Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    LAND OF THE TIGER

    Everything was perfect. Being on your own you are always a bit apprehensive at the start but the leader and the nature of the trip soon allayed these fears.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many but I will identify three; first seeing such a variety of wildlife including the tigers, second the Exodus sponsored school at Bandhavgarh and third the Taj Mahal.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Probably the best leader I have experienced in my many years of travelling. He was always there when you wanted him without being "in your face", he was always cheerful, well organised and most importantly he was knowledgeable - the best.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are thinking of visiting India don't think any further book the Land of the Tiger with Exodus.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This tour really gives you a taste of India as well as an appreciation of its wildlife. It is fully packed with new experiences every day. Thank you all at Exodus for a truly wonderful holiday.
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    The walking was varied with great views every day and the hotel owners were determined to put pounds on us with their delicious food.  My calf muscles were groaning after the steps to Amalfi but otherwise the walking was reasonably easy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walking with views.  Pompeii and Herculaneum.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly thoughtful person, well organised.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walk up and down a lot of steps before you go.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    GUATEMALAN HIGHLANDS & VOLCANOES

    A great trip - It was AMAZING when we heard, felt and saw Santiaguito Volcano erupt and saw the rust cloud bellow up high into the sky!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Joan-Carlos (of Restaurant Sabe Rico, Antigua) was our cook for the time of our camping – His passion, enthusiasm, support to locals and presentation of the food was far beyond any expectation - Something I will always remember – He was a true gentleman and inspirational ambassador of Guatemala and all things good!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    FAB - Guides (Pedro and Pablo) were very passionate about and proud of their country! So much so that sometimes you felt it was their holiday and not yours - they spent lots of time searching out birds and photographing! On a few of the evenings one of the guides would down-load his pictures of the day and we would have a slide show – And also some local music!! 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I'd say taking walking sticks is a must - a help on the way up and great support on the way down.Also if you go around March time, it's the end of the dry season so the paths are VERY dusty, take trousers you' re willing to be damaged or throw away after!! Also you could consider taking some protection for your mouth for breathing in the dust (like a light scarf).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Good that only 8 in the group as meant trek never spread out too much.Dont' get me wrong this is an excellent trip!... but to improve1. The main reason for me picking this tour was to see molten lava, and I didn’t. The trip notes use the word ‘molten’ on the day-2 activities, and there’s a picture in the trip notes of someone stood next to molten lava. The word molten and the picture need to be removed from the trip notes, so others are not disappointed like me. If not I will consider contacting Trading Standards in approximately one month. (But d2. Disappointed in the excess polystyrene packaging used for the packed lunch of day-12 (Georginas Hot Springs). Considering we were in the most agricultural area of the trip, very poor breakfast (white bread, ketchup and processed cheese sandwich) of day-13 (Georginas Hot Springs). Nothing can compare to Joan-Carlos' breakfats!!! 3. Suggest guides turn off their mobile phones while on trek/walks. They had walkie-talkies so mobiles not necessarily needed.4. For the last two nights the group was split across two hotels, which was disappointing - Appreciate this would not generally be the aim.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    Many thanks for your feedback on the Guatemalan Highlands and Volcanoes trip - it sounds like you had a wonderful trip! The lava flow on Pacaya does shift regularly, but I have reviewed our Trip Notes and updated the description and images to most accurately reflect the latest situation on the volcano. I am also speaking with Georginas Hot Springs to see what we can do to minimise packaging and improve the breakfast offered during this excursion. It's great to hear that you found the breakfasts made by Juan Carlos to be a highlight!

    Vicky Boughton - Trip Manager for Guatemala

  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    CAMINO DE CUBA

    The trip was rated moderate, however one of the days was really strenuous.  We hiked for almost 11 hours.  It was very hot, though we were hiking under trees so it was mostly shady.  The rest of the trip was quite gentle hiking.  We learned a lot about Cuba during the trip from our very knowledegable guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting a farm house in Vinales and watching a famer roll and smoke a cigar from his home grown tobacco. Swimming in the Carribean.  This was an extra activity added by our Guide at our request. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was very, very good.  Good logistics and interpersonal skills.  We also had an excellent driver.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The climb up Pico Turquino and on to the second bunkhouse is a very long day.  When you get to the top of the mountain there is no actaul view because of the vegeation, however there are good views on the way up.  The bunkhouse accomodations at the base camp prior to the ascent are very basic (though you can get beer there!)  Our guide had the foresight to bring vegeatables for our supper at the bunkhouse. The 'toilet' facilities were pretty bad.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip was very varied and we saw a lot of different aspects of Cuban life.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF NORTHERN INDIA

    A dream come true.  Whirlwhind to say the least and not for the faint-hearted!  Having said that, it was everything I had hoped for and a lot more!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The welcome we got in the little village we visited, the first view of the Taj Mahal, "Main Street" Jaipur, watching the sunrise on the Ganges in Varanasi, Mahatma Gandi museum, seeing a tiger up close!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pravar was the ideal leader - organised, knowledgeable, very likeable personality with a great sense of humour, and took a genuine interest in each member of the group ensuring everyone's well-being.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ladies should wear sports bras - especially if sitting on the back seat of the bus!  Despite following all the safeguards closely, almost everyone developed one form of Delhi Belly or another.  Locally bought medication was very effective and cheap as chips!  I believe the local "dioralite" equivalent is vile so bring your own.  We had excellent advice from Pravar (tour leader) to drink loads of water right from the start and so drink it whether you feel like it or not.  You will be surprise how little you pee! My friend and I travelled from Manchester - arrival at aiport 3 hours before flight,  8 hour flight to Dubai, then a 3 hour wait at Dubai for the connection to Delhi, then another 3-4 hours.  The long drive from Delhi aiport to our first night-stop (Jaipur) on top of everything was a killer.  I would certainly recommend getting to Delhi the day before and getting a decent night's sleep ahead of the bone-shaker bus ride to Jaipur! We chose the evening flight to return to the UK so it meant we had a full day in Delhi - ideal for hiring a taxi from the hotel (1700 rupees for 8 hours or 80km) for sightseeing.  There were 6 of us sharing and we paid 300 rupees each (just over £4!) 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you wear contact lenses, bring your glasses!  Ranthambhore Park was very dusty and although I had wrap- around sports sunglasses, the dust still got in and killed!  Don't bring too many clothes!  You can rinse through at night and it will be dry by morning.  Enjoy the warmth and friendliness of the Indian people!
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    This was my first Exodus experience and if you're worried about what to expect, don't be. Busy lives mean that most of us just don't have the time to plan every day of our holiday. Well, thank you Exodus for taking away that pressure. I didn't have to think...I had time to enjoy, knowing that the planning was taken care of, in our case, by our guide Christine. And taken care of so well, thank you Christine!I felt like I was looked after, thoroughly enjoyed being part of a group and would recommend the scenery of Southern Italy. Thank you Exodus, be seeing you again! P.S. Our hotel was fab: from the food (& drink!) to the rooms and also the excellent staff.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    ANTARCTIC EXPLORER

    What can I say?! The most amazing trip, far exceeding the expectations that I had held for a lifetime! Each experience seemed to surpass the last , and I hold the memory in my head each day since returning home.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Zodiac cruising on a sublime cloudless day, encircling aquamarine icebergs, quietly observing a leopard seal casually lounging on an icefloe. The intense colours, the stark white of the ice and snow contrasting with the deepest blue ocean. The sound of penguin chatter and raucous calls,  the soft patter of penguin feet while I sat very still on the beach, listening, absorbing and watching the astonishingly beautiful scene before me. Humpback whales breaching and the whoosh of the sea as they played out the spectacle. Hourglass dolphins accompanying the ship as we approached Cape Horn. Listening to the group leader, Shane, reading a short poem about the wandering albatross and lost sailors  as we approached land at Tierra del Fuego.. Sitting with like minded people, conversing about our adventure. The feel of the ship under my feet as I stood at the bow, looking, watching and looking...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant! Shane was professional, informative, kindly and always concerned for our safety, well being and enjoyment!! Cannot speak too highly of him. Inspirational.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read up on Antarctica before you go, it will enhance your awareness of what to look for. Take more memory cards than you think you'll need. Sea sickness pills are provided and are effective( although we were very lucky - no Drake shake!). Take your time when on shore, stay still and the penguins will come to you. Take time to look, look and look... there is nowhere else on earth like this....you wont see anywhere like it and it deserves to be experienced fully. The ship is warm, you dont need outdoor gear inside! High factor suncream and moisturiser is necessary- the weather can be snowy, dry , windy, cold, sunny - protect your skin. Forget about your phone- no signal after the Beagle Channel. Its good to be able to email but dont get hung up on it- you can do that at home. And perhaps when taking photos- just put your camera aside sometimes and look around you...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The yellow jackets from Quark are pretty much indestructible! Marvellous item of clothing, plus the interactive fleece is great! I cannot recommend Quark and Exodus highly enough. Every aspect of the trip was planned and executed without a hitch- the only thing that prevents you doing anything is the weather- control is an illusion..! Take every opportunity to absorb each minute of the trip- it is unique and totally unforgettable. Do not wait to go.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    TIGERS AND CRICKET SAFARI WITH PAUL GOLDSTEIN

    This trip should come with a Government Health Warning. Booking a trip with Mr Goldstein can cause serious addiction. Symptoms include a craving for more, feelings of fulfilment and in the most severe of cases, a desire to play cricket. If you seek a quiet, lethargic hoilday devoid of culture, interest and laughter, this is not the trip for you. Those of a nervous disposition or those who are photographically precious need not apply.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    "Yellow burning eyes penetrating the bamboo thicket."Psychologically broken and physically restrained ?, not here. Intoxicating felines in the wild, where they should be, how they should be and where they must stay.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    "Balvinder", one of the most sincere and caring guides I have ever met.As for Paul, this charismatic man does run on E's; Emotive, Effervescent and Ebullient.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Blow the dust off your red balls, get out those bats and get some cricket practice in before you go. Sport is not about "the taking part", what nonsense. It is all about winning.This year the Tigers put in a valiant effort but more runs resulted from the Delhi Belly than from the pitch.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Wildlife watching can seriously improve your health. It is not an exact science, it is a gamble, but then so is life!
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    DELHI TO KATHMANDU

    The trip was a great experience, if not actually a holiday! We received an almost total immersion in the sights, sounds, tastes and smells of India and Nepal and came home with the definite intention to return to see more. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is very difficult to pick one single thing as almost everything we saw and did was new and exciting.The Taj Mahal at sunrise was incredibly beautiful but the Amber Fort was equally impressive.Sunset on the Ganges at Varanassi was a moving experience, as was seeing the funeral pyres at Kathmandu.A visit to a primary school, seeing the bright and polite young children working hard to improve their lot, was a bonus.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sanjay was a credit to himself and the company. His whole approach helped the group form quite a close bond, almost from the start at Delhi airport. He was knowledgeable, amusing, interesting and interested and led the group superbly, without appearing to be directing us in any forceful way. He certainly did not allow us to waste any time on the trip, providing all that was promised in the trip notes and more besides. In his own words, which became a catch phrase for all of us, he was "very nice"!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for an experience, rather than a restful holiday, but take advantage of everything on offer as far as sights and trips go, as well as the food.Don't rely on having any clothing laundered while away; far better to travel with enough lightweight clothes to survive the trip.Make sure you have plenty of batteries and memory cards (or even film) for your cameras - there is just so much to record for future enjoyment.The large, three round pin, electrical adaptors which some websites recommend, do not fit in all hotels. The smaller, two round pin, adaptors work almost everywhere. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If other Exodus trips are as good as this one was, I look forward to going again. In any case, this taste of India and Nepal has given me the desire to return before too long.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous
    Trip:

    CYCLING CUBA

    I throughly enjoyed the trip, the company, the country, the history, the locals and the food and I am a VEGETARIAN!!! The local people went that extra mile to ensure that I did not have omelettes every meal. I would say htink very seriously about the time of year that you cycle as it did get very hot for me... also try and get a few weeks in the saddle before you go so as the cycling is not too ardous and you can enjoy the early starts from breakfast :-0)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The fact that all cubans are cuban, the people pull together...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    An absolute gem!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Cycle before you go, don't pack too many items, take a lot of sun screen, take an attachment to fit on your bike to  carry items such as camera. Take protein bars if you are a veggie.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do it, the hardsest part is parting with the money, an absolute fantsastic trip, great company and just blooming brilliant!!!!!!