Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Robert Pocknall

    Cycle Trip - Prague to Budapest

    A very good trip for our small group of 7. We averaged about 60km of cycling per day and that was ok, except when it got windy and we had a couple of wet days, which slowed progress. The group got on very well and we did experience different levels of cycling capability, so there was some waiting periods for some, but no-one worried about this. Day planning was excellent with the guide co-ordinating things well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through the forests of Czech Republic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dana was excellent, communicated well, socialized well and is obviously very knowledgeable about this part of Europe; thanks Dana, come to NZ some time and see us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be cycling fit prior to commencing the trip and take clothing for all weathers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Yes! This trip we found was very expensive for what we got (we have been on other trips in different parts of the world), not at all discounting Dana's efforts on our behalf. We think that the least Exodus could do would be to supply each cycling participant with a complimentary 'cycling t-shirt' as a reward for cycling with Exodus. This would be excellent marketing for Exodus and we think would encourage people to book again with Exodus in the future. We have received this gesture from other cycling groups. We note also that Exodus do have clothing available on their website but no discount for 'paying travellers'. Please consider this comment seriously and if you want to refer back to us, you have our email address. Thanks and remember to look after Dana, she is wonderful.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Becky wilson

    TMB - Camping Trip

    Fantastic trip, amazing views, campsites, group, leader( John B) and camp manager (Egle). The trip runs like a well oiled machine allowing you to just relax and enjoy. The itinarary is well planned with prefectly timed rest days and varied but not too long or demanding walking days. This was my first organised holiday and I would highly recommend it to others.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Star gazing at Les Chapieux and the scenery every day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    John B was great, his confidence and steady pace kept the group together and allowed everyone to relax and enjoy the trip. He understood the group and was responsive to individual peoples requirements, providing distractions, gentle encoragement or timely rest breaks when needed. Egle Camp Manager was also fantastic, she was always ready for us at the end of the day with a cup of tea, the tents put up, a smile and a fantastic three course meal cooked on two burners. Together, we couldn't have asked for better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring walking poles the descents, especially the switch backs are pretty brutal on the knees.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    N/A
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Larry Meyers

    An Amazing Trip From Start To Finish

    I knew from the moment I arrived in Chamonix and saw the mountains and its glaciers that I had found the right adventure. Here was a chance to do one of the most acclaimed walks and the trip lived up to its billing. One can read about the walk and its vistas but nothing really prepares you for actually being part of it. I enjoyed the challenge of the walk, my fellow travelers and the quality of the lodging (OK, maybe not walking down the hall to the w/c in the middle of the night at our auberge stays--but a heck of a lot better than tenting). I enjoyed the evening meals and the variety of the cuisine. Overall the food was good and the huts offered a nice supplement to our sandwich lunch fare. The huts were a new experience and each one was unique from the food offered, to the hot chocolate to the w/c's.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the clouds part to reveal a new mountain with its glaciers. Experiencing a cloudless day in Chamonix at the end of the trip. Cheering on over 2000 participants in the UTMB (Ultra-Trail du Mont Blanc) as they pass you on the trail after having run through the night only to later realize that the leaders completed in hours which took us days. To be part of a group lead by Jeff.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I have done dozens of trips that required a guide. I can only recall a few of their names. In my mind there will always be an association between the Tour du Mont Blanc and our guide Jeff. To quote a walker who did the trip with Jeff earlier this summer "..he was fantastic..professional, intelligent, engaging, fun, friendly, safety conscious and very caring towards his clients." It is not easy leading a group of 14 hikers with various skill levels and insuring they stay together.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    First and foremost this is a group hike. You are part of a team whose goal is for all to complete the Tour and to enjoy their experience on the trail. Do not underestimate the need to do a good amount of walking before the trip. Focus on distance yes, an of course climbing. Include going down steep hills and plenty of steps. Insure your feet are in good shape. Figure out the right weight and sock combination before the trip. The trail conditions vary and it is important to have plenty of tread on your hiking boots. Things I found helpful: my own bar of soap; spare bootlaces; a travel clothesline for in room washing; lotions for the feet after the day's walk; good pair of sandals as your hiking boots are not allowed in the auberges and in some hotels and finally--earplugs. (Laundromats could be found near the Hotel Richemond in Chamonix and the Hotel Val Joly in St Gervais {Day 10 & 11}).
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Mike Bailey

    Fantastic!!

    A brilliant trip through an amazing country, which so stimulated all of our senses.Unforgettable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Zorastian cemetry Persopolis Everywhere really!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Well organised, enthusiastic and good company

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take some euros if you want, as souvenirs can be purchased with them. However, for everything else, including food, you need Rials- so take sterling and change it at the Exchange offices. Dont be stuck with too many Rials at the airport- you can spend them at Duty Free but there isn't much to buy!! (no spirits obviously but no none Iranian cigarettes either, plus only one small souvenir shop)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Add an extra day in Tehran if possible- marvellous city
  • Reviewed September 2017
    bill carney

    Awesome Birthday Trip, Great Group, Terrific Guides!

    We have taken cycling trips with a number of other outfitters, all of them memorable in their own special way. This was our first with Exodus and based on the fun/value of this week, we have already booked next year in Sicily! We chose Sardinia because it had such an exotic cultural intrigue and diverse landscape. We were not disappointed in anything. Our group had instant cohesion which the guides picked up on quickly. Everyone was easy going and we spent all meals, except the free night, dining and socializing together. Highlights of the trip were the stunning views, incredible terrain, some pretty tough climbs and the amazing food! We had so much fun eating, especially the included group dinners at the agro-tourismo and on the final night in Cagliari. Our guides Enrico and Simone worked seamlessly together. As native Sardinians, we found their local knowledge to be one of the best aspects of the trip. Thanks so much for an incredible birthday week! Bill and Scott from Calif.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everyone provided warm and genuine birthday wishes on my special day!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Enrico was terrific with his local knowledge and dry sense of humor. Simone as sidekick took care of all the background logistics without any issues.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared that the hills on day two and three are going to be harder than you expect! But it's worth it. E-bike option might be worth it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We would have liked to be 'on our own' on the route a bit more, vs. riding from point to point as an entire group.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Cathy Weaver

    Atlas panorama

    Fantastic trip. Well organised from start to finish. Marrakech was a wonderful experience shared with a fun group. Our guide, Hassan made the walking in the mountains a pleasure with his knowledge and great sense of humour. I would recommend this trip to anyone wanting to experience a totally different landscape. Yalla!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The stars in the evening were amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    An inspiration
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Sue C

    Discover Costa Rica

    This was my first Exodus trip and it reminded me why I love to travel and how I have missed travelling. It is a good trip to show you some of what Costa Rica has to offer and in comfort from travelling to accommodation, the daily drives are not to vast and are broken up with a visit here or there. You go from travelling through mangroves to witnessing turtles nesting, to volcanoes, rain & cloud forests with a beach thrown in as well - with evening cicada and frog calls to being woken by the roar of a howler monkey with sights of sloths, untold colourful birds including the fabulous Quetzal, 4 species of monkeys and much, much more, what more could you really want?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I can't single anything out, it was great simply being away from it all and in such amazing surroundings, there were many "wow" moments for me

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gustavo was fantastic, he certainly knows his stuff and is excellent at spotting wildlife from afar, thus ensuring that we saw all we could. The trip was v well planned and organised

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect rain, a sturdy poncho is wise although you may find it's simply easier and more fun to get wet and blend with the locals!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip is a definite must Pura Vida!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Chris Porter

    Walking in Albania

    We completed this walk in mid September so experienced good walking weather conditions, not too hot plus rain at night, how considerate. The trip was just as described in the detailed trip notes involving some stunning high mountain walking plus a range of terrific other non exertive cultural experiences. Phew. Instead of entering back into our rather luxurious new Mercedes coach on day one after a delicious lunch in Shkodër we crammed into this battered rough and tough old blue bus with no seatbelts and mis matched seats. This wonderfully set the scene for all that we were about to head on a trip into serious back country. Great fun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Theth to Volbona via Volbona Pass was fantastic, stunning mountain vistas and you felt could almost touch Montenegro we were that high and close. A close second though was the Lake Komeni boat trip, deep gorges and wildlife close by on the shore, so near yet too far.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dorian was a great and personable tour leader deaing with the range of personalities in a large group with aplomb. He displayed considerable knowledge of his country and seemed to know practically everyone in Albania. A highlight was his sensitivity in frequent engagement with locals, who genuinely appeared to appreciate our group’s attention rather than rushing past.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Fitness is quite important as it is not a stroll in municipal parks. Several of the walks were quite challenging, as to be expected with 1,000 metre ascents /descents, although the rewards were equally spectacular. Some people found sections of the Volbona Pass walk vertiginous, although with the group travelling at a slowish pace there was no sense of rushing to catch up.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Rupert Livingstone

    Ventoux, Ventoux - so good I had to do the trip again

    I did the trip in 2016 and got my nutrition wrong so walked the last 2k to the summit. I just had to go back to do it properly this year. I was not disappointed as going back made the trip even more enjoyable. The cycling is fantastic and finally cycling all the way to the summit was an emotional and satisfying experience. The trip is changing slightly for 2018 and my only dilemma is whether to go back again to attempt another route. This is a great short break, properly getting away from it all, enjoying some wonderful climbs and descents and basically just enjoying being able to focus solely on cycling.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Personally, being successful in cycling to the summit - a big monkey off my back. As a trip, the beauty of the countryside, the camaraderie of the group and the sheer bliss of cycling provided the inspiration. The descent to Sault is a joy, as is the Gorges de Nesque.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Yves was simply superb. Without him, the trip would not have been as successful. At no point were there any qualms or concerns as Yves managed to cover off any issues before they arose - even diverting to get bananas when the Sault supermarche decided not to open on time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are reading the review then you are probably serious about the trip so I would use the cliché - just book it. It is a fantastic trip and the satisfaction of reaching the summit more than offsets the pain of the forest. The best advice is the obvious advice. Do some training, get yourself fit, ensure that you have tackled some hills or done some consistent resistance training on a turbo and get your nutrition right. Other than that, enjoy what will be a fantastic and memorable weekend of cycling.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Stuart Royce

    All worth the hard work.

    A father and daughter adventure of a life time. Never to be forgotten.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment/ moments, was from the guides encouragement throughout the climb and making you feel that you could accomplish anything.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mussa was excellent in every way, from start to finish.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not under estimate this climb. Be well prepared for a challenging week of hiking. A couple of weeks walking is not enough training even if you are a seasoned hiker. Give yourself at least 6-12months of training.You must be prepared to listen to the advice of your guides and don't think you know better. These are the guys who get you through it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As I have said, the guides,porters and cook are invaluable people on your trip. They know these climbs like the back of their hands. They know the conditions that may arise at any time. They are constantly assessing your condition throughout the trip without you realising it. If they feel you are having problems then they will deal with it in highly trained and professional manner. Big respect to these guys.
Call us on 0208 772 3936