Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: KVITAVATN

    Very well organised, friendly holiday. Excellent staff good accommodation. This was our second time on this holiday, still more to do next time too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I found the staff to be knowledgable and dynamic as they adapted to difficult weather conditions.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The holiday was well lead, a real team effort from all the staff.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check the weather reports, take advantage of everything on offer.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A truy fantastic holiday
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    MOUNTAINS & VILLAGES OF EVIA

    This was a really lovely break away. The walking (B grade week) was not particularly challenging, nor were the days long, but the scenery, food and company were excellent!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having the opportunity to try new food types! I enjoyed the shared starters where you could have little tasters of something different. In fact, the starters were more than enough, although the mains were very tasty we had all eaten too much at the start of the meal!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thanos was very passionate about the area and its history and traditions. We learnt a lot from him about the island. He was supportive and an inspirational.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travelling in February, you should be prepared for a variety of weather. It was a bit like England in April, with all weather types in one day!  We varied between cool weather - even snow on a couple of days, to warm sunshine - t-shirt weather!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first Exodus holiday and I felt the company gave lots of information beforehand so I felt prepared for the trip. I would recommend travelling with them.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    DELHI TO KATHMANDU

    I really enjoyed the trip.  The enjoyment was not just seeing the 2 countries  but also because of our guide and the others in the group. India was very interesting and Nepal more relaxing and for me more enjoyable. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the sun rise and set on the Ganges was quite something, so was seeing the sun rise and set over the Taj Mahal.  It was very exciting seeing a rhino and big crocodiles.  It was wonderful going on a pony round the lake in Pokara and seeing eagles flying.  There were lots of other incidental experiences like seeing a wedding and the wedding party and parade, being in a rickshaw in the mad traffic of India and being asked by children to have their photo taken with you.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Sanjay Sihag was excellent.  He was very knowledgeable.  He was also good company and seemed to understand the different group members and their needs.  I felt very safe in his care.  We had a stressful train journey owing to half the Indian police force getting on our train and sitting in our sleeping compartments.  Because of the numbers of people at the station and getting on the train it was difficult getting our luggage on and off as well as clearing our bunks of policeman.  He dealt with the situation calmly and confidently.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Stock up with hand gel, toilet paper and deet and go and enjoy yourself.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - RONGAI ROUTE

    I had a slightly different experience to most on the holiday- including about 3ft of fresh snow on summit night and having two companions be stretchered off the mountain! So my view is probably slightly jaded... but still valid!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a rainbow after our aclimatising walk at Mawenzi; Seeing the sun rise on summit night (sadly not on the summit due to the snow slowing the pace!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not a great deal, unfortunately. The assistant guides were all fantastic but our lead guide- and our hotel contact- were both very poor. The lead guide only led us on summit night and was far from encouraging. We'd not even reached Gillman's Point (which we did) when he said that our pace meant it would take to long to go on to Uhuru. Whilst some members of the group were struggling, younger ones werent and we felt there were enough guides to have split us up. Plus, he was setting the pace! Additionally, he wanted money for the very sick people to be stretchered off the mountain. I gave this to him for one of the travellers only to find he then asked her for more money later- disgusting considering how ill she was, that he'd already been paid and that the park fees include evacuation costs (confirmed by exodus on my return). Similarly, the hotel contact essentially abandoned us with two very sick people, having told us they were 'fine'. Our experience appears in the minority. On the plane back, a companion sat with a man who had done the same climb with AWC the night before and his experience sounds a world apart. For example, when we arrived at the gates we were handed our certificates in a brown envelop without our names on on anything; his group had them all laminated and a bit of a presentation ceremony was held for them. Our lead guide seemed more keen to go and have a drink than do that and certainly couldn't be deemed 'encouraging' at all. Both of these matters will be followed up separately with Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Invest in equipment you can trust! Even though the weather on summit night was horrendous, I knew that I had gear that I totally trusted. I bought a Rab down jacket, as recommended on one of these reviews, and it was fantastic. Similarly, I'd been out walking in torrential rain before I went to test out my waterproofs and knew they'd do a good job.I really feel the cold so found having two sets of merino wool thermals excellent- I was toasty! However, none of this is cheap. If this is your first time, start spreading the cost and buying something each month. The month before I went, I felt I was haemorraghing money as I had so much to buy! But it is an investment and worth every penny when you're on the mountain!Also, have energy tablets. Altitude sickness is not like a mild hangover but more like 'i'm never drinking again' hangover. I couldn't face any food when I got hit so having something you can just swallow to keep the energy levels up would have helped!Finally, be confident. I wish, in hindsight, that we'd challenged our lead guide and made him split the group. As it was, you have to have so much trust in them that you assume they know best. This is bound to be true for most of the time but if they are unwilling to support and encourage you to the top, press for it- you've paid a lot of money to not get to the top due to a negative attitude from your guide!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was fantastic but make sure you eat as much as you can- force yourself! You'll need the energy for summit day!Try, if you can, to head out a couple of days prior. One member of our group did and started aclimatised and refreshed. We, on the other hand, had our flight cancelled so arrived at 3.30am on the day we were due to start the climb- not an ideal start and an extra $60 for another night (different hotel in Moshi) seemed like a wise investment! Don't worry! I think we were unfortunate with our group; our lead guide seems an exception to the rule rather than a common example and the weather was unusual. These two aside and physically I was totally capable- more so than I thought I would be- and had no problems with the 5 nights camping, lack of showering and toilet facilities! A positive attitude is a must though!Finally, one of the reasons we chose Exodus was because of the charitable aspect. The guides, on the whole, had a good grasp of English which seems to show that this is working.However, as a whole, we were fairly disturbed by their poor clothing- this might be an enthno-centric issues but a poncho for mountain rain seemed fairly slack! As did jeans and trainers and, on summit day, cheap primark-looking sunglasses! This may or may not have anything to do with Exodus but the trip is fairly costly and we did, as a group, wonder if the money was being filtered down to those who needed it. To this end, if you can take stuff you're happy to leave behind, please do.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO - LEMOSHO ROUTE AND SAFARI

    The Kilimanjaro part of the trip was excellent. The guides and porters were superb, couldn't ask for more. For me the safari section of the trip was a bit long but again the guide was excellent and the accomodation was first class.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit at sunrise was special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was excellent, he was very experienced.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you can, get the yellow fever vaccination and take the certificate with you. Since you transfer through Kenya the Tanzanian authorities ask to see the certificate on landing (although they let me through without one).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    During the safari we had an option to go on a night drive and a sunrise walking safari. The night drive cost $30 and the walking safari was $20, which weren't mentioned in the trip notes. I went on the sunrise walking safari which was a good experience, i would recomend it.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    TATRA WINTER ACTIVITY WEEK

    This was my second trip with Exodus and whilst I enjoyed the itinerary and companions of the first trip the guide at times was useless. I am however glad that this didn't put me off using Exodus again as Erik, our guide for the winter activities trip, was no less than exceptional. The activities were fun and well co-ordinated and were at times juggled by Erik to ensure we had the best experience possible.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The husky dog sledding for me was by far the highlight and I just wish I could have spent more time with them. The locals were exceptionally friendly and we were still seen as a bit of a novelty.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Out of all the tours I have done with different companies I would say that Erik ranked up there with the best, if not the best, tour leaders I've come across.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go do it, have fun.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    It was a great holiday in a fantastic country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking down to Petra early in the morning before the tourists and walking around the Wadi Rum as the sun comes up.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was enthusiastic and enjoyed bringing everyone into the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Remember that at this time of year it can be not only cold but wet as well. We even had snow and frost. You will also need to bring more cash to pay the tips.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Please review your advice how much cash to take because it was considerably more than you suggested especially to the Bedouin.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLING VIETNAM

    Thoroughly enjoyable. Still thinking about it now after a week back. I am a committed cyclist and others on the trip probably were not enthusiasts but it didn't matter. We all mixed well and the mixture of swimming, site-seeing and kayaking was great.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the people and just a different way of life. How hard they seemed to work in the cities and for not very much

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Long Le is a real gem and such an enthusiast

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just soak it all up and you will manage the cycling so long as you are reasonably fit

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do try street food and sit on the tiny plastic chairs with the locals and it's so cheap
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    CUBA: LA ISLA GRANDE

    Brilliant!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to choose from....Dinner of fresh sea food on the beach by the light of a bonfireDancing with the locals in TrinidadSwimming at a waterfall and seeing bats in the caveEnjoying the carnival atmosphere of Bayamo on a saturday night

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Freddy was an absolute star! He is very knowledgeable about his country from the history, to contemporary life, flora and fauna and a few nifty dance moves.He always managed to add a little extra touch or surprise to the day and was always willing to go the extra mile to organise some thing special. He was sure to let us know if there was some thing we should be aware of in terms of eco tourism (such as not buying snail necklaces or saving bottles for use on the farms) and also identifed the things that the Cubans are doing to protect their environment and manage their resources.Freddy has a great sense of humour and is always ready to crack a joke. It's the way he tells em! 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Cuba is a very beautiful and colourful country. It is very safe, clean and has a relaxed atmosphere. The people we met were always friendly and helpful. A couple of the days at the start of the trip were long days in the coach but it was very worth the effort. But do be prepared to move hotels nearly every night.Watch out! The rum comes in very large measures!Chivalry is alive and kicking in Cuba!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is the second time I've been to Cuba but the first time I have travelled with Exodus. I am planning to try both again soon.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: TRINS & THE THREE VALLEYS

    Great week, great snow, good company and I found I could ski! Hope to go again! To be recommended and for the G.O.D. Brigade (I.e. Growing Old Disgracefully.) I loved the experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sun on the mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    1st one possibly would have preferred to have been on holiday, as planned. The 2nd one looked after the group without fault.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont have too high an expectation. Enjoy the total experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks to the leader for getting up early to see me off!
Call us on 0208 772 3936