Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Word - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous
    The staff at Serena Lodge, Amboseli and Sunbird Lodge, Naivasha were friendly and the food good, especially at the latter, which also had fine accommodation. A member of staff at Keekorok Lodge, Masia Mara picked my wife's pocket.  We did not complain because we wanted to avoid unpleasantness/the possibility of reprisal.  Our driver from Albatross Travel was pig-headed, resentful of spending time looking at birds and prone to arguing about his own identification error.  He also drove too fast over badly-maintained raods, causing me to visit a chiropractor a number of times on return  and undergo remedial massage at Keekorok. The 4x4 Toyota Van was unsuitable, in fact dangerous, for tall passengers such as me. The final day of the holiday was very badly-designed: we had to wait for 5 or 6 hours at Nairobi Airport.    

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Kilimanjaro eventually peeping, somewhat hazily, out of the cloud. Some close sightings of impressive wildlife e.g. Southern Ground Hornbill. Landscape at Naivasha/Sunbird Lodge.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    N/A: tailor-made tour. See above on driver.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If tall, book a Landrover/Landcruiser or fly around Kenya. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Kenyan red wine is surprisingly OK.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous
    Great introduction to South Africa, some good walking and excellent food - a bit short considering the length of the flight.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk to the Maltese Cross and Wolfberg Arch - the walk up Table Mountain was a slog due to the heat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    They were good friendly leaders, however, they were not forthcoming with local knowledge. This was the first time that they led this particular trip. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take lots of water on the walks and do not forget your walking poles - it may be categorized as an A/B but the heat is sapping.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You have to pay for the wine tasting - this is not in the trip notes. Also in Cederberg it would have been good to have seen some of the famous cave art.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous
    I'd highly recommend this trip to any keen UK walker wanting rugged scaled up mountains, breath taking views and a real glimpse into rural life in northern Spain. Ours was the last group of the year and technically was well out of the usual tourist season in the area. The cooking classes were a good inclusion on the chance the November weather was poor, but as it happened were an added bonus as the weather held out for the whole week. To cap it off we even managed to get snow on our boots and break trail through a drift.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Scaling one of the central peaks of the range and having panoramic views of the sea, the famous Monolith and the beautiful valleys. Catching our first proper sight of one of the local vultures made the day even more special. I've not munched a sandwich in a more stunning spot.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All the hotel staff were excellent and our guide whilst young had bags of knowledge about the area and its heritage. I really enjoyed chatting with him and he made individual time for the whole group of the course of the week. The changeable weather forecast and a varied group made it a challenge at times but he remained cheerful throughout.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you go later in the year I'd recommend taking a thermos flask! It came in very handy on a couple of the days were we gained a lot of altitude. Also gaiters are worth packing as some of the routes were quite muddy. Finally if you get the chance I'd definitely recommend taking the trip to the coast; the walk along the cliff tops was a nice break and the sea food in the town excellent.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous
    I had been worried because I don't usually do camping/minimal facilities holidays but the country, the locals, the people in the group, fantastic scenery, remoteness and simpleness made up for any hardship

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The general cameraderie on the trip was great and things were particularly special on Christmas night when the group (foolishly) challenged the staff to a singing competition. We could only come up with rather solemn carols or schoolkids (primary at that!) songs whilst the staff came up with soulful melodic songs one after the other accompanied with great beats from Jerry cans and trays etc for percussion. A local man invited himself in to join in the celebrations adding dance to the locals' repertoire.Other evenings with people sitting trying to read via the light on the head torches while others chatted or played cards is also a memorable image and from the day times the cook and guide chopping tomatoes/onions etc on the top of a mountain for our lunch is another

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdellah was great; warm, friendly and with excellent English he knows his country and enjoys sharing it with the group. He kept a lovely pace in the walking and asked us to stick behind him which we did and it gave a sense of cohesion to the group.We had three other staff with us all very friendly, hospitable, cheerful and good at their jobs. We got delicious food beautifully presented which was amazing consideringwhat basic facilities they had.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The days were warm and we were very lucky not to have a single cloud over the walking days. The temperature did drop a lot at night and you need to take a lot of layers for evenings in the tent where sometimes the only heat was from ourselves and some candles! and the tents could be freezing cold.The terrain is very rocky throughout so good boots and poles are helpful. the tents were pitched on very rocky ground; I didn't take a thermarest but it may have helped.I also didn't take the group flight and was pleased I didn't; I took a direct flight with Thomsons which gave me an extra day of holiday whilst the group flight arrived in the middle of the night; I would recommend looking into alternatives

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great holiday..I would recommend it
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous
    An excellent trip, a great way to see the highlights of the country.  A pleasing mix of activity and sight seeing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Halong Bay has to be one of the highlights; fabulous views and a fantastic lunch on board on the first day.  However. Hue was also a beautiful place with wonderful shopping!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was really well organised, full of interesting information although sometimes a little too much for my taste.   It was sometimes difficult to understand the plan for the day and therefore what we needed to have in our day packs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack your clothes in bags in your main bag, helps to keep thigs organised as you do not spend many nights in the same place!  Have your insect repellant to hand at the Cu Chi Tunnels - we didn't!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Some of the walks and cycling were less than the itinary sugested - this was an issue to some on the trip.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous
    Perfect weather,wonderful food & accommodation.Beautiful scenery & great company.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All walks were really enjoyable.Pompeii & Vesuvius were fantastic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not much - he seemed disinterseted. Daily advice & information was lacking ie. re the lack of toilets.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    While this is not a difficult walking holiday it is not a stroll in the park.Take a proper hat, NOT a cap.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous
    The most challenging and inspiring thing I've ever done, a great way to raise money for local charity EACH.  The altitude and weather made it pretty awful at times, but the walking, the spectacular views and great cameraderie made it brilliant, I'd do it again tomorrow!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to Gillman's Point despite suffering badly from altitude sickness, and seeing the spectacular sunrise.   And the cameraderie amongst the group, and fantastic support of the guides, porters and helpers who got us there and back safely.  And knowing that we had raised a lot of money for a very worthy cause.  Anything is possible if you try.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, the daily safety briefings were very thorough and left nothing to chance, and he showed concern whenever any of us showed signs of illness or fatigue.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit beforehand, check that if you need to put all your clothes on you can get one over the other, and don't take a wind-up headtorch (as one of our group did) as it won't last the night!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you really want to do something, however difficult it may seem, go for it.  I did and I don't regret it - trouble is it didn't cure my need for a challenge, I'm now looking for the next one!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous
    An excellent adventure. We had a exceptional guide and 2 fantastic cooks. The scenery was out of this world and even the long journeys were interesting and full of wildlife spotting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I had especially wanted to visit the sand dunes and was not disappointed. The colourful hues of the sand as the dawn broke was magical. The randomness of these giant dunes in the middle of nowhere and flat land all around was fantastic. Te most fun was seeing if we could get the jeeps through the sand on the way to Dead Vlei another MUST.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was funny, entertaining and very informative. He was friendly and helped to ge the group to gel at the beginning of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    None. Go on the trip! Oh actually do remember to take thermal wear for the chilly nights under canvas.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We organised a trip for the free day befoe we left the UK. We went on a kayaking trip wth Jeanne at eco-marine tours and also added in a 4x4 trip around Sandwich harbour. This was really worthwhile and a nice opportunity to have a day to yourself as well!!!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous
    This was an absolutly fantastic holiday. The food, scenery and company were all brilliant and it was of course in a magnificent area. It was a diverse group of people but everyone got on very well, had plenty of laughs, and will keep in touch I hope.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On New Yeras day when we reached a peak on the border between France and Spain. It was a beautifull, sunny, still day and the views across to the Mediteranian on the Spanish side were something I will remember for a very long time. I can't think of a better place to seen in the New Year from!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good. The leader made sure that all of the walks were fun, safe and yet challenging. It was good for people to feel like they had actually achieved something at the end of each day. He also contributed to the jokes and the fun atmosphere which helped to make sure people were almost never in a bad mood.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You will need to be reasonably fit to do this holiday. It is also very important that you bring all of the correct kit as specified in the trip notes. A good pair of sunglasses are particularly important, because on sunny days the glare of the sun on the snow is quite dazzling.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There is nothing bad I can think off to say about this holiday. I would highly recommend it to anyone. I did not really want to come home at the end of the week!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous
    We wanted to visit Angkor Wat and chose this particular holiday based on the varied itinerary, countries visited and previous reviews.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The feeling of regeneration of the infrastructure in Cambodia and seeing the great leaps forward in hospital care.  The work carried out by the Kantha Bopha Foundation and Dr Beat Richner for childcare is an inspiration to everyone.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All of the group leaders worked hard to make a very enjoyable holiday and were very knowledgeable and willing to share information both about their respective countries and personal family life.  In addition we were particularly impressed by the local guide who shared his knowledge of Phnom Penh and the Killing Fields to give insight into a very difficult subject.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As always just go with the flow and try to savour every moment, there is a wealth of information to assimilate.  The recommended book First They Killed My Father is worth reading to learn about Cambodia.  We visited Jim Thompson House in our free time in Bangkok, a gentle oasis in a busy city.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip is well paced and relaxing; the only change that I would suggest is one night in Vang Vieng and two nights in Vientiane.
Call us on 0208 772 3936