Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    ANDES TO AMAZON

    Quite honestly, the trip was all I was hoping for  - and more.  Great scenery, friendly people, glimpses of amazing wildlife, weird and wonderful plants, interesting towns, opportunities to do things I'd always wanted to do (and some I'd never thought about doing before).  This trip expanded my horizons.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I have to pick two - one easy, one tough. Easy: watching birds and monkeys as I drifted down a river in the Amazon Basin. Tough: looking out from behind an amazing waterfall after forcing myself to scramble, crawl and even climb through a low, narrow wet tunnel that most of our group  declined!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabian was a real character, roguish, passionate and knowledgeable about his country (and armed with books to fil in the gaps in his knowledge of plants and wildlife), friendly, laidback, caring and reliable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for all weathers and large meals, be flexible and don't go with pre-conceived ideas. And don't ignore your group leader when he tells you that at high latitudes the sun can burn you even through heavy cloud on a cold day

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first Exodus holiday and I couldn't believe what excellent value it was.  Not everything panned out as I was expecting. But, taking my cue from my sister (who, at 76 was the oldest member of the group), I simply went with the flow and made the most of every opportunity offered.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: TRINS & THE THREE VALLEYS

    This was a wonderful holiday. After a short transfer we arrived at the hotel where we were treated to a splendid four course meal, this continued every night! From the first day to the last we were skiing in incredibly beautiful scenery with spectacular views of the mountains and sometimes of the valley below when we were up in the mountains above the clouds. It was a lovely mix of recreational skiing with useful technique thrown in to help us improve. The hotel was fantastic, a sauna at the end of the day was much appreciated. All of our group (solo departures) gelled very quickly and I had a great time meeting lovely new people and sharing a lot of laughter and cheer with them.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was all inspirational but the last day at Maria Waldrast stands out. It felt like we were explorers braving the elements to conquer a mountain after which there was a long descent back to the restaurant were we could enjoy a nice warm mug of gluhwein. It was Heaven.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bob was a fantastic leader; an amazing source of knowledge both local and general, he did a great job taking care of us. He made me feel 'at home' in Austria rather than just another tourist by helping us to integrate with the local community.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a camera!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I can't wait for next winter so that I can enjoy another cross-country holiday! 
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    EVEREST BASE CAMP

    My trip to Everest Base Camp was fantastic. Exodus group leader, Valerie Parkinson and team of Guides were extremely organised and helpful. The scenery was fabulous and it was amazing to spend 2 nights camping at Base Camp alongside an expedition team.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was fantastic to camp at Base Camp and explore the area. It was great to see climbers on the icefall and to talk with climbers, climbing sherpas and the doctors in the Everest ER tent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Valerie Parkinson was a fantastic leader. Her passion for the Himalayas was contagious. She was extremely organised and helpful and was a mine of information.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it! Try to camp at Base Camp.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    This was the second time I have done the Amalfi Coast trip: firstly by myself in 2005 and, after having such a lovely time, I decided to bring my husband and friends along. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    No one moment in particular, but being in such an interesting and pretty part of the world makes the whole week worthwhile.  The Walk of the Gods is great, as was the view from top on the first day's climb.  The family- run hotel and being in a town not overrun with tourists is a great bonus.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Unfortunately, the only part of the trip that was disappointing for our group was the leader.  He seemed a bit "over it" as far as being a group leader goes.  While I appreciate he was unwell with a cold, he gave little or no advice, showed little knowleldge or interest in answering questions and generally was a bit useless.  Having done this trip in 2005 with a different group leader (and having an expectation of Exodus providing us with a similarly enthusiastic leader), I was quite disappointed (and a little embarrassed as I had encouraged three others to come).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely do the Amalfi Coast trip.  The downhill walking can be tough on your knees, so take walking sticks if you think this may be an issue.  On the walking days, think "moderate" for your rating; the "leisurely" part of the rating relates to the non-walking days. I also think a day-trip to Capri on your free day would be advisable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think Exodus are a great travel company and I would happily go on another trip with them in the future. 
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER ETHIOPIA

    Ethiopia is a stunningly beautiful country.The trip was very well organised and varied.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I can't pick out one inspirational moment but the rock-hewn churches were amazing, the views across the Simeon Mountains were incredible and the paintings in the churches were stunning. I loved the bird watching and became quite an expert on North African birds thanks to the serious bird watchers in our group who shared their knowledge and binoculars with me. Susan's restaurant in Lalibela, staffed by some of the poorest teenagers in the area,was an inspiration and has to be visited.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kibrom was an excellent and very professional guide. He taught us a lot and made sure that we all had a brilliant time. He was passionate about his country and wanted us to see the best of it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Binoculars are necessary for this trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We enjoyed every minute of this holiday.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    BHUTAN: LAND OF THE THUNDER DRAGON

    Good well rounded trip with time allowed for plane malfunction contingencies. Guide excellent,walking challenging but doable and enjoyable, accommodation excellent. Good to have the few days in Kathmandu.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing up to and viewing Taksang Monastery.  Surviving Bhutanese driving .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sonam was a brilliant person--inspirational, patient, informative and just a great (Top) guy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit, have all your medication with you, travel light and keep your mind open and curious..

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Make sure to go early to the Festival to be sure to get a seat in the shade.  Failing that bring some sort of head scarf --It gets kind of warm in the sun.   And please respect the dress code---I was ashamed to be ' European' by the dress of some people at the event despite all the guide books stressing this request.  ( Gripe over)
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    A fantastic 5 days, with great support from Zohair, our guide, and his friendly team.  The nights spent under the stars in the stunning scenery of Wadi Rum were very special, and the spectacular walk through the hills around Petra gave us the best way in and showed us so much more. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sleeping on a rocky ledge surrounded by amazing rock scenery and with spectacular views - the best bedroom we've ever slept in!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Zohair was not just a good guide but a good conversationalist, providing interesting perspectives on Jordan and the Middle East

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you like mountains and desert, Wadi Rum is one of the very best - make sure you sleep under the stars
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    SIERRA DE AITANA TREK

    Each day the sky was blue and the air was crisp and clear. The relatively easy day walks were in areas of outstanding natural beauty and varied each day - sometimes rugged and rocky, sometimes forested, with natural vegetation or farmed. All types of scenery were beautiful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking down on Benidorm and seeing what 'package tourists' were missing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jose is a natural and excellent leader. He showed his best side when tending to the feet of some of the females in our group. He clearly understands the types of people in the groups well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Leave all your worries behind.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was great to get away from England for a week and escape some of the pre-Christmas hype.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLE THE BACKROADS OF SRI LANKA

    This was a fantastic trip with a huge variety of scenery and challenges. As a reasonable cyclist however not a true fanatic I really enjoyed this holiday. Having been with Peter our guide in Kerala, I travelled again with 2 friends who also had a great time. Our group was good fun and supportive of each others abilities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lots of great days and whilst I chose to go on the train to Nuara Elia we enjoyed a fantastic experience with the locals. I was delighted to be there to welcome many of the group back from an amazing challenge.There are many other fab cycling days including the down hill day of supreb views from Ella, to make in time to watch the Rugby World Cup final over a few beers!! Chasing home from mad rainstorm, along the lakeside was also a great experience! Whale watching trip is also a must!! 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter and his team ( AK and Kasun) were excellent and extremely supportive.At no point do you need to ask for anything as we were always well catered for.Having been with Peter in Kerela, I would recommend any trip that he and his team guide, as we have had 2 very good experiences. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You do need rain gear, though it was a lot of fun in the muddy back lanes!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great way to see Sri Lanka. The final hotel at the beach has still some way to go, to be the best way to end the trip.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - NORTHERN CIRCUIT

    Although climbing Kili has become a typical 'charity' trek. You have to do it to know how wonderful and awesome it is to summit this bad boy. It is no easy 'red nose' saunter and still one of my proudest moments to date.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I guess it has to be the summit!! After all that is your ultimate goal - It took us all night to get there, leaving approx midnight and arriving approx 8am - It really is tough and still something I look back to saying to myself, if i can do that....I can do anything!! It was dark, cold and my water froze which made it really tough but all that is swift forgotten when you get to have your pic taken at that infamous kili summit sign (yes blown up on my wall) It was the biggest thing i'd ever done and the whole group got to the top which was great, i also raised £2,500 for Charity!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I chose to do the Northern Circuit as had had some trouble on my trip to altitude the year before, and i had heard that a lot of people don't make it to the top of kili which worried me. I liked that fact that it gave you an extra day or two to acclimitise and it obviously worked as our whole group got to the top and none of us were ill either. Id definitely reccommend this route as it's a long way to go to not reach your goal...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Made some great friends on this trip, and am still friends with my tent mate, we both decided to run the Brighton Marathon last year and both completed it within minutes of each other - must have been the kili training. Head down, tail up - do the kili shuffle - this was a group mantra!!!!
Call us on 0208 772 3936