Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    MOSCOW TO ST PETERSBURG

    A well planned trip with a good balance of seeing the key historical sites in Russia. More opportunity for the guide to support the group in identifying places not to be missed whilst in Russia.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Moscow, my childhood memories of Red Square and the Kremlin. To actually be standing in that place and visiting the Kremlin and Armoury were amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Overall Anya was a very good leader. At the initial meeting she made the itinery very clear was always on hand to answer questions and provide advice. In Moscow she provided a tour of the subway and a visit to Sparrow Hill, all excellent additions to that area. She provided excellent translation on the sleeper train when I had to share with a Russian couple. I felt the cycle ride in the park at Pushkin was unecessary and would have proferred to go straight to St Petersburg on that morning. Additionally, I believe that Anya could have given us the tour of St Petersburg as this is her home town, yet this was delegated to a local guide that spent to much time away from the key sites. Anya had a good sense of humour and would help with any questins you asked, however did become slightly defence if I suggested doing something slightly different from her plan.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to walk a long way if you would like to see all of what this trip has to offer in 8 days
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    MT TOUBKAL CLIMB

    I had a great time: the landscape, the other people on the trek, the guide and muleteers, the physical effort, the sun, the wind. It was just as challenging as I wanted it, and as the colours are quite different from what you get in the European mounatins, definitely worth the trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It-s hard to say, but I will go for the moment just before the peak of Toubkal when finally we could see over all the other mountains, that view was inspiring after the efforts to get up there, and the early start :)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide (Lahcen and Hassan) was great, excellent at pacing and had a good feeling of how fresh people were. Plus a lovely chap, funny and very knowlegeable! 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not much, I recommend the trek, also good in terms of value for money I think. If you want a week off from work, take this one. The business of Marrakech and the peacefulness of the moauntains are great! 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Maybe one thing to add is that you should take some cereal bars or similar as sometimes it takes time to get food in the evening. I prefer to eat a bit when trekking, and even though we got offered nuts, spicy and sweet, that was only at the rest points.  
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    TREKKING IN MADAGASCAR

    A very enjoyable trip overall. Madagascar is an interesting country and different to what I expected or to how it's presented to us on television. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On a personal level, the hike up Peak Boby - especially as I think the trip notes don't give an accurate view of the difficulty of this climb.Other than that, I think the people we met along the way who live in remote areas, with very little, yet were still interested in us being there and greeted us with smiles wherever we went.  Obviously the lemurs were a highlight. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I think Sol was great leader - although his sense of timescales leaves something to be desired. If he said something would take 2 hours we got to learn that actually it would be 4 hours!!I also think that some of the advice given about walks was a little misleading, especially the advice that poles weren't needed on the first walk of the trip. They are!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip notes mention that the accommodation is in tourist hotels. I found this to be misleading as actually we stayed in eco lodges (which I prefer) - but some people might be disappointed if expecting a hotel. The accommodation is basic which is to be expected, electricity limited and on some occasions no water available - even though we had bathrooms. It's worth bearing this in mind if you haven't done this kind of trip before.The camps are  very basic so take plenty of wet wipes! We always arrived at camp too late to be able to bathe in the river.Don't be fooled by the trip notes to thinking the climb up Peak Boby isn't difficult. I've done quite a lot of Exodus holidays and I think this climb was hard - probably due in some part to the heat. This day we climbed to the peak was also far too long a day and is something Exodus should look at. We left camp at 6am. It took 5hrs to get up and down Boby; we then had a short break for lunch and then had another 5.5 hour walk to the next camp. Again, I don't want it to sound like I didn't enjoy the holiday - I just think that some people might be misled and then not be able to physically do the walking. If you can cope with the above then this holiday is excellent and well worth considering.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think that this trip would be better if all the meals were included and paid for with the trip. The reason for this is that the meals at the lodges were a set menu at a set price, sometimes with a choice of 2 things, sometimes with no choice. It would then save time as we wouldn't have everyone having to pay a bill. Also, it would be better if the leader organised bread, cheese etc for lunches rather than the endless stops at supermarkets which added time on to already long days. This then might mean that you arrive at your lodge a little earlier rather than always arriving about 30mins before dinner. One last point, to Exodus - I really think you should stop letting more people on the trips than specified on the trip notes. This has now happened on our last 2 trips and makes the group too large, the buses too cramped and space round camping tables too squashed. I really hope that this isn't going to keep happening as it does take away from the experience of what an Exodus holiday should be.  
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    SIERRA DE AITANA TREK

    The area is an attractive place to walk but certainly graded as moderate to difficult would be more appropriate as many areas were challenging, especially the scrambling (I personally enjoyed that but others in our group did not).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Taking a few moments alone and basking in the quiet.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A fine guide but could perhaps be more considerate of the weaker members in the group; this would perhaps not be a problem if graded more accurately.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    INCA TRAIL, TITICACA & NAZCA

    Flights a DISASTER.  Why on earth you use United Airways I can't think.  Besides being regularly late there were 2 mechanical problems.  After having recovered from our outward journey and feeling positive, we then had to suffer further problems.  (Also the cabin crews generally were not particularly pleasant.)  Saying that, the time in Peru was very good.  The only down side was the long days travelling but I know there is no way around that.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trek was by far the best part of the holiday, and the superb views driving through the Andes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Fab(rizzio) was brilliant.  He dealt with everything we threw at him, all organisation was  excellent.  At times some of it appeared beyond his actual remit.  He also coped (better than the rest of the group) with a couple of awkward members of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the long road journeys.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Only to say that the representative who met us at Lima when we were a day late, was not the sort of person we needed to see.  Instead of being supportive and assuring all was OK, he told us (as though it was our faults) that we would have to pay for our night's accommodation and the rebooked flight the following day.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    I loved every minute, as a non walker, found some of the uphill walks tough, but was so pleased that I actually completed them, the views were well worth it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Actually completeing the walks with the terraine.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader was excellent, she was friendly, considerate, knowledgeable and clearly enjoyed her job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't miss out on this trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Everything was there for this walking holiday.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN ANDALUCIA

    The scenery of Andalucia is dramatic and varied. The hotel was charming, with welcoming staff and superb, local cuisine. An excellent guide and a great bunch of fellow travellers all combined to make this a holiday to remember.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Al fresco lunch at the deserted monastery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best pair of legs in the business! Highly motivating (Richie, not just his legs!) and very knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Consider hiring a car before or after this trip so that you can take in some of the other lovely places in the region.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    AMALFI COAST & BAY OF NAPLES

    Lots to see in a beautiful setting with a friendly hotel to return to each night.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The 'Walk of the Gods' in brilliant sunshine. The sea was unbelievably blue and the spring wildflowers brightened the hillsides.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was like a knowledgeable friend, always willing to do whatever was needed to make the holiday special.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Spring is lovely for the flowers, but make sure you bring warm clothing for the evenings.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A fascinating region and expect to add several inches to your waistline. The food in the hotel restaurant is excellent!
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous
    Trip:

    LA RUTA MAYA

    This is the first time we have been on an organised tour, and usually prefer independent travel.  However, given time pressures for organising this trip, we decided to give it a go and we were not disappointed at all!  It was an excellent trip, encompassing a large portion of the Mayan World.  We had brilliant experience from start to finish and we learned a lot about this facinating part of the world.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are too many to mention, but they include seeing Palenque and Tikal and of course, Machimon.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Diego Miranda was an excellent tour leader, he was very knowledgeable and professional and a really great person to get to know.  He adapted quickly and efficiently to the different needs of the group and was always approachable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you go near or in the wet season take a rain mac or poncho.  Also, proper walking shoes are adviseable.  Expect some long periods of time travelling to places - this is to be expected given the large area to be covered in a relatively short period of time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The best coffee and rum can be found in Guatemala - trust us!It's fascinating to see the cultures, landscapes, beliefs and lifestyles change as you move through the three countries visited on this trip.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    THE TURQUOISE COAST

    We booked the Turquoise Coast holiday based on the fact that it was graded B - Moderate, having been on two previous holidays with Exodus both graded B and on which the walking was plentiful and varied.  However, the walking in Turkey was limited to 3 days.   Day 1 took us on a walk, approximately 3-4 miles, to a beach and spent the afternoon there, buying lunch at the beach bar, taking a boat trip back.  Day 2 involved walking along an ancient acquaduct and ruins, approx 6 miles, again to a beach for the afternoon and lunch at the beach bar.  Day 3 was a 3 hr round bus trip out to a Turkish family for lunch- no walking (we opted out of this).   We took a boat trip over to Limonasa beach where the sun beds are free.  Day 4 was a short walk in the morning, back to Kas market.  Day 5 - free day.  Day 6 - no walking but sea kayaking (optional) over sunken ruins (disappointing).  Therefore we feel that this trip offered insufficient walking and should be re-graded as A - Leisurely.   Kas town is beautiful, lots of places to eat, bars and shops.  A word of warning, the Mosque(s) calls to prayer 5 times a day, starting at 5am, and there are 3 in Kas, so do take earplugs!  The guide offered a Turkish bath for 90 Lira at a hotel of their choosing however we booked in at Hotel Hera (on the sea front) for a Turkish bath and massage (2 hrs) for 70 Lira - fantastic, not to be missed and the spa itself is amazing, so is the experience.  Apart from the walking we had a great holiday.  The hotel is basic, usual problem of no shelves, drawers, coat hangers, poor shower etc, but nothing we couldn't cope with for a week.  We would go back to Kas, but probably to Hotel Hera!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Turkish ruins at Patara are quite a sight.  The Turkish bath at Hotel Hera is a must.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ozgur our guide was a great guy, knows the area and history.
Call us on 020 8772 3936