Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    ATLAS PANORAMA

    A nice mix of city and country with minimal time on a bus. The walking is at a relaxed pace on uneven ground. There are a few hills and some small streams to cross using stepping stones.    

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking down on the rock coloured villages with their green fields and trees between barren looking hills. Seeing the goatherds sitting out alone in those hills watching their flocks.  In the city the Medersa is a must see if you have any liking for Islamic architecture. The souk is calm as souks go, the light streaming in strips through the roof onto the colours of the stalls was beautiful.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Clearly an experienced group leader, organised but relaxed. He understands the English well and has a very English turn of phrase.He judged the weather well and adjusted the order of the walks so that we went on the longer walk to the lake on a sunny day and then had a short morning walk and did the visit to the local kasbah owners for tea when it was wet and blustery.He kept a very steady walking pace on all days. He provided information on the local plants and rocks if people were interested.     

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is the easiest walking trip in Morrocco. For a healthy active person it will be relaxing outdoor holiday. However parts would be challenging if you are not sure of your balance on uneven terrain as the ground can be slippy due to the makeup of the rocks and soil, there are stepping stones to cross streams and there is one fairly short but narrow ledge to walk along.Weather wise we were lucky. The advice to bring clothes for all types of weather at the end of October is valid.  The torch is for the longest walk - just in case your group does not get back before dark. Their days get shorter too.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I loved all the tea, especially the absinthe tea in the afternoons! There was always an extra pot if requested - even at lunchtime. The lunches on walking days were very tasty. The food at the gite is fresh and healthy. The lunch stop in Telouet was good.  Juice and coffee at the stop (each way) in Taddart are lovely.   If you are veggie go for the berber omelette (tomato and onion filling) rather than couscous legume (4/4 people did not like it) at the lunch stop on the way back to Marrakesh. The people who ate meat said their lunch was good.   On one day another exodus group was staying in the gite and doing the same walk. This meant there were 27 tourists and 2 guides on the same track. This was too many for such a quiet place.       

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    Please be assured that it is very rare for two groups to take part in the same walk on the same day. Due to unpredictable weather during this particular departure, a walk had to be changed for one of the groups and although they tried to do the walk in reverse, there were sections where both groups were walking together.

    Exodus will make every effort in future to avoid a similar situation in the future.

  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    THE ZAMBEZI VALLEY

    The trip was totally amazing - I enjoyed every moment. Although, I have never done either camping or canoeing, I really loved both.        

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every moment was inspirational. :)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    TK was a fantastic and extremely knowledgeable guide. Both him and Oscar took very good care of us. We felt safe, relaxed and our tummies were constantly full.      

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try to avoid Nairobi airport so if you can, fly BA. If not, you can kill time at the Java café, this is the only place which will help you survive the waiting time. If you fly through Nairobi, be also very careful not to miss your flight to Lusaka. When we were there, no announcements were made that the boarding started.  The things I found most useful were gloves, head torch and mosquito bands.You really do not need to take or buy any snacks, there is no chance to get hungry. 
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLE MOROCCO'S GREAT SOUTH

    I was going to give this trip 4 stars but to be honest I couldn't think of any reason why it doesn't deserve 5 stars as it was an amazing holiday. This was my first holiday of this type and it really was ace, I was lucky enough to be there with 7 other guests that were pretty awesome, we all got on pretty well and had a bit of friendly banter between us all. I basiically put this down as a holiday of a lifetime and I will be doing more exodus trips based on how much fun I had on this one.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On day 2 we had a 26 kilometer climb followed by a 30 kilometer decent, tbh I was a bit worried about the climb as I had never done anything like that before, I didn't need to be worried, the way I felt standing next to the tizi n test pass sign is unexplainable, a true highlight of my life so far, and the realization that I am cabable of that was off the chart. This is just one inspirational moment, there were lots. :)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Ritchie was ace, he loves cycling and bikes so this wasn't just a job to him, he was very passionate about cycling, would spend his lunch breaks doing running repairs to keep the bikes in ship shape condition. He was also very good at inspiring you to get the best out of yourself, if you were happy taking in the scenery, he would leave you to it but if you like to push yourself out of your comfort zone and work on your technique and fitness he would see this and give you endless hints and tips and get you to challenge yourself. he even had a few of us having a little drafting race with each other that left us all buzzing like never before :) I would also like to add that we met the atlas decent leader Liz one night and her enthusiasm matched Ritchie's, it is very clear these guys just love what they do.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would say just do it. I took my own shoes and pedals but don't feel this is necessary, it was my personal preference but plenty of people did it with trainers just the same. There's not to much I can say about the required fitness for the trip, it is a cycling holiday after all but peice of mind can be had with the knowledge that you can sit in a backup vehicle any time, but, and this is a big but, the fitter you are then you are more likely to get to the checkpoint first which gives you the first choice of the ace Moroccan chocolate bars.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I agree with the other reviews about making Essauira the rest day, this is an intriguing walled city with alot of character, it's a bit off the standard tourist trail so it's a more unusual place to say you have stayed. (I loved the hotel here) It also has great waves and loads of watersports available at local hire, a couple of us did some body boarding there. I have to mention the 2 back up vehicle drivers, those guys were great, they were responsible for lunch, which was very tasty. They would also go out of there way to help you any way they could, from helping with bags to topping up water bottles. They both deserve alot more credit than I can put into words.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - RONGAI ROUTE

    The 6 day trip culminating in ascending Kilimanjaro was the best thing i ve ever done in my life-the very hardest but the most special.The team looking after us just could not have been more generous in their time energy and spirit.They were proud of their country and wanted us to have the best time we possibly could- and we did!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To be walking and constantly be shadowed by Kilimanjaro was exciting and nerve wracking.The whole group knew we were gearing up to the summit night but we all enjoyed every day leading upto that time.Walking slowly all day and coming into camp-the smell of deliciuos food and the thought of a cosy tent was a great feeling.I was inspired by the team looking after us- The African Walking co -the leaders were heavenly-caring for us all and helping in every way posssible to get us nearer to our goalThe whole trip was inspirational-all our individual efforts to overcome challenges-be they sickness,fatigue,worry or doubt-all the efforts from the team behind us-the wonderful scenery and amazing lanscapes.100% inspiring!!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Henry Fernandez was a legend!!! A kind gentle responsible caring chap-who we learnt had trained to be a Priest-the church s loss was our gain!!!he headed a team of wonderful leaders-Davis-the most gorgeous kind funny and thoughtful man that I could have walked for days with,Jonath-dear and kind.John-interested and interesting considerate and gentle.Obote-my hero-without whom I would not have made it up that darn mountain!!!!-and many more-caspar and Trophid the chef-but really the whole team-from the all important toilet monitor-who carried it and serviced it the whole trip!-to ALL the cheery hardworking porters.What did I think of them all??? I LOVED THEM!!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Really dont fret or worry beforhand.As long as you are fairly fit and well you will be fine-unless altitude sickness picks you off-and that just random.A lot of the achieving is down to attitude-and there are times you must dig deep but its all possible.camping is a challenge-be organised-take as little as possible-you will wear pretty much the same every day! Wet wipes -always useful.Favourite snack and sweets -and I took Marmite-that got me through!!!Dont fixate on THE SUMMIT-enjoy EVERY bit of the trip-it flies by and you probably wont repeat the trip-so enjoy every day.Appreciate all the effort that is being made for you-and shoe that gratefulness to the team.Good boots,warm layers and positive mental attitude-thats all you need!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    After having achieved Kili I almost feel i can take on any challenge!!! I may give altitude and feezing cold a wide berth for a while but when i next think something is difficult i ll think back to summit night and how hard I had to try to get to the top-but resisting the huge temtation to turn back-constantly thinking-I wont be here tomorrow or next week -this is my only chance!!I fell in love with Africa and long to return-and admired and felt so fortunate to be looked after by such a strong responsible caring team.it was all over too quickly !!Would I do it all again??? YOU BET!!!!-and after summit night I vowed a million quid wouldnt get me to do that again!!!!funny how time deletes pain and hardship and leaves fond memories and highlights behind.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    ATLAS DESCENT

    The Atlas Descent is a beaut of a trip. Six biking days and all quite varied. Camel roads, gorges, mountaintop trails, moonscapes, I was amazed at the variation. The mountainbiking is as varied as the scenery from tough offroad singletrack, fast flowing landrover trails to swooping tarmac. Loved it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The uphills were hard and demanding however they were instantly forgotten in mile after mile of adrenaline rushing downhill on every concievable variation of so-called-road surface..Dropping into the surf at the end was such a blast.The Atlas Mountains are surely one of the best kept secrets of North Africa, jaw dropping scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was a treat. Patient and positive with time for everybody. Her fluent franglais should become a degree course :o)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take double sided pedals, flat on one side SPD on the other. It's not all downhill, and cleats make a difference.Do as much off-road practice as you can on broken surfaces.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Marcus Nicholson from Exodus was on our trip and he was a great addition to the gang. Can't wait to see his photos.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    The weather was wonderful (especially considering it was the first week of November),and the scenery spectacular. The walks were well described in the trip notes and were at the level we were expecting (leisurely/moderate). Our guide, Christine, was knowledgable and made sure the week ran very smoothly. The hotel was a very good standard and food was plentiful. All in all a wonderful week and would definately recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed the trips to Pomeii and Herculanium and found these places very moving. I would definately recommend having a guide on these sites so that you can look and listen rather than having to jump aroung a guide book and map (which they had run out of). The weather was excellent for walking, needing a fleece only when starting out. Seeing the rugged coastline was spectacular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Christine was very efficient, knowledgable and helpful, just as we have come to expect of Exodus guides, thank you for making it such a wonderful time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The thousand(s) of steps down to Amalfi and Positano do take it out on your knees, so poles are very useful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Having stayed at farm houses previously there was always a pot of tea/coffee when we arrived back from the walks and I missed this at the hotel, but that is the only  extremely minor "disappointment" I have with the whole trip. We stayed an extra night in Naples, and can't say I was that impressed, wouldn't recommend it and certainly will be in no rush what so ever to go back there again.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLE CILENTO & AMALFI

    This is my (our) 3rd Exodus Cycling Holiday, all of which ( Cuba and Turkey) we have enjoyed immensely but this was truly great at every level other than my personal fitness which did of cours improve. A great ( low cost0 region,an individual knowledgeable committed leader and surprise surprise top quality accomdation. The fellow cyclists were all brilliant.However the brochures promise that there was an optional ride on the last day which was not realisable. This was misleading and I would have enjoyed a leg stretch of some type. Its all about money I know as our leader explained and we had plenty of value in the holiday but it is good to be clear and accurate which I believe our understanding was not

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1. Looking from our balcony straight into Amalfi cathedral staircase and 3rd century Constinople doorway. Priceless! timeless! 2. Finding my wife (again). 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding. Dutchman totally in touch with southern Italy and the Cilento in particular, personally involved. Mother hen, good fun who understood the balence between riding all day and stopping by great places. Where can you get 2.5 course lunch with wines and liqueurs overlooking the most beautiful bay for 7 Euros. line up an I will you.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Mug up on greeco Romano heritage.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There are 2 cycling bits. The cilento, open car free cheap, great hotels off season. great Amalfi experience of a fabulous corniche, close ars but all in control (I think). Extroadinary light, sea, sky. felt we had a bargain.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    JOHANNESBURG TO CAPE TOWN

    Fantastic trip with such a variety of experiences - a great way to visit the 4 countries.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Mozambique , and in particular the village visit in Bilene and the early morning walk on the beach to see the fishing.The lions in KrugerWalking in DrakensbergLesotho - the pony trek was amazingThe great campsites especially in Hlane NP and BileneLanga township tour, Cape Town        

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rob and Sifiso were great guides and ensured we got the most out of the trip. I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere they created due to their hard work, patience and good humour. We always had plenty of good food and were given lots of information along the way about the places we passed through or visited.   

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Leave your watch at home and relax! There are some long driving days but enjoy them as the scenery is fantastic and there are regular stops. The campsites and lodges you arrive at are in great places. You can lighten your bag in Malealea Lodge,Lesotho as the Trust will distribute any clothing etc left there. They were asking for toiletries etc for young girls when we were there, as well as the items mentioned in other reviews.     

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first trip with Exodus and my first visit to Africa. I will definitely be doing another one !!
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    Braccicorti was a lovely place to stay with a warm welcome from the family; Sara, our leader, was fantastically supportive, encouraging and full of information about the area, the locals and the way of life; fantastic walking in wonderful mountain and hill country and a great group who gelled well together.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Working together so that one of the older members of our group was able to make it all the way to the top of Monte Sumbra.Our specially drawn map for our 'day off' walk - navigating by the number of dogs at each house!Enjoying our last evening together barn dancing to the Eagles!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara looked after us from start to finish - taking care that we got the meals we wanted including going out and buying soya milk for us; making sure that we had the right equipment and those new to walking poles knew how to use them; keeping us topped up with biscuits, sweets and encouragement; letting us walk at our own pace but giving us clear instructions on routes and where to regroup; looking after the slower and less confident members of the group; giving us information about the area and the local way of life; making sure that our itinerary fitted best with the weather; ensuring that we were all sorted out for different activies and venues on our day off; making sure we got back safely from our evening out; selecting great walks within all our capabilities; making sure we had a good time.Thank you, Sara - you are a great leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    These walks are well within the capabilities of any one who is moderately fit. However, if you live more or less at sealevel, as we do you, may find the first walk up into the mountains takes your breathe away - physically as well as the stunning views!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go and enjoy yourself in safe and caring hands.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    SOUTH AFRICAN WALKING SAFARI

    Amazing experience! Great balance between walking and wildlife and a really diverse trip, you feel like you are seeing a lot of the country without being rushed. Scenery is stunning and perfect for walking. Campsites are fantastic, food amazing. Really lovely, well paced and interesting trip with fantastic opportunity to spot the big 5!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Spotting Cheetha close up on foot and seeing a kill..fantastic moment! The Drakensberg mountains were stunning, loved the two walks there.Whole camping experience, beers around the fire, everyone swapping wildlife photos, great atmosphere.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Bongani and Shawn were excellent leaders, they really went the extra mile and worked very hard to make the trip run like clockwork and it did. Both have a great sense of humour and made it fun and interesting.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would reccomend doing all of the optional game drives. You never know what you might see. We were really lucky to see so many animals up close.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just make the most of it. This is one off experience you'll never forget.
Call us on 0208 772 3936