Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC WINTER ACTIVITY WEEK

    I had a brillant week in the Alps and would recommend it to anyone.  The scenery was beautiful and the group leader was great.  It had an excellent variety of activities and was a fantastic way of getting a taster for a variety of winter activites. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On the last day we did a snow shoe walk and had some fantastic views of Mount Blanc.  Very inspirational. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Oliver was fantastic.  He had endless jokes and kept us all entertained. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some of the activities did require a bit of physical fitness and it is probably worth considering getting a bit on the fit side, as it would make the whole experience a bit more enjoyable to have a certain level of fitness. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was an excellent opportunity to get a bit of a taster for a variety of winter activities.  The whole experience was ace, the region is beautiful and certianly a great way of spending a week
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER BURMA

    A well-paced introduction to a fascinating country. You could feel the desire for change and it was great to be in the country at such a (hopefully) important cross-roads in its history.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The welcome we received from the people. A classic conversation opener was "Where you from?"  The reply was always met with a wide smile and "Welcome to Myanmar!"Shwedagon - of course - changing colour in the setting sun and those jewels glinting at the summit. The teak bridge, emerging out of the night to be reflected in still, still water, a fisherman casting his net as burgundy-clad monks crossed the lake above his head. Inle Lake with its reflections, narrow boats, canals, temples, craft shops - I could have stayed there a week!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Matt was gradually handing over the reins to Gabriel, the 'local lad', and both worked tirelessly on our behalf. It was lovely to see Gabriel grow in confidence and responsibility as the days progressed. He is going to prove a very able and likeable leader in his own right. We were lucky to have them both.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to spend a lot of time with your shoes off and go soon! It will all change very quickly as tourists flood in. The welcome is warm, the scenery wonderful. There are some early mornings (wouldn't expect otherwise with Exodus!) but the benefits are great. The internal flights are necessary when you see the state of the roads, but are soon accomplished and don't take up too much enjoyable time. Unless flights are changed, be prepared for an interminable stop-over at Kuala Lumpur. At least it's a decent airport in which to kill a lot of time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A run-down of the entire trip would take too long, but there's nothing I wouldn't recommend. You'll come back 'templed out', in the nicest possible way. The Shwedagon will blow your socks off - but you'll have them off, anyway. A beautiful, gentle country, with beautiful, gentle people. Laugh often with them and enjoy the warmth of their welcome as well as that of the sun.
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    SNOWSHOEING IN FINLAND

    A wonderful trip which I loved from beginning to end. Amazing scenery in a beautiful country. I've finally discovered a winter activity I can really enjoy and if you like the great outdoors I can't recommend this trip enough. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dog sledging was a real joy and snow shoeing through Riisitunturi National Park was quite literally out of this world.  Spending the night sleeping out in an igloo was a real challenge but certainly worth the effort. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eki (Erkki Ollila) was a real gem.  His enthusiasm for his local area was contagious - he found something "new" around every corner.  A great guide who really brought the day's excursions to life for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Evenings are long in basecamp which as yet does not have a lounge area. Time is spent sitting on hard, wooden chairs - not very relaxing.  This was the only downside to this trip - don't let it put you off but be prepared.  Husky sledging trip is very expensive but I wouldn't have missed it. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just had one of the best weeks holidays of my life - give it a try and enjoy 
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO - LEMOSHO ROUTE AND SAFARI

    What a fantastic experience - the Lemosho route offers the opportunity to see 3 sides of Kilimanjaro and around every corner was a different landscape more inspiring than the one before. A key benefit of the Lemosho route is allowing the time to fully acclimatise over 6 days on the way up meaning a more relaxed walk - though never easy! The support provided by the African Walking Company was superb and nothing was ever too much trouble. Finishing the trip off with a safari was the perfect balance and a way for our success to slowly sink in - helped by a few beers around a camp fire in the middle of the Serengeti - does it get any better?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on top of Shira Catherdral and watching the clouds part to show Shira Needle and the valley beyond - appearing like a lost world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Charles from the African Walking Company was always calm, assured and encouraging. His knowledge of the mountain and the correct medication to take were crucial in all of the group successfully summitting without any problems.Whilst our Safari guide was not the most communicative, you could not fault his ability to find the action. Within just 3 days we'd seen the 'big 5' including a real life kill and more birds and animals then we could have dreamed of seeing - never mind getting up close to.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We climbed Kilimanjaro during February - the dry season - and completely under estimated the amount of dirt and dust which was around. At some of the camp sites it was blowing around and quickly everything became coated in a small layer of dirt. It wasn't a problem, but go prepared and take every opportunity to 'wash wash' and keep electronic gear, espcially cameras, covered.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I put off climbing Kilimanjaro for many years as the cost always seemed too high - especially when you add in the required equipment and injections - but is was all worth it and wish I'd just got on and done it sooner. Beware - once you've done one trip like this, it gets addictive! 
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO, SERENGETI & ZANZIBAR

    A fantastic trip with a great mix of experiences.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The safari was amazing, with Ungorogoro Crater beyond any of my expectations. Getting the whole group to the summit of Kili together (thanks to a great team and inspirational guides) really made the trip. And a few days on Zanzibar was the perfect way to round it all off.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader brought a huge amount to the trip, in particular with sharing his personal experiences of traditional ways of life, adding to the cultural experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't take this trip lightly, but if you're prepared for the climb and have a positive attitude you'll have a great time.
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLE INDOCHINA & ANGKOR

    This holiday promised much but failed to meet my expectations. Exodus has recently started using a new local tour operator and it showed. The organisation on this trip was well below the quality standard I have come to expect from Exodus. This trip could have, and indeed should have, been better.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The night on the homestay was a highlight. We got to prepare some of our own food and had the best meal of the entire holiday. The boat trip along the Mekong Delta wasn't bad either!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was inexperienced having completed this trip only once before. Although friendly and helpful this lack of knowledge was evident and contributed to the less than satisfactory experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are considering this trip i would advise you to wait until the local tour operator has gained more experience otherwise the trip may not meet, never mind exceed, your expectations.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be prepared - the cycling distances were occassionally less than those listed in the trip notes.Be aware that the optional trip listed on day 7 in the trip notes is only possible if you choose to reduce the cycling distance by half (from 70km to 35km).
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLE KERALA & TROPICAL INDIA

    There is nothing negative to say about this trip.  It delivers on all aspects.  The cycling is varied - at times a great challenge and other times an easy, pleasurable ride.  With the local guides you get to see the real India.  I couldn't recommend this trip enough.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I know everyone said this but it's really hard to pick out particular moments.  The trip is so varied that every night you go to bed thinking "wow what a great day!"  The mock charge by a bull elephant was memorable as was arriving at Wild Haven for a cold beer after a long ride.  The absolute highlight for me has to be the cycling - fantastic!  Even getting through the manic traffic in Mysore was fun.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was Safi.  We couldn't have asked for more from him - friendly, attentive and informative.  He showed us what India is really all about rather than seeing the tourist side of things.  He had us all well trained jumping on our bikes ready to go as soon as he rang his bell!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To really enjoy the trip I think you need a reasonable level of fitness.  Bring a hair dryer if you need one (there won't be one in your accommodation).  Ideally bring clothes that you can wash and won't need ironing i.e. sports clothes.  That way you can stay on top of your laundry by washing things out each night.  Be prepared to eat lots of lovely curries!!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are thinking of going on this trip just go ahead and book it.  I went with high expectations and it was even better than I thought. 
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    KENYA & TANZANIA ADVENTURE

    What an amazing experience. This trip is fantastic and would recommend it to anyone. Even better if you meet some good people which i was fortunate to do. Saw the big five, walked on kili and experienced the good African culture. Truly brilliant.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting the local people and of course the small children. You have the opportunity to ride on a camel into a small village where you can see the small homes and meet the people. Absolutley brilliant.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Yeah she was good, had good knowledge of the area and the local people which came in very handy. Got the impression towards the back end of the trip that she gave up a little. On the whole very good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book the trip.......its brilliant and a once in a life time opportunity.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    NO
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC KENYA SAFARI

    I thought this trip was stunning. It was more than simply going on a safari. As well as seeing the wildlife, you see a bit of Kenya, and meet some wonderful local people. This trip will stay with me as a special memory for the rest of my life.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Masai Mara in a golden late afternoon light with animals grazing and no other vehicles in sight; seeing two crowned cranes and realising that they had a chick and hearing our guide Robert get emotional about baby giraffes!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two guides - Davis and Robert. Davis was the leader and was excellent. He was a good organiser, listened to feedback and did everything he could to make our trip memorable. Robert was excellent too - I think a lot of us developed a soft spot for him!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes - go on this trip. You wont regret it!
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: KVITAVATN

    It was wonderful to be back at Kvitavatn again.  I felt the location was better than ever with really good facilities at the Fjellstoge and superb food and kindness.  Mary and Ilse are the best instructors ever and make every day a positive experience.  You finish on a high (literally!).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On the last day, getting close to the top of Orenipa and then skiing down on some lovely traverses.  Seeing my little sister's face appear at the top as she side-stepped up to the plateau.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Mary and Ilse provide leading of exceptional quality which is positive and skillful, managing the group well and giving excellent and focussed individual tuition along the way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You will have a great time and always end up a better skier than before you went.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wouldn't let the groups get above 12, that is an absolute maximum.  Smaller is better.
Call us on 0208 772 3936