Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    David Netherwood

    Great trip, great guide, and great group

    The atmosphere along the Camino is great, you quickly lose count of how many time you exchange "Bon Camino" with others on the way. The country side is lovely, especial the closer you get the Santiago. Our guide Daniel was excellent, he kept us going but without being bossy. I don't know how he did it but he created an experience that we all enjoyed. The accommodation was really well chosen - the first night was little bland, but after that we stayed in really charming places, all were clean, comfortable, and welcoming. Our group was quite diverse, both in age, fitness and backgrounds, but we all got on really well - makes the last day rather sad. There is no doubt about it, Spain really is hilly, so be prepared, and the last day is long (I skipped a bit in the van) but well worth it. I'm a vegetarian. The trip notes mention the need to be "flexible". Spain is not the best place for vegi food, Daniel did his best, but don't expect a wide variety - but you should still go!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many to chose from - hurtling down a hill in 10 minutes when it took hours to climb it, arriving in the main square at Santiago de Compestella, dinners with the group, mist over the mountains. One of my rooms with a balcony over the way itself.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Really really nice guy who knows what he is doing, puts himself out to make sure we all had a great holiday. How he put up with us asking how many hills there were today I don't know. A real star. Thanks Daniel.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare for the hills, my cycling at home is on the flat. If it gets too much there is always the van I did it in September - you need a packable jacket for the cold starts that then become warm days. Can be cool in the evening.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you! Already cogitating over my next trip.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Barbara Robert

    Land of the Jaguar

    For those interested in wildlife and the possibility of seeing a Jaguar in the wild, this trip to the Pantanal of Brazil is an affordable winner. Logistics were well coordinated, accommodations were fine though it should be noted the Jaguar House Boat is not luxurious but more than adequate for its remote location on the Paraguay River. The three nights at the very nice Araras EcoLodge were a pleasant bonus. Our guide, Tony, could not have been better. He is experienced, knowledgable and very pleasant. With his skill we had three jaguar sightings during our time on the Paraguay River. Contrary to the Exodus trip description, the majority of the time is spent scouring the river banks of the main river and its narrow channels. It was quite a long distance by small speed boat to the Taima Ecological Reserve and that was reserved only for our last day. According to Tony there are jaguars in the Reserve but they are more difficult to see and eluded us. However, we had excellent caiman, giant river otter and bird sightings. The abundance of birds in the Pantanal was extraordinary and I personally saw over 90 different species. Tony knows them all! So, if you are "into" birds and jaguars, you will be well entertained. The majority of our group of 13 were interested in photography so that was enjoyable. One goes in the dry season to spot jaguars more easily but you will not see the Pantanal flooded as depicted in many photos. One needs to go in a different season for that experience; I am already dreaming of a return trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Spotting my first jaguar in the wild!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding. Could not have been finer. Very professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a could DSLR camera with 400mm lens if possible. Lots of long shots.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    While on the house boat, there is an option to go on a night land safari. Cost was $35 per person paid directly to the boat owner/rancher. Personally I felt it was overpriced for the experience.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    David Scott

    Lhasa to Everest

    the trip felt like a real travel experience, rather than a holiday. This is because Tibet is such a land of contrasts: The monasteries with their devoted pilgrims as well as monks, the modern Chinese cities, the villages with a still medieval lifestyle, the lakes and mountains, and of course the punishing altitude. It has a real feel of being a long way from home.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My first view of the Potala palace in Lhasa, the clouds lifting in the morning at Everest Base camp North to reveal Mount Everest, the amazing colour of the scorpion lake, seeing the yellow hats of the monks, like Roman legionary helmets, laid out on their seats in the monasteries, discovering I liked yak butter tea.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The many bureaucratic and organisational demands of this trip mean that a committed and capable leader is essential for success. Fortunately for us Keshar was always tirelessly working away to ensure that we got the most out of our time in both Nepal and Tibet. Ready with information and advice given in a friendly way whenever he was asked, (which was often), he was a real asset. On the way back to Lhasa he also revealed himself to be a great singer of Nepali folk songs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Tibetan public toilets are horrible beyond description. I would have liked a face mask with some scented essential oil to put inside. Also consider buying yuan before you get to Tibet. They weren't available in Kathmandhu and those who had to buy them in Lhasa faced a long complicated process in the bank before getting hold of any.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were glad we did the Chitwan extension. After the dry, stark landscape of Tibet, which by its very nature is a tiring experience, it was wonderful to revel in the rich forest with its many birds and butterflies. We were lucky to see four rhino as well. It felt like such a refreshing end to an amazing and multi layered experience, and gave us time to think about all we had seen and done, before the journey home and a return to normal life.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    david ellis

    tatra mountains & krakow

    the trip was an interesting combination of both hill walking and city break. we were a bit unlucky with the weather, only one day with no rain, so it was waterproofs for most days, at least this made the pack lighter, the huts were very busy, lots of students on holiday in september. we had to miss the big climb at the end of the week due to rain which was snow and freezing conditions at 1800m. Teresa our guide did well to juggle activities in the circumstances. krakow for the last 3 days was a chance to explore the old town, do some of the trips on offer to the salt mine and auchwitz, and just chill with a beer, in the jewish quarter.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    a beer in the hut after a days walk

    What did you think of your group leader?

    very good, considering the bad weather

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    travel out of the university holidays , months

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    a good introduction to poland
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Alan Thornton

    Sicilian Volcanoes

    An interesting trip, but there is - of necessity - quite a lot of travelling between locations. Sea conditions can lead to cancellation of the hydrofoils, which disrupts the holiday schedule. If you are a poor sailor, take pills / seabands etc. Hotels were generally of reasonable standard, but the final one in Catania (Hotel Gresi) is unacceptable for a trip of this nature: awful breakfast, no working wifi, mold in the shower, peeling wallpaper, broken electical fittings in the bathroom, loose carpet on marble steps, unhelpful reception staff. There must be far better options.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching lava eruptions on Stromboli. Free time for lunch in Lipari.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rafaele worked hard to make the trip a success, and was very helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    See summary.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Judy Baulf

    Cycling in idyllic Puglia/Matera, ice cream, lechessi, vanilla pastries, swimming and sunshine everyday!

    A thoroughly enjoyable cycling holiday in a beautiful part of Italy with amazing scenery, food and comfortable hotels. The group were a friendly and fun bunch of people and we all got on extremely well. The cycling was just right with enough variation and climbs to challenge but not overwhelm.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Staying in a Trulli house in the beautiful town of Alberobello. I think cycling to the beach en route to Lecce and swimming in the Adriatic sea.......bliss. Fig and ricotta ice cream in Lecce and the cheese tasting lunch en route to Gallipoli.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Emanuele was an excellent guide and good company throughout the entire duration of the trip. His local knowledge of the general area, specific knowledge of the history of the towns and his recommendations of the local restaurants and wine were invaluable. He went to extraordinary lengths to cater to any of our specific requests to ensure we had the best experience possible and his enthusiasm for the region was obvious and infectious. He spoke excellent English and had a great sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book it.... you won't be disappointed with a single day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Looking forward to my next trip with Exodus.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Becky Fawcett

    Two very beautiful countries

    A wonderful and very interesting trip to see two very beautiful countries. Both Georgia and Armenia have long fascinating histories and have built their monasteries and churches in spectacular locations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking up to the Trinity Church, only 2 members of the group did it but it was well worth the effort. Spectacular scenery and even in the heat the walk wasn't too strenuous, if you can and enjoy walking give it a try.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sofia in Georgia was brilliant, speaks excellent English and is incredibly knowledgeable of her country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When looking at trips I read a review from someone else warning younger travellers to think twice about this trip as on theirs the average age was quite high. I'm 33 and although I was the youngest member of my particular group I still had a fantastic time with great people, please don't let that other review put you off booking!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Rob Tyas

    Wonderful trip

    A superb trip. A good balance of time in the city amongst the hustle and bustle of the souks and night markets, to the remote and wonderful mountain villages.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I've been able to see more stars in the sky in morocco than anywhere else I've been in the world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    And Hassan made an excellent guide with his friendliness and knowledge

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A good trip and a good one for someone new to trekking and maybe apprehensive about camping it makes a great alternative

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The riad was superb, far exceeded the standard of any I've been in on previous trips.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Andrew noble

    A relaxing diversion, with interesting things to see on the way

    My wife has been keen on a trip through vienna for a while. We chose the passau to vienna trip as other reviewers rated it higher than the similar vienna to Budapest. Both follow the danube. The best thing about this trip is that being relatively gentle paced it allows time to visit places on the way, which is really the whole point. We saw a WW II concentration camp (utterly horrific) , visited a trappist monastery and tasted their beer and spirits, saw an awful lot of other churches, monasteries and gardens. The whole cycling route is dotted with pleasant cafes. The route plan recommends good restaurants and we were not disappointed. Austria is accustomed to vegetarian and vegan diets. The palaces and museums of vienna are spectacular, the kaisers crypt is worth a visit. We recommend a great veggie restaurant in vienna called Tian. The guide notes are very simple but in a good way. I recommend having a phone with Google maps or similar when you get to the cities though... Much easier to navigate the busy streets. The bikes on hire are a good standard, though we like to bring our own saddles and pedals. We took the option of an extra few days in vienna, I knocked a star off because the information on this part was not so well organised. We were given turn by turn instructions but no accompanying map and there was some confusion about whether we were supposed to have a vienna pass. (this would have saved us a lot of money it turned out later)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The thing that will stay with me is what we saw in the mauthausen concentration camp.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Self guided

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take in the sights on the way. A set of waterproofs and overshoes were useful on our only wet day.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    simon wallis

    Self Guided Walking Eastern Sardinia

    The routes and accommodation are well researched. The cooperative hotel Enis (Oliena) was excellent with very helpful staff, lovely rooms and good meals. They are clearly accustomed to being a trecking / activity centre and we met a very nice party of Swiss German walkers. Rifugio Gorruppo was also excellent with outstanding meals and while there was less choice for the evening meal the breakfasts were remarkable in range and quality. The final hotel was good but not outstanding. The trip notes were detailed and while we really had no problem navigating, the maps could be improved. The walk to Cala Goloritze was more crowded than expected but still very impressive. We used the local bus service (google transit gives accurate details) to travel from Nuoro to Oliena and from Tortolì to Cagliari. We found them to be reliable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The rock formation and village at Tiscali were very impressive as was the spring at Su Gologone.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    N/A (self guided)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    take blister plasters and micropore, plastic pockets for maps and if available consider using an app such as strava to keep track of distance walked. Take a pen on the walks to note progress and way marks as they are passed. the hot conditions make feet swell and previously satisfactory boots and socks may not perform as well as expected. even tho the routes are rated 3 the tracks themselves can be very stony and hard on the feet. I think I would have been better off taking full walking boots rather than Meindl shoes

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    the hotels used were very good value and I would question the "mark up" to arrive at the final price. Our documentation arrived the day after we left and we had to print our own. The advice regarding the buses could be improved.
Call us on 0208 772 3936