Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    David Simpson

    Great wildlife viewing with a top class crew

    Some of my best ever wildlife viewing, seeing all the big 5 (including my first ever clear views of leopards) plus much else including spectacular birds, chimpanzees and of course the amazing mountain gorillas. Very well looked after by leader Jacob, the best ever driver Stone Cold, Godfrey the cook and the hardworking trainee Ester, all of whom not just kept us safe, healthy and happy, but were great company.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the fabulous mountain gorillas, who didn't seem to have read that they were meant to keep 8 m distance! Couldn't believe how close and active they were. The optional hot air balloon ride in the Maasai Mara was also well worth doing, as was chimpanzee tracking which hadn't been mentioned as an option in the trip notes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jacob was knowledgable, worked hard to make sure we all had a good experience, and had a good sense of humour too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for plenty of early starts and long drives, but the experiences along the way make it all worth it. Being on time for the morning starts, and being ready to help load/unload the truck etc (though not required) makes it all run more smoothly.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The region is really beautiful, and always has plenty to see even on the long journeys. The camping is fine, the people along the way friendly, and you'll find Rwandan streets far cleaner than those in the UK!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Lucy Fish

    Beautiful Sicilian Sights but tour requires some tweaks

    We saw many of the must see sights and picturesque towns of Sicily, enjoyed tasty dishes especially the ice creams and granitas and had some time to wander around places and soak up the Sicilian way of life. We were on the first Grand Tour of Sicily so were anticipating some issues could arise. Future trips will only benefit from having a much smaller group (say max. 12 people). Much of the accommodation, restaurants, roads and some sights were on the small scale and our group of 17 people meant difficulties with accommodation type/quality, logistics and group meals. Also some changes to the itinerary (e.g. length of time spent at certain places) will only serve to improve future customers experience of Sicily, enabling them to fully immerse themselves in the Sicilian way of life, culture and history. I enjoyed my time in Sicily and thanks to our local Exodus guide feel I experienced much of what Sicily had to offer (& was on my wish-list). So if you want to see a varied heritage played out in archaeological treasures and picturesque landscapes coupled with a good dose of sunshine (we were very lucky) and tasty dishes (such as cake for breakfast - always good) then Sicily is the place to go. I just hope Exodus will reduce group numbers and not trip length.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many 'wow' moments, that only the number of photos taken can attest to, and special memories made on this trip. I really enjoyed wandering around picturesque Ragusa, plus being a Inspector Montalbano fan meant it was like being on the set. Seeing the back of Palermo cathedral for the first time was a wow moment just because it was so different to everything else we had seen. The byzantine and roman mosaics at Monreale and Piazza Armerina were very special and a lot to take in. Walking around Etna and through Zingaro Nature Reserve was a lovely experience and not to be missed. Wandering through the medieval streets (lots of steps) and enjoying the Baroque sights (everywhere you look) in Noto, Modica, Palermo and Catania were a joy. The sheer scale of some of the Greek and Roman archaeological towns/amphitheatres are a sight to beyond. Charming seaside town of Cefalu was a nice place to relax just wish we had longer.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Milena was a very good leader and coped well with a relatively large group and the problems (especially logistics getting to accommodation and for group meals) that this entailed. She was extremely knowledgeable about all the places we visited and travelled through. She was very enthusiastic about helping us learn more about Sicilian culture and history plus she had lots of geological knowledge which I found very interesting (but maybe not for everyone).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Find out about potential group size before you travel and hope that you have a small group as that will only be a benefit. Possibly take a small travel pillow as many of the beds/pillows were rock hard. If you have limited mobility or problems with stairs, be mindful that there are lots of steps, cobbles and slopes in the places we visit and even in accommodation itself. So might not always be easy going and you may need to request a room on the lowest floor possible in accommodation as there is not always a lift. Be patient as service can often be very slow in restaurants and sometimes quicker meals can be had in cafes if you need a snack. Don't miss out on the chocolate in Modica or the group lunch (very tasty, local only to that area) also make sure you experience the Etna walk and along the coast Zingaro NR. If you are a keen photographer - take a spare memory card or 2.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Sicilian sights you see on this trip I would rate as very good and in some cases excellent in certain places. But the overall trip I currently rate as good purely due to the difficulties faced by a large group and the quality of accommodation used. After a long day of sightseeing all we wanted was a clean and comfortable room to relax in before the next full day but this was not always possible due to the available accommodation (i.e our group was sometimes spread around different B&Bs/hotel) and the simple logistics of reaching either our room (e.g. up to 1 hour wait) or the sights themselves. Suggest itinerary is tweaked so we stay 2 nights in Ragusa and Cefalu, 1 night in Taormina, leave Palermo at lunchtime so to reach Cefalu early afternoon, miss out the steps of Caltagirone entirely and spend bit longer at Roman mosaics of Piazza Armerina and lovely Modica & Noto.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Sarah Bucknill

    Mont Blanc Highlights Sept 2017

    An excellent holiday which delivered fantastic views of the mountains. We travelled in the middle of September and the week began with some unseasonably cold weather which resulted in one day walking in the snow. It was not too demanding but be prepared for cold weather. The second half of the week was much warmer and the variety of weather made the trip even more interesting as the snow was beautiful but we were also able to enjoy very sunny days. The Chalet Chamonix was very comfortable and the meals provided by Sarah and Rich were absolutely outstanding, the best we have had.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The wonderful views of Mont Blanc and the surrounding mountains shared with a great group of people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jenny was very flexible with the itinerary and changed the order in which we did some walks in order to take advantage of lifts being open/closed and the weather. She was extremely knowledgeable and gave very useful advice on equipment and where to purchase it if required. She was also very helpful on techniques for ascending and descending to preserve knees etc.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This holiday was graded a 3 but one or two bits were quite challenging and it is important to be reasonably fit.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Mark Rendall

    Exodus delivers again!

    An amazing trip up Kilimanjaro, with a professional leader, guides, porters & support team (66 in total). The team got all 16 in the party up and all were very supportive!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making the rim for sunrise and of course the summit at Uhuru Peak - a moment and memory to savour!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Professional and dedicated.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Put in some training, it will make the trek more enjoyable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Has to be one towards the top of the "bucket list" & to be proudly crossed off!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Mark Booty

    Machu Picchu

    A fantasic trip with some great sites of historic interest and great views.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Machu Picchu from the Sun gate.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was helpful and knew a lot about the area and its history.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Altiude sickness and a lot of walking involved.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Nicky Handcock

    Classic Dolomites

    This was a moderate walking holiday in the Dolomites, with Premium accommodation. The trip certainly lived up to its expectations - which, with Exodus, are always high! Fabulous walking that got more challenging and more rewarding as the week went on, great group, excellent leader and wonderful accommodation.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through snow and ice, up and up and up to the Three Chimneys. The views were astounding and it was well worth the effort of getting up there.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was entertaining, knowledgeable, an integral part of the group and always ready to change or amend the plans according to the weather or the ability of the group members. He also gave us useful tips on things like the use of walking poles and did all he could to ensure we had a brilliant holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walking can be tough and there is plenty of uphill, so do get as fit as possible before the trip. Bring plenty of warm clothes for the mountains and be prepared for all weathers.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Jamie Higgs

    Sicily Was Grand But Tour Needs Tweaking

    Sicily was beautiful and this tour provides an excellent taste of this lovely island, but, tour groups for this trip should be limited to a maximum of 12 people, as 17 is too many for this trip and resulted in numerous logistical problems. The bus was too big to fit down the narrow roads, meaning that we were frequently dropped a long way from our destination and had to walk the remaining distance, including carrying heavy luggage. A smaller group would have enabled a smaller vehicle to be used that could get closer to hotels and sites. Most of the destinations are small towns and do not have large hotels, meaning that a large group has to be widely dispersed across various accommodation, which takes lots of time and logistical effort to organise. When you're tired after a long day's sight seeing you just want to get to your accommodation and not have to lug your stuff for miles and then wait for ages whilst all of the logistics of who stays where are sorted out. Some of the accommodation also appeared to have been changed at the last minute to accommodate our group size and we were disappointed by the quality of some of the accommodation, which did not meet our expectations. The hotel in Palermo was dirty, and the hotel in Taormina had poor standards and served us stale croissants for breakfast, along with random leftovers from the previous evening. Some of the beds were terrible, with the bed in the hotel at Syracuse being like a slab of concrete. Restaurants in Sicily are also not geared up to cater for large parties and we encountered numerous issues with the group meals, including, in one case, waiting over an hour just for drinks. Two and a half hours later some people in the group still did not have food and many of the orders came out wrong. This was the worst experience, but it wasn't unique. Sicily also has towns with many steps and slopes, and a lot of the guest houses do not have lifts, meaning that you have to carry your own suitcases up flights of stairs. This is something that needs to be considered if you are a person of limited mobility. However, many of the towns are truly beautiful and we did enjoy the trip despite the above problems.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We loved Ragusa and wished we could have stayed an extra day. The Roman mosaics near Piazza Armerina were truly spectacular and a highlight of the trip

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Milena worked incredibly hard and did a very good job, but we felt that she was hampered by the size of the group and the issues that resulted from that.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check the group size before you go. Bring your own pillow if you want a good night's sleep If you like chocolate make sure that you buy some of the delicious chocolate from Modica!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus need to review this trip and make modifications to ensure that travellers have a good experience. We did enjoy the trip but it could have been much better with a smaller group size, smaller bus, better standard of accommodation in some places, and more research from Exodus to identify events such as the Erice car race (an annual event, so not a surprise) which prevented us from getting to Erice for many hours and caused major logistical problems. The group size needs to fit the country, and the group size on this trip did not.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Wendy Pillar

    Not the best Exodus tour I have done

    I enjoyed this trip rather less than the other Italian cycle tours that I have done. The roads were very busy, there was little of it that was on truly peaceful backroads or cycle paths. The leader wasn't local and so we didn't really learn about the places we were visiting. In our group there were some fast and competitive cyclists who were out partying until the early hours each night. The first couple of days' scenery was not very inspiring, until we reached the mountains, which were beautiful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The shepherd's refuge at the top of the mountain on the optional day was beautiful. Lucca was also very lovely.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jon steered us through the busy city sections well. He wasn't local though, and didn't have any information about the places we visited, which I would have liked. His organization skills also weren't the finest - wrongly telling me that I was going to have to share a room when I had paid for a single was a low point. The second leader was brand new on the job and again, a little more organization would have been useful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you can ride up hills! The distances are not so great, with frequent breaks, but there are some substantial climbs on three of the days. They are perfectly do-able, but you do need a bit of fitness. Do the optional ride, even if you ride up the mountain in the van, as it's the best day. If you want to see Florence, book extra time because we didn't even whiz through the city on our way to dinner or on the first ride, despite staying right by the gate.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    David Rushton

    Authentic Andalucia

    I'd always wanted to visit these iconic Spanish cities and wasn't disappointed. Seville and Granada were both great and we also managed to fit in both Cordoba (see below) and Ronda. If it's possible to do both of these options make the effort, they are both really worthwhile.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    La Mezquita in Cordoba, it genuinely took my breath away. This was an optional visit on the itinerary but most people in our party went and everyone said how glad they were they made the decision.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis is great. He was very thorough, organised and patient. He went out of his way to broaden the experience for us by organising evening strolls to 'The Mushroom' in Seville and the Mirador overlooking The Alhambra in Granada both of which were very rewarding. His pre-visit briefings were excellent and he was always around to offer help and advice when needed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    From our experience, visiting late September was a good choice, hot but not too hot! If at all possible try to fit in Cordoba, La Mezquita is jaw dropping, particularly if you can get there relatively early and dodge the big tour parties who always seem to mess up your photos. Selfie sticks should be made illegal!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    IMHO the trip should incorporate the Granada and Ronda trips into the itinerary. This means getting a relatively late flight back from Malaga but it's worth it. If you are in danger of getting Palace/Cathedral/Fort fatigue, this isn't really the trip for you so you might as well max out on the grandeur of Andalucia while you can. Also, The Alhambra gets really busy with big tour groups. If there is any way of modifying the itinerary to avoid the worst of these it would improve the overall experience.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Patricia Carr

    Best wildlife experience ever

    The whole trip was fantastic with all the wildlife sightings. The big 5 in the Masai Mara plus the birdlife was unforgettable. Every country visited had something special, but of course the highlight were the gorillas. All that being said the trip was made even better by Jacob our guide, nothing was too much trouble, Stone Cold (Boniface), fantastic driver, Godfrey, great cook, Ester the lovely assistant. The 4 of them were so friendly it felt like it was one big family. They are the A-Team.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the gorillas was the best thing ever and it still feels like I dreamt it because it is so unbelievable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jacob was the best, always smiling, making sure everybody was ok.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with an open mind about the camping side of the trip, just go and enjoy the whole package. You just have to go with the flow, it's an experience of a lifetime.
Call us on 0208 772 3936