Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    MOUNTAINS & VILLAGES OF EVIA

    An excellent trip. The location of the hotel is superb and the leader informative and extremely helpful. The surrounding countryside is very pleasant and the walking pretty easy. Eating out at different tavernas each evening (cost included) was a great way to chat to people and sample many different dishes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The fascinating ancient sites.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - informative, helpful and great at knowing everyone and looking after them.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't bother to try and go to Athens on the day off. It really is too far and too complicated.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be carful with the ouzo!
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN MADEIRA

    The walking was not too difficult. The hotels were not the best but were adequate. The group was really great

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking from the hotel Encumeada into the mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very knowlegable about local history and geography

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    One of the hotels did not bath plugs so might want to take your own

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a lovely holiday.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    GALAPAGOS WILDLIFE CRUISE

    The Galapagos Islands are truly amazing and using a small boat like this one is the perfect way to see them. Cabins are small but food was excellent and Darwin is one of the best guides I have ever met.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The highlight was an early morning panga ride with dolphins only a few yards away from us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Darwin was extremely well informed, showed huge enthusiam, which is surprising given how many times he has led Galapagos trips, and was very flexible in setting the program to meet the needs of our group and to avoid landings at the same times as other sometimes much larger groups.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring the best camera you can lay your hands on and an awful lot of memory

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The time spent in Quito was a little excessive and most people in the group felt it could have been cut by one night at the start of the trip.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE CAPE & WINELANDS

    The tour leader Rudi Swanepoel & driver Jabula worked very hard to ensure the holiday was a success. Rudi is still young but he dealt well with the group. The tour had a great mix of cycling and sight seeing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The landscape is fantastic and the coastal rides were a real highlight. Trip to Robben Island. Whale watching in Hermanus. ( A must trip ).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rudi came under pressure from the front riders to extend the rides and change the itinery, he coped well with this. Rudi & Jabula worked well as a team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want to do some sight seeing in Cape Town then either go prior to the trip or stay for a few days at the end, as there is not enough time without.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The accommodation varied in quality Swellendam & Simonstown were at the lower end.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    SINAI TREK

    Lovely place, lovely people, lovely time. Less walking than the moderate/challenging rating suggests, but hey its supposed to be a holiday, so its OK to relax!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Staying at our chef's home camp in the foothills of Mount Moses was a real privilege.  Rising at 1am to walk up Mount Moses in the dark was something I wouldn't never have done on my own, and then at the peak itself to see the desert emerge before us at dawn was one of those 'pinch yourself' moments.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two leaders Mohammed and Ahwad (sorry if the spelling is wrong).  I thought they were a great double act, really complementing each other's strengths.  Mohammed was the expert on history and culture; Ahwad the mountain goat!  Both of them were gentlemen, ensuring we were safe, well cared for at all times and having fun.  I was the only vegetarian in the group, but they always made sure I was very well catered for.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect to spend a couple of days in a mini bus crossing Egypt, which I found interesting, but other's might not, and expect to spend a couple of days travelling in 4x4s across the desert.  So overall its less walking than the moderate/challenging rating perhaps suggests.  That said the final push up the steps to the top of Mount Moses is challenging.  If you are feeling fit then definately do the optional long walk after Mount Moses (great views). Expect rough camping, compost toilets etc, and in return you'll find yourself away from the crowds, enjoying wonderful mountain landscapes and Egyptian hospitality.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    Great trip - some hairy moments climbing back down from the Rock bridge but I wouldn't change anything.Zohair our guide looked after us very well and was an essential part of a fantastic experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sleeping under the stars, sun sets, clear skies without light pollution in Wadi Rum, seeing Petra from a great height rather than with the crowds. Meeting the Bedouin people - often smiling.Getting to know a great group of people on the trip and sharing our experiences with them.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Keep a close eye on your luggage, some of ours went on the wrong tour bus, it was returned within 20 mins though. Also if you are taking connecting flights luggage seems to easily go astray if there is a short time between connections. Take warm clothes for evenings around the camp fire ( early November ).It's well worth having the Turkish bath in Petra especially after four days in the Dessert without a shower!!I brought a large camping towel but didn't use it, body/wet wipes are all you need really. Take a buff scarf or two, I used mine every day.There is plenty of food and I found that it wasn't necessary to take energy bars etc.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Remember to budget for tips, this covered the bus drivers, cook, Bedouin staff and group leader.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLE INDOCHINA & ANGKOR

     523.3km cycled in 30+ Degree heat (Im pretty sure that was the number! Definetly the 500 and .3km is correct thanks to Colins GPS), phew, luckily snacks and juice and wet icy towel always available at every stage. This was due to first class organisation and the talent and expertise of our trip guide Wasan who always made Plan A work out, but also always had Plan B up his sleeve just in case! If anything I wish we had cycled more as this was the best part of the holiday. Merit is also due to the more mature ladies of our group who kept up throughout. When I am 75 (the oldest of them) I will dream of being able to do half off what they did. Hotels were also better than I expected and good quality throughout. It appears the trip is about to go through a reorganisation of local staff though so I cant vouch for its future maintenanence of the allready extremely high quality. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling around the temples of Angkor Watt were worth the price of the ticket alone. It was a truely magical experiance the first day there in the afternoon sun at the end of a long and hot cycle ride heading back to the hotel just stumbling through one wonderfull sight after another.This is not to say that the myriad other wonderfull cultural wonders that litter the trip were of no significance as our emotions were sobered by the experiance of the recent past of cambodia and Vietnam but raised again by the wonderfull optimism and energy of the people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    What can I say about Wasan! His deft use of humour to keep us on track was masterfull and his organisational abilitities second to none.  The only black mark was the huge hug he gave me at the end of the trip. I am an engineer so such blatant shows of emotion are anathema to me, yuech!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    At the home stay watch your Mosquito control. I made the mistake of too many beers and must of set the Mozzie net incorrectly and forgot to spray my deet. 40 bites in the morning later...........

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I could have spent and enjoyed as long as I liked on this holiday but alas it was as long as it was only 14 days!. Thanks Wasan. If only there had been a couple of lads on the holiday it would have been complete, though my liver would have been less so. Special mention also to Ann the 21 year old with her life ahead of her, try not to be so cynical about it all!.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    ANNAPURNA CIRCUIT

    A really fantastic time, great holiday made even better by my fellow travellers. The best group ever.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Crossing the Thorong La was probably the high point, but in reality the whole trip was a joy from start to finish.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good leader, knowledegable and happy to share it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't delay get it booked now.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    CUBAN HIGHLIGHTS RIDE

    First cycling holiday experience for me.  Good mix of cycling, seeing the country/sites, and free time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Tough 8km hill climb on final cycling day to hotel (at very end of ride).   Trinidad my favourite city, great place.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jose was enthusiastic, informative, and obviously enjoys his job which help tourists enjoy their holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Worth spending a few extra days somewhere before or after cycling segment.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Will certainly be doing more cycling holidays.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER SIERRA LEONE

    An adventurous trip offered by few companies. Wonderful rainforest terrain, white sandy beaches, island remoteness, chances to share in community life

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    visiting a local school, shopping for sports gear in Bo, jumping the african sea waves, relaxing on the beach, rainforest walks looking for monkeys and chimps, scenic drives upcountry.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was local and is still learning about some of the things we would expect like breifings and timings but she got us around all our venues with time to spare some days.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    this is a safe interesting country just opening up to adventure travel so is not fully joined up at the edges. It requires some adventure modes getting in and out of the ten boat journeys for instance, but offers plenty of rewards

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    plenty of opportunity to interact with local people visiting a school, village chief, shopping in the markets, changing money, various forms of transport and some time for relaxing on the beach and testing the african sea. Remote islands to explore and varied accomodation to sample.
Call us on 0208 772 3936