Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    Incredible India

    This is my 3rd cycling holiday with Exodus and once again a fantastic experience, this trip we managed to fill the whole trip with friends who loved every minute of it, we are busy planning our next cycling trip with Exodus already.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As always these trips are so well organised, the tour leader and back up staff go out of their way to help and assist you, nothing is ever too much trouble.  I just loved all the cycling through the back roads off the beaten tracks, stunning scenery with the ocean on one side.  The climb up Ooty was probably the most talked about subject on the trip - probably the hardest thing a few of us had done but at the same time manageable even if you have to walk part of the climb.  I have to say the accommodation on this trip was outstanding especially the houseboat!  And of course the food - just way too much!  Don't expect to lose weight on this trip!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was brilliant, always willing to assist and part with information.  The 2 support guys were amazing too.  Such nice guys.  Always a smile on their faces. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I do think you need to have some bike skills for this trip, cycling in the traffic can be a little daunting at times, luckily not too much of it.  If you feeling insecure rather pull over and wait for the large vehicle to overtake you - the pecking order is alive and well in India.  A level of fitness is obviously necessary, the first week is probably the hardest week, the 2nd week is mostly dead flat.  If you plan on waiting at the top of the Ooty climb for all the party to arrive perhaps put a space blanket or light jacket in your pocket, we had more than 2 hours to wait at the rest stop and were quite cold waiting for the others to arrive.  Cold in India, yes we did feel cold!  Apart from Ooty is is HOT HOT HOT and HUMID!The kitty works well - covers all the extras apart from alcohol, for 2 weeks you dont even have to think, everything is taken care of for you.  Outstanding. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I can honestly recommend this trip - India is full of delights, like nothing I've experienced before and on a bicycle it is a real treat as we rode in places where no bus or vehicle could go so you get to see the real India.  And of course it is dirt cheap - 12 of us caught a ferry one day on our free day in Cochin - the journey took 20 minutes and the fare for all 12 of us was 50 cents!! 
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    FINNISH WILDERNESS WEEK

    A week in the snow isn't for everyone but if your even considering this trip i'm pretty sure you'll enjoy it. You get "taster sessions" of a few activities which is great if you haven't done these before. The one drawback is that without signing up for "optional activities", which are pretty expensive and in some cases very poor value for money, you get far too much free time in a place where there are a limited number of things to do.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Normally I would say the dog sledding which was just great but on our trip we were very lucky with the northern light's seeing them five night's out of seven with a tremendous display one night. This was without doubt the highlight of the week, Henri put the show in his all time top five!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Henri was great, cheerful, helpful and informative and all in good english!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    They issue you with all the clothing you need for the outdoors so you can probably leave some of the things you were going to bring at home, the only exception in my opinion is headgear which you can never have too much of.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I hope you're lucky with the lights!
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN JORDAN

    A fantastic week with a great group. Although Petra was the highlight, Wadi Rum came a close second. Having two full days to explore Petra was just right, and although I wasn't sure about my first sight of the Treasury being by candlelight after a long day of travelling and swimming in the Dead Sea, with hindsight I'm glad we did it that way round. I certainly wouldn't have been up to another walk up and down the Siq on the final evening after two hard days of walking and climbing. I particularly liked the way we were given a very informative guided tour of each attraction and then allowed plenty of time to explore by ourselves.The Jordanian people were particularly welcoming and friendly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    That first glimpse of the Treasury from the Siq at Petra has to be my first choice, but the vast silence of Wadi Rum cmes a close second.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Khaled is a wonderful leader. Nothing was too much trouble, and his considerable knowledge combined with  unfailing good humour ensured we never suffered from information overload. He was always there to answer the million questions we threw at him, and was equally willing to help with problems and queries beyond what I would expect from a holiday guide.  A truly inspirational leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Collect small change in coins at every opportunity. There are lavatory attendants at all tourist attractions (many handing out loo paper to each individual customer) who expect to be tipped. Calls of nature can become expensive when you have to hand out a 1 dinar note, roughly the equivelant of £1 each time you only want to spend a penny. Take flipflops or crocs for the Dead Sea -- the sand is very sharp and crunchy, even under water. Check the weather forecast for Jordan before final packing. I left a warm and sunny London in early March to find snow piled in the streets of Amman. It was unusual weather for the time of year, but luckily, I had warm and waterproof clothing. Three days later, we were swimming in the warm waters of the Dead Sea and sunbathing on the beach.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotels were surprisingly good, of a higher standard than I expected. Aqaba was also a surprise. Unexpectedly cosmopolitan and pleasant seaside city, totally unlike the hustle and bustle of Amman.
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    COLOURS OF RAJASTHAN, INDIA

    A truly amazing trip which exceeded our already high expectations. This was a perfect way to get to see the main sites in Rajasthanand to get a feel for the real India.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were very lucky in that we saw tigers on both of our drives (morning and afternoon) in Ranthambore National Park. The afternoon sighting was exceptional. We spent two hours sitting watching a tiger which was no more than 4 metres away from us. It was dozing, occasionally waking to look at us. It then got up and wandered past us for a toilet stop, before settling down again.This was a highlight, but to be honest, there were so many.  I could have spent all day sitting in a the magnificent Jain temple at Ranakpur.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mayur Hada was brilliant. He was experienced, knowledgeable and considerate - everything you want in a guide. He really made everything come alive, and the trip would not have been as good without him. He made sure that on the long driving days, we always had an interesting place to stop mid-way, rather than just having a simple lunch stop. Chittorgarh (an unscheduled stop not mentioned in the dossier) was the best of these, and actually warrants an overnight stop.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the dossier so you're not surprised by the hectic pace of the trip and the occasional very long driving days. Don't change too much money when you arrive - the dossier estimate of up to £15 per day for meals is way too high. Most dishes were £3  - £4 each, and would often feed two people. There are lots of ATMs, so change as you go.Leave space in your bag for some of the fantastic things you can buy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotels were much better than expected from the dossier, so don't expect to be roughing it. Only the hotel in Agra was a bit below par. The only negative thing about the trip was that we all felt that it needed to be 2 days longer. We felt that an afternoon in Delhi when we arrived would have allowed us to recover from the journey, see a bit of Old Delhi, and allow us to travel to Agra the following day in time to to see the fort that evening. Similarly, and overnight stop in (fabulous) Chittorgah would have broken up the long drive from Bundi to Udaipur
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    DELHI TO KATHMANDU

    Had an amazing trip, so much more than I expected. Our guide Avtar was so passionate about the area that I feel we got a real insight into India. He made a real effort, and whilst we saw everything on the iternary we also experienced so much more. Have already encouraged my parents to book the same trip and ask for Avtar singh as their guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved being on the bank of the ganges, and seeing people who were supremly calm despite the choas around them. I also loved Avtar's chai breaks, where we got to meet local people and try local foods, these really made the trip for me. I also enjoyed the visit to the sikh temple, the people were warm and inviting and I learnt a lot.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Avtar Singh was a brilliant leader. so much more than I expected. He was enthusatic and energetic. he got everyone involved and manged to include everyone in the group. he is a natural 'people person', and through him we were able to interact with locals in a way that I would never have done on my own. He is a kind good natured person, with pride for country, that means he cannot wait to show people. As said above my parents are booking an Exodus trip and I have advised them to request him as their guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    just go, was such a good break.
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLE INDOCHINA & ANGKOR

    First class tour - wonderfully organised and with a fantastic bunch of people.  The guides and back-up crew were always there when required, and the accommodation was great. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As other reviewers have pointed out, the Angkor Wat complex is, indeed, awe-inspiring.One of the moments for me, though, was taking a boat on Ton Le Sap lake - a truly massive lake upon which thousands of people live and work.  The poverty is shocking, but who are we to judge.  The homestay overnight and following day's boat-trip and cycle ride on the Mekong were also inspirational, and have given me a few ideas about going back to the region and maybe exploring life on the Mekong in much greater depth.The food!  Everywhere we went.   The villagers and village life, and their friendliness in those parts of these countries.  A complete contrast to the cities.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All three were first class.  Siam (from Thailand) held the whole thing together really well over the three legs, while the others (Fila for Cambodia and Yam for Vietnam) provided intimate local knowledge on their individual segments.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is hot (>40C) in these countries in February/March, so people that have not done this sort of thing before might consider going a few days in advance to acclimatise.  The back-up crews are always on-hand with water, electrolytes and fruit/chocolate, but make sure you take on water at every opportunity.Try every type of food the guides suggest, including the crickets, beetles, and tarantulas to name a few.  But, by the same token, check with them before you try anything radically new!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Try this.  Can't recommend it highly enough.  If you've never done anything like this before - like me - give it a go and really (pleasantly) surprise yourself.
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER COSTA RICA

    Excellent trip for wildlife and birds !!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the Agouti walk out of the woods in front of me.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent natural history knowledge.
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    Great Trekking, Great Hotel, Great Company:  Fabulous holiday 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking aroung the rim of Vesuvius!.... Unforgetable
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - LEMOSHO ROUTE

    I have to be honest and say that I didn’t enjoy much of the trip due to the lack of support from the rest of the group.  I still think about the trip even though I’ve been back for two months – the mountain gets inside your head!  I wish I’d tried for the summit, but it’s a different feeling being back home than being at base camp at midnight on a very cold and windy night (it was the worst wind they’d seen all season) and the temperature went down to -20 on summit night.  I will try it again one day!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As I did not reach the summit, climbing up the Barancha wall was a real achievement – especially after our guide told us that he tried to help Roman Abramovich up the wall, but he gave up by the kissing stone!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All the assistant guides were great, but I wasn’t impressed with the chief guide.  I struggled quite a lot to stay with the rest of the group, and I didn’t find him particularly encouraging.  When I said I wasn’t going to try for the summit, he didn’t encourage me at all.  My husband attempted the summit, but had to turn back due to altitude sickness.  Twice the guide told him to push on, even though he had been sick and had a very bad headache.  He should have taken my husband down to camp much sooner.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely hire an exodus sleeping matt, well worth it.  It gets very cold at night.  Only the first 2 nights were warmish, the other nights were freezing!  Wear lots of layers in bed.About half of our group didn’t take Diamox.  Two that didn’t take it ended up having to take it on summit night to help them reach the summit.  Stick together as a group as much as possible.  It’s not a race.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If I did the climb again, I would definitely do it with people I know.  The other members of our group were not at all interested in walking Pole Pole (slowly slowly), as advised by the guides.  Even when I was asked to walk directly behind the guide, the rest of the group were trying to overtake me.  At the end of everyday, certain members of the group were complaining that they could have walked faster and longer.  On day one, everyone said that if we all stayed together, we would all make it.  This was quickly forgotten and it was every man/woman for themselves.  The guides didn’t try to discourage this, so the group was split everyday, 5 in one group, and myself and my husband in one group.  I found this extremely demotivating, being away from the rest of the group.  On summit night, I decided to stay in camp, and no-one tried to encourage me to try for the summit.  I felt extremely let down by the rest of the group and the guides.  Having watched the celebrities doing the Kili climb for Comic Relief, I was hoping our trek might be the same – everyone encouraging everyone else.  Our trek was not like that at all.I still achieved everything that the other members of the group did (apart from reach the summit), albeit a bit slower – but that is the philosophy of the guides, slowly slowly.On the plus side, the porters are fantastic – they’re simply not human!  To carry what they do every day is amazing.  And the chef was awesome, the food he served was better than some I’ve had in some restaurants!  To be served chips at over 3000 metres was super!
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    PYRENEES WINTER WALK & SNOWSHOE

    A real get away from it all experience. I usually do all my plotting and scheming when I'm walking but snow shoeing took all my concentration

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    High in the snow on the mountains, clear blue skies and sense of achievement , big dose of fresh air , meeting no-one but our party  and just animal prints in the snow

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Perfect mix of professionalism and friendliness

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip notes were comprehensive the only query we all had was whether you really needed a 40litre day packWe all thought smaller would do

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall great holiday , good combinationGlad I selected this trip, was looking at warmer climes
Call us on 0208 772 3936