Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    SENEGAL & GAMBIA ADVENTURE

    A wonderful insight into West African life and culture.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting a fishing village and watching the action. The women in their colourful clothes line up to wait for the men who arrive in the boats. Terrific team work and such lovely fresh fish to sell and eat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good - well above average. very helpful and informative but not too close. flexible and friendly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Keep an open mind and you will be well pleased. Take some clothes that you no longer need and give them away - they will be well received.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great trip!
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: DOBBIACO

    Great skiing, great guide, great group and loads of food!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Skiing on the last day with the gang with fab snow and no fear of the downhill!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    David was a great coach and leader. Very relaxed and chatty. Always giving you tips on your posture as he whizzed up and down the group. He got the group to bond, he adjusted his teaching for the less confident and the experienced, and had a knack for getting us to the bus stop 20 seconds before the bus arrived (did he like the bus company so much that he bought it?!) 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do the exercises you get sent - much less pain in the first few days! Go for the fish options at the hotel - veggie options aren't the best.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Such a change from my previous trip (level 1) - having such a good guide this time made all the difference and may even have inspired me to do the marathon someday
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    EVEREST BASE CAMP

    Wow! OMG! are just some of the expressions I found myself repeatingly saying. An absolute must, this trip combines, the magisty of the highest mt range in the world, with love & warmth of the local people & bloody hard work - at times! What you waiting for, book now!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moments of my trip was the sunset on the peaks. Some evenings where just so blissful,I wanted to cry.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our GP was a young man with wisdom & life experiences be young his years. Playful, intuitive, professional, supportive ~ the list goes on.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a little extra cash so that you can buy your GP & support staff meals from time to time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Laughing Everest Group (LEG) thank you guys ~ mwah!
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER BURMA

    Absolutely amazing.......exceeded all expectations.A wonderful country full of wonderful people, with new suprises around every corner.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The list is endless..... walking across U Bein Bridge by torchlight, to watch the sunrise, the Teak Monastries, heading through the waterways of Inle Lake, sitting in street cafes enjoying a beer and "people watching", being thrown about in the back of a landrover in Kalaw!!!!Meeting and talking to Tommy Aung Ezdani of the Rural Development Society in Kalaw, who answered my endless questions with patience.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Matthew Ford was brilliant. Considering that this was only the 4th trip round Burma, Exodus had run, it was well planned and I left Burma feeling Matt had shown me as much of the country as he possibly could, in the time allowed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bartering for goods is an accepted practice. Look at what something is worth to you, rather than trying to get the lowest price. Remember that the few extra pence you might save, could be the cost of the rice for their meal. Also consider the time it takes to produce the goods ie. is £5 too much to pay for something that has taken 2/3 days to produce?

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Burma and its people are innocents and vulnerable. The country has to develop, and many changes are inevitable, and it would be wrong for us to expect it to stay the same purely for our benefit. We have heard plenty about the exploitation from within its boundries, but little is said about the increasing exploitation by other, larger and more powerful countries, including the west.Go with an open mind and an open heart, embrace the country and its wonderful people, take what they offer, listen to what they say, allow Burma to get under your skin, then come home and tell others what you learned.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLING VIETNAM

    All too soon, the two weeks had come to an end.  Yet whilst we were busy with the trip, time seemed to expand.  Full on, always busy, but what a wonderful way to see such an incredible country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Experiencing the crazy world of Vietnamese travel - the scooters, mopeds and motorcycles, mixed in with the buses and trucks!;  Seeing the beautiful scenery, the outlines of the hills of the central highlands on the skyline whilst cycling amongst the rice paddies; swimming in the warm Pacific ocean from a paradise sandy bay; tasting such fantastic and varied food; being made so welcome by all the people we met - especially the children and their calls of hello as we cycled past, "high-fiving" as we went!;  30km of downhill cycling, from hill top to river-side restaurant

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Danh was simply the best!  This was our sixth Exodus adventure, and all of our leaders have been superb, but Danh is a cut above in a field of excellence.  His attentive dedication to his job and those in his care meant that we wanted for nothing, and with his wonderful support team of drivers and cycle mechanics backing him up, the whole trip went as smoothly as a well-oiled bike chain!  His passion for, and love of his country shone through, and his encylopeadic knowledge of Vietnamese history and culture combined with his fantastic sense of humour and fun, meant there was never a dull moment!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you only ever cycle to the shops, prepare yourself for a shock!  Don't let this put you off, you should still do it, but you might want to put in some practice on some inclines (or undulating terrain, as we educated Danh to refer to it!).  What is difficult to prepare for is the heat - which for most of our trip was in the high 20s and more often than not into the 30s.  Cycling in the sauna should do it, but your sports centre might object! 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you have been thinking of visiting Vietnam, get on and do it now!  Whether you go on this trip, or one of the other Exodus Vietnam tours, do not delay too long as it is developing and changing fast out there; we felt that something of the mystery and magic of the country might be lost in the rush to capture the tourist market.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER SRI LANKA

    A good mix of cultural and wildlife experiences. Lots of Buddhas and plenty of birds - a few crocs and great elephant encounters.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Lion rock fortress at Sigiriya was quite amazing especially the rock paintings. You have to use your imagination to envisage the whole face of the rock covered in paintings and then marvel at the almost impossible problems that the painters must have overcome to complete their task.Riding on the neck of an elephant was magical - Hero's ears flapped against my legs and I could feel the power of his muscles moving as he carried us along beside a lake. He seemed to appreciate a good scratch behind his ears and really didn't mind me standing on his head to dismount! 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sujan was well organised, had a fund of knowledge - both of the history and the wildlife and plants, was approachable and had a good sense of humour. He efficiently sorted out a problem with the initial coach, organising a couple of minibuses and then a replacement coach during a busy day without us missing out on any of the planned programme. He was sensitive to the various needs of the group and always managed to find us a 'good-looking loo' when it was needed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A liking for reasonably hot curries would be an advantage. Rice and curry is the staple meal although more western fare was usually available. Try the red and white wine if you must but the local Lion beer is a far better alternative! The walking is easy but a good pair of walking shoes with a good grip is recommended, especially if the paths and rocks are slippery from rain I would imagine.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    TIGERS AND CRICKET SAFARI WITH PAUL GOLDSTEIN

    Another fantastic trip - although a big group this time all the logistics worked well - thanks to a great team - Balvinder especially - even the trains played ball and got us there and back in good time! It was fun too, a good group and lots of laughs.We had some good sightings (for me though nothing will ever match our 2009 trip, but that really was a one off, I know that!). The Park does seem better organised now, but you will continue to get a mass of vehicles at a good sighting, especially where routes/zones overlap.  Visiting the school is always humbling - it is a lovely experience though - as was giving out the pressure cookers to the ladies of a village bordering the Park.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Well, for me, it is all about the tiger and I was lucky to see 4 different ones on this trip. Nothing can quite touch the moment that I see one - it still sends tingles down my spine and yes brings a lump to my throat too, regardless of how many times I see them! I have to mention seeing that sloth bear for the first time too - quite lovely!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul, as ever, delivered - he and Bali make such a great team. Paul's passion for tigers and their preservation is inspiring!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the dust - it really does get everywhere!The trains were good this time - no delays - but that is not always the case!Take lots of goodies with you - for the school and the kids there (books, pens, pencils etc); sweeties for Paul and dog biscuits for the dogs at the Park!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Well I think I've said everything above really - it was a very enjoyable trip, everything went according to plan (well we lost the cricket, but I guess you can't have everything!!). I was a bit worried initially about the group size but it worked just fine - if there was one niggle then I guess it would be that not everyone was able to go out with Paul, but that was obvious right from the beginning and there was nothing that could be done about it. Good luck to Paul for the marathons and Kili ...and yes I'll be there on the 12th - looking forward to seeing everyone again! 
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    DOLOMITES WINTER ACTIVITY WEEK

    This is a great trip for beginners who want to try out a wide range of winter activity sports. The group bonded really well from the word go which made the trip even better and more enjoyable. The views of the mountains when snowshoeing were absolutely stunning, as was the scenery when cross country skiing throughing the forest. The Hotel Adler was extremely comfortable, the food was excellent, and the pool and sauna were a great way to relax after a full day of activities.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara Bull was a fantastic leader. She was extremely knowledgable about the local area and always recommended things to do on the free days. She was socialable and friendly and made an effort to get to know everyone in the group.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The weather was unnaturally warm this week and I didn't use half of the warm clothes I took with me, so I would strongly recommend checking the weather forecast before you go. A light-weight fleece, comfortable trousers, and a good pair of walking boots are essential.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A fantastic trip made all the better by a very comfortable hotel, an excellent tour leader, and a great group of people!
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    CUBAN HIGHLIGHTS RIDE

    This is my 5th cycle trip (4th of which with Exodus). Done about 20 group trips such as this to dateCouple of points-    Most people spent about 200 pounds (best to take GBP), generally easy to change along the way, incl in Hotels so don’t change too much up front. Everything is paid in CUC, so no option to pay in EUR/GBP (USD is not a good idea !)-    Bikes were all in excellent condition, many in the group took gel saddle covers, the roads are quite bumpy !-    There are 2 good (scuba) dive sites where I stopped to dive , Caleta Buena and Guajimico (day 1 and 2 on land only itinary) , although the guide didn’t seem to know much about them. Diving was generally 25 CUC (40 CUC for the cave dive near Calenta Buena), if you book thru a hotel, add 40%, so best book direct. (take your dive card !)-    Most companies are moving to local guides to contain costs, they often don’t understand what westerners are interested in, so do some reading up, make it clear what you interested in, early start, see more, etc. -    I generally take my own bike on trips such as these, I didn’t however on this trip and would recommend others to use the hire bikes, they’re good quality and reasonable.-    The cycling is very easy, if you can cycle round Richmond Park twice in a few hours, you will sail thru this trip.-    It is very hot, take plenty suncream, possibly a wide brim hat that fits under your helmet-    Some Exodus trips have operators print day route maps (very useful), unfortunately this is not done here so you need to stick with the group-    This trip is very short, I would recommend an extra day at the end in Havanna(Exodus do whatever flight booking you need, no issues there), I wouldn’t stay in group accommodation for extra nights tho, the group hotel is way out of town (and no character). Some stayed in Town before the trip started , and seemed to find some far more interesting/central alternatives. The group City tour is too short (and doesn’t go into any sights), and extra day following a LP walking route (or similar) should do the trickNot my best trip to date, but very enjoyable nevertheless. These cycling trips do tend to attract and interesting and fun group (from my experience), which certainly helps !
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF NORTHERN INDIA

    Exactly what it says on the tin - many highlights, very quickly - a bit of a whirlwind trip compared to most others I've already done, but very rewarding none the less.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Its a wellknown cliche, but the first sight of the Taj Mahal is unforgettable, though likewise watching the colours of the buildings make themselves apparent as the sun rose at Varanassi. I love the sheer scale of variety seen on India's streets as people get on with their lives, or sit back streetside to enjoy each others company.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mayur is a lovely guy, extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Would love to head back some time to do longer in the National Parks and would definately be asking if he was guiding any so could benefit again from  his experiences.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Minimise meat intake?!?! Had been warned but had previously lived in Sri Lanka without upset so didn't listen - forget Delhi Belly - I got 'the varanassi's' as we coined it and it was a couple of days of truly grimness.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Loved it! Was everything I expected it to be and then some - good group and all transporting relatively timely so did at least manage to get the odd moment of 'free' time, but beware it is literally odd moments. I had another trip to join that was slightly more leisurely in nature but felt a bit sorry for those who were returning straight back to work in UK as they were all feeeling a bit knackered!
Call us on 0208 772 3936