Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Word - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous
    Cuba offers visitors so many fascinating aspects, it is so close to mighty America and yet so different !  It is one of the last bastions of communism, there was nothing on which to spend money (except Rhum and tobacco) and it has none of the trappings of consumerism / no advertising! Refreshing world and a beautiful island, clean, people are well educated and peaceful but poor! Cuba is slowly opening up - go now and you should not be disapppointed. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Swimming in the Bay of Pigs and our visit around Trinidad! I wish we could have spent more time around Vinares (at least one night hotel around there instead of Havanna on the last days!) 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Umberto was fabulous - very thoughful and well organised.  He made sure we had what was needed and nothing was too much trouble for him.  Very chatty too! 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Relax - climate is good - do not take too much stuff - food is not that bad for tourists (infact quite good and comparable to many other holiday place).  Take small presents for kids if you like (preferably not money).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wish we had more time to explore the Island on our own and listen to the music - people have time to chat - it is a relax place.  Havanna is an absolute jowel in terms of architecture - many building unfortunately are falling apart but The Old Havanna is being beautifully restored.. a wonderful place to strawl and have coffee - local coffee is very good .. enjoy!JP Feb 2012 trip. 
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous
    A well thought out trip which was worth doing for anyone looking to get away from their hectic lifestyle to one of the most serene and idyllic landscapes in the world. It basically gives you 4 days of sledding throught the most calm and peaceful landscape in the world as well as the opportunity to see the Northern lights and the ice hotel on the same trip. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to see the Northern lights was my highlight, Incredible to see and lying own in the snow for 10 minutes as they just drift by was a once in a lifetime moment.Seeing the dogs getting hyper in the morning was also a lot of fun as they are just mad to get going.Seeing the Ice Hotel was also interesting.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was Jan, the owner of the local organisation white trail adventure. He went out of his way to make this an incredible trip and everything from the accomodation and fires to the food was brilliant. The food was always well cooked and there was plenty for everyone.He was very hands on with the group and helped anyone strugging and always stopped to let everyone catch up as well as randomly stopping to check that the dogs were okay.All in all he made the trip really enjoyable and would highly recommend the white trail adventure company to anyone.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you bring the headtorch and extra batteries, also something to read as it gets dark pretty early, there was power sockets in the suomi village on the 2nd night sleding so there is the opportunity to recharge electrical items. You also really do need to either like dogs or at least be willing to put up with them as they are pretty hyper in the mornigns once they are about to be harnessed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip notes were a bit vague about clothing requirements for the freezing temperatures. All you really need is loads of baselayers and a good hat and balaclava to wear while sledding, You`ll only really get cold when your not sleding so the standing around before you sled is when you need to be warm. For people hoping to see the Northern lights, it does appear to be completely random when they appear, we saw them on our 2nd night but didnt see anything after that.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous
    This is our 5th visit to Dobbiaco and it hasn't lost its appeal.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visit to Platzwiese and an icy downhill descent on the Military Road.The downhill descent from the Kreuzgergpass to Padola, bus back and the downhill descent to Moos.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were both part of Gareth Buffett's Group 2.We thought he struck the optimum balance as regards flexibility, rest breaks, challenging terrain and teaching. We thought the latter was particularly good and picked up several tips as regards the double pole kick and the basics of skating.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are numerous options for shortening the day (we didn't) should travellers so require, as the area is served by a very good, reliable bus service.Stops for lunch and afternoon tea are rarely disappointing as regards the quality of available food and high standard of restaurant cleanliness and ambience. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We are not vegetarians but the 2 or 3 of the party who were, were disappointed with some of the vegetarian options available for dinner in the Tschurtschenthaler hotel. Perhaps the hotel needs to rethink their veggie alternatives.Just to add, that we were quite happy with the choice and standard of food served. 
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous
    My first time with Exodus-very well organised and a great itinerary but first week enjoyment marred by some fairly attrocious weather and conditions. However the second week more than made up for that  and the weather peaked at the right time such that when we summitted Cotapaxi we had the clearest possible sky and hence some great views

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Clealry reaching the Summit of Cotapaxi was the highlight-it was not an easy summit but we were fortunate to enjoy some great weather that morning and hence superb views to go with the satisfaction of reaching the goal.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ed was the local guide-great energy, sense of humour and kept our spirtis up in the first week when the weather was against us

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is not an easy trek and do not attempt it unless you are fit, agile and plenty of energy

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trek had a bit of everythig and not a simple start at A and walk to B-Great variety, a great country and as it says Cotapaxi is a tough final challenge
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous
    This was a very interesting trek in a lessor known region of Morocco. It was great to get away from traditional tourist areas and to experience authentic Moroccan culture in the rural Berber villages.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking up at the African sky at night. Some of our group went for 'night walks' just to look at the stars. We had one occasion when a whole group of us just looked up in silent awe for about twenty minutes - this was the most inspirational moment of the trip for me.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lachen was a very good group leader - he had a good sense of humour and was enthusiastic to answer questions about Moroccan culture, no matter how many we asked! His English was excellent, as was his knowledge of the local culture.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you take thermals - it gets very cold at night. (I tried to wash and dry my socks one evening and woke the next day to find that they were frozen!)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A very worth while trip. Perfect temperature in mid-Feb for trekking - not too cold and not too hot. Very good value for money.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous
    See the real Sri Lanka as well as many of the key tourist sights.  The back roads take you through villages and countryside that would be missed travelling any other way.  There is one challenging long ride with a steep climb but a train option provides a cultural alternative.  A surprising experience providing fantastic views of the hill country.  Travel through the heart of Sri Lanka, from low land wild life parks to the more temperate tea hills.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing how rural Sri Lankans live - they all seemed so happy despite often difficult conditions.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A big hearted Sri Lankan who worked tirelessly to make everyone on the trip happy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Consider the train ride if you don't think you want to complete the long uphill cycle.  It is an experience you will remember.  In Kandy, climb the hill (or get a tuk tuk)  to the Buddha temple on the hill.  The views over Kandy are worth the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are in a group of keen cyclists, make them slow down.  Sri Lanka offers such diverse and beautiful scenery it is a waste to rush through it.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous
    An amazing holiday in an amazing country with amazing fellow travelers!This was truely an "experience "holiday that has left me wanting more!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Havana! We loved the restoration work that is going on with the attention to detail We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and Latin music that echoed around the squares and streets.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent in every way! wonderful sense of humour.Nothing was too much trouble. He loved Cuba and wanted us to know all the history and difficulties the Cuban people had experienced. Freddy seemed to know everybody in Cuba, from motorway service stations to mountain tops!We appreciated the family restaurants we visited with excellent food, service and atmosphere.We liked the coffee stops along the trecks at farms and local houses.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it and enjoy!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

     This was a very memorable holiday from so many different perspectives. It was so diverse with camping and bunk house accommodation in rural areas to lovely colonial style hotels in the cities.The history of the country is so interesting and the people so unassuming. All our local guides were excellent with so much knowledge.Definately one of our best ever holidays.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous
    THis trip to Kenya was great from beginning to end. Kenya is a very beautiful country, amazing wildlife and very welcoming people. I went to see animals and thats what I got, the game drives on the Masai Mara were wonderful. But a group trip like this can be made or runied by your fellow travellers, what can I say.......I travelled with the most friendly, easy going bunch of folk....thanks guys, you made a great holiday even better.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Staying on the Masai Mara was awesome.....being greeted by a giraffe on the way to breakfast was sureal....and the game drives wonderful it was awesome to see so many beautiful animals in their natural habitiats.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guides Ben and Davies were excellent...what those guys dont know about Kenya and its wildlife can be written on the back of a postage stamp.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go and enjoy yourself! Be prepared for long bumpy drives but thats part of the fun of stepping outside the comfy UK to explore the beauties of Kenya!!
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous
    A wonderful holiday for children and adults with a great balance between the culture and bustle of Marrakech, the tranquillity of the hills and relaxation at the sea-side in beautiful Essaouira. This was a really good way for the children (and us) to experience many different aspects of a very different culture first hand.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The children loved riding the donkeys in the hills, and encounters with baby goats and other animals. They also enjoyed the beach and swimmimg in the Atlantic in February! We adults loved the hills too, being able to get out for 2 days "trekking" somewhere extraordinary for the first time since having children, without any complaints from them, was bliss. Fantastic food too (superb bread and honey, and tagine) , friendly hosts, a wonderful view from the roof of the farm, and a memorable steam bath in their little hammam.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan was a very good, easy going leader, we would not have experienced the real rural Morocco the way we did without him. He chatted and joked easily with the children who thought he was great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This was a great trip to introduce the children to travel outside Europe, they had never previously been further than France. Going with another family made it all the more enjoyable for them, and they enjoyed meeting and playing with local children on the farm. The Djemma el Fna was not popular with the children, they really didn't like the snake charmers and men with monkeys on chains, or the constant hassle from selllers which they found much harder to ignore than we did. They found the concept of haggling very strange, but got used to it after a week. It took us a week to get used to it too and realise how not to be overcharged for taxis etc.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel in Marrakech was fine (clean and comfortable) but a long way from nearly all places of interest, and rather lacking in atmosphere.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous
    This was a trip into a remote area in the winter to search for what we all thought was unattainable. We expected cold,  camping at altitude and rough walking. We got all of that but we did not expect hot water bottles every night!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Surrounded by steep sided snow covered mountains it seemed impossible that anything could live in this terrain , until we saw tracks and scrape marks of a snow leopard.  Expectantly scanning the mountainside and intently watching for any unusual movement of blue sheep (snow leopard fodder!), added to the excitement. We all hoped, but no one really expected to see a snow leopard, after all, we all knew that film crews had staked out areas for months before getting footage of them. Then after hot footing it up a steep snowy mountain track, there it was high on the mountainside but visible through binoculars. When it decided to move, the full length of its powerful sleek body and equally long tail was fully shown. We were so priveledged!It was not all about snow leopards though as this area is stunningly beautiful with other plenty of other wildlife and prolific birdlife. However when the second snow leopard was sighted 2 days later, late in the afternoon, with it snowing gently, it just could not get any better!None of this would have been acheived without the experience and knowledge of our superb wildlife guide - Khenrab -he was inspirational!  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Valerie Parkinson was the best!. She had such knowledge of this area and it was obvious she loved being there. The local team and the organisation was brilliant which is why all went so smoothly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the very warmest sleeping bag, lots of layers and a good pair of binoculars.. The altitude is something to consider as its immediate when you fly into Leh, though this trip gave good opportunity to aclimatise by spending a few days around Leh before moving higher. This is not a holiday with mod cons so don't expect them. Just enjoy the shower when back in Delhi.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    will remember this as one of the most priveledged experiences I have had.
Call us on 0208 772 3936