Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Word - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous
     Cuba, a dream come true, it's history, it's flowers, it's health service, it's people and more. We got it all on our trip. It was extremely busy but worth it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I made it to the top of Cubas highest mountain and got my picture taken with Hose Marti to prove it!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alesandro was amazing. He dealt with broken legs, bus break-ins, double bookings to national parks and more. Despite all, he managed to convey an aura of not a care in the world and was also pretty hot with the Salsa.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take Salsa dance lessons before you go.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous
    What was amazing was the lack of traffic on the motorways - one car every 5 minutes!  Lots of bikes, rickshaws, pony traps, horses, bullock carts and trucks full of people.  Amazing 1950's American cars - couldn't take enough photos of them.  People waiting for lifts at every corner.  Music everywhere - cafes, restaurants, in the squares and parks at any time of the day.  Food much better than we expected.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking to Fidel Castro and Che Guevara's hideaway in the Sierra Maestra mountains.  The stay at Santo Domingo was magical in spite of the rain - everyone relaxed and danced that evening.  Could have stayed another night.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Freddie was well organised, imaginative and well informed.  He led us to extremely good restaurants banishing our orginal idea of bad food in Cuba.  It was not all rice and beans! He was thoughtful and took on board our wishes.  We learnt a lot about Cuba through him.  His knowledge of English was outstanding.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take some children's and adult clothes to donate through your guide to some very poor families.  Also take some stationary supplies for a school.  Leave behind extra toiletries and clothes. Wear good trainers when walking.  Go with the flow and don't expect everything to be perfect in the hotels.  They are good but sometime things don't work!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be prepared for long drives to each destination.  Cuba is a large island and it takes a long time going from Havana to eastern Cuba.  The extra trip to Vinales was worth doing - it was a hectic itenerary but the scenary is beautiful and you visit a cigar factory and a tobacco farm, underground caves - the meal was included and was quite good.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous
    An excellent introduction to fascinating countries. Vietnam was very special with wonderful people and great food. Cambodia and Angkor Wat was simply amazing. Guides great, very warm and welcoming and made the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first glimpse of Angkor Wat

    What did you think of your group leader?

    In Vitnam the group leader made the trip and literally went the extra mile every day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel light and take as few clothes as possible. Plenty of laundry opportunities

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We've already booked our next trip!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous
    Great trip with wonderful mtbing, super views and stella food Rupert, Angela and Bruno were fantastic hosts and the other guests werent bad either!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riding up to the Rufuge for an overnight in the mountains was a fitting finale to the trip

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit and if you take your own bike buy/hire the very best bike box you can afford everthing you've heard about airlines and bikes is true
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous
    A great holiday with an excellent combination of beautiful walking in the Penine hills and the exploring the lovely city of Krakow. It was a pity that we got lousy weather.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking in the meadows near the Slovakian border among the sheep and cattle with the villages nestling at the bottom of the valley and church bells ringing in the distance.The architecture of Zacopane was fascinating.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Voychek was excellent.  He kept us informed and kept us going.  He also looked after us when high up in the middle of a fierce thunder and lightning storm.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Much better value and much more interesting than the Austrian alps.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We added three days in Krakow onto the end of our trip.  It gave us time to visit Auschwitz and the salt mines and to see a little more of this beautiful city.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous
    I had a great week in North Cyprus ... loved the place, loved the people, loved the trees, loved the sea, loved the food. It was my first trip of this kind... and it was a good start.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking along that long-long shore barefooted on the sand and in the sea. Adoring the trees in the woods.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ros is great.  She knew everything about everything. And she is very good company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't worry, be happy!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a pity that I was not able to walk down from the hotel to have a stroll on the seaside or on the streets of Kyrenia, because of that stupid highway.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous
    This was a fabulous trip, not exactly a holiday, more a lifetime experience. If you’ve never done anything like this before, or are not sure if it’s for you, I’d advise to just book it quickly before you talk yourself out of it - believe me, it’s not something you’ll regret (apart from maybe on summit night...but that’ll soon pass!). Even if you don't make it all the way to the top, you’ll have an amazing experience which will stay with you forever. We had a great group of people to trek with, and somehow we all made it to to the top. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, reaching to Gilman’s Point at sunrise was probably the most emotional moment, even more than Uhuru. It’s hard work getting there and the sense of achievement coupled with the sunrise and the sight of actually seeing the curvature of the earth can be pretty overwhelming! 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    When I asked how many times he’d been to the summit of Kilimanjaro, he looked me square in the eyes and told me he'd never done it before  (!) – fortunately he was joking, he’d actually done it over 100 times and his knowledge and expertise were fantastic. The guides too were wonderful, with loads of experience and we had complete confidence in them. They regularly checked everyone for symptoms of AMS, and kept a close eye on those who were feeling it more than others.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t worry too much about it. The vast majority of the walking is not too hard, there’s no rush and and there’s plenty of time to rest and get your strength back each night. However, the summit night is extremely difficult, but do-able – it’s just a case of keeping your head down and keep going. It won’t be the physical exhaustion that gets you – but the altitude might, and you can’t do anything about that! Remember, everyone in the group will be fighting their own internal battles, the slowest people will go at the front and you’re unlikely to hear anyone complaining about that! You only need to be ‘reasonably’ fit – if you don't make it to the top due to altitude sickness (which is the most likely cause), the disappointment is only going to be made worse if you’ve trained as if it’s the Olympics! Also, don't believe all the urban myths surrounding Diamox - some people swear by it and others say it's totally unnecessary - each to thier own. Do your own research regarding pros & cons and make your own mind up.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Summit night was both the best and the worst experience of my life – and I wouldn't change it for the world. The memories will stay with you forever, as will the sense of pride and achievement; something you just don’t get from 14 days sat on a beach.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous
    In principal, this should be a good holiday but it was spoilt by the tour guide Mr Avtar Singh.  I felt that there was too much time spent on the three train journeys which were very long and suggested that an internal flight could reduce this and that two nights in Varanasi at a more centrally located hotel would have been more enjoyable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There should have been many inspirational moments, but I felt that the group were deprived of these by the attitude of our tour guide Mr Avtar Singh.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ah yes, Mr Avtar Singh, Mr Charm for the first few days turned into Mr Charmless for the rest of our holiday.  He became rude, obnoxious, disrespectful and had no empathy with the group and for most of our holiday the atmosphere was very tense whenever he was around.  He seemed to lack interpersonal and conversational skills.  I have travelled for 20 years to India and other countries with Exodus and other companies and fortunately I have never experienced a bad tour guide. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check that Mr Avtar Singh is not your tour guide for this holiday.  Re-confirm your return flights a day or so ahead as mine did not exist from Calcutta to Delhi though confirmed by him to the group the previous day and I had to make my own way back.  Exodus have since told me that they do not consider this is part of the tour guides responsibility, though on all other holidays this has been done as a matter of routine.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This holiday should have had great potential but was very badly let down by the tour guide.  It has highlighted the importance of a good guide and has made me wary of holidaying with Exodus in the future and I shall certainly look to other tour operators who offer similar holidays.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    I thank Mrs Taylor for her valued feedback and assure you that we take feedback such as this very seriously. I understand that our leader, on this occasion, has underperformed for this group which is hugely dissapointing. At Exodus, we pride ourselves in having the best tour leaders in the business, so it was very disappointing to learn that you felt Avtar didn't do a good job on this trip. We were surprised to read your feedback as he has led Exodus trips for over 5 years and he usually receives excellent feedback from clients. I have previously been on a trip with Avtar and found him to be very informative, knowledgeable and enthusiastic. In our 2010 Leader Awards competition he was in the top 25 Exodus leaders worldwide, in 2009 he received a high number of votes and we cannot recall receiving feedback previously to suggest that he is patronising or obnoxious. We have carried out a detailed review of this trip with the leader and please be assured that we will continue to closely monitor feedback about Avtar to ensure that he is meeting our expected high standards.

    I also appreciate the feedback regarding the itinerary. I understand the point about three overnight trains however the only route on which a flight could be used would be between Varanasi and Kolkata and whilst we realise that some clients may be happy to pay the additional cost, we feel that this may make the trip prohibitively expensive for the majority of our clients. However I will continue to monitor feedback very closely and review the design of the trip accordingly.

    Katherine Tory - Product Manager for India

  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous
    An intensive introduction to a wonderful country. Hikes and bikes took us off the beaten tracks. Very well organised and we were well looked after. Thoroughly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through back paths on the Mekong delta, where kids rushed out to see us, (as they don't see tourists there), showed us the contrasts of the country, but also how naturally friendly the people are, even those not trying to make a living out of tourists.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Never without a smile, efficient and solicitous, he gave us confidence, and his knowledge of the whole country and its history made the necesary long distances interesting.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Cold in the North, very hot in the South. Tell the guide if you get a dicky tummy, ancient ginger will fix it better than our drugs.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Vietnam is a strange country when you first arrive, especially if you start in Hanoi. Relax and you will quickly find your feet.  Walking was not arduous, cycling stepped up the gears later, but the bus was always around if it got too strenuous. Most of us were mere leisure cyclists, and coped admirably.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous
    A varied, enjoyable trip with something for everyone.  Cycling generally to the mderate end of the scale, but with some more significant climbs to add a suitable level of challenge.  Be prepared for some extended transfer spells on the minibus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting in the volcanic hot pools drinking cocktails.....  And of course some of the cycling....!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rob was great.  Always aware of the needs of the group and always approachable.  The trip passed flawlessly.  The local guides provided sound support throughout.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some moisture if your trip is anything like our second week.  It might be worth having an extra set of gear over what you might expect.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A very varied trip, with a good range of activities to supplement the cycling.  Good accommodation and some great spots for evening recreation.  Great scenery.  A bit short on local culture for my liking.  If you're after a full on cycling trip, this isn't it.  But a well rounded holiday that I thoroughly enjoyed.
Call us on 0208 772 3936