Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN JORDAN

    Jordan is an interesting and diverse destination.  Good for history buffs, amateur outdoorists and those keen on mixing with the local people (who are particularly friendly).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1) Petra is extremely beautiful - especially if you make the effort to get there early (7am) to avoid the tour-bus crowds.  There are also some nice off-beat trails - try the "dark tunnel" hike...2) We enjoyed spending an afternoon wandering about in Amman.3) Sleeping rough in Wadi Rum was a highlight.4) Diving the Cedar Pride shipwreck at Aqaba was pretty good - nice diversity of life, good vis and some cool swim throughs.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was knowledgable & spoke good English.  He knew lots of tricks and the organisation was close to faultless.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Jordan is a good destination for a 1 week escape from the UK.  To get the most from it requires a willingness to get up early and get out and about - although the itinerary is not physically demanding (unless you want it to be).  The hotels are basic but fine and the food is generally of a high standard.It is also worth investigating buying the land only variant of the tour as we saved about £300 per person flying with BMI rather than Royal Jordanian (the package carrier).  Not sure BA will preserve such a generous discount package though..?

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Whilst it isn't advertised it is also possible to do a hot air balloon trip at Wadi Rum.  At £130 per person it's cheap and the views on a clear morning are beautiful.
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    LAND OF THE TIGER

    This is a truly special trip. I've done a fair few of these and my advice to you is - Just book it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1. Getting the nod that we'd found the elusive blue eyed tiger, seeing our leader coming towards us stood up in his jeep yelling for us to shift and our driver putting his foot down to get there. When we pulled up, a magnificent male tiger was sat in a watering hole calmin drinking and chilling in the sun - magic!2. Following a huge male along a track with 10 or so jeeps all jostling for position, torn between taking a picture and simply watching him swagger down the road without a care in the world. His tummy was full of his recent kill and he didn't care that he was being chased by papparazzi! 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Harish Kumar was totally brilliant. He couldn't do enough to make our trip unforgettable. His passion for the worldlife and tigers inparticular coupled with his realtionship with the local staff guarantees you some great sightings. I've done a trip like this before and he made the difference.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My advice would be to do every single optional game drive you can - you never know what you'll see.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Best trip I've done in 10 years - just book it!
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER SRI LANKA

    We had a wonderful trip travelling for the first time with Exodus. Everything ran like clockwork and was very well organised. The group of people we were travelling with were very friendly, funny and excellent company throughout the holiday. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This is really difficult to pin down as there were so many. A small group of us walked up Adam's Peak. Sunrise was very magical. The visit to The Temple of the Tooth was fantastic for me. It was a real privilege being able to witness something that clearly meant a lot to local people. Our optional trip through the Mangrove Trees was great too. The visits to Temple and Cinnamon Island were well worth it. I even got to make my own cinnamon and was taught how to weave the Banana leaf! Other stand out moments include eating lunch in the jungle, our group makeshift disco, the food, playing Sri Lankan games and our tour leader Roshan.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Roshan was wonderful. His knowledge about his country added greatly to our experience. He was always helpful, polite and was very funny too. During the trip there was Tsunami alarm triggered when we were in Yala National Park but he handled the situation brilliantly. He was calm, told us everything that was going on and kept us informed. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try everything and make the most of it, you'll proboably only do this once! 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you to our fellow travellers and Roshan for making it such a wonderful holiday. 
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    IMPERIAL CHINA & YANGTZE RIVER CRUISE

    China is amazing, and on this tour you will get so many highlights. There are fantastic places as the forbidden city, the Great Wall, the Terracotta warriors, the hiking at Emaishan, the pandas in Chengu, the Yangtze cruise, the wonderful landscape around Yangshuo, modern Shanghai and much more. Meeting the openminded Chinese people and having a guide, who did more than anyone could expect for giving her travellers the best holiday ever, are other highlights making this tour to the best you can imagine.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was fantastic to walk on the Great Wall, to visit the many temples in Beijing, to see the historic terracotta warriors, to hike at Emeishan to the most beautiful view I have ever seen, to see the amazing 3 gorges on the Yangtze Cruise and to bike around the beautful landscape near Yangshuo. But, the highlight for me on this tour was visiting the pandas in Chengdu. It was amazing to see so many pandas in different sizes and ages, how they played with each other, climbed trees and enjoyed their life in the nice sorroundings in the breeding center, and the most inspirational moment was for sure when I had one of the young pandas sitting with me and touching it when feeding. This was once of a lifetime experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was unik. We were her family from the beginning to the end of the tour. She did everything for us, and used her great personality to solve all problems.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I can only say, go for it. This tour will be one of the highlights in your life.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't wait too long, or the tour will be sold out
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    NILE CRUISE

    This was a fantastic holiday. Exceptionally well planned and organised from the moment I got off the plane in Cairo to leaving 10 days latter. I was able to capture all the key sights in Egypt, see local life and relax with our outstanding guide Sayed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many. Seeing Tutankhamuns amazing riches at the Egyptian museum, the Valley of the Kings, Karnak Temple, Abu Simbel ( optional tour not to be missed ), cruising down the Nile and going inside the Great Pyramid.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The Group leader was truely outstanding. Sayed demonstrated superb knowledge, spoke excellent English, went the extra mile to show us other aspects of Egyptian life that were not on the itinerary, showed empathy to Group members who were ill and had an excellent sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This holiday was an excellent balance of being able to see the sights whilst relaxing at hotels and on the Nile.
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    WILDLIFE & PHOTOGRAPHY IN THE PICOS DE EUROPA

    This was a week in the Picos exploring the various different wildlife habitats.  It's less of a photography holiday per se than just being in a place of great natural scenic beauty and having plenty of time to explore it in the company of an expert guide and photographer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was all great but I suppose sitting beside a river bank for 45 minutes watching an otter fishing in the sunshine was a highlight.  Of course, wildlife being wildlife, you have to be lucky to see something like that but this trip does maximise your opportunities.  I should point out that, whilst you may find evidence of wolves, you aren't going to see them (or bears) on this trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ilja is a fantastic guide - he loves this area and its wildlife with an infectious passion and is determined to try and make you feel the same way.  You'd never see half of this stuff on your own.  I mean, would you take your shoes and socks off and wade into a freezing murky pool halfway up a remote mountain just to find some newts to show us?  (They were amazing, by the way).  He also has a great sense of humour and enjoys a beer in the hotel bar afterwards.  I find it hard to think how he could have been any better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring binoculars - you are going to be doing a lot of wildlife spotting.  Be prepared for some long (but not arduous) days - you won't be going home while there are still things to see.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It helps if you like birds - these constitute the majority of the wildlife you will see, as they are always around.  If you don't, you will after this trip.
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    TAJ, TIGERS & TEMPLES - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    We have come back from 10 days in India saying this was our best holiday yet.  India is so different to home, the people, food, noise, smells, heat, buildings, food shops and transport but many things are familiar too - English speaking, fruit and veg markets, reserved train tickets, tea, chips, hotels, palaces, mobile phones.  I feel it's a great experience for children to be part of India and experience and learn about their way of life, history, culture, religion and values.  They do stare at you but equally we are interested in looking at them with their colourful saris and motorbikes with four people on and cows in the street.  Even thirty pounds of pocket money for our children can buy them some good souvenirs and teach them the value of money.    You come back feeling different about our life and wonder why we are so materialistic and stress ourselves out filling our days with clubs, activities, music, x-boxes and so much driving.  But it doesn't last for long until you get sucked into our way of life again yet long to go back and explore a different part of India and hopefully see a tiger next time!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Taj Mahal for the first time though the entrance archway was unique, it's such a beautiful building and the reflections in the pools are stunning, and so calm and peaceful considering the busy and noisy Indian life outside.  The blessing at Pushkar was quite moving and enjoyable just to soak up the atmosphere around the lake.  I also found it humbling to see hard working happy families with just a fraction of what we have.   The Indian people were happy to talk (especially a family we took pictures of in Jaipur and the school in Ranthambore) , via our guide about their lives and many a smile came into our conversations.   The Indian way of communicating by moving their head from side to side was lovely to watch and you felt like doing it yourself.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pravar Obhan was our guide and he made sure we had a great holiday.  We were the only family on the trip, namely myself and my two children (11 and 13) and Pravar arranged whatever we wanted to do, even things that were not on the optional activities, especially wildlife areas as we are keen wildlife photographers.  Pravar arranged a trip to a local school in Ranthambore, additional trip to Keoladeo National Park and another park and bear sanctuary, a blessing at Pushkar, Langaan cricket video and pizzas in Pushkar (best bit of the trip for my children especially with the massive thunderstorm and electrics tripping), trip to a music shop to buy a trumpet and flute, taking pictures of local people going about their everyday life, palm reading, auto ricksaw ride, Bollywood movie, shopping, coconut drink even a massive Dairy Milk chocolate bar!.  Pravar was considerate of our needs and well being, asking the guides to talk about the palaces in the shade, shielding us from one or two persistent child beggers, knowing where the safest food was, changing the itinerary when we felt the heat was too much.  Pravar was quick to organise all the other activities for us (he had a lot of contacts and made new ones) or even change taxi drivers if they were late and the air conditioning was not working very well and arranging an extra bed in the room as we are a family of three.  Pravar tried to keep up to date with the status of the trains to prevent us waiting unnecessarily at the stations and kept us informed what was happening.  Pravar was a promoter of all things Indian and embraced important life values and beliefs alongside us.  We had lots of fun too and have returned feeling very lucky for all the things that Pravar arranged and shared with us.   

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For families with young children, the first few days seem quite hectic coping with the heat and the early mornings so try and take it easy when back at the hotels.  Make sure you have bottled water to drink when out and about and an umbrella helped on the first day.   

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Try and join in a local cricket match if you see one, I wish we had stopped when we saw some teenagers playing.  
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF TIBET

    a pilgramage for me, facinating and eye opening experience friendly people and diverse scenery a mind challenging adventure . perfect for lay budhists but other aspects of the trip were equally engoyable and facinating .small group which was perfect in this instance.guide leaders experience and personality made the trip perfect

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    spiritual moments at a temple,the compassion and calmness within the local tibetan people and the unity of their philosophies.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    an amazing man oozing with compassion for his country, and fellow man. vast experience sensitive and humourous.could pitch at all levels. very helpfull

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    read up on basic budhist philosophy if interested as it is taught diferently in the west  allthough the principles are the same  there is such a wealth of information in its homeland that it could become overwhelming without some basic grounding. no problems with money food or locals plenty of things to do and visit .what are you waiting for ...go book it

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    has the potential for mind blowing insight if youre prepared  to relinquish pre learned thought processes
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    Great walks, stunning scenery, an inspirational guide and Mama's cooking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Finding myself scrambling over rocks and admiring the most incredible 360 degree views!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara is an outstanding group leader. She has a love for this area of Italy and a real feeling for the Garfagnana, it's people, way of life and culture. I found myself on a trip that took me out of my comfort zone and Sara's calm, yet inspiring leadership enabled me to achieve the ascents and descents that we undertook. She did so much for us whilst we were in her care and I've come home feeling that if you put your mind to it anything is possible. Thank you Sara.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The moderate walking week is in parts quite challenging and I would recommend that some preparation is done before the trip, to ensure that you have the stamina to cope with the rocky and steep paths of the Alpi Apenine. Walking poles are essential!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Braccicorti is a special place and although we were out for most of the day, once we were eating Mama's wonderful food, it was like being part of the family. 
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    NILE CRUISE

    A really wonderful trip in every way. So many amazing sites and experiences with a great group and a fantastic guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's almost impossible to pick out one moment as every day there were so many wonderful moments. Abu Simbel, Egyptian Museum, balloon ride over the Valley of the Kings, wandering through the souks in Cairo, Luxor and Aswan, the sunset sail in a felucca, the boat ride through the cataracts to visit a Nubian village, etc. etc. The cruise was a really lovely experience - so relaxing watching the world going by and seeing the sunset in the evening. (And Egyptian Night was great fun!!) Although I, like everyone else, had seen photographs of the Pyramids so many times, seeing them for real was spectacular - they did not disappoint!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sayed was a fantastic guide. He shared so much knowledge with us all, he took care of us so well and really ensured that we had an amazing holiday - which we did! He altered the itinerary on occasions but I really believe that these ammendments and alterations enhanced our experience even more. He is a very accomplished guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go now. Tourist numbers are still down so it was still relatively quiet in the tourist sights. At no time did we feel any threat and the people seemed genuinely pleased to see us. Don't be put off if your guide suggests the trip to Abu Simbel by coach. It's an early start whichever way you go. On the (excellent) bus we were able to sleep, saw the sunrise in the desert and the mirage on the return journey and the road conditions were fine.I took all hard currency - US dollars and some Egyptian pounds. I was a bit concerned about the amount of cash I had but was glad I did as some of the group had problems with ATMs and travellers cheques.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just to reiterate that it was a fantastic trip. Thank you to the group, Sayed and Exodus!
Call us on 0208 772 3936