Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2017
    John Clark

    A variety of delights from start to finish

    This was a varied trip on good trails with highlights the camps at the Milam Glacier and the Nanda Devi Camp. The weather was unexpectedly good throughout with starry nights viewed from valley bottom campsites an especial treat. The variety included steep passes, a waterfall straight on to the trail, deserted villages, the constant company of the river fed by glacial melt and a stopover at a hill station town. The catering was exceptional with a range of vegetarian curries for lunches & suppers and cakes at teatime. Although the trekking was challenging at times the pace and the breaks were organized well to make even the longest days manageable. The trek is adventurous and rewarding.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dawn as the sun lit up Nanda Devi

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Set a friendly and inclusive tone from the start of the trip, able to tell good stories about the mountains and their exploration as we trekked, marshaled the large support team to get the best for the group, hard to fault really

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take off your boots at lunch breaks as drying socks and feet might avert blisters...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The villages have been abandoned since the 60's closure of the trade trail into Tibet so the locals are few and far between
  • Reviewed November 2017
    nigel bradshaw

    Beautiful country

    The trip was well planned and executed by Exodus, the cycling was varied and contained just the right amount of challenge to make it interesting. Late September was a good time to visit as the days were sunny without being too hot and the evenings mild, places (with the exception of Dubrovnik) were not too busy either. Do take advantage of the free day to visit Mijet island - its well worth a visit and dont forget your swimming gear!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the old City of Dubrovnik at twilight on our penultimate day. If you havent been it is a truly beautiful place. Do visit the hilltop overlooking Dubrovnik too - either by walking up or the cable car, there is an interesting Bosnian War museum there and a surprisingly good cliff top cafe (not for vertigo sufferers!) with stunning views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mario was fairly new to the job but proved himself to be enthusiastic, hard working, good humoured and nothing was too much trouble for him. Very good leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Avoid the Hotel Sumratin in Dubrovnik if at all possible. At the time of our staying there it was ranked by Trip Advisor as 62 out of 68 hotels in Dubrovnik.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my sixth Exodus trip and was well up to their normal good standard, unfortunately a great trip ended on a slightly sour note when we were accomodated in the Hotel Sumratin in Dubrovnik on out last two nights, however, Exodus have assured me that they will discontinue using it in future.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Lisa Macdonald-Smith

    An Amazing Tour of Sri Lankan Highlights

    If you want the see some of the main essential sites of Sri Lanka in a week this is the tour for you. It is not too full on compared with some other Exodus trips and you do have time to take in the beauty of some of the wonderful places you see and stay.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mornings cycle ride was great fun as was the lunch we had with a local family, the Sri Lankan’s are such friendly people. The elephant safari was just amazing, highlighted by seeing a week old baby elephant. Also a personal achievement and highlight for me was getting to the top of the Sigiria Rock, I don’t do heights and the stairs around the side were quite an experience - but I made it! The views were breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dileepa our tour leader was just brilliant. He was funny, very informative and obviously loved his country. Dileepa always made sure everyone had everything they needed and went out of his way to achieve this. We could not of asked for a better tour leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go, having travelled to India last year and Cambodia/Vietnam the year before this would of been a good place to start as not so much of a cultural shock. The Sri Lankan’s are such friendly people and it is a beautiful county.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We stayed on 5 nights near Galle after the tour to fully unwind and do a little of our own touring.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Richard Christie

    Bhutan - a cycle to savour

    Great cycling through the beautiful Bhutanese countryside on quiet roads - both wide and narrow. Some ups, some undulations and some superb descents. Despite the advent of technological ‘innovation’ such as mobile phones and Wi-Fi, Bhutan still retains the quiet serenity I remember from my first visit 14 years ago. Interspersed with the cycling there are opportunities to experience some fantastic Dzongs (temples), wonder at superb views and marvel at the colourful festival dancing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many moments which will stay with me for a while: reaching the top of the Chele la (pass); walking round the immense Buddha statue on the hill overlooking Thimpu; the visit to the very impressive Punakha Dzong; the cycle out from the Gangtey Valley - site of the most memorable hotel on the trip; visiting the festival dancing at Chhumey; the cycle back from Chhumey to Bumthang. Not forgetting the walk up to the Tigers Nest!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Bhutanese guide Sangay Dorji was excellent, demonstrating his immense knowledge of Bhutanese culture & history and ensuring we got the most of the trip. Being the first running of this trip he was assisted by additional staff from India, including Tapesh Choubisa as our cycling guide and Rajesh Razdan as head bike mechanic who were also very good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do read the Trip Notes! As they indicate you cycle over some high passes and you need to be a bit flexible regarding where the cycling starts and ends each day to take account of the ongoing road improvements across the country and weather conditions. For example one of our days was cut short whilst we waited for a landslide to be cleared.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is not a cheap trip thanks to the cost of spending any time in Bhutan however the benefit is quiet roads, fantastic views and meeting wonderful friendly people along the way. Don’t delay going too long. On the plus side the local beer in Bhutan is half the price of beer in Kathmandu!
  • Reviewed November 2017
    GRAHAM CLARKE

    Imperial China and Yangtze River Cruise.

    An excellent introduction to China covering a number of the very diverse facets of the country. I am inspired to return to China to explore other aspects of the country. In particular the Great Wall trek. I would recommend travelling with a group, such as Exodus. It is not the easiest country to get about in. There is very little English spoken and most of the signs are in Chinese only. Our tour leader took care of interpretations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Great Wall was great, the Three Gorges cruise on the Yangtze, the cycling in the country amongst the limestone karsts, amazing landscape. There were a number of other WOW factors not least of which was the food.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Leon was excellent: very knowledgeable about all the areas that we visited, he was helpful on a personal level as well as to the group particularly when it came to ordering food where the menus were only in Chinese. He was well up to the standard of tour leaders that I had come to expect of Exodus. His English was excellent also.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travelling in China could be a bit of a challenge particularly as there is little English spoken and much of the signs even at airports and railway stations are in Chinese. Having a competent Chinese speaker with you, such as we had, made life much easier. The trip was billed as 1 leisurely. I think a 2 grading would be more exact; the steps up to the great wall and later on up to the Moon Rock were something of a challenge for some.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Keep your eyes open and look for quaint English translations of signs.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    GRAHAM CLARKE

    Imperial China and Yangtze River Cruise

    An excellent introduction to China covering a number of the very diverse facets of the country. I am inspired to return to China to explore other aspects of the country. In particular the Great Wall trek. I would recommend travelling with a group, such as Exodus. It is not the easiest country to get about in. There is very little English spoken and most of the signs are in Chinese only. Our tour leader took care of interpretations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Great Wall was great, the Three Gorges cruise on the Yangtze, the cycling in the country amongst the limestone karsts, amazing landscape. There were a number of other WOW factors not least of which was the food.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Leon was excellent: very knowledgeable about all the areas that we visited, he was helpful on a personal level as well as to the group particularly when it came to ordering food where the menus were only in Chinese. He was well up to the standard of tour leaders that I had come to expect of Exodus. His English was excellent also.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travelling in China could be a bit of a challenge particularly as there is little English spoken and much of the signs even at airports and railway stations are in Chinese. Having a competent Chinese speaker with you, such as we had, made life much easier. The trip was billed as 1 leisurely. I think a 2 grading would be more exact; the steps up to the great wall and later on up to the Moon Rock were something of a challenge for some.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Keep your eyes open and look for quaint English translations of signs.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Richard Christie

    Nanda Devi - a sunrise to stun.

    One of the most stunning treks I have been on, the whole trip exceeded my expectations. I had wondered about the length of road journey to and from the trek and the fact that some of the trekking route retraced itself. In the event the road journey was wonderful with beautiful new views round each of the many corners. Where possible the trek route uses different paths and where you do walk on the same paths this is at different times of the day giving a different perspective to the superb views. Thankfully we were blessed with great weather throughout which of course helps!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sunrise on Nanda Devi East and Nanda Devi on our second morning at the base camp was simply stunning and will live with me for a long time. That said watching the wisps of cloud wend their way around the peaks the morning before was almost as good!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As usual Valerie was excellent in her role as leader making sure everyone was fit & healthy and got the most from the trip. She was ably supported by out hard working guide Rajeev and his crew including Jonny our excellent cook and Rashid who made sure things ran smoothly around camp.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoyment of the trip was aided by being with a great group of fellow travellers who all coped with the at times challenging paths without issue. You do however need to take heed of the Trip Notes and the grade of the trip; there are steep ups and downs with some exposure. As long as you make sure you prepare beforehand you will have a fantastic time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is superb ‘off the beaten track’ trekking route with only the jangling bells of a few mule trains (supplying the small Indian Army base at Milam) and some local shepherds to keep you company as you walk past abandoned but beautifully character-full villages. If you fancy getting away from the crowds to enjoy peaceful beauty this trip is for you.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Ray Morris-Hill

    Spectacular Italian Coastal Scenery

    Beautiful coastal walking with so much to see and enjoy. The weather in September was just perfect -mid 20's Celsius every day. Check out my short holiday video here https://youtu.be/YMSI8ye1kQc to get a taste of the area.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the magnificent coast from Tre Calli on the first day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Satva was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and fun. She was keen to get us walking as a group so everyone felt part of the experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get some training in before the trip - there are a lot of steps and the downhill can really stretch your calf muscles! Bring sticks as they will help a lot. Good walking boots are a must.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Pompeii is extraordinary but when we were there it was overrun by lots of tour groups. Amalfi was also very busy. Most of the walking routes are quiet.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Deborah Gibson-Smith

    Cycling Madagascar

    This was our 5th Exodus cycling trip, and if like me you like a good balance between cycling and sightseeing, this is the trip for you! There was some non-cycling activity almost everyday, whether it be a short visit to some local handicraft workshop, swimming in natural pools or a half day hiking in the rain-forest. This trip combines all the best aspects of a cycling holiday: varied terrains, waving children, wildlife, interesting local culture, a large variety of non cycling activities, great guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to pick one thing, so I have chosen 3 things. -Seeing so many different types of Lemur, we saw Lemurs on 4 separate occasions. -The 10k downhill cycle through Ranomafana national park -Swimming in the natural pool at Liliha waterfall. There's nothing like a refreshing swim when you are hot from cycling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Armel (Mel) was great. He really loves his country and is personally involved in supporting the rural communities.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Credit cards are only accepted in Antananarivo, and ATM/Cash machines are few and far between, so planning money is a bit tricky. Taking extra Euros or dollars as a back up is an option. There were lots of picnics, some smart people in our group bought a foam garden kneeler to sit on. A sarong makes a good improvised changing room for the 2 natural swimming days.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Make this your next Exodus cycling trip!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Steve Wright

    Island Peak & Everest Base Camp

    This was a fantastic, but hard trip. The scenery is stunning. I reached Everest Base Camp but had to descend back to 4200m as I had altitude sickness. So I missed Kala Patthar and the Kongma La pass. However I made a quick recovery so then managed to summit Island Peak - the highlight of the trip. Climbing it was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done, purely because of the altitude. The climb is one of the most difficult of the trekking peaks but if you have done grade 1 snow gulleys it’s straightforward. It’s doing this at altitude that makes it really hard! The views of the surrounding peaks at dawn were incredible.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Island Peak.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leaders worked really hard to get us all to the top.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Technical gear, including plastic boots, can be hired up the trail near Island Peak. This means there is no need to carry excess weight on the Lukla flight. There is no need for a sleeping mat as the ones provided are good. A (metal) thermos is useful on summit day to ensure you have water that doesn’t freeze. Hydration pouches are not that useful for the same reason. Save money by getting a Steripen to treat water instead of paying for mineral water.
Call us on 0208 772 3936