Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    WHALES AND LEOPARDS OF SRI LANKA

    An exhausting but packed week of lots of wildlife watching. Sri Lanka is a must if you haven't been before.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As with most wildlife trips things don't always work out the way you expect them too but there are usually some unexpected gems. Sadly I didn't get the Leopard photos I went for but the last game drive delivered up some fantastic opportunities to photograph the sloth bear, a much more rare prize than your bog standard leopard.  The spinner dolphins we encountered on the whale watching trips will be a lasting memory. We saw them following a tuna boat and to see a dolphin go for a 'kill' was immense!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rohan and Nilantha were great. Couldn't fault them. You may see Nilantha pop up in articles about Yala NP, he knows his stuff.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You must take a bit of ownership of your game drives. Speak up if you want them to stop, they are more than happy to as they want you to have a good time because they want your tips! Take a long lens, sometimes you might get a leopard by the road but you get a lot in the distance up trees where they normally hang out. I had a 400mm and was glad I had it. Don't expect to get a good shot of a leopard, I didn't, but there are other treats if you put the time in. You might be unlucky until your last drive so don't get disheartened if your first drives arn't fruitfull, stick with them, despite how tempted you will be to stay in bed rather than make the 5am drive, you'll be glad you did. The quality of the game drives within the group differed a lot and this was unfortunate. One group was taken down to the beach for the sunrise and the others missed out, this was a bit annoying as being a photographer it would have given me some good images instead of the leopards who wern't showing themselves at the time. We had better luck with the whale watching, despite missing one of the boat trips due to rough sea. We saw around 10 blue whales each trip, amongst other whales and dolphins. The boat is perfect for the job. Again you need a long lens despite what you might be told. The boats don't get too close to the whales so as not to frighten them off, blue whales are supprisingly skittish, other whales will come over and say hello. You should also make sure you have a good circular polarizing filter too, mine was very useful. You will need your sunhat, shades and sun cream for the whale watching, it gets very hot out there. Be prepared for not getting much sleep, the journey there is gruelling (7 hour drive right after a 12 hour flight) I didn't really get chance to recover all week and returned home utterly exhausted but you will have had an awsome week if you manage to stay awake. The itinerary is very full you will feel like you have done a lot in just a week but it's pretty brutal with 5am starts every morning.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you only have a week to spend and want some good wildlife experiences then this is a good one. Keep in mind it may not go to plan and resolve to come back another day if it doesn't. Sri Lanka is amazing, the people, food and culture deserve their reputation as an excellent people/place to visit.  Take a light waterproof! It can rain something epic and quite randomly and the jeeps aren't that weather proof!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous .

    SPITSBERGEN EXPLORER

    We saw an amazing amount of wildlife.  There is nothing to compare to seeing polar bears in the wild, interacting with their young and fending for food.  The ship's crew and the expedition staff worked untiringly to enable us to see as much as possible, while maintaining as first priority the wellbeing of the wildlife and their environment.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    -

    What did you think of your group leader?

    -
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF CHINA

    It was an incredible trip in that I saw so many amazing sights and experienced a culture removed from our own. However, the number of people at some of the sites was a bit over powering, as was the amount of smog around the cities. I had not really been prepared for either.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed the day of cycling and caving, the sun and relative peace and space and the incredible scenery was inspiring.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She was excellent. This was her first trip to Hong Kong and her first tour of this kind and yet she looked after us extraordinarily well and ensured we got good service and were safe at all times.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the fact you will not know what the weather is like in Beijing and Xian, such is the smog. Take a pocket dictionary to point at words in restaurants. Take a trip up the tower of the Chinese bank in Hong Kong to see the view for free, but remember to carry identification to get in. Worth it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The contrast between main land China and Hong Kong was marked and I loved having a free day to explore in Hong Kong.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    ANDES TO AMAZON

    Quite honestly, the trip was all I was hoping for  - and more.  Great scenery, friendly people, glimpses of amazing wildlife, weird and wonderful plants, interesting towns, opportunities to do things I'd always wanted to do (and some I'd never thought about doing before).  This trip expanded my horizons.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I have to pick two - one easy, one tough. Easy: watching birds and monkeys as I drifted down a river in the Amazon Basin. Tough: looking out from behind an amazing waterfall after forcing myself to scramble, crawl and even climb through a low, narrow wet tunnel that most of our group  declined!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabian was a real character, roguish, passionate and knowledgeable about his country (and armed with books to fil in the gaps in his knowledge of plants and wildlife), friendly, laidback, caring and reliable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for all weathers and large meals, be flexible and don't go with pre-conceived ideas. And don't ignore your group leader when he tells you that at high latitudes the sun can burn you even through heavy cloud on a cold day

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first Exodus holiday and I couldn't believe what excellent value it was.  Not everything panned out as I was expecting. But, taking my cue from my sister (who, at 76 was the oldest member of the group), I simply went with the flow and made the most of every opportunity offered.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: TRINS & THE THREE VALLEYS

    This was a wonderful holiday. After a short transfer we arrived at the hotel where we were treated to a splendid four course meal, this continued every night! From the first day to the last we were skiing in incredibly beautiful scenery with spectacular views of the mountains and sometimes of the valley below when we were up in the mountains above the clouds. It was a lovely mix of recreational skiing with useful technique thrown in to help us improve. The hotel was fantastic, a sauna at the end of the day was much appreciated. All of our group (solo departures) gelled very quickly and I had a great time meeting lovely new people and sharing a lot of laughter and cheer with them.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was all inspirational but the last day at Maria Waldrast stands out. It felt like we were explorers braving the elements to conquer a mountain after which there was a long descent back to the restaurant were we could enjoy a nice warm mug of gluhwein. It was Heaven.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bob was a fantastic leader; an amazing source of knowledge both local and general, he did a great job taking care of us. He made me feel 'at home' in Austria rather than just another tourist by helping us to integrate with the local community.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a camera!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I can't wait for next winter so that I can enjoy another cross-country holiday! 
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    EVEREST BASE CAMP

    My trip to Everest Base Camp was fantastic. Exodus group leader, Valerie Parkinson and team of Guides were extremely organised and helpful. The scenery was fabulous and it was amazing to spend 2 nights camping at Base Camp alongside an expedition team.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was fantastic to camp at Base Camp and explore the area. It was great to see climbers on the icefall and to talk with climbers, climbing sherpas and the doctors in the Everest ER tent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Valerie Parkinson was a fantastic leader. Her passion for the Himalayas was contagious. She was extremely organised and helpful and was a mine of information.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it! Try to camp at Base Camp.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    This was the second time I have done the Amalfi Coast trip: firstly by myself in 2005 and, after having such a lovely time, I decided to bring my husband and friends along. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    No one moment in particular, but being in such an interesting and pretty part of the world makes the whole week worthwhile.  The Walk of the Gods is great, as was the view from top on the first day's climb.  The family- run hotel and being in a town not overrun with tourists is a great bonus.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Unfortunately, the only part of the trip that was disappointing for our group was the leader.  He seemed a bit "over it" as far as being a group leader goes.  While I appreciate he was unwell with a cold, he gave little or no advice, showed little knowleldge or interest in answering questions and generally was a bit useless.  Having done this trip in 2005 with a different group leader (and having an expectation of Exodus providing us with a similarly enthusiastic leader), I was quite disappointed (and a little embarrassed as I had encouraged three others to come).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely do the Amalfi Coast trip.  The downhill walking can be tough on your knees, so take walking sticks if you think this may be an issue.  On the walking days, think "moderate" for your rating; the "leisurely" part of the rating relates to the non-walking days. I also think a day-trip to Capri on your free day would be advisable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think Exodus are a great travel company and I would happily go on another trip with them in the future. 
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER ETHIOPIA

    Ethiopia is a stunningly beautiful country.The trip was very well organised and varied.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I can't pick out one inspirational moment but the rock-hewn churches were amazing, the views across the Simeon Mountains were incredible and the paintings in the churches were stunning. I loved the bird watching and became quite an expert on North African birds thanks to the serious bird watchers in our group who shared their knowledge and binoculars with me. Susan's restaurant in Lalibela, staffed by some of the poorest teenagers in the area,was an inspiration and has to be visited.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kibrom was an excellent and very professional guide. He taught us a lot and made sure that we all had a brilliant time. He was passionate about his country and wanted us to see the best of it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Binoculars are necessary for this trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We enjoyed every minute of this holiday.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    BHUTAN: LAND OF THE THUNDER DRAGON

    Good well rounded trip with time allowed for plane malfunction contingencies. Guide excellent,walking challenging but doable and enjoyable, accommodation excellent. Good to have the few days in Kathmandu.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing up to and viewing Taksang Monastery.  Surviving Bhutanese driving .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sonam was a brilliant person--inspirational, patient, informative and just a great (Top) guy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit, have all your medication with you, travel light and keep your mind open and curious..

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Make sure to go early to the Festival to be sure to get a seat in the shade.  Failing that bring some sort of head scarf --It gets kind of warm in the sun.   And please respect the dress code---I was ashamed to be ' European' by the dress of some people at the event despite all the guide books stressing this request.  ( Gripe over)
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    A fantastic 5 days, with great support from Zohair, our guide, and his friendly team.  The nights spent under the stars in the stunning scenery of Wadi Rum were very special, and the spectacular walk through the hills around Petra gave us the best way in and showed us so much more. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sleeping on a rocky ledge surrounded by amazing rock scenery and with spectacular views - the best bedroom we've ever slept in!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Zohair was not just a good guide but a good conversationalist, providing interesting perspectives on Jordan and the Middle East

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you like mountains and desert, Wadi Rum is one of the very best - make sure you sleep under the stars
Call us on 020 8772 3936