Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    THAI INDOCHINA GRAND TOUR

    This was a really good holiday rich in experiences. We both thoroughly enjoyed it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The boat trip and palace in Bangkok, giving to the monks in Laos and then visiting the early morning market, Luang Prabang and the waterfall. Halong Bay, Hanoi which must be the craziest city anywhere, watching the workers get on and off the ferry at Hoi An and cycling to the beach (were they had the best toilets in SE Asia!), Mekong river and the homestead, Cu Chi tunnels, which were very narrow even though they have been widened. The killing fields and genocide museum were very moving and upsetting, Ankor and the floating village. Just sitting and drinking delicious fruit drinks in the shade. There were so many highlights!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All our leaders were very good and gave as much information as they could. Sometimes it was obvious that they felt unable to answer some questions frankly, but that was telling in itself.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some long road journeys, particularly to Vang Vieng and beyond, where the road was just terrible and the 'coach' (very small for 17 passengers) seemed to have little or no suspension. Take dollars in cash or on a card. Money is easy to change.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go for it!
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER SRI LANKA

    Fantasic food and lots to see. A very full itinery, but just enough time to relax by the pool when it's most needed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My favourites included:- Cycling around the local villages and meeting local people (take some pencils for the children)- Climbing Lion's rock - great views and a sense of achievement- Paddling down the river on a raft watching people playing and washing up!- Watching the women pick the tea on the plantations

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roshan is excellent. Always accommodating and very knowledgeable. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take lots of wet-wipes - it's humid on the coast and dusty on the game drive.You need to like rice and curry - some are mild so no problems there. The food is delicious.Most hotels have a pool, so don't forget your swimming gear.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Notes for Exodus: For me there were a few points which were a little touristy rather than in the traveller spirit that Exodus normally portrays - these included visits to the spice gardens, gem factory and wood carving workshop - there was no pressure to buy anything, but when the intinery is tight I would have preferred to spend the time at local sites. Also, why go to a small turtle hatchery and the elephant orphanage, when you could visit the real thing on the beach and at Yala? Travellers - You only have an hour at the most at these, don't let it put you off - the trip is great! 
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLE CILENTO & AMALFI

    An excellent week, despite some torrential rain on 3 of the days.  The timetable had enough flexibility to accommodate changes of plan and Lieven the guide kept us motivated throughout the long climbs.  Hard work was rewarded with spectacular views and wonderful photo opportunities. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of some relentless cimbs still on my bike.  If I had seen the climb beforehand, I might not have believed that I could do it!  The blues and turquoises of the sea at different points was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent.  Very responsive to changes in weather and very conscious of safety on wet, slippery roads and busy traffic areas.  Bonded really well with the group and was a mine of local information.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Train well and go looking for some hills to climb before you depart as there are some long switchback climbs.  Having said that the bikes are very good and you will eventually grind your way up there if you are not so fit.  Just more enjoyable to stick with the group.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Salerno to Amalfi trip could start earlier on in the day to accommodate changes in weather.  The buffalo mozzarella farm visit was ok and could probably be tagged onto the previous day.  We didn't ride at all on the transfer day which I was very grateful for as the conditions were treacherous. 
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    TUNISIA EXPLORER

    An excellent introduction to Tunisia

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Camel ride and camping in the desert. Ancient monuments were really awsome

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good indeed

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were disappointed that the Red Lizard train ride was replaced by the 'exciting' 4-wheel drive. Especially as the Red Lizard train WAS running. The 4-wheel drive trip substituted was far from exciting, was almost entirely on public roads, and could have been easily completed in any family car.
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    I was nervous going into the trip -- it was my first trekking experience. I was nervous about bugs, no showers, sleeping outside, difficulty of trek, everything!Within hours of the start of the trekk, my nervous dissappeared and I couldn't help but have an amazing wonderful time. I didn't want the trip to end. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was a day of "scambling", so minor rock climbing up the mountain. Everyone had different levels of experience and it was great seeing everyone work together and cheer each other on to make it up and down the mountain.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was a really decent guy. He was authentic and told it to you straight. He had great insights into the Bedouin people and their history and wasn't afraid to share stories, opinions, and songs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring wetwipes! You won't even notice the lack of showers ;)
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    EVEREST BASE CAMP

    Enjoyed every moment of my holiday, an amazing experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting our guides father who was on Expedition 53 with Edmund HilaryClimbing to the top of KalapatarReaching Everest Base CampThe friends I made in the group

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lakpha our group leader was brilliant, he made my holiday special, and looked after everyone in the group.
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    TUSCAN DELIGHTS

    A great holiday - lovely farmhouse, great leader in Sara Bull, fascinating walks and cultural visits in Tuscany.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Peaceful walks in great countrysideGreat company and food!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara Bull was fantastic - professional, caring and dynamic!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go - its a great trip!
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    UNDISCOVERED ATLAS

    Overall a great holiday.For me the trekking was hard enough to be a little challange without distracting from the pleasure of hiking in the mountains. Anyone who has a reasonable level of general fitness should be able to manage this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The pancakes at the end of day one! The scenery was amazing but even more amazing (for me!) was the quality of food produced in a tent on a tiny gas stove!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The whole team were very good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was freezing at night in February and I had to undress to get up for breakfast! So, go prepared.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was disappointed that we  did not have pack mules but instead our equiptment was transported in a vehicle. This meant that our overnight camps had to be near a road. I felt that this distracted from the 'Undiscovered' quality of the trip although I also appreciate that it enabled more opportunities for contact with the local people as we were inevitably near a village.
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    EGYPTIAN EXPLORER - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    This was the first time I've tried an Exodus family holiday and it was just fantastic.  As with other "adult" trips, the group were like minded individuals, the trip was amazing and we came home raving about it!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the pyramids for the first time, so close to our hotel(!), was the first amazing experience.  Visiting the valley of the kings was also incredible, the engineering required for these and the pyramids defy belief.The trip to the Tutenkamen museum on the last day was full of just unbelievable treasures.  The whole trip was filled with so many memorable occasions, there wasn't a day without an exceptional highlight!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kahled made the trip for us.He was exceptionably knowledgeable but explained things in a way the children could understand and kept them entertained. He was always helpful and flexible to fit with what we as a group wanted to do.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although there was trouble in Egypt last year and the elections were not far off we didn't experience any problems at all so now is a good time to visit as the attractions are not as crowded as usual.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A really interesting, educational and fun packed trip.  Go for it!!
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER BURMA

    Burma is a fascinating country, never seen so many temples in my life! The highlights were, Shwedagon Pagoda, the temple  complex of Bagan and Inle lake. It was hot, so travel before the end of February, when it should be cooler and less humid, not to mention the mosquitos. Most hotels have mosquito nets, but despite this, we had lots of mozzies in the room, so if you have a mosquito net, take it with you. The high humidity also effects the quality of the photos, no views from hilltop locations, etc. Overall, I would definitely recommend the Burma trip and out Exodus tour leader, Scott was a great guy to look after us. If you can afford it go for the hot air balloon trip over Bagan.!Maria Elliott

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Shwedagon Pagoda

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Scott was excellent, obliging, fun and very patient.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    see above re timing of the trip and mosquitos

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wish we had a local guide, who could speak English and had good local knowledge. That would have made a great difference. Sadly our local guide was the exact opposite.
Call us on 020 8772 3936