Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Word - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2017
    Eleanor Mole

    Cycling in Sardinia

    My first exodus holiday I had a great time. Weather hot and beautiful coastal scenery. Opportunity to swim in the clear sea every day. I was very impressed with how well organised the trip was and how well the guides took care of us. A couple of the rides were quite tough for me as not a regular cyclist but enjoyed the challenge and certainly built up an appetite for the delicious food on offer!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beaches and the costal views. Nice being in a group setting, moving from hotel to hotel and group leader to advise on lunches/evening meals which we all ate together which was nice.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele and Giovanni were both great. Very friendly and professional. Giovanni provided well needed water and snack stops which was great as weather was very hot.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try and get in a bit of (long!) hill training for day 2! Take plenty of sunscreen!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go for it - you wont regret it!
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Linda Romalin

    Discover the Baltics

    The trip was very good. We had 11 in our group and were a mix of American, British, Australian and an Italian. Hotels were pleasant and transport was comfortable with pleasant bus drivers although some of the trips were long. There were enough stops along the way to keep things interesting. The major areas of the three countries were covered with a variety of cities, culture, nature and sea although the main focus was cultural even in the national parks. I would have preferred some walks on the many trails and boardwalks we were told about. The guided tours and time on our own was evenly divided. In Riga, there was plenty of time to see the Old Town, visit museums, relax in parks and cafes, and shop. In Tallinn and Vilnius, not so much. Overall, the trip was true to the itinerary.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not sure if I would call these inspirational moments but the museums in Riga (Occupation, Jews in Latvia, and Barricades) were all extremely interesting as well as The Cold War and KGB Museums in Lithuania. The Hill of Crosses was pretty amazing and the Curonian Spit was a nice break from the cities.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Jolita, was personable and knowledgeable; she did her very best to take care of each persons's needs and interests. She went out of her way (and above the itinerary) to take us out each evening when we arrived at a new city to give us an orientation and suggest places for dinner. We went to dinner (mostly) as a group 5 times. We didn't need a local guide in Lithuania as Jolita as a Lithuanian was the expert. I really enjoyed her upbeat personality and genuine excitement to teach us about the Baltic's turbulent history.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are interested in visiting museums you will have a hard time except for in Riga as there is not enough time during the day and you arrive in the cities at the time when museums are closed or are closing. I would suggest an extra day in Tallinn and an extra day in Vilnius.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus changed the Tallinn hotel 3 times without telling anyone about the third hotel. This one was outside of the Old Town on the seaport which was not very well located. They also changed the group flight from Lufthansa to Air Baltic without telling us. This changed the departure time from afternoon to morning. The only reason I took the group flight was to have some additional time in Vilnius so I was disappointed about that change.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Hilary Bailey

    Bulgaria, The Realm of the Brown Bear

    We had an excellent trip, learning about the evolution, distribution, habitat, food and habits of bears. We studied and measured " bear " trees and scats and were able to deduce the age and sex from these! The walks were well varied through stunning scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a bear from the hide for the first time. There was also stunning mountain scenery

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Julian was very knowledgeable, well organised and kind and patient.He has built up an excellent relationship with the local villagers . I was very impressed with his Bulgarian !

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There was (for me) some quite strenuous hiking and I was very glad I had taken good boots and walking poles.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I Love Bulgaria !
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Susan Evans

    Sicilian Volcanoes

    The tour guide Nicoletta was superb. Worked hard to ensure the rooms were allocated at the end of each day. Well organised meals out and extra excursions available for those who wanted to do something else. The tickets were organised for the bus and hydrofoil so transport was seamless. The only hitch was with the occasional member of the group not being available for boarding when required. Hotel rooms were great along with the breakfast. The only breakfast that was limited was the hotel on Stromboli. Rooms should have had air conditioning as I found it very hot and hard to sleep after coming from the cooler English temperatures. There was a prominence of preserved meat and bread where I was looking forward to fish and vegetables which I was surprised to find were hard to acquire in the islands. The food was over all very good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trip up Stromboli was the most inspiring part of the trip and worth the effort.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The tour guide Nicoletta was superb. 10 out of 10. She got on with all the group accommodating dietary and health requirements for one person. Worked hard to ensure the rooms were allocated at the end of each day. Well organised meals out, packed lunches, snacks and extra excursions available for those who wanted to do something else. All flowed smoothly indicating the considerable effort made on the trip. The tickets were well organised for the bus and hydrofoil so transport was seamless. Well done Nicoletta.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The variety of walks and location was very good as well as being able to see more than one island and many local towns. Walking each day was great and the weather brilliant but after working hard just before the trip I would have liked one rest day.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    nik koehli

    TSA Sierra D'Aitanna

    An easy trip from Alicante to the accommodation at El Trestellador Pension was a good start to the trip. The rooms was comfortable and unpretentious. The food was always excellent drawing on local produce to provide regional specialties. Quantities were vast, no chance of feeling hungry and the picnics were the same. The walking was as described in the brochure, days of 8 hours, so previous experience is required, but with nothing too demanding in terms of scrambling. All the walks till the last on Saturday were deserted and beautiful in many places.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the walks had beautiful parts but for me the descent into the Barranc de la Canal Gorge was the most visually stunning whilst the vista down to the coastal areas including Benidorm and Altea for Puig Campana was a close second.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go and enjoy an area of Spain that I certainly didn't think was going to be so stunning whilst a few miles from the millions of beach lovers. In June the weather was very warm for walking but Jose Miguel was assiduous about hydration and giving us potential shade. Having said that if you regularly walk these distances it is probably not an issue. The barbecue evening was great fun too.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Joyce Perkins

    Excellent way to sample the islands

    This was my first Exodus holiday and was a marvelous experience. I found the balance between organized walks, free time and traveling to be perfect. The group was friendly and diverse so I enjoyed the whole week. Our guide - Cécile- was good. She really knows the islands and how to beat the crowds. I especially enjoyed using local busses and ferries and staying in small individual hotels.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the Byzantine trail on Paros. The sage, rosemary and aniseed growing beside us made it a feast for the senses and the idea of using a path that was so old made it really special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - she worked hard and made it look easy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light - you have plenty of chances to do washing.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I felt the hotel Sunrise on Santorini was below par The rooms are dark and dingy and the breakfast was mediocre.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Linda (Jessie) Jessen

    Ancient and Modern Japan

    This tour was amazing on many levels. From the beginning, communications were prompt, helpful, and clear. All questions and concerns were addressed. The tour preparation information was very helpful and appropriate, assisting in smooth transition for the tour. The tour guide, agenda, and opportunities for personal impute, made the tour like a customized personal tour. Attention to needs and wants of the participants was consistently attended to, making the tour so very pleasurable and memorable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, Kyoto was the most fascinating. I loved the intact area, undisturbed from wars and major conflicts. The traditions, history, and sites there were wonderfully interesting. The Geisha and Maiko performance was a definite highlight for me, seeing the age-old traditions and styles of performance. I also loved Takayama, the area and the museum of Hokusei, the famous artist/genius! The gardens, walks, the people. All wonderful. Fuji, and oh, oh, oh, the food. Wonderful people, caring, helpful, and so respectful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ayaka Tsukamoto was attentive, professional, giving us choices, asking for interests, and making them happen whenever possible, which was often! She was personable, positive and fun! We were a small group, but quickly became like a family, having such a great time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to have an exciting time. Recommend reading up on Japan, as this will only make the trip even more appreciable and meaningful. Also, be prepared to do a lot of walking... not difficult, but lots of walking. Learn just a handful of phrases, like thank you, please, etc. Read the info sent to us, as it is meant to help, and it does! You will love this trip!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just thank you to all, for a wonderful and memorable time. I would recommend this tour highly.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Anne Smith

    Hiking the Sierra Nevada an amazing landscape

    A wonderful week based in the most friendly and supportive Hotel Los Berchules. Long days hiking the narrow trails captivated by the landscape dressed in spring flowers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking in the footsteps of the moors who created the most intricate scene of irrigation canals, edged in wild flowers and providing water for local farmers. Having lunch perched in the most beautiful places with a group of walkers who shared my holiday dreams and styles.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    George is an extremely knowledgeable guide his information and perspective on moorish Andalusia is enthralling. George encouraged us all to extend the experience with side trips and enjoying the local bars at the end of the day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trails are rough and the days long so get fit on hilly terrain and uneven surfaces. Pack light it's easy to wash out your walking clothes in the evening.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Both drives from Malaga and to Granada are very long and twisty, be prepared with car sickness tablets if your prone. These drives detract from the wonderful walks.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Bethany James

    Ancient and Modern Japan

    This is definitely a trip worth booking. Japan is such a beautiful place and my partner David and I really felt that this tour is ideal for a first visit. If you would love to see Japan but are unsure which places to visit or how to work out the transport systems then this trip is ideal, you truly see a diverse range of places and are able to experience so many different things. If you're like me and get a bit anxious with trains, buses and lots of people then I highly recommend booking this trip. Having a tour guide in Japan really allows you to relax and truly take everything in while your guide does all the confusing stuff for you. From beautiful, traditional Kyoto to the hustle and bustle of Tokyo and everything in between, this trip is really worth experiencing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's extremely hard to just pick one inspirational moment of this trip as there so many. Kyoto is a beautiful, friendly place with so many hidden gems which might be missed without a tour guide. However, the day trip to Nara has really stuck with me and if you're an animal lover like me then this should not be missed! What's not to love about crowds of cheeky deer bowing to you for a snack in front of the stunning view of a giant buddha statue. Truly amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ayaka Tsukamoto was an ideal group leader! She was extremely knowledgeable in every part of the tour and never ceased to go the extra mile, during free time to roam certain places she made sure she found us to tell us extra little facts and stories so we really knew the history of the places we were visiting. On our free days Ayaka went out of her way to make herself available and ensure a day never was wasted, she gave us all the information we needed to visit the places we wanted and had no problem accompanying us when we were unsure where to go. Ayaka has such a great sense of humour and really made us feel at ease in a country with a completely different culture to our own. She never rushed our group and allowed us to go at our own pace while making sure we never missed anything important. Ayaka truly made our holiday one to remember!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Comfy shoes are definitely a must, there's quite a lot of walking but it's definitely worth it. I was surprised at just how hot it was some days so make sure you take plenty cool clothes, we got lucky with just one day of rain so make sure you take a light raincoat too! I definitely over-packed my suitcase and didn't wear half the stuff I took, it's a casual trip so don't go nuts. I was far too strict with myself when buying souvenirs etc. and now i'm home I definitely regret not buying the things I wanted. There's so many lovely little things to take home, if you like it just buy it!
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Sarra Adams

    Sicilian Volcanos

    Great trips, nice pace, well organised and the volcanos were amazing!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing Stromboli and sitting and watching it erupt

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good, very organised and set a good pace in the walking

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No the trip notes are pretty accurate - definitely take the head torch and gaiters!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
Call us on 0208 772 3936