Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2017
    GRAHAM CLARKE

    Imperial China and Yangtze River Cruise

    An excellent introduction to China covering a number of the very diverse facets of the country. I am inspired to return to China to explore other aspects of the country. In particular the Great Wall trek. I would recommend travelling with a group, such as Exodus. It is not the easiest country to get about in. There is very little English spoken and most of the signs are in Chinese only. Our tour leader took care of interpretations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Great Wall was great, the Three Gorges cruise on the Yangtze, the cycling in the country amongst the limestone karsts, amazing landscape. There were a number of other WOW factors not least of which was the food.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Leon was excellent: very knowledgeable about all the areas that we visited, he was helpful on a personal level as well as to the group particularly when it came to ordering food where the menus were only in Chinese. He was well up to the standard of tour leaders that I had come to expect of Exodus. His English was excellent also.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travelling in China could be a bit of a challenge particularly as there is little English spoken and much of the signs even at airports and railway stations are in Chinese. Having a competent Chinese speaker with you, such as we had, made life much easier. The trip was billed as 1 leisurely. I think a 2 grading would be more exact; the steps up to the great wall and later on up to the Moon Rock were something of a challenge for some.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Keep your eyes open and look for quaint English translations of signs.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Richard Christie

    Nanda Devi - a sunrise to stun.

    One of the most stunning treks I have been on, the whole trip exceeded my expectations. I had wondered about the length of road journey to and from the trek and the fact that some of the trekking route retraced itself. In the event the road journey was wonderful with beautiful new views round each of the many corners. Where possible the trek route uses different paths and where you do walk on the same paths this is at different times of the day giving a different perspective to the superb views. Thankfully we were blessed with great weather throughout which of course helps!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sunrise on Nanda Devi East and Nanda Devi on our second morning at the base camp was simply stunning and will live with me for a long time. That said watching the wisps of cloud wend their way around the peaks the morning before was almost as good!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As usual Valerie was excellent in her role as leader making sure everyone was fit & healthy and got the most from the trip. She was ably supported by out hard working guide Rajeev and his crew including Jonny our excellent cook and Rashid who made sure things ran smoothly around camp.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoyment of the trip was aided by being with a great group of fellow travellers who all coped with the at times challenging paths without issue. You do however need to take heed of the Trip Notes and the grade of the trip; there are steep ups and downs with some exposure. As long as you make sure you prepare beforehand you will have a fantastic time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is superb ‘off the beaten track’ trekking route with only the jangling bells of a few mule trains (supplying the small Indian Army base at Milam) and some local shepherds to keep you company as you walk past abandoned but beautifully character-full villages. If you fancy getting away from the crowds to enjoy peaceful beauty this trip is for you.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Ray Morris-Hill

    Spectacular Italian Coastal Scenery

    Beautiful coastal walking with so much to see and enjoy. The weather in September was just perfect -mid 20's Celsius every day. Check out my short holiday video here https://youtu.be/YMSI8ye1kQc to get a taste of the area.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the magnificent coast from Tre Calli on the first day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Satva was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and fun. She was keen to get us walking as a group so everyone felt part of the experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get some training in before the trip - there are a lot of steps and the downhill can really stretch your calf muscles! Bring sticks as they will help a lot. Good walking boots are a must.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Pompeii is extraordinary but when we were there it was overrun by lots of tour groups. Amalfi was also very busy. Most of the walking routes are quiet.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Deborah Gibson-Smith

    Cycling Madagascar

    This was our 5th Exodus cycling trip, and if like me you like a good balance between cycling and sightseeing, this is the trip for you! There was some non-cycling activity almost everyday, whether it be a short visit to some local handicraft workshop, swimming in natural pools or a half day hiking in the rain-forest. This trip combines all the best aspects of a cycling holiday: varied terrains, waving children, wildlife, interesting local culture, a large variety of non cycling activities, great guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to pick one thing, so I have chosen 3 things. -Seeing so many different types of Lemur, we saw Lemurs on 4 separate occasions. -The 10k downhill cycle through Ranomafana national park -Swimming in the natural pool at Liliha waterfall. There's nothing like a refreshing swim when you are hot from cycling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Armel (Mel) was great. He really loves his country and is personally involved in supporting the rural communities.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Credit cards are only accepted in Antananarivo, and ATM/Cash machines are few and far between, so planning money is a bit tricky. Taking extra Euros or dollars as a back up is an option. There were lots of picnics, some smart people in our group bought a foam garden kneeler to sit on. A sarong makes a good improvised changing room for the 2 natural swimming days.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Make this your next Exodus cycling trip!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Steve Wright

    Island Peak & Everest Base Camp

    This was a fantastic, but hard trip. The scenery is stunning. I reached Everest Base Camp but had to descend back to 4200m as I had altitude sickness. So I missed Kala Patthar and the Kongma La pass. However I made a quick recovery so then managed to summit Island Peak - the highlight of the trip. Climbing it was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done, purely because of the altitude. The climb is one of the most difficult of the trekking peaks but if you have done grade 1 snow gulleys it’s straightforward. It’s doing this at altitude that makes it really hard! The views of the surrounding peaks at dawn were incredible.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Island Peak.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leaders worked really hard to get us all to the top.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Technical gear, including plastic boots, can be hired up the trail near Island Peak. This means there is no need to carry excess weight on the Lukla flight. There is no need for a sleeping mat as the ones provided are good. A (metal) thermos is useful on summit day to ensure you have water that doesn’t freeze. Hydration pouches are not that useful for the same reason. Save money by getting a Steripen to treat water instead of paying for mineral water.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Clare Jaques

    Walking the Greek islands

    A fabulous way to see the islands, largely unspoilt fortunately despite their popularity. We were transported outside of the “tourist” area to ancient walking paths and walked through mediaeval villages. Our excellent Greek guide was able to fill us in with very interesting historical/local information to really get a picture of life in these islands.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the iconic spot in OIA for photo of the blue chapel domes. But many “wow’ moments

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A passionate Greek man, very sociable, conscientious with a great sense of humour. Very easy going if you did not want to join in the evening meal, which we did once so we could try out a specific taverna we had heard of.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walking pole useful for the trip I felt for safety.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was very pleased we spent a few days in Athens prior to the trip. Could this be included to make the tour 10 days? Just a thought. I would add that one to the highlights for me for this trip in total was going to the Acropolis and the amazing Acropolis museum.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Hope Ward-Brown

    Trip of a Lifetime

    An absolutely fantastic trip. From start to finish Exodus excelled themselves. It's not often you come back from somewhere and feel you've truly "seen" a place. With this, you do. Spanning landscapes, terrains, cultures, altitudes - you see it all. The Amazon is breathtaking; wildlife, the noise, the vastness of it - it's incomparable. The Inca Trail is a true pilgrimage. Beautiful scenary, a challenge but so worth every. single. step. It's hard to not feel overwhelmed and in awe on arrival to Machu Picchu. The people are wonderful, the food is wonderful, the sounds, smells, early mornings, late nights - worth every single penny. It's not a holiday, it's an adventure - the more you immerse yourself, the greater the rewards. As my first solo trip in my 20s, this was the most supportive environment to see a place, I felt safe and never in any danger. Thank-you to my wonderful group, every guide, every Porter and our wonderful guide for looking after me!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at Machu Picchu was the most awe inspiring moment of my life to date!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Janet Leverton

    Sea and Sulpher!

    An excellent week; plenty of variety, walking, both easy and more challenging, sea swimming, boat trips and down time if you wanted it. Lots of options to suit everyone.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Tricky! I love volcanoes, so being able to see 3 at close quarters was very special but actually, swimming in the sea in brilliant sunshine while watching an active volcano was pretty spectacular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Genny was amazing! The weather was unsettled and there was the potential for hydrofoils to be cancelled and our itinerary altered. She was unflappable and in constant contact with companies to get up to date information and she ensured that we made the sailings that were available. One of our group had an issue with the room in our final hotel; Genny gave up her room. She was knowledgeable and took time to explain the fascinating geology in terms we could understand! Also, a number of our party had specific dietary issues, which she handled for us, ensuring that we were safe to eat what was given to us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't be frightened of the night hike on Stromboli or the crater hike on Etna; both are well within the capabilities of anyone who is reasonable fit and the guides are experienced. Both experiences are unlike any other and it's a real privilege to be able to stand so close to active volcanoes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip is busy, lots of transfers to the various islands but well worth it. I can imagine that some of the islands are pretty crowed in the summer, October was still beautifully warm and not so busy. Would thoroughly recommend this trip.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    DAVID BELL

    Walking in Madeira

    A very interesting and beautiful walking trip led by a very knowledgeable leader, Andre. Each walk was different and Andre provided a wealth of knowledge as we went along. Hotels and food were very good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the walks were interesting but I particularly enjoyed day 2 on a levada and then a path high up on the north coast with great views all the way.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andre was very passionate about Madeira and his knowledge of the plants, birds, history, etc. was very good. He was well organised and everything ran smoothly. He was great fun too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walking poles, good boots and waterproofs are always useful. There are some steep accents and descents but everyone in our group managed the distances okay.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Catherine .

    Incredibly impressed

    As a family we have done many trips with Exodus in Africa (various countries), Canada and most recently my parents attended the Western Explorers trip in America to see Yosemite, Bryce Canyon and The Grand Canyon which Exodus arrange in partnership with Grand American Adventures. We have always found Exodus trips to be incredibly well planned and organised, ensuring that you see the very best parts of the areas you are visiting in the timescales available. The trips are ideal because there is no hassle involved for the traveller and you are guaranteed to meet like-minded people of all ages and backgrounds to enjoy the experiences with. This particular trip was no exception. I write this review however to say a huge thanks to both Exodus and Grand American Adventures as they were absolutely fantastic to my parents and the family back home in England when my father suffered a serious and unexpected illness and had to be rushed to hospital. With specific mentions to Bethany, Monica and the tour guide Charlie, who all went out of their ways to ensure that lines of communication between us, the insurance company and the hospital were clear and effective, to provide my parents with support and to give the family back home piece of mind at what was a very difficult time for us. We will be forever grateful. There is absolutely no doubt that you will be in safe hands with this team.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    .
Call us on 0208 772 3936