Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Word - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous
    Everything from the pre-trip support (to calm my nerves) to the guides and dirvers was unfaultable. Organisation of the trip was fantastic. Catering climbing up a moutain 5*! We were looked after in every way to ensure reaching the destination of the summit and back was accomplished. Could not ask for more!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making it to the Summit. Watching the sunrise at Gilman's point was also a highlight. But what amazed me the most was the porters carrying my 15kg bag plus there necessities and food etc.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very knowledgable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Follow the kit list- it is invaluable!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a trip of a lifetime and I would highliy recommend doing a safarai afterwards. Tangerie National park and teh lodges we stayed in through Exodus were out of this world. I fell in love with Tanzania and will definatley be going back and using Exodus repeatedly!
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous
    This is the first time I have used any company such as Exodus and I was extremely impressed with all aspects of the holiday. The literature described the itinerary perfectly without spoiling some of the additional surprises along the way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the ring tailed lemurs for the first time in their natural environment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was fantastic and could not be faulted in any way; he was very knowledgeable, patent, ever-so friendly and a true credit to the policy of using local guides. He made everybody on the trip feel very welcome and his hard work throughout the trip was truly appreciated.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My advice to anybody considering this trip is to: Just go, you will be amazed. If treking and wildlife spotting is you thing then this is the trip for you. The trip notes covers everything you will need for the holiday, but you will need plenty of memory cards as there is just so much to photograph.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like to pass on my thanks to everyone involved in organising this trip as it truly was an amazing place to visit. I can honestly say that it is one of the most spectacular places I have ever been and the way in which the trip was run could not have been better. Although there were a couple of mishaps along the way, it added to the experience of visiting a county which is so different from the UK. In all I am extremely impressed Exodus and will not hesitate to use them again.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous
    A delightful holiday that exceeded all my expectations. Beautiful countryside and cities, a well-balanced, relaxed itinerary, great food, hospitality and excellent company.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Without doubt, the Mezquita in Cordoba. I loved Cordoba full stop, but the Mezquita was something else; astonishing, awe-inspiring, breathtaking. An almost surreal visual and spiritual experience. It needs - and deserves - plenty of time to take it all in.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I've been lucky on all my Exodus trips to have great tour leaders. Ale continued that trend; very knowledgeable, well-organised, helpful and also friendly, sociable and always ready to have a laugh and a joke with the group (and there was a LOT of laughter in the course of the week!) He promised to always try and answer any questions we had, but if he didn't know the answer, to try and find it out within 24 hours. I asked a lot of questions; he always kept his promise! 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you're expecting an activity-packed agenda, this is not the trip for you. It definitely is, as the brochure says, "Leisurely". However, for anyone wanting a laid-back week, with flexibility, plenty of time to do your own thing (especially in the first half of the week) in beautiful surroundings, a good balance of town & country and a taste of the "Real Spain", I would recommend this trip.The Cortijo is really out in the sticks but that's part of its charm, and none of the locations visited are too far away. Expect to be well looked after by the excellent staff and above all, well fed! As other reviewers have said, knowing a few words of Spanish in this area is useful.   In Cordoba, as well as the Mezquita and Juderia I'd recommend visiting the patios at the Palacio de Viana; very pretty but off the main tourist drag and therefore peaceful. An ideal place to while away a tranquil hour or so. One word of advice for vegetarians: If you're a "true" vegetarian, i.e. you don't eat fish or shellfish as well as meat, do make sure that's made clear to the tour leader at the start of the trip or you might find yourself faced with a plate of prawns one evening (the only minor blip in an otherwise excellent culinary week). You can expect to be well looked after by the staff at the Cortijo though, and definitely won't go hungry.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd never visited mainland Spain before and really didn't know what to expect. If I'm honest, the choice to book was made not because the area was on my "wish list" but because I thought it would be "nice" and give me a good chance of some autumn sunshine!So I'm delighted to say that the week exceeded all my expectations. I had an absolutely lovely holiday; I thoroughly enjoyed every place that we visited and also time spent just chilling out at the Cortijo. The leisurely pace was just what I needed to recharge my batteries after a hectic September. I really hope to visit this part of Spain again in the future and get to know it even better.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous
    We would give this trip 10 stars if we could! Truly a trip of a lifetime. We were extremely lucky that there were very few tourists when we went, so could do & see everything without the crowds.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking into Petra.Driving in the desert at Wadi Rum.Floating in the Dead Sea.Everything in Egypt! Loved it all.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All three leaders were great -also all our drivers were great fun as well. Ali in Jordan - very knowledgeable about all historic sites in Jordan.  Ahmed in Sinai - very friendly - had wonderful few days - esp. walking in coloured/white canyon. Hany in Nile Egypt - what can I say - he was fantastic. He was so knowledgeable about Egyptology - he could even read the hierogylphics in the tombs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go whilst its still quiet. There were only 3 of us on our trip and it was worth waiting for - only trouble was the trip went so quickly! We loved Egypt so much that we have been back to our hotel in Sharm-el-Sheik for a weeks holiday in September. If you have any doubts about going - please forget them and go! You won't regret it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus were great - we even had Mr Fix-Its each time we crossed a border. Will certainly go with Exodus again. Looking to book two holidays with them in the next year.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous
    This holiday certainly gives you a full and varied insight into Peru and I enjoyed all the different aspects of it.  I'm glad I walked the Classic Inca Trail, but it's certainly not an easy option!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the Classic Inca Trail and arriving at Machu Picchu through the Sun Gate.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader was good.  It was a big group and he obviously assessed our individual capabilities and kept an eye on us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not a trip for the faint hearted, but well worth the effort. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Peru is certainly a place to visit at least once.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous
    This was an incredible trip! I hugely enjoyed the challenge of climbing Kilimanjaro and would highly recommend this trip to those of you that are seeking a holiday adventure!  It was a very well organised trip from beginning to end. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Flying into Tanzania from Kenya we got the most amazing view of the challenge we were going to face - absolutely awesome! Kilimanjaro didn't reveal itself again from behind the cloud until we were in our second camp on a starry night with a bright moon.  It was a spectacular and magical view that I won't ever forget! We didn't see the peak again until we were standing on it a few days later!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our head guide, Davis from the AWC, was exceptional! He was a natural leader with a great sense of humour which really made our trip fun.  He organised us and the rest of his team with great skill but above all kept us all safe on the mountain.  The rest of the team were excellent too - the assistant guides, cook and porters were a fantastic team that worked very hard to make our holiday enjoyable, memorable and safe.  Well done to the AWC!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not underestimate the challenge involved in climbing Kilimanjaro - it is a tough but hugely rewarding and fun experience! Enjoy the journey as well as the ultimate goal of standing on the roof of Africa! If you don't like camping, going to the loo in a bucket and all that goes with a multi day walk this trip really, really isn't for you!  Be prepared for the cold and rain - make sure your kit is up to scratch and that you have plenty layers!  You will be very well fed so there is no need to take mountains of snacks with you - spare your porter the extra weight as trust me you won't need loads of extra food, just the odd snack and some chocolate or sweets will do! My biggest piece of advice is drink plenty water as it really does help with acclimatisation - I drunk about 5 litres of water a day and am convinced it helped me get to the top.  Finally, a positive mental attitude undoubtedly helps (and it is more enjoyable for your fellow climbers!) but do listen to your body and the guides!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Good luck to those of you that decide to go for it! Enjoy!!
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous
    Wow! Kerala & Tropical India Cycling trip was all we expected and more.Excellent trip - great cycling, great scenery - with wonderful variety, great tour team & great group to be on holiday with.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling up Otty Spending time at the Orphanage - with children happy to see you and speak to you Feeling famous - everyone saying "Hello" "Where you come from?" "Where you going?", having our photos taken by the locals  and being in the local paper - news article of our trip because of a serindipidous moment. Houseboat - relaxation and woderful views

    What did you think of your group leader?

    we really had three - although Vishnu was the leader, the whole experience was enhanced by Joseph as bike leader and Shibu as driver/ waterman / bike repair man - they made a great team and made our trip a fantastic experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go on this trip No need to cover up - as suggested in brochure/ trip notes- as a female - vest tops and cycle shorts were fine except in Mysore Palace and around the elephant tour linked to the Temple

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One of the best trips we have ever done - cycling a good challenge but really enjoyable , scenery so varied and cycling varied to - much better than we could have ever imagined. India (Southern) much better experience than we ever imagined it would be  - the people so friendly and they were so happy to meet us & speak to usGot to try out lots of different foods all the way along the tirpKitty run by leader - great - allowed all to try lots more food - and there was such variety along the way.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous
    I expected more of a coastal walk which was not a disappointment and walking through pine clad forest meant we were shielded from the sun. The unexpected aspects of the trek made it more interesting. Obviously the trip depends on the other group members which in this case was the makings of the trip. I did expect the accommodation to be not quite as basic – there was no water or only scorching hot water at times.  The breakfasts were a bit monotonous but the food was generally good. In spite of this I found the holiday enjoyable and rewarding, each day being quite challenging in the heat and humidity. The well-marked paths are full of scenic moments and there are several opportunities to swim in the sea. I found the camping and the climb of mount Olympus very interesting and different from what I expected. It is a quite a rush to pack up and get ready each day but that is what trekking is all about, I guess.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Mount Olympus was the main highlight and climbing it gave me a good sense of achievement. I found the ruins of Olympus very stimulating and the flames of Chimera visit fascinating.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A patient and friendly leader, who at times had to do most of the tasks - brief us, guide us, buy and prepare the food and arrange the accommodation. I had expected more historical and local knowledge, better fluency in English and more advice to prepare us for the next day. I could have done with some more guidance as to what to take with us for the camping and climb of Mount Olympos. I believe we should have been warned of the stoniness of two of the beeches which at one could have been dangerous with the breakers. In general he was attentive and concerned for our safety without detracting from the sense of adventure, achieving a good balance between being organisational and giving one a sense of using one’s initiative. I will always remember his patience at the camp when serving out the tea from the hot urn using pliers to turn tap which was broken.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was necessary to have a good sleeping bag for the camping night to ensure a good night’s sleep – my tent had a problem of condensation on the inside. Some of the beaches are painfully stony and it advisable to use the jetties and ladder to get clear of the stones. Be prepared to carry some of the food, pitch your tent and gather firewood.There is time and the opportunity to wash your clothes.If you are travelling with ladies do not be surprised to inadvertently see some female posterior on the Lycian way and having to avert one’s gaze. The trail is quite slippery in places an one must look out for low branches. On the last day there is the time and the possibility of a boat cruise as well as the shopping at Antalya.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would have been handy to know that there was quite a lot of room on the Thomas Cook plane for a reasonably sized rucksack.It would have been good for Exodus to supply a bag for the provisions for camping rather than the bin bag provided. A map of Antalya would have been useful and some prior information on the ancient town of Olympos.  
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous
    Exceeded my expectations. Well planned itinery. plenty of time to acclimatise. Loved going to Titicaca first and loved the trail and subsequent itinery through the Andes, Nazca and Paracas. It was like 3 holidays in one!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sense of being pulled through the Sun Gate by the full rays of the sun giving that first sudden full sight of Machu Picchu! I burst into tears. Camping on the ridge above Phuyupatamarca, gorgeous sunlight. climbing up for a better view of snow capped Mt Veronica with the sun setting and seeing a full Broccken Spectre, absolutely amazing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Juan was the best guide I have ever come across. His English is amazing, his knowledge fantastic, his photographic knowledge unbelievable and very very attentive to everyones needs. He was very caring and patient.IN FACT he should be the only guide you ever use!!! Keep him fully employed so as not to lose him!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont forget full waterproofs any time of year! Hot water bottle for tent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Fantastic trip. Please, please organise me a trip to go to the Serengeti 2013!!!
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous
    This trip is a great way to experience India if it is your first visit to the country. It's a whistle-stop tour of Rajasthan and the Golden Triangle, and a great way to get under the skin of this wonderful country and its people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are so many inspirational moments on every leg of the trip - almost too many to mention.  The Amber Fort at Jaipur, dashing around the city on rickshaws, discovering Fatehpur Sikri, the Taj Mahal at sunrise, seeing a tiger in the wild at Ranthambore, experiencing Varanasi during Diwali, the warm welcome and kindness of the Indian people. My personal favourite was the sunset and sunrise river trips on the Ganges at Varanasi for the Diwali celebrations - moments I will never ever forget.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Avtar was a great leader, one of the most passionate and knowledgeable guides I've ever had on an Exodus trip.  It was clear he took great pride in showing us 'his India' and his enthusiasm was infectious. He also has endless energy, enough to keep the group on the go when we were tiring. The man is a legend!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The itinerary is very busy and it's a fast paced trip.  Don't expect to sleep much or relax. There is a lot of travelling so be prepared.  The overnight train accommodaion can also be very basic (with added wildlife) - not for the faint hearted.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would highly recommend the trip as a great introduction to India and a chance to experience the warmth and hospitality the country has to offer. Along with being able to visit the Golden Triangle, it's a trip that will leave you with some great memories and a yearning to return.
Call us on 0208 772 3936