Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    SOUTH AFRICAN WALKING SAFARI

    My first trip with Exodus but I have travelled with similar companies although not including camping.I found the trip to be exactly what I was expecting and as described in the brochure. The camping wasn't arduous at all.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Two things stick in my memory.1. Being able to walk inside a Game Reserve knowing that the previous evening on a Game drive we had come VERY close to elephants, lion and cheetah with a recent kill. Then on the walk getting very close to the cheetah and her cub.2. Walking in  the Drakensberg Mountains. One day we walked along the Tugela Gorge and even though the rains hadn't come and the river was virtually dry we had lunch in the riverbed of the gorge (thankfully there was no flash flood!). The following day we made the ascent onto the plateau via the 'terrifying' chain ladders. Unable to climb a ladder at home this was MY achievement of the trip. Coming down was much easier thank goodness.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bongani was an excellent leader. Quiet and efficient but able to impart his knowledge when required. He has a wicked sense of humour which took us a while to suss out. After a few days we just didn't believe anything he told us!!There was a lot of driving during the trip so while we relaxed in the minibus he was working hard and then had the camps to set up on arrival.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As said before there is a lot of travelling. South Africa is a huge country and the locals think nothing of driving 100's of miles on straight, quiet roads. We rotated our seats around the bus each day as some seats had better views/more legroom than others.As we move about regularly there is a fair bit of packing/unpacking and not much room in the tents to spread. I found using bags to store underwear, shirts, trousers etc in my main pack made getting the following day's clothes ready easier.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Bongani had Shawn as a camp assistant. As he was too young to be insured to drive the bus it meant Bongani had to do all the driving. I did wonder if Bongani was incapacitated for any reason whether our trip would be stuck.
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    SIERRA DE AITANA TREK

    Brilliant holiday if you want to clear your head and get away from it all. Stunning views, amazing local food and practically no extra expenses (apart from lunch and dinner on a free day). I was really surprised that such a dramatic, unspoilt place still existed in a 2-hours flight distance from London.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I was constantly being surprised by inspirational moments on this trip, it's impossible to choose one. The mountain range is so majestic that it simply encourages you to have a think about bigger things in life.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jose Miguel is clearly very enthusiastic and well-educated about the area. He was very outgoing and caring for the group and was definitely going an extra mile to ensure everybody felt comfortable and safe on the walks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take at least one walking pole. I did the most of the trip without the poles, but I had to borrow one for a couple of descents.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I had a brilliant time and absolutely fell in love with the area. If you look for a holiday that makes you not wanting it to end SIERRA DE AITANA TREK will do the trick. 
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    MOUNTAINS, TEMPLES & HILL STATIONS

    Trip spoilt by the group being split into 2 vehicles, a major amount of the time is spent travelling and no intransit info possible due to this. Vehicles were very poor with broken seat backs and no room for day packs in vehicle.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Shimla.But the local people in the whole of India are so friendly & helpful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Poor.In fairness she was knowledgeable, although it was always given without asking & when eating as a group bill shouldn't just be split. Trip from Dharamsala to McLeod Ganj was in local taxis but only 5 vehicles of Fiat Punto size used for entire group plus their luggage was not sufficient, taxis cost so little, it seemed penny pinching & was uncomfortable & dangerous.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a kettle, noodles & chewy bars, that way you can be independant.Some hotels only offer buffet at 500 ruppees where it is possible to get al-la-cart for 250ruppees in cities.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    All hotels give fixed price buffet which is expensive & caused stomuch upsets, probably sat there warm for a long time.
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    ATLAS DESCENT

    Great scenery and great biking with an excellent leader (Liz) & support crew.  I would have liked more singletrack and also many of the group had little off road mountain bike experience which affected the dynamic of the group.
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    LAND OF THE TIGER

    There were undoubtedly a good many positive aspects of this trip. But the trip notes and web site information were not sufficiently open regarding the negatives (see below) to give a realistic view of the problems associated with making the trip at this time of year.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The one meaningful tiger sighting (during a total of 17 game-drives in 3 different national parks).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Harish was extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the wildlife and birdlife, and he made considerable efforts to ensure everything ran as smoothly as possible. Communication and sensitivity to the feelings of ALL group members were not always up to the same standard.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip notes and  reviews published on the web-site do not make it clear that it is extremely difficult to sight tigers in October, when the rainy season has only recently ended, foliage is lush and there are many sources of water for the wildlife. This difficulty is further reinforced by the often unhelpful (positively obstructive?) approach of the park authorities and officials, apparently for political reasons. And running the trip during the Diwali holiday period, with its consequent large numbers of local tourists, is an additional disadvantage. A significant body of anecdotal evidence made it apparent that the far more regular sightings virtually promised by the tour leader are much more likely at the end of the dry season in March/April.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip notes and reviews indicate that the overnight train journeys represent a low point. They do not, however, give adequate emphasis to the following:the very uncomfortable conditions and absence of proper meals; the sheer waste of time involved in spending 12-14 hours on board a train (during the hours of darkness) and several additional hours travelling and waiting time at each end; the issues of security, necessitating all personal possessions of any value being chained and padlocked, according to the tour leader.Road journeys and short train journeys (in daylight) undoubtedly offer a fascinating insight into life in India. But overnight journeys (2 on this trip) are, in my view, no more than an unjustifiable means of keeping the headline cost of the tour artificially low. Other tour companies seem able to use air and road transport at only a small extra cost.Some of the accommodation on this trip was of of a noticeably lower standard than what is suggested by the trip notes/web-site. No doubt this would have been relegated to the level of minor inconvenience if the game drives had more accurately lived up to their billing.Notwithstanding the above, there was a wonderful abundance of wildlife and birdlife on this trip. And India is a country full of magnificent sights  - the Taj Mahal, in particular, is awe-inspiring, especially for anyone visiting it for the first time - jaw-dropping contrasts and a constant assault on the senses. It does, however, have an infrastructure which is capable of making the downsides far more palatable with only a relatively insignificant increase in cost. 
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    TREKKING IN NEW ZEALAND

    New Zealand exceeded my expectations and the trip provided even more than the brochure promises. The value for money was exceptional. There was such a diversity of landscape and no end to the opportunities to explore it to the full.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many inspirational moments that it really is difficult to pick just one. Being dropped by helicopter in a remote location on the Wilkin River in the Mount Aspiring National Park, the hundreds of waterfalls in Milford Sound after a day of rain, the latent power of the Tongariro volcanoes, the pristine wilderness of the Whirinaki NP, the vastness of the volcanic crater that is Lake Taupo, a close encounter with the rare Fiordland Crested Penguins and sleeping under the incredible, starlit, southern skies are all inspirational moments that will linger in my memory for the rest of my days.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two group leaders, Kath Watzig in the North Island, and Chris Steele in the South Island. Both were capable, competent, diligent, knowledgable and inspirational. They both had to do absolutely everything from early morning to late evening with no support teams or assistants to share their load. They both approached their roles with such enthusiasm and comprehensive knowledge that the entire group derived the absolute, maximum benefit from the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip is challenging at times but is an opportunty not to be missed. The opportunity to trek in so many different magnificent and diverse regions is something that is not easily matched by other destinations but in addition the trip provides numerous opportunities to experience the adrenaline-fuelled activities for which New Zealand is justifiably famous.
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    ATLAS PANORAMA

    A thoroughly enjoyable, sociable and beautiful trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On our third day walking we started in rain and walked up above the snow line, had a snowball fight in the most beautiful setting beside a lake and then had lunch brought to us halfway down by mule. That was a great day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Helpful, approachable, good fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a couple of warm layers. The gite can be chilly at night. Good waterproofs were very useful too.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great holiday, especially the stay in the mountains. I would love to see more of Morocco.
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    MARRAKECH & THE SAHARA

    How much more can you cover in a week - from the Sahara to the mountains to Marrakech - amazing week

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking from the gite into the Atlas mountains was my favourite part of the trip - getting away from it all - this was made even more special by arriving into the hustle and bustle of Marrakech on a Friday night - amazing contrast. The main square in Marrakech and the markets came a close second - I've fallen in love with Morocco and can't wait to go back.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan helped to make the trip what it was, at no point did I feel rushed or hurried. He was knowledgeable and friendly, always being there for us and had a lot of fun with us. I have to give Hassan 10/10 for the week. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you go in November / December be prepared for the evenings being very cold. Always carry some toilet roll with you - you never know when you might need it.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Had an amazing time on this trip - cant wait to go back to Marrakech and quite fancy the Panorama Atlas tour next. 
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    WILDLIFE & WILDERNESS OF ETHIOPIA

    A great adventure.We saw a good cross section of the countryside from forest to productive farmland.Much greener than I expected.People friendly and most spoke English.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing two Ethiopian Wolves at a reasonable photographic distance.Finding a group of Guereza  Colobus Monkeysthat came down to the ground.The very large troop of Hamadryas Baboons that walked right past us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was excellent in every way.I used to lead overseas tours for one of Londons  major tour operators and our guide on this trip could not have been better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for lots of dust while travelling.There  is a great deal of building  going on,including new roads,and it makes for slow and dusty progress.
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    wide range of interesting activities , made a lot of fun by an excellent group

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    several - I hadn't known I would be abseiling down a 50m sheer cliff beforehand! Kayaking was absolutely beautiful , challenge of 1st scuba dive on another day

    What did you think of your group leader?

    good sense of humour , got lost once during the bike ride (we all met up later) and the canyoneering was slow , but safety must come 1st

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    we were the oldest in the group (50s) but were  able to keep up & thoroughly enjoyed itTurkey was a pleasure - had a different feel to standard europe , people very friendly , beautiful scenery , interesting food

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    have a go!
Call us on 0208 772 3936