Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    Lesley Prosser

    Very well-run tour of a great destination

    This was a fascinating insight into a country I knew little about. The pace was good, and both the sites and the sights were interesting and varied. With one exception, the accomodation was better than my expectations. We were 15 people in a full-size coach, a real luxury for the several long drives. It was great to be able to swap sides to see a better view, or join others for a chat. The group were a pleasant assortment of people who got on well with each other and were enjoyable company.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    What can one say? The Registan at Samarkand. Just when we thought we were all mosqued out, there it was...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I generally prefer solo travel, as I like to go my own way, but Dilshod had made a convert of me. He is a brilliant leader. His long experience shows in the effortless ease with which he performs this very demanding job, but nonetheless, he injects his presentations and information sessions with a freshness and enthusiasm that never, ever sounds like he is just playing a tape recording in his head. He is an immensely likeable person, and a pleasure to chat with out of hours. He is the first leader I have come across who was willing to spend dinner with his group every night to make the ordering and paying a painless process in restaurants where English was rare.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    While standards of hygiene are generally good, some public toilets really require you to have a supply of tissues and sanitiser. Oddly, if you wanted to buy a roll of toilet paper, it would be easily found in any little local shop. Kleenex, on the other hand, is hard to come by - you really need to find a pharmacy to buy that. So take plenty of Kleenex.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Alicia Bjerkseth

    Surprisingly Disappointed

    Armenia & Georgia were countries #36 & #37 for me...I have never been so disappointed and discouraged by group travel, thus I am re-thinking all future travels as independent or highly-active tours only. While both countries are absolutely beautiful in their own ways, and working hard to recover from Soviet times, a better experience interacting in these countries, other than just sight-seeing, would have been a welcome opportunity. The majority of each day was spent in the bus traveling long distances between locations, with little time offered at the actual site being visited, compounded by the tour leaders using the majority of that time to give historical explanations. I was truly disappointed to finally reach some of the sites I had read about, and having little time to explore, for example...a very rushed hour at the Armenian Genocide Museum, and ten minutes in almost-darkness at Noratus cemetery...two places I really was looking forward to exploring fully. The days in Georgia were equally long in the bus....arriving after dark to mountain villages that were likely beautiful places to explore, but really only being there to sleep in a chalet and leaving the next morning. While I'm sure this provides income to the locals, the visit to Gergeti Church with jeeps destroying the mountain-side terrain and the monks feeling worried about the large number of tourists visiting their site does not feel like responsible tourism to me. I honestly think a better itinerary with more meaningful experiences could be developed for these two countries....with exceptional time in great locations....quality versus quantity. Maybe seeing the whole of the country is not what matters. There is little interaction with the people who actually live in these countries....one of my favourite and really brief moments were those where locals showed us how they made breads in both countries and the lunch visit to the Molokans. I grew bored with the numbers of daily church and monastery stops...some of them really were not fascinating or unique and could easily be left off the itinerary....unless seeing 3-4 churches every day is your thing. I originally purchased this trip through Imaginative Traveler, and did not realize until the first day of the tour that it was being operated by Exodus....the travel group was a completely older demographic than I am accustomed to traveling with and activity was a slow pace. The tour leader for Armenia was exceptional with his historical knowledge and concise explanations that made sense, while the tour leader Nik for Georgia had a very confusing tangential way of giving information, so I never really knew what he was talking about. I would have appreciated meeting instructions in Armenia at the hotel for the morning of the tour, but none were left for guests who had arrived earlier on day one....I made several trips back to the hotel to continue checking in, and only found out we were meeting at 9am the next morning when my roommate barged in at 2am from her flight....unacceptable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I arrived to Yerevan a few days early and did my own visit to Karahunj...the Stonehenge of Armenia...this place should be included in the trip....and the bus goes right past it!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Daniel, the tour leader for Armenia was exceptional with his historical knowledge and concise explanations that made sense, while the tour leader Nik for Georgia had a very confusing tangential way of giving information, so I never really knew what he was talking about.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Shannah Murland

    Machu Picchu combined with rugged peaks

    This tour spends a few days in the "big" mountains and then joins in to the Inca Trail, so you get a bit of everything. You also arrive at Machu Picchu in the afternoon, so you avoid all the groups who get there for sunrise. Instead, you have some time in the afternoon and then camp down by the river (instead of leaving right away like the other tours do), and then you go back up for the majority of the next day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Camping up near the glacier on Mt. Salkantay.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She had amazing knowledge of history and culture in the region.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Shannah Murland

    So many elephants!

    This was a wonderful safari covering 3 great parks with supported camping.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the elephants bathe in Manyara.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He had great knowledge of the side roads and where to find the more elusive wildlife.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The dust will get everywhere- there is no avoiding it!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Shannah Murland

    Well-supported hike

    The guide-to-guest ratio was excellent and we were well-fed and taken care of. Others in the group had altitude sickness symptoms and the staff were great at recognizing and managing these situations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My burst of energy near the top that had me free-climbing to the finish just before sunrise (I had lost the trail because I went around someone who was sick...).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very capable and knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A great route that has less people on it.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Hugh Price

    What an amazing holiday

    Brilliantly lead, excellent fellow travellers and a very full and varied itinary. Probably the best of many great Exodus holidays...so far.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The fact there were so many speaks volumes, nbut the 34km downhill definitely was one of the best

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Extraordinarily good. Nothing was too much and he never faltered. Without doubt the best of many good leaders.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Its hot and it is humid so nothing dries. The humidity can really limit your physical ability, certainly around mid day, but there is always the support vehicle to jump into.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This holiday was a lot of fun and passed in a flash. We all had an absolute ball and acted as one big family. A real joy.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    susan brown

    classic dolomites premium

    This was my first Exodus holiday and first trip on my own, so i didn't know what to expect. I need not have worried. the trip was absolutely first class five star. the Group leader was a real character, very knowledgeable about the area, the walks were very cleverly thought out and the views were spectacular. The Hotel Adler was very welcoming and the staff were very helpful, the food was delicious. and catered for vegetarians and food sensitivities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment of the trip for me was the actual walk programme, which was perfect for a level 3. As a group of strangers we all got along very well.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was a real character, bringing a great deal of knowledge about the area in which we were walking. He was very tentative and ensuring the safety of all the group members.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to be wowed by the scenery.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would recommend this holiday to all enthusiastic walkers.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Roma Fernandopulle

    An unforgettable experience!

    The highlight was the Gorillas, but the whole trip was an experience never to be forgotten. We saw the big 5 in the Masai Mara and other animals in their natural habitat that you only ever see on the television. I can also now identify exotic birds I never knew existed! And we had a hippo join us at the campsite for dinner! The trip was made more memorable through the wonderful Exodus team of Jacob - our guide, Boniface - our amazing driver, Godfrey - our wonderful chef & Esther -his assistant, who was learning the ropes & always smiling.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking into the eyes of a Silver-back gorilla. I didn't think that we'd get so close to them, they brush passed you as they walk by. Just watching them interact with each other - grooming, playing and feeding, was amazing. The hour we had in their company flew by and was truly unforgettable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jacob was our tour leader and he was excellent. He was very knowledgeable about where we were travelling, always full of good advice and very patient & professional. Seat rotation was suggested for the truck and all worked smoothly. My wristwatch broke in Doha on the way to Nairobi and he was very helpful in ensuring that I could buy a replacement at the earliest opportunity and so stay on time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel with an open mind, be prepared for anything & you'll have an amazing unforgettable experience. Take advantage of hiring a porter for the gorilla trek, as he will be invaluable in helping you. I was a little apprehensive about the camping since I've not done any before but it was fine. The group were all well travelled and we all gelled together, helping out with the washing and air-drying of plates!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you're undecided, my advice is to GO! Go with the flow, join in and you'll have a fabulous unforgettable time.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Pam Peers

    Interesting trip to a fascinating country

    A good combination of an interesting, short trek and cultural visits, including the Thimpu festival.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hanging lots of prayer flags at various of the summits. The momos at the end of the trek were very welcome.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Norbu and Ganga were excellent guides! Great fun to be with and very informative about the country they are so passionate about. The team as a whole was excellent and looked after us really well

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take gaiters ... we didn't and regretted the omission. The descent on the final day was very muddy. Definitely take walking poles ...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Karaoke bars in Thimpu are well worth visiting , a real insight into modern day Bhutan.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Bruce Royston-Smith

    Julian Alps

    Excellent trip, lived up to my expectations with the added benefit of virtually continuous sunshine, which made the Triglav ascent day the real highlight of the trip. Fitness levels are important on this trip, and should not be underestimated. Would recommend greater emphasis in the trip notes on the importance of bringing sufficient energy bars,gels,etc, as the quality and nutritional value of the breakfasts in some of the huts is minimal .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Summiting Triglav

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Katya was great....well-informed and attentive to the needs of the group

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The fitter you are the more you will enjoy the trip ! Bring plenty of food supplements/ trek food to supplement the hut meals. Walking boots need to be in good nick, as they will take a hammering on the trek !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Trip notes were incorrect as there were three nights in hotels and four in huts, and not two and five as per the brochure
Call us on 0208 772 3936