Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    THE SIMIEN MOUNTAINS TREK

    A totally brilliant trip. As always on an African trip some things do not always go to plan but our guides were amazing, especially our local guide Melase. He is obviously so proud of his country and always ready to share information about the flora and fauna. The porters and kitchen staff were fantastic. The food wholesome and filling. I still don't know how they produced such great food with basic facilities. I loved the scenery, the hiking was very tough (3 long days of over 10 hours at altitude) but I enjoyed every second of it. Only consider this trip if you have done hiking before. Also the facilities are extremely basic all the way around so not for the faint hearted. I would recomend this trip for anyone who wants to see fabulous scenery, experience some of the best hiking in the world and have an overall amazing experience in a beautiful country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the wildlife such as the geladas, Ethiopian wolf (twice!!) and the Walia ibex, reaching the top of Ras Dashen at 4,600 metres, meeting the local people, especially the children and visiting the local school makes me appreciate what we have in the western world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent!! Organised, friendly, sociable, knowlegable about his country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for basic facilities for 9 days, also have previous experience of hiking with good hiking boots and clothes as there are 3 tough days in a row hiking over 10 hours a day. The scenery is worth it though
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    THE TROPICAL SOUTH

    The trip was very well balanced with a range of activities and sufficient time to enjoy them. Manoj, the Tour Leader was excellent, professional, calm and efficient. He quickly worked out what the group liked to do and ensured that our needs were met. Memorable images include the fishing nets in Cochin, tea pickers in Munnar, pilgrims in the temple in Madurai, rice planters in Tamil Nadu, floating along in the houseboats on the Allepey backwaters, fishermen hauling in their nets in Kovalam and pilgrims visiting the shrines at the southern tip of India.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many colourful sights. I enjoyed travelling over the Western Ghats through the tea plantations and spice gardens. The colour and human hubbub in the temples in Madurai was fascinating. I enjoyed relaxing in the houseboats on the Allepey backwaters watching daily life unfold on the banks. Watching the fishermen hauling in the nets in Kovalam was interesting.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Manoj the Tour Leader was excellent. He was very professional, calm and efficient and made sure that the needs of the group were met. The driver and assistant were also very professional and helpful and ensured our safety. Manoj dealt with problems in a manner that was co-operative such as having to leave early in the morning to flee from Thekkady to beat the blockade. He quickly worked out the needs of the group and would make sure they were met. He provided good advice on eating places, places to buy articles and places of interest. He was very knowledgeable and provided sufficient information to make the tour interesting. He also gave good tips on photography, being an expert.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for different climates as the tour goes from warm tropical to chilly mountain climes.Take rehydration powders as there is a possibility of stomach problems.Although we were able to borrow adaptors and eventually managed to buy one, the normal plug adaptors you buy here did not seem to fit Indian plugs. You will be taking a lot of photos!Be prepared for quite a lot of travelling on mixed road surfaces.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a very relaxing trip and I felt rejuvenated by the experience. Most of the group suffered from a stomach bug (probably Noro virus) so I hope this did not detract too much from their enjoyment of the trip.I would recommend this trip for it's mix of activities and leisurely pace.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    CUBA: LA ISLA GRANDE

    Cigars, cars and Cuban bars... discovering the history, culture and people of a country laced with a fun atmosphere of music and dance.  Historical characters .. Castro, Che, Hemingway share your time which was wonderfully filled by the charismatic Yazel (our Cuban guide).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Take your pick.... climbing the Sierra Maestra to reach the hideout of Fidel Castro or standing below the awesome monument of Che Guevara or drinking cocktails with the ghost of Ernest Hemingway at the Floridita and La Bodega.But, these would not have been the same without the time spent in the colonial city of Trinidad and time-warped tropical Baracoa.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A leader in all senses... looking after the group, finding the best places to go and eat, and dealing with any unforeseen problems (with our group and the bus!) - well done Yazel.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Cuba NOW - before the invasion of other tourists and boring cars.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Read trip notes carefully and CHAT with exodus before you go, for specifics... eg long trousers and socks are a must for one of the walks (unless you like 'ticks'!)
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING THE GREAT WALL

    An extremely enjoyable trek with fantastic views of the snaking wall and the surrounding autumnal mountainous countryside, contrasting with the crowds in Beijing.  The variety of overnight stays added to the oberall enjoyment.  Highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Clambering up the various 'one in one' parts of the wall.  The sheer scale of the Great Wall.  The support of fellow travellers.  The shy red beaked blue magpies.  Staying with local people so that we could se how they lived. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very friendly, making sure that everyone in the group was coping alright and knowledgeable about the route.   However he could have told us more about the areas we were travelling through and the day ahead on the long bus journeys.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take warm clothing - and a sleeping bag if you feel the cold - for the evenings if travelling in the autumn.  It gets cold after sun down and some of the overnight stays were not heated. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    October seemed an ideal time to go as the weather was warm during the day, rather than very hot, which made walkin much easier - and may be the reason why the walks were much shorter, timewise, than suggested in the trip notes.  One also gets the benefit of the autumnal colours, and plenty of locally grown produce for meals.  The Acrobats and Kung Fu shows were far more expensive than Exodus suggested.  
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    WILDLIFE & BEACHES OF SOUTHERN AFRICA

    BADLY THOUGHT OUT TRIP, MUCH MORE TRAVELLING LONG DAYS THAN MENTIONED IN TRIP NOTES,MISLEADING TRIP NOTES, NO PROPER GUIDE ON TRIP, AFTER MANY TRIPS WITH EXODUS I WILL NOT BE TRAVELLING WITH THEM AGAIN. VERY DISSAPOINTING

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    ANTELOPE PARK AND THE ONE DAY IN VIC FAALS THE ONLY DAYS WORTH MENTIONING ON TRIP

    What did you think of your group leader?

    VERY NICE LADY BUT LIMITED KNOWLEDGE ON SA AND MOZAMBIQUE

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    DO NOT TRAVEL ON ON 'NEW' TRIPS OR BE A GUINEA PIG WHILE THEY TRY OUT NEW ROUTES

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I WONT BE TRAVELLING WITH EXODUS AGAIN
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    TUNISIA EXPLORER

    A nice week break from cold England.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

     I  really enjoyed the great views from the roman town of Dougga which was amazing that this city was in the middle of the countryside so easy to imagine how the romans used to live. Plus no other tour groups -so we had the place to ourselves!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sonia was very patient  and well informed about all the facts about Tunisia.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take warm clothing especially when staying in the edge of the Sahara or at Le Kef as the temperature drops quite quickly at night and they do not have any central heating! Food was quite disappointing standard - and if you are vegetarian - warning the vegetable pizzas come garnished with chunks of tuna unless you state otherwise.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend that at the first place you get to try to get change as we had major problems buying things as a lot of restaurants had no change which was quite frustrating. Keep hold of the dirhams coins as they are useful for buying postcards etc. Also,when changing your money back at the airport, suggest you go the arrivals hall to change back to pounds as all the money exchangers in the departure level only had euros to change and no sterling.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    GUATEMALAN HIGHLANDS & VOLCANOES

    A great trek in a wonderful landscape setting with comfortable tents, good food and very nice people (guides and group members).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Lake Atitlan was very inspiring. Thanks to the different walks we did, we got to see the same lake in different dispositions. But also the hot springs and the Mayan saunas after the long walking days were just great!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two group leaders, both very young but competent and caring.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    DUBROVNIK & THE DALMATIAN COAST

    My friend's first Exodus holiday - and I understand she's recommended a colleague to travel with you as she was so impressed. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The different boat journeys were fantastic, especially the voyage to Mljet. Lunch at Ston was delicious.  The trip to Mostar was fascinating and moving. The real impact of the recent war was visible. Seeing once-luxurious modern farmhouses lying deserted and ruined, raised inevitable questions about the fate of their owners.Looking down on Dubrovnik from the hills. I also loved a fabulous fish meal by the sea near the Dubrovnik hotel watching the sun set - my friend and I decided to stay around Lapad one evening. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Krsto Lukic was a great guide who managed to maintain apparent objectivity about the troubled history of the region. He was enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The journey to Mostar gave him particular scope to introduce us to the complicated tensions which had never meant much to me before. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were rather unimpressed by the Hotel Sumratin but realise that Dubrovnik is more expensive than other towns.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF MOROCCO

    It was the best value for money trip that we have been on for a long time.  It far exceeded our expectations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The visit to the Roman City of Volubilis, the camel ride into the desert and the camp in the Bedouin tent in the Sahara.  The Auberge in the mountains and the morning hike along the mule track.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Group leader Lahcen was possibly the best we have ever had.  He was enthusiastic throughout, could not be more helpful and eager for us to get the best from our holiday.  His knowlege was exceptional and the level of information was pitched just right for our need.  His English was easy to understand (not always the case we have found) and he listened to all our questions and needs very attentively. Mohammed (our driver) was brilliant both at driving, attending to our suitcases and accomodating his passengers.  He quickly became one of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go on this one, it is an absolute winner!! Something for everybody.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    All the Moroccan people we met were absolutely charming but the people at the Auberge Sahara and the hotel in Essaouira were quite exceptional.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO, SERENGETI & ZANZIBAR

     Fantastic and varied trip - so good that I am planning to return this year. If you are thinking of doing it, do it now! You won't be disappointed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the tough porters flying past us at full pace every day, fully laden, including a mature woman who could not have been more than four feet tall!Everywhere, the people of Tanzania, who seem to have a tough life, are so cheery and friendly. Incredible.The majesty of the mountain alongside the wonder of the wildlife - all breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our chief guide, Jackson could not do enough for us. He was very helpful and knowledgable along with the whole team. Jackson and his team were genuinely friendly and nice to know.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the posts for this and similar trips. All advice is good advice. Be prepared for a lot of travelling but embrace it as part of the adventure. Tanzanian life is fascinating as are the people.Take a good camera (two to be on the safe side) and plenty of memory cards (or film) but equally don't spend the whole time behind a lens.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The strangers I met as fellow adventurers went their separate ways as good friends with a fantastic set of shared experiences.
Call us on 0208 772 3936