Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC HIGHLIGHTS

    I had never been to walk in the Alps before and had never been on a walking holiday of this sort, so decided to go with Exodus. The whole experience was excellent, from the chalet where we were based, to the area as a whole and the walking in particular.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moments seemed to go on and on. The views on all the walks, with the exception of one when the weather closed down, were superb. Mont Blanc was almost always on view, but closer in the flowers on the meadows and the occasional wildlife, such as marmots, were a treat, especially in June.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Oliver, our group leader, was highly experienced and this was obvious from the moment he led us up the first ascent. He was assessing the capability of all 15 of us so that he could set the right pace and balance the walking with rest stops. As we got fitter during the week, the pace increased slightly and the walks became slightly tougher, but this was very much in accordance with the trip notes. Oliver has a great sense of humour and a wealth of jokes which I much enjoyed. They made the whole experience great fun. He was also very careful, where necessary, to explain the safest way to walk across ice and snow and to show how to minimise the risk of a fall. This was kept in proportion and it did not become a health and safety show. He also insisted that we keep ourselves well hydrated, which was necessary as we experienced some of the hottest weather of the year. Oliver has an encyclopaedic knowledge of the plants and flowers that we encountered which were in profusion at the end of June. Oliver has a small fox terrier, by the name of Dylan, who accompanied us on 3 walks. He is a great character whose company we all enjoyed and who became quite a mascot of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy this tour. It is a great introduction to the Mont Blanc area and Oliver will show you all the best bits of the Tour de Mont Blanc. You need to be of average fitness, but the walks were never of any great distance (perhaps 9 miles), but some longish ascents are included. If you like walking in amazing scenery, you will find this tour excellent value for money.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Oliver's wife, Elaine, runs the chalet. It was a delight to find that everything we needed was on tap from the moment we had arrived to the day we left. She is an excellent cook and we all made the most of the meals. On the Wednesday we went out as a group to an expensive restaurant but I would have preferred to have had a meal back at the chalet! The packed lunches were just right - never too little and always delicious. The chalet facilities were also always available. The hot tub in the garden, with great views of the Mont Blanc range, was very well used and soothed tired limbs. The sauna was also well frequented. For those who wished to stay in touch with the outside world, the Wifi was always on and a computer was available for those who wished to use it, as was a TV, coffee and tea. Elaine made the place run like clockwork and was a delight to chat to.
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC HIGHLIGHTS

    A fabulous trip, excellent walking, great guide and stunning scenary

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many great sights and amazing views of the mountains throughout the trip.Seeing the mountains while standing between Switzerland and France on the first walking day while watching the Mont Blanc Marathoners struggle up the path. Looking at the mountains in a field of alpine flowers in the blazing sunshine.Sitting in the Bonatti refuge at over 2000 metres eating pear and chocolate tart, drinking expresso while looking at the most inspirational mountain scenary. Seeing a Golden eagle and a Marmot.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Olivers excellent leadership meant I could be in terrain which I could not hope to have managed alone. His unique sense of humour and respectful approach to the mountains, other walkers, the mountain refuge owners and to the group made the trip very special. He has an amazing knowledge of Alpine flowers and the local landscape which also enhanced my enjoyment of the walks. There were one or two people on the trip who were better suited to a grade C holiday who were frustrated at the grade B pace of the trip but I found the walks entirely suited to my fitness levels and well described in the trip notes.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take all equipment that is recommended in the trip notes. I used it all!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Elaine and Oliver are great people, very ecologically aware and have a real passion for the countryside and the mountains. There are amazing views of the mountains from the chalet which are beautiful to look at while having breakfast in the mornings and dinner in the evening. Dylan the 11 month old fox terrier accompanied us on most walks and was a joy to have with us- this helped make the trip really special.
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC HIGHLIGHTS

    A fabulous trip, excellent walking, great guide and stunning scenary

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many great sights and amazing views of the mountains throughout the trip.Seeing the mountains while standing between Switzerland and France on the first walking day while watching the Mont Blanc Marathoners struggle up the path. Looking at the mountains in a field of alpine flowers in the blazing sunshine.Sitting in the Bonatti refuge at over 2000 metres eating pear and chocolate tart, drinking expresso while looking at the most inspirational mountain scenary. Seeing a Golden eagle and a Marmot.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Olivers excellent leadership meant I could be in terrain which I could not hope to have managed alone. His unique sense of humour and respectful approach to the mountains, other walkers, the mountain refuge owners and to the group made the trip very special. He has an amazing knowledge of Alpine flowers and the local landscape which also enhanced my enjoyment of the walks. There were one or two people on the trip who were better suited to a grade C holiday who were frustrated at the grade B pace of the trip but I found the walks entirely suited to my fitness levels and well described in the trip notes.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take all equipment that s recommended in the trip notes. I used it all!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Elaine and Oliver are great people, very ecologically aware and have a real passion for the countryside and the mountains. There are amazing views of the mountains from the chalet which are beautiful to look at while having breakfast in the mornings and dinner in the evening. Dylan the 11 month old fox terrier accompanied us on most walks and was a joy to have with us- this helped make the trip really special.
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    IMPERIAL CHINA & YANGTZE RIVER CRUISE

    This is a great trip for those that want to have many and varied experiences packed into 21 days.  The itinary is full on and involves a great deal of internal travel.  Overnight trains were probably the low points but were coupled with the brilliant highs of walking on The Great Wall, visiting the Terracotta Armies and seeing some very cute baby pandas! 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I was very much looking forward to visiting The Great Wall and it did not disappoint in any respect.  We travelled to a quiet part of the wall and for most of the time were the only people on it.  This was a terrific start to the trip!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was great, full of energy and very clearly wanted us all to have the very best trip possible.  He balanced the needs of the group well and his own energy and enthusiasm was infectious.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Anyone considering this trip should be prepared for an unrelenting itinary that requires some stamina.  Toilet facilites are of a varied nature!  You will not spend many nights in one place so packing needs to be given careful thought along with ensuring you can carry/wheel your bag in/out/onto planes, trains and buses.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip has huge potential for fun and really delivers the experiences of a life time you might expect!
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC ASCENT

    I completed my journey to the Summit of Mt Blanc last Wednesday at 7am.  I would like to reiterate a splendid slog...both mentally, physically and as I adore rock-climbing...some of it not for the faint hearted but breath-taking views, cracking chandelier ice, unexpected terrain of all nature, glaciers, physical exertion, the whole lot..is well worth it..and would do it again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    everything...and the IBEX.
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    PEAKS AND VALLEYS OF THE ATLAS

    One of the best holidays ive ever been on, such a diverse range of landscapes (and sheep), superb climbs and an amazing group of people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Eating lunch at 4001 metres at the top of Adrar n'Dern. Climbing 3 mountains within several daysSwimming in a mountain lake at 3000metres 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Moustapha was amazing. He was always happy, caring, supportive, encouraging. He got to know everyone and went far behond the call of duty - including making us little goody bags of tea and handdrawn maps to take home.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go to the dates and prices page right now, pick a date then click 'book now'. Then go to the supermarket and buy more toilet paper and wet wipes than you think you'll ever need. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first trekking holiday, after this experiance, its definatly not going to be my last.
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    I have had the time of my life on this holiday.  Exciting and challenging in a beautiful resort in a lovely country with brilliant people!The tour leader, Geof was outstanding.  Indeed the whole team who looked after us were ace.  The accommodation was basic but very clean with really lovely public areas - lovely pool, pretty bar area - great views overlooking Kas.The activities were very challenging and I did things I never thought I would do - abseiling down waterfalls, paragliding...I want to go back...!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was all amazing.  The canyoning was such an adventure with the abseiling and jumping off high rocks...the team work from the group pulling me out of sticky situations! (Thanks again guys...!)I enjoyed scuba diving much more than I thought I would - and had an amazing time paragliding - saw an eagle..

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Geof was inspirational!  He was so encouraging and supportive.  Always had a smile.  He ensured we all had a great time.The itinerary itself was amazing and the country and resort gorgeous - and Geof's enthusiasm and attitude made it ten times better!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It will be a challenge, but it will be such an enjoyable and amazing one.  We had a good amount of 'downtime' and relaxation by the pool and in the sea.Don't take heels - won't be able to get up the hill to the hotel in them!Disposable waterproof cameras are easy to use and OK to take canyoning/sea kayaking etc.Shoes with some grip and ankle support are great for canyoning.  Mostly you'll need courage and a sense of adventure.  Always trust the rope.Go paragliding - it's amazing.Enjoy!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would seriously consider doing this holiday again - and am definitely going to visit Kas again - gorgeous place.(P.S for some reason it says I went in June 2007 - it wasn't - it was June 2012!)
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF GEORGIA & ARMENIA

    Two interesting countries emerging from a troubled history, seemingly modern and European in feeling. Both were very pretty, the food was excellent and the people friendly and welcoming.  Then there were the Churches - lots and lots of them!  Rather a sedentary tour, could have done with some exploring on foot.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Armenia - The scenery was wonderful, and the little Churches perched on hilltops were magical.  Each day there was a lovely lunch in a beautiful setting, and the best of all was with a family in their garden near to Lake Sevan.Georgia - The drive up the Georgian Military highway was fantastic with magnificient scenery and interesting stops along the way.  What a shame we arrived too late in the day to walk up from Kazbegi to Holy Trinity Chruch and had to go by jeep.  The food in Georgia was also a highlight.  I did a wine-tasting too - the wines were memorably good.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Mery in Armenia and Eliza in Georgia were excellent guides, enthusiastic and keen to tell us about their country.  Both made that extra effort, such as buying us local delicacies to try, which added to our experience and made the holiday really memorable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a swimming costume to Armenia; it is hot there and many of the hotels have swimming pools.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great travelling companions too.
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    MOUNTAINS & VILLAGES OF EVIA

    If you're planning to take a walking holiday do not choose this trip which is little more than a glorified site-seeing tour. The holiday might have been better had the usual local organiser been our tour guide

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk along the Demosaris Gorge

    What did you think of your group leader?

    An affable and loquacious Greek-American who, on his own admission, was not a qualified tour leader. He had a good knowledge of history but very little knowledge of;local geology, flora or fauna and spent most of the week pointing out the residences of his innumerable relatives!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Previous reviews have mentioned that, Thanos, the usual local organiser, is an excellent tour leader. Make sure, when booking, that he is leading the tour for the week you've chosen.Take ear plugs - the hotel is very noisy and many members of our group had difficulty in sleeping due to the street noise  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A pleasant enough trip but this is the most disappointing of the five exodus holidays I've experiencedWe were a small grop and were ferried around in two taxis. One of these was dilapidated and its seat belts didn't work which certainly added a certain spice to journeys on twisty mountain roads. It would have been far more sensible to transport the group by minibus. This would have permitted the tour leader to provide the entire group with a commentary about the landscapes through which we were being driven.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We are really sorry that John was disappointed with his trip. This departure was the first and only time this tour leader has been used as Thanos usually leads this tour and, as John mentions, Thanos receives fantastic feedback. We still use taxis, but since this review was posted we have updated our safety standards and working seat belts are now provided in all vehicles.

  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC COLS OF THE TOUR DE FRANCE

    A really good trip for the dedicated road cyclist, as well as for the casual enthusiast that doesn't mind a challenge.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling amongst the beautiful mountain scenery with snow capped peaks in late June. The top of each climb provided it's own individual sense of achievement.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kevin knew the routes and area very well, and was very well organised. Having himself ridden over many of these climbs, he could tell us exactly what to expect each day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Any training that you can put in beforehand will pay dividends. It's a long and exhausting week and is graded as challenging for a very good reason!
Call us on 020 8772 3936