephants, and the very scary Cape Buffalo.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Leader, Jackson, seemed a little introverted at times, but he did his job well enough. Our Driver however, Julius, was full of local information, and always keen to point out seemingly hidden animals, and beautiful birds, also fabulous flowers and trees. Thanks Julius, you were just so enthusiastic about Tanzania.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take torches, a head torch is really useful. Take hair shampoo, it is not supplied in the two very basic permanent tented camps. Also essential were sunscreen, and mosquito repellent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is my second visit to Lake Manyara National Park, and on neither occasion have I seen the very elusive tree climbing lions. We were told that they had not been spotted at all this year. Plenty of baboons, and hippos here in this park, though. Later on during this trip we were really lucky to watch a large Monitor Lizard.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Alison Bone

    Amazing trip

    Just returned from an amazing trip - Highlights of Northern India. As I expected in was very fast paced and involved a lot of travelling either by minibus or train. But it was worth it, got to see so many iconic sights and beautiful scenery - from Jaipur, Ranthombore Tiger reserve, the Taj Mahal and Varanasi. Learnt so much about the history of India and it's culture from our fantastic tour guide Manoj and the local guides that joined us. Shame about the delayed train ride into Delhi so missed seeing the city tour but couldn't be helped as due to fog/smog. A 'must do' trip that I'd recommend

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to pick one but if I had to it would be Varanasi, which was a true 'assault on all my senses' and evoked many emotions from amazement to shock

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Manoj was fantastic. He was passionate and is enthusiasm was infectious. He shared his love of India, it's history and culture with the group. He made a great trip - amazing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take some loo roll with you and plenty of wet wipes & hand sanitiser, some of the local facilities were quite shocking - Fortunately the hotels were of a good standard (better than I thought they would be)
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Mark Billington

    The holiday of a lifetime

    If you're looking forward a holiday with a nice mixture of everything then I can't recommend this trip highly enough. We enjoyed the best part of two days and nights in the bustling and lively capital Kuala Lumpur where we sampled lots and I mean LOTS of different food and drink, Opium restaurant was delicious and the Sky Bar contained stunning views of the city at night. Elsewhere on the peninsula we explored the Cameron Highlands with its nearby tea plantations, even calling in for Tea and Scones, the weather was much cooler in the Highlands and nice and refreshing after the heat of Kuala Lumpur. We also spent 3 nights in Taman Negara in the jungle, the treks here were fun, especially the swinging canopy walkway one. Our second week was spent on the Island of Borneo, which contained the two highlights of the holiday for me. The Orangutan sanctuary at Sepilok was a fantastic experience, so much so I went twice in one day, it was just so fantastic to see these apes in their natural habitats. Towards the end of the trip the trek up Mt Kinabulu is a demanding one but a thoroughly rewarding one, we were lucky enough to see a glorious sunset at Laban Rata hut the night before and got the all important sunrise at the summit of Mt Kinabulu, ending the holiday at a beach resort for two days is the perfect tonic, beach, pool, sunshine and RELAX. The perfect holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Summiting Mt Kinabulu, this was a new height for me and to share the moment with new friends was awesome.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two....Jeremy on the Peninsula and Rony in Borneo. Both were very good, and exactly what you'd want from a tour leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't forget your swimwear, lots of opportunities for swimming in rivers, swimming pools and in the sea.
Call us on 0208 772 3936