Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    GET INVOLVED: MOROCCO VOLUNTEER

    What an amazing experience!  The combination of working hard, seeing some stunning scenery and the pleasure of great company, all made for an outstanding trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Working as a group and repairing a flood damaged irrigation ditch while singing "Do Ron Ron ...".

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andy was excellent.  He strikes a great balance of being friendly and professional at the same time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your oldest clothes, working gloves and be prepared to get dirty.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    CAPE TOWN TO VICTORIA FALLS

    A great road trip, taking in all that Namibia has to offer with some extreme sports, safari and river cruises thrown in.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many good moments, but Cape Town for the great restauarants and scenery, Fish river canyon at sunset, the dunes of Namibia at dawn, game drive and river safari in Chobe and of course Victoria falls (Where we got soaked to the skin!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader Ronnie Kavari was great, abley assisted by the cook Jonas. Both were very knowledgable and did everything they could to make the trip and smooth and enjoyable as possible. One day the truck broke down  (and couldn't be repaired) and Ronnie pulled out all the stops and got us back on the road in a few hours.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Without wishing to state the obvious, Africa is BIG. We drove about 3300 miles in 3 weeks! So that means there are days when you are in the truck most of the time. Plenty of short stops and stunning scenery but you simply have to eat up the miles! Also to see the animals on Safari or to see the sun rise you have to be up EARLY! - 4.30am on occassion.  A "lie in" is a 7am start.But if you see a Leopard at 6.15am or the sun light up the Nambian dunes you'll soon forget the lack of sleep!Really consider getting to Cape Town a day or two early as there is so much to see and do it would be a shame to miss it all.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great trip. If you're new to Africa also consider Cape Town to Johannesburg. Really different scenery and equally as rewarding.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLE INDOCHINA & ANGKOR

    Overall an excellent trip and one which I would and will recommend to friends/family. This was my first trip to South East Asia and it certainly gave me a feeling of wanting to go back and see more in this part of the world.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many memories which will stay with me for a long time, but the overall experience of seeing a different way of life was probably the most memorable. Crossing two land borders by bike was something which I was looking forward to before the trip and both were really facinating experiences ! Angkor is such an amazingly vast area and exploring it by bike was the ideal way to see it. In contrast cycling in some of the busy traffic in Siem Reap was quite an experience ! Our visit to the Killing Fields and fromer S21 jail in Phnom Penh were both really moving. Both are very important to see in order to fully understand the terrible events which took place in Cambodia in the 1970's & which the country has had to overcome. Into Vietnam and I particuarly enjoyed the cycling around the paths around the Mekong area the night after the homestay. The homstay itself exceeded expectations. Saigon was a city which impressed me and also exceeded my expectations. Although, I have never seen so many motorbikes - crossing the road was an experience !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Moh was a excellent tour leader - really professional and ensured the smooth running of the tour from start to finish. There were two birthdays during our trip and she organised a birthday cake for both ! The leaders in Cambodia (Dyka) and Vietnem (Long) were also great and really passionate about showing us their respective countries. All leaders were full of energy and enthusiasm !

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The homestay night might be something which potential travellers may be unsure/curious about. I think everyone in our group would ageee that it exceeded our expectations. It was actually very newly built and had good shower/bathroom facilities. The food was also particularly good !  There are good opportunities to do laundry in both Siem Reap and Saigon.The longest cycling days are during the first part of the trip in Thailand, when it is most likely you will be recovering from jet lag/getting used to the heat. There is no pressure to complete all the cycling on these days and the back up bus/truck is always there if you want a break.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you want an experience of South East Asia in a little over two weeks go for it !The only suggestion I would make to Exodus is to perhaps consider a slight change in the schedule so as to have a day seeing the sites in Bangkok at the start of the tour. Therefore, allowing the opportunity to see the sites of the city and have a day getting used to the heat, before starting the cycling part of the trip,and then gradually increasing the cycling distances each day, rather than having the longest cycling days at the start of the trip.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    DELHI TO KATHMANDU

    Brilliant trip-every day different and very interesting. We had many amazing experiences and got a genuine insight into 2 different countries in 2 weeks- leaves you wanting to go back to both India and Nepal. Definately go on this trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to choose from! The Taj Mahal was haunting and beautiful and although I had seen many pictures of it it was far better than my expectations and I didn't want to leave. Varanasi was absolutely amazing at any time of day-sunrise, throughout the day and sunset. Sunrise over the Annapurnas was magnificent and really awe inspiring as was the walk back down to the lake. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good. He arranged lots of extras such as visiting local villages to meet the locals and see their way of life, visiting one of the numerous brick factories, seeing women working in the fields and visiting a totally unexpected and fascinating step well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Drink plenty of water (bottled water available on the bus), use plenty of hand gel, wear a sunhat and don't worry about the overnight train, long journeys or stomach upsets. Most people on our trip were fine (a few had a minor stomach upset but it didn't really stop them doing anything). Our group (16 of us) all got on well and I went on my own and found everyone really friendly.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just go on this trip!
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    EGYPTOLOGY

    A fantastic experience, so well organised, educational and fun!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting so many temples and tombs was truly awe inspiring, you could simply feel the history and the dedication that went in to all the carving and painting.  The hustle and bustle of Cairo contrasted perfectly with the beautiful scenery of Aswan and the holiday atmosphere of Luxor.  Tourists are made to feel so welcome, the locals are rightly proud of their country's magnificent history.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Fouad was brilliant, very knowledgeable and gave us a real insight into the history and culture of ancient (and modern) Egypt, with a bit of fun thrown in.  He made sure we were safe and looked after everything, we just had to turn up at the appointed times and enjoy our trip.  He even arranged evening meals at authentic local restaurants (plus the Kings Head pub in Luxor!) for those who wanted to go out.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I was worried by all the stories of ill health you hear about Egypt but no-one in our group of 9 was ill, most of us followed usual advice (don't drink the water, no salad or fruit unless peeled, use hand gel) and I think it helped that our guide had the local knowledge to take us to the right sort of restaurants.The armed tourist police and armed hotel security men in Cairo seem alarming at first but you soon get used to it.  Cairo and Giza are not places you should walk round without a guide, especially women. The overnight train is an experience - beds OK, but dodgy loos, club car from the 1960's full of smoke but with no alcohol, and evening meal pretty inedible so take your own food (though breakfast OK).  But train was on time both journeys, which is a nice change from my local trains.  Late March seemed the perfect time to go, weather wise.  And follow your guide's advice for getting rid of salesmen!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip has been well thought out - your time is used very wisely to see as much as possible of Egypt yet you still have some opportunity for relaxing and a bit of exploring on your own.  The hotels and the cruise ship are luxury standard, there is no roughing it on this trip except for the overnight trains.None of the hotels or the ship were busy, and tourist sights weren't packed which I understand was the case before the revolution, so it was a great opportunity to see everything.  Hopefully for the locals the tourist trade will pick up.  
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    TRAILS OF BORNEO

    Excellent trip, very varied.    The whole group were great fun, overall an excellent holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many. Deer caves and the bats. Getting caught in our first torrential downpour reminded us we really were in the rain forest.  Finding our first leech, don't get many of them where we live on Dartmoor!  Reaching the peak of Kinabalu in clear sunshine, then almost having to swim back down in torrentail rain.  Being fortunate enough to see as much wildlife as we did on the Kinatabatang river, wild orang-utans, proboscis monkeys and pygmy elephants.  Chilling out at Kota-Kinabalu resort along with Louis the sheep.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Awang was very knowledgable and good fun.  Reacted positively to our suggestions and organised some extra trips.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect it to rain every day and pack accordingly.  We found it difficult to get stuff dry.  Take a poncho or buy one a at Mulu. If you are offered the option of doing the Pinnacles be aware that this is very tough and you need to be sure you will be able to recover in time for Kinabalu.If you want to do the canopy walk at Mulu insist that your local guide books it up before you go to camp 5.  Our guide didn't book and when we got back there were no places available which was a great dissapointment to all.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our itinerary was changed and we did Kinabalu summit in the middle of the holiday.  On the whole this was probably a good thing as it would be pretty grim sitting on a plane for 12hrs with such achey knees! We could have done with more time at the Rainforest discovery centre in Sepilok but our short time there may have been due to the itinerary change. 
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    ATLAS PANORAMA

    This is an excellent trip if you want to enjoy Marrakech and varied walking

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The panoramic walk on the second day in the high atlas where it is possible to view the high and anti atlas mountain

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan was very informative about the Berber way of life
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    A thoroughly enjoyable trip despite less than ideal weather. Beautiful scenery, stunning views, excellent company.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The view from the col on the way up to the arch was breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara is a fantastic leader. She clearly knew the area extensively (and seemed to know everybody) and controlled the pace of the walks very well. She is a very interesting, witty and caring person who made the holiday pretty special for me. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go. The scenery and views are wonderful. The walks are challenging (7-10 miles and up to 1000m climbs) but not technically difficult (I went on the B grade). Lots of people say walking poles are essential but I think that's personal preference because I managed fine without. Sara will lend you a pair f you want to try them out. Weather was cold in April so take several layers and remember to bring gloves (I didn't !)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Braccicorti is a lovely farmhouse, comfortable and the food was excellent.  They make their own wine (included with the meals) which I thought was much better than most bought wines. Two lovely, friendly dogs. 
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    PERU EXPLORER

    Amazing, fantastic, what an adventure.  Just love Peru.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I went up to Mach Picchu, with a travel companion, for an extra afternoon.  We traveled up in an empty bus so the driver stopped for us to take photos.  So exciting going up there, looking for those first glimpses of the Inca city, and then we arrived.  Machu Picchu takes your breath away, that first view, the beauty of the site, of the surrounding mountains. awesome.  I had to pinch myself to make sure I was really there.  The dream of a lifetime.  As the afternoon wore on people left.  We stayed on until closing and enjoyed the peace and quiet, the calm.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rene, our group leader was just great.  He was very knowledgable about all things Peruvian, the country, the Inca's, politics, wild life and flora.  It was great to see him, and local guides taking photos even though they have been to the sites repeatedly.  We were looked after vey well.  thank you so much Rene.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You don't need to take U.S. dollars.  Sterling can be changed just as easily.  April was a great time to go.  The weather was good, very little rain, layers of clothing worked well.  Also the wild flowers were stunning.I did suffer from altitude sickness.  Just get help if you struggle, don't wait until you are really ill.  Coaches and hotels all have oxygen and there are designated altitude clinics. They are geared up to help travellers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Alpaca is the best meat.  So tender.  Was not so excited by guinea pig.  Prefere them alive.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    PERU EXPLORER

    Great trip - my fourth with Exodus and as good as the previous ones. Several thousand miles, many amazing places and sights.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After spending 4 days walking the Inca trail, to arrive at the Sun Gate and see Machu Pichu appear below us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was very good - passionate and informed about his country and solved any problems that arose.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are thinking about it - then go and enjoy!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Well worth going for the three weeks - I felt that I got a better feel for this amazing country and its people.
Call us on 0208 772 3936