Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Word - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous
    Superb weather,cloud less blue skies all week.The hotel was basic but adequate,good food & friendly staff. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Nothing particularly outstanding,each day was just enjoyable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was a lovely man, calm, unruffled & looked after the group very well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip  really needs a dedicated mini bus for the group. The Corsican transport system is somewhat unreliable & generally over crowded.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous
    This was a great first visit to Romainia.  The carpathian mountains were beautiful, the food was great, and the people were friendly.  We had awsome hikes, and good accomodations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me the most inspirational moment was the first mornig.  We had arrived in Magura(our host village) in the middle of the night in total darkness.  In the light of morning I could see the beauty of the surrounding mountains, and the quaint little farms on the slopes all around us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cosmin was very good.  He had a true love of his culture and enjoyed shareing it with us.  He spoke very good english.  Cosmine was also confident enough to be patient with the slower walkers in the group, yet willing to let the stronger ones forge ahead.  Cosmine was also well organized.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You should go with a reasonable level of fitness.  The hikes are not hard, yet you are in mountainous terrain.  Also, if you have favorite trail snacks you should bring them because some of the selections for the lunches are a little limited  and repetative.  Like it says in the trip notes, don't change money at the airport.  The exchange rates are poor, and we didn't need any cash for the first couple of days in the trip anyway.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a great oportunity to see a "slower" way of life to that which many of us in the west live, where many people still use a horse and cart for daily life, and dont have to run to the store for their milk and eggs.  Romainia seems to be in the discovery stage of tourists, so you wont be bumping into throngs of other visitors like you do in many other places.  In short, this was a very good way to spend a week.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous
    It was perfectly organised, from landing in Amman to taking us back to the airport. And anything in between as well.The bikes were good, the cycling through nice scenery very enjoyable and not too strenous (I could have coped with a little more, although some of the hills we went up where not so enjoyable. But at the top you have a real sense of achievement, and if you don't want to cylce up - the minibus wasn't far behind you to pick you up)If you want a holiday where you don't need to organise anything other than turning up, while having a fantastic time, go!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip went from wow moment to wow moment! Floating in the Dead Sea - very weird but wonderful experiencePetra - WOW!!!Wadi Rum - I'm so glad I could experience this, it was such a nice evening

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was very friendly, funny, knowledgable, enthusiastic for his country, supportive and caring.  For the unfortunate two where something went wrong (luggage lost, injury) he bent over backwards to help them and sort out the problem. The other guides we had  - bike guides and the drivers - were incredibly friendly and supportive

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go and do it

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first cycling holiday, but now I want to experience the others ones too!
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous
    An interesting and value for money trip that explores an area of Spain off the usual tourist trail. The locals, including those at the hotel and other villagers, were genuinely friendly and helpful. The food at the hotel was excellent and they produced regional dishes using local produce that included honey, cherries and wine. The walks, wildlife and scenery were all delightful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    In our opinion Bob Mason is one of the best tour leaders we’ve experienced in many years of group walking. He paced the group appropriately so that we always arrived back at the hotel in good time to relax before dinner. The walks were well thought-out, planned and varied. He was very well-informed about the local flora and fauna and made the walks interesting by passing on some of his extensive knowledge. He was always calm and patient and showed an interest in everybody. Bob gave 'added value' to our holiday and made it memorable.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous
    A well planned and thought out trip with a terrific and knowledgeable guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many great memories ,  visiting Saigon and trying to cross the road what an experience also paragliding on the boat trip at Nha Trang and cycling on the Hai Van pass,  seeing and experiencing the history of the country. and last but not least the Cu Chi tunnels

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent Chi brought the trip alive a great karaoke singer with a great sense of humor. The whole team were great and the accommodation first class.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go and soak up the whole atmosphere you will not be disappointed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Bring plently of sunscreen and light clothing especially in sept a trip to remember.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous
    The hike provides an amazing variety of scenery, culture, history, architecture and cuisine.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sharing the daily physical accomplishments and visual euphoria with the group and leader.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Carey Faulkner was fantastic.  She is extremely customer service orientated, friendly, enthusiastic and enjoys her job. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring layers of clothing.  Expect hot, cold, windy and wet conditions.  Hiking boots and walking poles are not essential, however, they minimize the risk of potential injures. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Spend a few extra days in Chamonix due to the abundance of outdoor recreational activities.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous
    This was my first experience of Morocco and of an Exodus Volunteer experience. Having read the detailed trip notes and the information on the Baraka Community Partnerships website, I knew it was the trip for me.....and I wasn't disappointed!  Words that come to mind when I think of the trip: the joy that the little things in life can give us (eg sunshine, a smile, laughter, a shower, teamwork..); the beauty of Morocco, its people and nature; the fun of adventure; the wonder of the human spirit and the joy of working together in partnership.   Everyone in our group returned refreshed and renewed....and in many cases transformed by the experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many memorable moments.....swinging a pick-axe at the Hammam in Tizjha; laughing with the locals as we worked together;  standing under a waterfall; riding down the hillside on a mule; gazing up at a star-filled sky; seeing the smiles on the childrens' faces as they received new clothes, shoes, toys, toothbrushes; scraping old paint off the tired school building near Essaouria while a little local boy stood next to me with his sandpaper; seeing the transformation in the school building after all our efforts; being a part of a lovely group of people and sharing experiences with them...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andy was a wonderful group leader. His passion for Morocco and its people and his wealth of experience and knowledge was an inspiration.  His fluency in French meant he could communicate with many Moroccans with apparent ease.  His many years of experience with Exodus and more recently his work with Baraka has endeared him to many Moroccans who were visibly grateful for all he has done....and it was lovely to be a part of his vision.  He had planned the trip carefully and we felt looked after. Although he was our leader he felt one of our group and was a lot of fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try to take out as much as you can for the villagers....Andy will advise you on what is needed;  Keep well protected from the sun;   Dextrose tablets and rehydration sachets can come in handy for a dodgy tummy!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am likely to write far too much if I say anymore! If you love adventure, people and new experiences, you will love this trip.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous
    A fantastic trek, excellently organised and guided by the team. Don't be fooled that it's easy just because Chris Moyles or Cheryl Cole can do it - 6 out of 12 in our group made it to Uhuru, with 9 out of 12 to Gilman's point. The summit evening is a real slog but well worth it at the top.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top and walking by the glaciers on the way to Uhuru. The summit day wasvery difficult but well worth it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide was excellent (as we have always found with Exodus) - he really helped some of the team make it to the top and looked after the group very well. The entire team of guides and porters were excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The full moon trek ascent was well worth it so it wasn't pitch black when climbing to Gliman's point. Take a SIGG water bottle so you can fill it with hot-water and use as a hot water bottle in the evenings. Get an insulated tube cover and mouthpiece cover for your camel bak.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Brilliant trip. Well worth it. And perfect if you're lucky enough to be able to tag on safari and zanzibar too.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous
    A good value trip incorporating nice places of interest.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous
    I was anticipating a week of coastal walking with superb views over the sea. In fact, only the final day really meets these expectations. A large proportion of the walking is through pine forests with no real views at all. I've been on many Exodus trips and, although I did have an enjoyable week's holiday, this is the most disappointing trip I've done.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The final day's walking to the Geldonia lighthouse is excellent. It's what most people in the group were expecting the whole trip to be like. The night around the campfire (I slept out under the stars) and the trek up mount Olympus were also very good.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    His daily briefings seemed to bear very little relation to what actually happened on the walks. With no explanation, the second day's walk was shortened to around 2h30m instead of the 5-6 hours promised in the itinerary. On the final day, at the end of a long walk, he gave us an extra hour's slog instead of a 10 minute walk from the lighthouse to where the coach was parked.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for hot, humid walking, take plenty of water! Poles are a big help on the long descent from Mt. Olympus that is over quite loose terrain. I had a 4 season sleeping bag and was comfortable sleeping out at the camp site, but several others had a cold night in 2 or 3 season bags even in their tents.
Call us on 0208 772 3936