Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Word - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2017
    Steve Gilbert
    We selected the holiday because the weather was warm but not too hot in May and also the pictures looked interesting. We are really glad we went. The places have history, interest, fun and comfort. We felt really at home wandering the streets at night taking photos and enjoying the superb restaurants. We enjoyed the trip immensely and are considering returning to Croatia.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I guess it was wandering through the night in Korcula. The crowds were disappearing the restaurants were smelling gorgeous. The waiters and locals were all chatty and friendly. The light was beautiful for some good night time photos. Then we happened upon a group of about 20 locals in tracksuits with beers practising their acapella singing. Great moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sasa (pronounced sacha but cant type the accent) was fun and bubbly. She tried really hard to keep everyone happy. She moved between everyone in the group with skill and appreciated everyones needs. She organised meals for those that wanted them together, every night. We enjoyed her company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The Pension in Korcula was about 15 minutes walk from the old town. The walk is easy and well lit. It was great moments to get into town for the night time. In Dubrovnik the "Dubrovnik Card" was great value to catch the very easy bus (bus-stop just outside our hotel) and to visit all the sights. I am not a Game of Thrones fan but got caught up in it with other fans visiting all those filming sights (thank you Lili). There is even the IRON THRONE made of swords on Lokrum Island. I sat on it and had my picture taken. I enjoyed that they filmed the latest Star wars movie there "the last Jedi" so got fascinated by that. There is a free map at the hotel that gives you all the filming sights. Get one if you like this stuff.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think you should go. I reckon there is something for everyone in Dalmatia. But remember Cruise ships dock at Dubrovnik so can get busy. Consider visiting old town first thing or last thing to avoid the crowds.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Brian Hills
    A very enjoyable week in a unique area,local people were welcoming and all the food provided varied and tasty. Five of the walks were 5*, day 3 Kavac to Bahceli had to much road walking though the first rest stop and final village were worth visiting,manageable walks for first timers like ourselves.A good mixed group.The only small disappointment was the accommodation not as described,we stayed at Goreme, hotel Matiasos ,it was clean,good staff,good breakfast but no bar or public area to chill out, also bathroom to small to dry yourself with towel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The balloon trip,worth getting up at 4am.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fred was a star,looked after us 24/7

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Possibly take a little more spends 100 sterling would be a bit tight for drinks and tips,150 each more like it.All prices are in turkish or euros,balloon trip was 150 euros or 130 sterling each

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just do it
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Petra Geggie
    A fascinating trip that explored much of the country with a brilliant guide. Trip sites were well chosen to explore the layers of the country's history and the wealth of landscape and hidden gems both inland and by the sea. A country that is as yet unspoilt and that inspired me to look at visits to the other Balkan countries.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Tirana was the start and was for me a summary of what was to come. The buildings old and new, side by side that says something of the state of Albania's pride in its past and its spirit in opening up to the future and tourism. It made me aware of the need to go on with an open mind and in this way I found it quietly exciting. Unesco sites of Girokaster and Berat survive with sensitive development of the buildings and locations that is a joy.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gledi was inspirational and exceptional. He was knowledgeable, articulate and accessible to questions and ideas with a modest manner and sense of humour. The very best.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is an intensive on the go trip but each day is different. Be prepared for the unexpected and some reading for the long journeys

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip could benefit from a couple of stops that are for two nights for example by the sea in Sarande and in Tirana and possibly Podgredec. Thanks to those who dared to set the trip up.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Laura Mizoue
    This was the first cycling trip I've ever taken and while it was tough (I did zero training which was my own fault), I really enjoyed it. It made me want to explore more of southern Italy. I thought the itinerary was nicely laid out with the first, third and last days featuring long (but stunning) rides and the days in between featuring more sight-seeing (which I hadn't expected based on the trip notes). Cilento was lovely and a nice counterpoint to the craziness of the Amalfi coast. Paolo was an excellent guide and we had a great group of people who were a lot of fun to hang out with.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I was really happy on that final descent into Minori.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paolo and the support van driver Rafaele were great--super nice, well organized, patient. Paolo really tried to give us a sense of southern Italy-the history, the people, the places, the food. The food! While you were free to go off on your own, Paolo arranged most of the meals for us and encouraged us to sample the local specialties--olive oil, mozzarella di bufala, various aperitifs and the best antipasti. One person commented that it was like being on a gastronomy tour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare for lots of up and down. There's almost no flat terrain. Bring enough cash. We were running low and it took us a while to find an ATM that took our card. The weather could go from hot to cold to windy to rainy all within an afternoon. Bring everything and store it in the van. The trip notes said the last day was 50K, but Paolo wanted us to see Sorrento which added another ~20K (and the steepest climb of the trip-I joined Rafaele in the van part way up that hill). Word of warning on bus service on the Amalfi coast. On our last day, we took the bus to Vietri to do a little shopping-since Paolo was taking the same bus to Salerno, he made sure that we got there with no problems. Coming back, the buses were so crowded that we either couldn't get on or they didn't bother stopping. We ended up splitting a cab with a German woman who was trying to get back to Maori.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I don't know if the excursions are at the discretion of the guide, but Paolo took us on a bunch that weren't mentioned in the trip notes. On our second morning out, we took a boat to the Blue Grotto which was a highlight of the trip. In Paestum, we had the option of visiting a buffalo farm where they make mozzarella (and excellent ice cream). Paolo gave us a tour of the cathedral in Salerno. And, on the free day he led a group of us up the 1000 steps to Ravello and on a tour of Villa Cimbrone, which was another highlight.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Anne Allan
    I had such a fantastic holiday. Cycling through such picture perfect scenery with a happy bunch of like minded travellers was the perfect way to see the countryside. It was great having two guides and their support was invaluable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of those 'undulating' hills and seeing the Cyprus trees and all the wild poppies, hearing the birds and feeling very lucky.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rdu and Liz were great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the opportunity to be away from the crowds and be able to be part of something special.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would certainly recommend Exodus to anyone, as it was to me. I took some very good advise.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Judith Beresford
    Exodus for me works on word-of-mouth and recommendations. So mine is, go! It's a fabulous location with moderate-to-challenging walking, spring flora and fauna fascinating, and so unexpected: like a slice of Switzerland. Our guide, Alvaro, is one of the best - Exodus I'm sure should be very sorry to lose him - but there is such a commitment to quality from the hotel that the team will always be a good one. Excellent food, comfortable beds, lashings of hot water... a very homely home base.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Many, but I guess Alvaro's love for his home and his understanding o the mountains was pretty inspirational.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Like the previous reviewer, I would definitely do it again! Which, I suppose, is the highest recommendation..
  • Reviewed June 2017
    James Havers
    I very much enjoyed my week spent cycling in Romania. We were cycling through very beautiful scenery, visiting many interesting historical sites. We bonded very well as a group and had a great tour leader.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    In Viscri we visited some local craftsman. They were really good characters and it was very interesting to see their work in action.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Raluka was great throughout the holiday. She looked after us extremely well. When we got to Bucharest she handed us all a nice booklet containing a map and details of local attractions. She was always there to assist us, including when we needed some extra help because BA's computer systems had a power cut.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A lot of the guest houses had Wi-Fi, though not all of them. The Bucharest underground is really straight forward and might be useful if you want to explore different areas of the city. A lot of the places we stayed were very rural, so if you're a night owl take a book, or possibly even some dominoes!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was nice to only be in a coach at the start and the end of the trip.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Karen Stanley
    Amazing hiking over the Salcantay pass to the magical Machu Picchu.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The anticipation of each turn the closer we got to the sun gate, and then the first view of Machu Picchu was incredible

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wilmer, our leader was very knowledgable and relaxed with the group - good fun

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take ear plugs! The frogs in camp 3 (might have been 4) are lovely but noisy, and you may get need them for the hotel in Machu Picchu town (depends what room you get) Also allocate at least 50soles per meal (includes one drink and tips) Food is amazing - there are great restaurants in Cusco, camp food - incredible Highly recommend green point in Cusco - it's vegan (I'm not) but they do a very reasonable set menu (4 courses) for 15soles and food is amazing (5min walk from hotel) - highly recommend

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Last thing - hotel in Cusco - if you lose your phone charger, check the bedside table drawers, mine was taken out of the wall and hidden away in drawer for no reason at all- eventually found after emptying all bags, and another guest over hearing complaint to reception (as same thing happened to her)
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Louise Ungless
    This trip is an adventure. Seeing the change in scenery, politics and religion as you travel from Georgia to Iran is absolutely fascinating. You really do see and learn a lot during your two weeks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I can't choose. Sampling the local wine and craft beer in the trendy capital of Georgia, Tbilisi. The scenery as you cross into Armenia from Georgia took my breath away. And then the excitement as we drove over Armenia's highest pass to cross the border into Iran on the day of Iran's presidential election results. Iran has to be one of the most friendliest and welcoming country I have ever been to. The people were very hospitable and generous.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had three female leaders on this trip; all were very knowledgeable and passionate about their country. Maryam greeted us with a huge smile once we crossed the border into Iran and continued smiling throughout the whole week. It was so nice to have three female leaders on this trip!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go soon before tourism hits Iran on a bigger scale - the industry is clicking on to how wonderful this country is.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go with an open mind as you journey through these three very different countries.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Nigel Day
    An enjoyable trip taking in most of the 'must see' places in Sicily: a great overview of the island. One niggle, though, is that because of the scale of the place the whole trip seemed too rushed: lots of time in the coach, and not quite enough time at various locations to give them justice. If you can afford the time (and higher cost), the newly-introduced 'Sicily Grand Tour' would be a better bet, but if you are prepared for the pace of this tour the 'Treasures of Sicily' does live up to its name.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The stunning mosaics at Monreale. The views of Etna were great (except when the scirocco brought in the Sahara sand).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Salvo was very knowledgeable, and helpful. he also made sure there were plenty of loo stops - important given the length of some of the coach trips!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Consider carefully your aims for the trip (see my summary), but then enjoy yourself. Make sure that you have plenty of cash to pay for meals, souvenirs and tips, as you can't rely on credit or debit cards being accepted. If you need more cash, most places have ATMs. When paying by credit/debit card or withdrawing cash at an ATM, you will sometimes be offered the opportunity to pay in your home currency - as a rule, though, this will involve a poor exchange rate and a fee, so you are probably best advised to reject this option and hope your card issuer is more generous. Leave room for the gelati and sorbets (granita)! You will walk them off. As always with such tours, be prepared for some minor disappointments - for example, our tour of the Zingaro Nature Reserve was called off due to the fire risk caused by a scirocco blowing through, and the "elaborate Byzantine mosaics" at Cefalu Cathedral were hidden whilst the building was undergoing some renovation. However, there is so much else to see that such disappointments are unlikely to detract significantly from your holiday.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A note to Exodus: given the time pressure at some of the locations, it would have been better to have local guides at more of them, rather than just handing out a photocopied map with instructions to meet back in, say, 2 hours. The walking involved was more of a stroll than a ramble, so I would class this as a leisurely tour rather than leisurely/moderate. However, if the weather had been hotter, my views might have changed.
Call us on 0208 772 3936