Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE CAPE & WINELANDS

    A wonderful way to see Cape Town, the surrounding wine growing regions and the dramatic coast. But be warned, although it is classed as a "moderate" trip there are LOTS and LOTS of hills and it is VERY windy!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Unexpectedly seeing a whale in Hermanus, the wild baboons just chilling by the side of the road, the huge open plains and seriously impressive mountains. Then wine wasn’t bad either!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pete and his crew were great. Really friendly and happy to give some background on the places we saw. Cooking was excellent and just what I needed after a long day on the road.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t underestimate how tough the cycling can be as this is really an exhausting trip, not just because of the hills but also because of how difficult it can be cycling in such windy conditions. Take your own saddle, and padded cycling shorts as you’ll need them. Draught beer is cheap but pretty much everything else is the same price as in the UK.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Some of the places you’ll stay are in the middle of nowhere, so expect to make your own entertainment, which, to be fair wasn’t difficult with such a great group of people. I'm sure the samples we got from from the vineyards we visited helped too. Even in the height of summer it gets cold at night. So make sure you bring a fleece/warm jumper or 3!The days are long so don't expect much (if any) pool or beach time.South African electricity sockets are unlike any others in the world, so even if you think you have a "world adaptor" it won't work.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM BY BIKE

    This is a brilliant trip, a beautiful country seen an an exceptional way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We climbed up the mountainside oposite Petra's "Treasury" and saw it from above.  Looking down on the famous site, with all the tourists looking like ants was amazing!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was fantastic.  Very attentive, very knowlegable, and he gave us a lot of colorful information about the country, the history, the people, and the culture of Jordan.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you travel in the winter months be prepared for dramatic temperature swings, quite cold in the north and the mountains, quite warm at the Red Sea and Dead Sea.  Layers are a must!  Also, there is some trekking (well worth doing) so if you prefer to hike with poles, bring them along.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a wonderful trip with a great group of fellow cyclists.  We were of varying ability, but it was easy to enjoy ourselves no matter what our level.  The food was spectacular!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    THAI INDOCHINA EXPLORER

    This was an amazing trip - one of the best holidays we have ever been on.  The scenery, the people and the food were all outstanding.  The guides were very knowledgeable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    In Vietnam it was the Homestay on the Mekong Delta.In Cambodia it was Siem Reap and the Angkor complex - an amazing place.  Also the boat trip on Ton Le Sap lake to the floating village was excellent.Bangkok was a pleasant surprise, surpassing our expectations prior to the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All of our group leaders were excellent (Thuy in Vietnam, Chianny in Cambodia and Da in Bangkok).Chianny's enthusiasm for his country and his people are worthy of special mention.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel light - the majority of the hotels have a very reasonable laundry service so be careful not to overpack.  Comfortable shoes are essential.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a truly amazing holiday and we would recommend it to anyone who has not visited this area before.  The food across the whole region is amazing, although having rice for breakfast takes a bit of getting used to!!  There is vast contrast between the hustle and bustle of cities such as Saigon and the slower pace of life in smaller towns such as Siem Reap, but we are very glad we experienced it all.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THROUGH RAJASTHAN

    Cycling through the countryside gives you a wonderful insight into rural life in India whilst visits to the cultural highlights of the region make this a very interesting and active itinerary.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the Taj Mahal which is amazing.  The Forts at Agra and Jaipur were also really impressive and I enjoyed cycling through the countryside too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The two leaders, Sajay and Pramod were excellent leaders who not only guided the cycling but also kept us entertained. They worked hard in the background to ensure that the trip ran smoothly. The bike mechanic, bus driver and his assistant were also a good team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for quite a few consecutive days cycling 40miles+ and consider taking your own saddle rather than a gel cover. If you take your own bike remember that supplies of spare parts such as chains and rear mechanism hangars are aimed at the local bike market and so you would be advised to take a few extra bike bits just in case.   The road surfaces can be rough in places and don't be surprised if the locals want to chat to you from their motorbikes whilst you negotiate pot holes, camels, cows etc in front of you.  This means that you should be confident of cycling in traffic and some experience of cycling on rough terrain would be advantageous.  It is best to cycle with at least one other person as, although almost everyone is friendly, sometimes the children like to jump out in front of you or throw stones. A supply of hand gel is also a good idea.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An active, well organised trip which is almost two holidays in one combining the cycling and sight-seeing.  The bikes were great for the terrain and the mechanic was skilled at keeping them running.  Some of them would probably have benefited from some new cassettes and chains.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    THE ZAMBEZI VALLEY

    This was a fantastic trip with just the right mix of activity(canoeing) and wildlife watching, the guide was excellent and couldn't have looked after us better, it was an experience I'll remember all my life.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting in a canoe on the mighty Zambezi, silently, while a few metres away an elephant watched us from the bank, flapping its ears. Watching (at a safe distance) a pod of hippos floating in the river and snorting at us. Sitting in the quiet of the evening wth a glass of wine (yes!) discussing the animals and birds we had seen that day with our guide.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader couldn't have been better.  He was knowledgable about everything - animals, local customs, countryside - and a good cook too!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This was a relaxing trip well within the capabilities of anyone who is moderately fit and wants a close-up safari.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip had some exciting moments such as a hippo coming up from the depths beside us but the guide brought us safely through them!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    TRAILS OF VIETNAM

    Vietnam is a fascinating place, and this trip really covers it, from north to south, taking in all the sights and all the places you would expect.  All very slick, very smooth, good locations, and a fascinating tour guide. The only downside – this was not the trip book, in the sense that the trip dossier detailed much more cycling and trekking than we actually did, so disappointing from that perspective, and either the brochure or the trip needs to change

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant, totally brilliant!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You don’t need malaria tablets – the trip dossier is wrong!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    A really great activity week. All organised for you and great fun!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I liked just about all of it,, great memories! 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ali was very professional about the whole trip! Going out for Group Dinner was fine but always too late in the evening for me! Just my thing about eating late so don't let that put you off!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pass on the diving if you've done any diving previously.  We we're promised the best diving in the whole Med with great drop offs etc but where the Dive Leader took us was nothing other than mud flats with carefully placed old jugs and vases to make it look authentic,,, worst dive I've ever been on!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Other than the diving, its was a great holiday even though it was different to what was advertised in the brochure! There was probably some clause that said check the website for latest intinery but I was quite happy to go with the flow. Definately go on this holiday if you like doing stuff thats exciting but not too taxing!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - RONGAI ROUTE

    An amazing trip, don't think about it just do it. The rongai route is much better than the coka cola route and you'll have a great time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Approaching mawenzi tarn (our campsite that evening) surround by fog/clouds and not seeing anything the while time until 3 minutes before we get to camp and the clouds break with mawenzi peak right there towering above us!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Meke was out guide leader. Exodus used the company African walking tours locally and Meke was from there. He was outstanding. He ran a really tight group. You could easily see him managing a western company he was in that much control yet made sure we were having a good time and were medically safe.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring lots of snack, eg junk food. There's plenty to eat but you are expending so much energy it is a great opportunity to eat as many chocolate bars as you want!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You don't have to train but I suggest you do. It is the difference between enjoying the trip and having a painful trip.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLING VIETNAM

    Overall it was a great holiday and good to travel with like minded people from all over the world. A great way to see the sights of Vietnam with a mixture of cycling and touring.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Where to start...? How do you cross the road? with the help of a friendly local...Cycling over 100km before lunch; Hoi An; Halong Bay - fantastic scenery; the people and the food.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lam and crew were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. The support truck was a welcome sight at various points giving out much needed water as it was hot, hot, hot! and kept us going with snacks, fruit etc. Lam has an excellent knowledge of all parts of Vietnam and was happy to share.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Lots of sun screen as it was hot in July

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Get to Vietnam now before westernisation changes the face of the country. Be prepared for noise and more noise as these mopeds head down the streets towards you...
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC KENYA SAFARI

    An amazing experience which lingers in the mind for a long time after. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing my grandson's wonder at seeing his first giraffeBing close to lions watching them eat their prey and mateHearing baby baboons playing on the deck of our lodge in the early morning

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both leaders were efficient and helpful.   Ben in particular was friendly and approacable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If possible go and stay in Nairobi overnight as the first day is hard especially with the long drive

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would help if insurance details and chat could be done before or on line as the long stop in cafe on first day's journey was frustratingThe only upsetting aspect is the numer of jeeps round the animals  particularly at busy times of the day so good to go out earlyWe loved the eco camp, the setting and everything about it
Call us on 020 8772 3936