Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    CUBA: LA ISLA GRANDE

    Brilliant holiday - Cuba is a beautiful place and this trip covers lots of it!  You see a bit of everything and really get time to immerse yourself in the local way of life.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Learing about the history of the Revolution - I didn't know much about the details before and it was really interesting to learn about all the hero's and brave people who fought and gave their lives for their country and their freedom.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Really friendly chap - very helpful and passionate about his country and it's history, culture and future.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take lots of memory cards!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    A Perfect* Week

    I had an awesome time in Finland, the basecamp staff are brilliant, the location is wonderful, the food is great, everything is well organised, I really couldn't fault anything.*Unfortunately the Northern Lights were a no show all week, but even so, when you get a clear night, the amount of stars on show is really something else.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    *All* equipment and clothes are provided at Basement, only casual wear for evenings is required. Taking a game or two for the evenings is a good idea.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    CUBA: LA ISLA GRANDE

    A really varied trip around probably the most beautiful island I've ever visited. Plenty of opportunity to salsa and sample cocktails. Definitely a holiday to remember.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dancing with a musician from one of the salsa bands who must have been well into his 70s, maybe even 80s, and had twice my energy and considerably better dance skills!I also loved the trek to the biosphere reserve, tasting fruits and nuts from the trees and being rowed to the place where the river meets the sea.Oh and the catamaran trip, even if the Tree Rats were a little scary! 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jorge was full of "Cuban jokes" and great at motivating the group when we were all tired or suffering from the previous night's rum adventures. No shortage of Cuban charm either!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Learn to salsa before you go and leave your British inhibitions at home. Probably not a bad call to build up your rum tolerance either - it'd be rude not to indulge in a rum cocktail or two while there and the measures come as quite a shock to the system!Do as many of the optional trips as you can afford - all the ones I went on were amazing and really make the trip. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I LOVE cuba and Exodus for getting me there! If only the trip had been a little bit longer.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    SOUTH LUANGWA WALKING SAFARI

    We had the most fantastic time imaginable. And 4 months later I can honestly say that there is not a day that has passed when we dont look back with fond memories. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every sunset, every sunrise. And knowing that around every corner might be a lion, leopard elephant or giraffe.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    James was a charming knowledgeable host perfectly able to make us all feel pampered whilst always being aware that we were in Africa, and priviledged to be there. Peter was a guide with an obvious passion for his vocation and his country. His ability to make every day a fresh and exciting adventure and to always find us something new was extraordinary.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont take too much with you. Bush Camp offer an excellent free laundry service and there is little need to dress for dinner as open air eating though always very enjoyable was often very dark.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Superb throughout and everyone we speak to is extremely jealous. Photos are great too!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous
    Trip:

    CYCLING CUBA

    Cuba was a beautiful country, and a great place to cycle - there is very little traffic, and the local drivers are very considerate to cyclists (the occasional tourist hire car was less thoughtful).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The toughest cycling day was also one of the best. It was nothing like as horrendously tough as I'd been expecting after the description our group leader had given, but it was certainly a long slog. The final, off road stretch was probably my favourite bit of cycling on the whole trip. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jose was great, extremely knowledge and very enthusiastic to tell us about his country.  The drivers/cycle mechanics were really friendly and helpful too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take cash - ATMs are few and far between.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Cycling was a great way to see Cuba, and this was a brilliantly hassle-free trip - fresh fruit and drink stops provided at regular intervals to keep us going, bike mechanics on hand to sort out any issues, bags carried...
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN JORDAN

    A great week full of varied activities, amazing sights, fantastic food and wonderful local people. Great guide could not have done more to accomodate the whole groups needs. I would happily go back to Jordan to spend more time hiking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ascending to the top of Aarons Tomb for 360 degree views as far as the eye could see. This was an optional hike but the whole Petra area is a real highlight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Khaled - Wonderful, warm, intelligent, humorous, well educated confident and capable. A genuinely nice bloke.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Veggie heaven - mezze is amazing! Don't worry about the "Arab spring" - you will be safer in Jordan than you are in the uk. Be prepared for low water pressure in the hotel showers, but it is a desert country after all! The two full days spent in Petra are the really great advantage of this particular tour. Ive talked to people who have been to Petra with other tour operators and they have not had the experience that we did!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I cannot recommend this holiday enough - its a perfect adventure. Fascinating, exciting and yet safe and secure.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    CARPATHIAN CULTURE AND WILDLIFE

    A hidden gem of Europe.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wow our hostess Katerina was a pretty inspirational woman, speaks 3 languages, runs a guest house in a national park, and has been at the forefront of animal (particularly European Brown Bear) protection and conservation in the Carpathian region.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cosmin Dan was a great leader, with imense knowledge and love for his surroundings.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You will be going up and down Mountains, so definately a reasonable level of fitness needed however Cosmin was very good at breaking often and making sure everyone caught up. If I did this trip again I would take just Romanian Lei with me and not bother with ATMs or taking Euro's as you dont need an awful lot money, unless you are a serial souvenier hunter!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think most people would be pleasantly surprised with Romania, it is truly an up and coming country with some stunning countryside.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    THAI INDOCHINA GRAND TOUR

    An excellently balanced mix of culture, history, sight-seeing and activity, in great company, through four interesting and contrasting countries in a part of the world which was entirely new to us.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The insight gained (albeit inevitably rather limited) into the economies, cultures and politics of the countries visited and the contrasts with our own/European/Western - I will certainly view this part of the world (and recent modern events there) differently from now on.Particular highlights were too numerous to list but for me include: cruising the Mekong in Laos; driving through the Laotian mountains; Halong Bay; swimming at Kuang Si Falls, tubing at Vang Vieng, cycling in Hue and Hoi An; Cu Chi, War Remnants Museum, S21 and the Killing Fields (very sobering!); and of course Angkors Wat and Thom.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leaders were excellent - all were informative, knowledgeable, and personable, yet very different in character which added to the enjoyment and variety of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel light; we thought we were with a medium sized hold-all each, but could easily have managed with 2/3 of the clothes we took leaving more space for locally purchased items.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Malaysia airlines very good, but consider direct flights to Bangkok/from Siem Riep if at all possible, rather than via Kuala Lumpur.  Outward (daytime) flight was tolerable, but 7 hours at KL on return was a real downer!!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    MT TOUBKAL CLIMB

    Loved the Atlas mountains, especially the Mt Ouanalrim trek. Guide was fantastic, maintained a steady pace and was very knowledgeable. Not as challenging as i was expecting. Am now addicted to Moroccan mint tea!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Mt Ounankrim climb was much more interesting than Toubkal, the views from the summit were amazing and there was no one else there to share them with.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammed was a great guide. We were amazed that he was able to be so energetic whilst fasting for Ramadan.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Watch out in Marrakech, we were short changed by a market trader but were distracted by someone else so by the time we noticed it was too late to complain.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Definitely worth a visit.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    INDIA GRAND TOUR

    Wonderful trip filled with different experiences every day. Very varied with a lot of travel including long days in a car and fun overnights on the train. The food, people, language and culture changes every 200 miles!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Spotting a tiger in Ranthambore, chatting with tiffin-whallas in Mumbai, wandering around the market and shops in Kochin, joining the dancers at a wedding party in Jaipur, picking tea with the ladies in Ooty, playing with a baby elephant... there are so many so it is difficult to pin down the most inspirational moment. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I thought he was very good. It is a difficult job touring for a month especially with a small group but he rose to the challenge.  He was better when following a set itinerary and seemed a bit flustered when deviating from the list however he was constantly cheerful, helpful, attentive and informative.  We had two drivers who were both excellent too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Throw yourself into this trip - don't just follow along.Don't just eat at the hotel, try new foods and explore the amazing variety of food on offer which changes with each area. Your guide will help explain each dish. Take light clothes including a scarf but remember clothes are really cheap in India. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotels are really mixed - going from super posh to very basic road motels. All are clean and safe. Everyone in India (with the exception of Goa) is keen to be helpful and provide good service. People are very friendly and open. I never once felt scared or threatened however, sometimes people can get too close and the children like to come up and touch you. I found the staring too much at times and people constantly wanting photos, when I wanted to absorb my surroundings. Wearing modest clothes and a headscarf reduces this.  Go for this trip... it's amazing!
Call us on 0208 772 3936