Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    HIGH PASSES OF DOLPO

    A magical trek with classic scenery ranging from forrest clad valleys with tumbling rivers and almost unbelievably blue lakes to remote, starkly beautiful high passes - and all with very few other trekkers.  A chance to appreciate a land and its people in their natural state. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Impossible to limit to just one!  The first full view of Phoksumdo Lake and the demons trail as featured in the flim Himalaya - so blue you felt you were looking at a CGI.  The friendlyness of all the people we met along the way.  Waking up in our frost encrusted tent as the sun started to rise on our 5000m camp site beside the Niwar Pass - a true sence of remoteness. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Sukman and all his team were excellent, looking after us very well and always with a smile.  Nothing was too much trouble.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes - they are accurate.  The last few days are quite long beacuse of available camping places but the effort is definately worth it.  This is a trek for the connoisseur - if you have seen the classic snow clad peaks via their tea house sided trails then try this trek and see another side of Nepal.  Be prepared to take things as they come and be flexible - not everything will always go to plan but you will still have a great holiday if you have the right attitude.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    People seem to prefer staying in tea houses and lodges rather then camping these days, judging by the treks being offered in the brochure.  If this works for you, and lets you see what you want to see, then that is good however I can't help feeling you are missing out on some of the overall experience by not camping.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC ASCENT

    Gran Paradiso - what a view!  Had a good time, but sadly one afternoon on poor weather meant that we were unable to do the ascent of Mont Blanc. We climbed Gran Paradiso instead.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on the summit of Gran Paradiso looking at the view of the Alps and amazed at how far down it was!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Group Leader was an experienced climber hired onto the trip. Although he was competent and safe, I was not sure that he really wanted us to reach Mont Blanc summit. The poor weather midweek meant we never found out for sure.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to do Gran Paradiso instead!  Don't go fully expecting to do Mont Blanc - but the brochure makes this clear anyway.  Also, you must be extermely fit and used to walking for several hours on the go. I trained for ages to do this holiday by doing long distances and plenty of hills in the Lake District. Whilst I made it up and down Gran Paradiso OK, Mont Blanc would have been tougher. As the brochure says 'arrive fit'. If in doubt, do a different holiday. Also, you must must must have a good head for heights - the 150m descent down the cliff ladders onto the glacier on one of the training days was not for the feint hearted! However, it was also totally memorable and an amazing thing to do. It was a lot hotter than I thought, even above the snow line we didn't need to wear too many layers and it was only the final hour to the summit of Gran Paradiso that it got really cold. A sun hat, sun creme and good sunglasses were essential!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a good holiday and I will be back to do Mont Blanc another time!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER THAILAND, LAOS & CAMBODIA

    A truly wonderful experience - breathtaking scenery in Laos, stunning temples, beautiful food, moving history of Cambodia, the buzz of Bangkok, elephant rides, kayaking, the buddhist spirit, a relaxing boat ride to name but a few!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me it was probably our visit to Angkor - the skill of the craftsman and the power of the religion. The trip has inspired me to learn more about photography so that I can capture for eternity the details of the visit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had three group leaders, all bringing a different personality to the trip. One guide was more reflective, another more outgoing and the other more smiley! All knowledgeable and bringing to the trip a chance for us to get to know more about the way of life of the people.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Lots of tissues and antibacterial handwash! Remember that the accommodation  either night of the journey on the Mekong is likely to be shared with lots of other local creatures! A spare towel may be in order too.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A good all round experience.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    VIETNAM ADVENTURE

    What a great place, the food is fantastic,the scenery breath taking and the people are so friendly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was fantastic Halong bay, Hoi An,Cu Chi Tunnels to name a few.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was very good, looked after you very well. Loads of information and took use to some great restaurants. 
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    SLOVENIA SNOWSHOE

    We loved Slovenia - amazing scenery, great food, friendly people and much cheaper than elsewhere in Europe.  The snow-shoeing was challenging but the grading was spot on and it was very enjoyable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views from the top of the mountain on the third day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both guides were very capable and worked hard to ensure we experienced the best possible conditions throughout the week.  The guide leader went out of his way to help us with transport and activities on our day off and our final day. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Lublyana is a great place to visit on the day off/last day.  On the days you are snow-shoeing you have to pay for lunch in the mountain huts.  Lunch is not included in the price - it isn't expensive but there is little choice (barley soup is a staple) so if you aren't keen on soup and sausage you might want to take something to eat yourself.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The one slight let down was the route for the overnight stay.  We were hoping for a circular route but it was a slog up to the hut for lunch, then a walk round the top and then back to the same hut in the afternoon, the same again the next morning and then back down the same way.  Our expectations would have been better managed if this was made clearer in the trip notes, as we were expecting to either do a point to point trip or a circular one with a little less repetition!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    A TASTE OF CUBA

    Cuba is an amazing destination and this trip really did give you a taste of Cuba! The trip managed to fit in so much and gave you a real flavour of the country. The whole experience far exceeded my expectations!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too difficult to pick just one. Walking around historic Havana and soaking up the atmosphere, snorkelling in the Bay of Pigs, Che monument, Trinidad and the catamaran trip and lunch at the Bella Vista Paladar in Vinales were certainly highlights of the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martha was fantastic! Nothing was too much trouble and her knowledge of her country was incredible. She certainly made the trip relaxing, interesting and fun!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go as soon as you can. Cuba is changing and although some of it might be for the better, aspects of what makes it a truly special destination will have disappeared forever. On a practical note if you go on the catamaran trip make sure you take something to cover up with on the boat, it was really hot and not much shelter from the sun!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great trip. Real mix of history, culture, scenery, salsa and rum!! Make sure you go to a Paladar and try a strawberry daiquiri at El Floridita!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    EVEREST BASE CAMP

    The Himalayas is an incedible, awe inspiring place. I am glad that I chose Exodus to take me there- they were 100% professional.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being within the Annapurna Sanctury. Being completly enclosed by the majesty of the mountains. This was one of the most inspiational experienes of my life. The memory will stay with me forever.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He is the most complete Leader I have ever had the privilage to meet.He is meticulously well organised, observant, caring. He commands instant respect when discussing serious or formal issues. He had a genuinely friendly attitude toward everyone he cme in contact with- Trekkers, fellow Guides, Porters, Lodge Staff. He has a gift for instilling confidence in others.I would enquire which treks Ngima would be leading prior to booking my next trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Put in the training. Good boots well broken-in. Eat and Drink plenty on the trip. Enjoy the company of your fellow trekkers.You are going to have a great time!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was admittedly very disappointmented that the trip to Everst Base Camp being impractical because of external factors. I was very impressed with Exodus`handing of the situation. They were determinated to offer us the best alternative they could- cost was never an issue- only their willingness to help salvage the very best holiday that they could practically offer their Clients. 
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF MOROCCO

    A great trip with a good mix of cities, desert, mountains and seaside. You will see a lot of what Morocco has to offer with ever changing landscapes and scenery around every corner.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Really hard to choose just one! Walking through the sand dunes of the Sahara in Merzouga just enjoying the silence and amazing scenery, sunrise, sunsets and post dinner drumming and singing sessions with our local guides. Sitting at the summit of our hike admiring the view of the snow capped High Atlas. Listening to the call to prayer and experiencing Moroccan tradition and culture.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rachid was knowledgable and enthusiatic and proud of his Beber heritage. Special mention also has to go to Hassan our driver - he did an amazing job and alwys felt extremely safe on the roads, even when other drivers were kinda crazy!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are travelling in winter then be prepared for some very cold weather. The hotel in the gorge and the gite in the mountains do not have any heating so make sure you have enough warm clothes, thermals and a decent sleeping bag. Hot water for showers was available though thankfully! Desert was also v cold at night so be prepared. The gorge and Atlas mountain hikes do require some level of fitness. Although not technically difficult, you are hiking for 4-5 hours with a lot of uphill. We did hike in rain and a blizzard in the gorge and through snow in the mountains so decent waterproofs recommended! Shopping seemed to be better and cheaper in Essouira than in Marrakesh. Prices were cheaper and they were more willing to bargain.  Although there are a couple of long travel days, you do make frequent stops. And with so much to see out the windows of the bus the time did seem to fly by very quickly.  Try to pack light for two reasons - there isnt a whole lot of room for luggage on the mini bus and you will end up shopping and buying stuff there.  Oh and dont forget earplugs - the first call to prayer at 530am can be very very loud!!!! 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first trip with Exodus and I was impressed. From the pre-departure support to a well planned itinerary I had no complaints at all. If you are keen to visit Morocco then this trip will definitely show you the highlights. Go on, book!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO - LEMOSHO ROUTE AND SAFARI

    An amazing 2 weeks, I loved the 8 day trek and would do it again, with stunning scenery/views and with good company, across both the group, guides and porters. The safari was a great introduction to safari and covered such a wide area (and animals!) in such a short period of time across the Ngorongoro Crater and Serengeti.  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just being on the trek was amazing in itself and being able to appreciate the scenery which changed every day as we crossed the different zones. Getting to the top of the Baranco wall, which looks pretty awesome from the bottom!Seeing the trail of lights making their way up on summit night and of course making it to the top of Kili in time for sunrise! Not to mention what I learnt about myself during the final ascent!  Seeing a cheetah chase from start to finish, although the gazelles escaped on this occaision! 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our trek guide was Charles, supported by assistant guides Damasi, Hasheem and Senani.  Charles was friendly, knowledgable, informative and always had our best interests at heart.  We would receive briefings each morning and evening, from everything from where we were going, information on the Mountain and area, to what to wear.  Charles was always asking us how we were, making sure that none of us were suffering from the effects of altitude sickness.  Charles and the assistant guides were a credit to Exodus and the African Walking Company.  Damasi deserves a particular mention as he got me to the top of the mountain! Gabrielle was our Safari guide and again could not be faulted in his knowledge or his ability to change a tyre twice in the space of about an hour!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I am a single traveller, but yet again I joined a group which was well suited and easy to get on with and we have met up since returning to exchange stories.Forget the sun tops, although a sun hat with a wide brim is a must! Although its warm during the day and a t-shirt and shorts (for the first few days at least) will be fine, it gets quite cold at night.  Make sure you have plenty of warm clothing and hire a duvet jacket and sleeping bag for collection when you get there.  I had a thermarest which was fine, but the hired mats also went down well with the rest of the group, as did the walking poles, although I did without.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would definitely recommend the 8 day trek along the Lemosho route, not only was it a stunning route, it was quiet with very few other trekers, at least until all the routes start to converge, it also gave you enough time to acclimatise and just enjoy the experience!It has definitely been my best holiday yet and will prove very hard to beat!  I read a review on the Exodus website before I booked which said, stop thinking about it and just book it today!  I have to agree, do it today!! 
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    THE TURQUOISE COAST

    I thoroughly enjoyed another Exodus holiday. Our guide Alison was brilliant, having lived and worked in Turkey for 16 years, she had excellent local knowledge and was really informative. I would recomend this holiday and exodus to my friends.
Call us on 0208 772 3936